DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 11/12/2025.
Claims 1-4, 8-9, and 13-16 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 8, and 13 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, (US 20190230723 A1, hereinafter “Kim ‘723”) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200178343 A1, hereinafter “Kim ‘343”) in view of Chun et al. (US 11206519 B2, hereinafter “Chun”).
RE Claim 1: Kim ‘723 discloses:
A state indication method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a relay core network device, first state indication information transmitted by a first device (A remote UE connected to a relay UE, first device, which performs transmit and receive to the network. Method for performing, by a base station, a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE when a connection between a relay user equipment (UE) and a remote UE is set up. Initial context setup message includes an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits/receives traffic of the remote UE. ¶¶009-0011; Relay UE is in EMM-CONNECTED Mode for service request. ¶¶0630-0635.), wherein the first state indication information comprises first indication information (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the first state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511; The UE may have an emergency bearer request associated with an emergency service which is sent by a service request message, ¶0178. The service request message may include an indicator for requesting establishment of a radio bearer, an emergency service, the second state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME. ¶¶011, 0022, 0511), the first indication information indicates that relay user equipment (UE) is performing UE-to- network relay communication (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the first state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511),
wherein the first state indication information is used for determining that a release procedure of a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling connection of the relay UE is not to be initiated, (Relay UE may inform the network on status of connection to the remote UE, connected or disconnected, the first state indication. Relay UE informs the eNB using RRC message. eNB relays information to MME. Alternatively, relay UE may inform the MME using NAS message. ¶¶0542-0546. To prevent the NAS connection from being released, relay UE transmits the new defined NAS message of which the contents of may include an
wherein the relay UE is in a connected state (The relay UE may be in an EMM-IDLE mode or EMM-CONNECTED mode for NAS procedure. ¶¶0529-0533. Method for performing, by a base station, a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE when a connection between a relay user equipment (UE) and a remote UE is set up. Initial context setup message includes an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits/receives traffic of the remote UE. ¶¶009-0011, 0019-0020; Relay UE is in EMM-CONNECTED Mode for service request. ¶¶0630-0635.),
after the receiving, by a relay core network device, first state indication information transmitted by a first device (A remote UE connected to a relay UE, first device, which performs transmit and receive to the network. Method for performing, by a base station, a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE when a connection between a relay user equipment (UE) and a remote UE is set up. Initial context setup message includes an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits/receives traffic of the remote UE. ¶¶009-0011), the method further comprises:
receiving, by the relay core network device, second state indication information transmitted by the first device, wherein the second state indication information is used for determining that the restriction of not initiating a release procedure of a NAS signaling connection of the relay UE is to be removed (The UE may have an emergency bearer request, the second indication, associated with an emergency service. Abstract, ¶¶0009, 0022, 0511, 0529, 0546, 0547); The MME upon accepting a service request message with a newly defined NAS message for an emergency bearer, the second indication, deactivates all non-emergency bearers. Emergency bearer is at least one bearer reserved with an allocation and retention priority, and indicator ARP, for an emergency service, an ARP of highest priority. To prevent the NAS connection from being released, relay UE transmits the new defined NAS message of which the contents of may include an indicator set accordingly. Fig. 22; ¶¶0009, 0011, 0022, 0178, 0529, 0685); and
wherein the second state indication information comprises second indication information (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the third state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511; The UE may have an emergency bearer request associated with an emergency service which is sent by a service request message, ¶0178. The service request message may include an indicator for requesting establishment of a radio bearer, an emergency service, the fourth state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME. ¶¶011, 0022, 0511), wherein
the second indication information indicates that the relay UE has completed the UE- to-network relay communication, or indicates that a connection for the UE-to-network relay communication has been released (Fig. 12; Relay UE may inform the network on status of connection to the remote UE, connected or disconnected. Relay UE informs the eNB using RRC message. eNB relays information to MME. Alternatively, relay UE may inform the MME using NAS message. ¶¶0542-0546).
Kim ‘723 does not explicitly disclose:
the relay core network device is a relay access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and the first device is the relay UE or an access network device of the relay UE,
However, Kim ‘343 discloses:
the relay core network device is a relay access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and the first device is the relay UE or an access network device of the relay UE, (5G system architecture includes various components including a core access and mobility function, AMF, and a radio access network, RAN. The AMF and the RAN form a relay core network device. ¶¶0212-0213, Fig. 9; Relay UE provides network access to the base station for a remote UE. Fig. 23; 5G system, an access network device gNB, transmits and receives signals to the UE, a relay UE. ¶0229, Fig. 23);
Kim ‘724 and Kim ‘343 do not explicitly disclose:
deleting, by the relay core network device, the first state indication information from a context of the relay UE according to the second state indication information,
However, Chun discloses:
deleting, by the relay core network device, the first state indication information from a context of the relay UE according to the second state indication information (Network transmits disaster information, emergency service and second indicator, to relay and remote UE. Col. 4, Ln. 10-19; Relay transmits disaster information to remote UE, an emergency service connection. Relay UE determines if remote UE has received all disaster information messages. Col. 16, Ln. 53-58 ; For example, when the eNB transmits the disaster information message in an SIB, the eNB may additionally include information indicating whether the relay UE should release the connection with the remote UE, first indication information, or forward the disaster information message to the remote UE. The relay UE operates based on the information. Col. 18, Ln. 37-43. Therefore, the relay UE context of the relay UE is deleted when the remote UE to relay UE connection is released.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teachings of an LTE network of Kim, operation of a remote UE and a relay UE with an LTE MME, with the teachings of a 5G network of Kim ‘343, operation of a remote UE and a relay UE with a 5G AMF, with the teachings of Chun, network informs the relay UE to maintain or release the relay connection to the remote UE based on emergency services.
The motivation in doing so would be to support improvements to the operation of the relay UE over a 5G network architecture to maintain relay connectivity during emergency services communications to a remote UE. (Kim ‘723: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0011, 0023-0025; Kim ‘343: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0010, 0869, 0212-0213, 0228 ; Chun: Abstract, Col. 4, Ln. 10-19, Col. 14, Ln. 37 to Col. 15, Ln. 5)
RE Claim 2: Kim ‘723 discloses:
The method, wherein)
before the receiving, by a relay core network device, first state indication information transmitted by a first device, (A service request message for a UE-to-Network session, sent by relay UE to the network, includes information about relay connection status, and UE identifiers, the first indication. The service request procedure includes a newly defined NAS message. The service request is sent to the core and the MME. Base station recognizes the relay UE is connected to remote UE by the MME making an indication indicating the UEs connection.; Abstract, ¶¶0009, 0022, 0511, 0529, 0546)
the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the relay core network device, a release request message to the
first device, wherein the release request message is used to request to release a NAS signaling connection of the relay UE (MME performs signaling for the UE’s access to the network by functions such as session management and terminal-to-network session handling including. MME may perform an MME/HSS-initiated detach procedure for an ECM-IDLE UE as part of a Network Triggered Service Request; ¶¶094, 215).
RE Claim 3: Kim ‘723 discloses:
The method, wherein
after receiving, by the relay core network device, the first state indication information transmitted by the first device, (A service request message for a UE-to-Network session, sent by relay UE, includes information about relay connection status, and UE identifiers, the first indication. The service request procedure includes a newly defined NAS message. The service request is sent to the core and the MME. Base station recognizes the relay UE is connected to remote UE by the MME making an indication indicating the UEs connection.; Abstract, ¶¶0009, 0022, 0511, 0529, 0546)
the method further comprises:
storing, by the relay core network device, the first state indication information into the context of the relay UE (The relay UE transmits a service request message to the network which includes a newly defined NAS message to an MME. From the MME, an S1 initial context setup stores the relay UE radio capability information and, per the service request message, an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE; Fig. 20; ¶¶0010, 0011).
RE Claim 4: Kim ‘723 discloses:
The method, wherein the first device is the access network device of the relay UE (A remote UE connected to a relay UE, first device, which performs transmit and receive to the network; ¶¶009-0011); and
before the storing, by the relay core network device, the first state indication information into the context of the relay UE, (The access network device of the relay UE is the radio access network, base station, which is connected to the core network device including MME. The relay UE transmits a service request message to the network which includes a newly defined NAS message to an MME. From the MME, an S1 initial context setup stores the relay UE radio capability information and, per the service request message, an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE; Fig. 1, 2; Abstract, Fig. 20; ¶¶0010, 0011)
the method further comprises:
receiving, by the relay core network device, identifier information of the relay UE that is transmitted by the access network device (A base station, access network device, communicates directly with the UE. The base station is connected to the core network such as the MME. The S1 initial context setup based on the service request message includes indicator messages for remote UE to UE relay status and identifiers of the remote UE and relay UE; Fig. 1, 2; Fig. 20; ¶¶0052, 0011).
RE Claim 8: Kim ‘723 discloses:
A state indication method, wherein the method comprises:
transmitting, by a first device, first state indication information to a relay core network device (A remote UE connected to a relay UE, first device, which performs transmit and receive to the network. Method for performing, by a base station, a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE when a connection between a relay user equipment (UE) and a remote UE is set up. Initial context setup message includes an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits/receives traffic of the remote UE. ¶¶009-0011; Relay UE is in EMM-CONNECTED Mode for service request. ¶¶0630-0635.), wherein the first state indication information comprises first indication information (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the first state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511; The UE may have an emergency bearer request associated with an emergency service which is sent by a service request message, ¶0178. The service request message may include an indicator for requesting establishment of a radio bearer, an emergency service, the second state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME. ¶¶011, 0022, 0511), the first indication information indicates that relay user equipment UE is performing UE-to-network relay communication (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the first state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511),
wherein the first state indication information is used for determining that a release procedure of a non-access stratum NAS signaling connection of the relay UE is not to be initiated, (Relay UE may inform the network on status of connection to the remote UE, connected or disconnected, the first state indication. Relay UE informs the eNB using RRC message. eNB relays information to MME. Alternatively, relay UE may inform the MME using NAS message. ¶¶0542-0546. To prevent the NAS connection from being released, relay UE transmits the new defined NAS message of which the contents of may include an indicator set accordingly. Fig. 12, 22; ¶¶0009, 0011, 0022, 0178, 0529, 0685),
wherein the relay UE is in a connected state (The relay UE may be in an EMM-IDLE mode or EMM-CONNECTED mode for NAS procedure. ¶¶0529-0533. Method for performing, by a base station, a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE when a connection between a relay user equipment (UE) and a remote UE is set up. Initial context setup message includes an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits/receives traffic of the remote UE. ¶¶009-0011, 0019-0020; Relay UE is in EMM-CONNECTED Mode for service request. ¶¶0630-0635.),
after the transmitting, by a first device, first state indication information to a relay core network device (A remote UE connected to a relay UE, first device, which performs transmit and receive to the network. Method for performing, by a base station, a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE when a connection between a relay user equipment (UE) and a remote UE is set up. Initial context setup message includes an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits/receives traffic of the remote UE. ¶¶009-0011), the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the first device, second state indication information to the relay core network device, wherein the second state indication information is used for determining that the restriction of not initiating a release procedure of a NAS signaling connection of the relay UE is to be removed (The UE may have an emergency bearer request, the second indication, associated with an emergency service. Abstract, ¶¶0009, 0022, 0511, 0529, 0546, 0547); The MME upon accepting a service request message with a newly defined NAS message for an emergency bearer, the second indication, deactivates all non-emergency bearers. Emergency bearer is at least one bearer reserved with an allocation and retention priority, and indicator ARP, for an emergency service, an ARP of highest priority. To prevent the NAS connection from being released, relay UE transmits the new defined NAS message of which the contents of may include an indicator set accordingly. Fig. 22; ¶¶0009, 0011, 0022, 0178, 0529, 0685); and
wherein the second state indication information comprises second indication information (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the third state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511; The UE may have an emergency bearer request associated with an emergency service which is sent by a service request message, ¶0178. The service request message may include an indicator for requesting establishment of a radio bearer, an emergency service, the fourth state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME. ¶¶011, 0022, 0511), wherein
the second indication information indicates that the relay UE has completed the UE- to-network relay communication, or indicates that a connection for the UE-to-network relay communication has been released (Fig. 12; Relay UE may inform the network on status of connection to the remote UE, connected or disconnected. Relay UE informs the eNB using RRC message. eNB relays information to MME. Alternatively, relay UE may inform the MME using NAS message. ¶¶0542-0546).
Kim ‘723 does not explicitly disclose:
the relay core network device is a relay access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and the first device is the relay UE or an access network device of the relay UE,
However, Kim ‘343 discloses:
the relay core network device is a relay access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and the first device is the relay UE or an access network device of the relay UE, (5G system architecture includes various components including a core access and mobility function, AMF, and a radio access network, RAN. The AMF and the RAN form a relay core network device. ¶¶0212-0213, Fig. 9; Relay UE provides network access to the base station for a remote UE. Fig. 23; 5G system, an access network device gNB, transmits and receives signals to the UE, a relay UE. ¶0229, Fig. 23);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teachings of an LTE network of Kim, operation of a remote UE and a relay UE with an LTE MME, with the teachings of a 5G network of Kim ‘343, operation of a remote UE and a relay UE with a 5G AMF.
The motivation in doing so would be to support improvements to the operation of the relay UE over a 5G network architecture to maintain relay connectivity during emergency services communications to a remote UE. (Kim ‘723: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0011, 0023-0025; Kim ‘343: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0010, 0869, 0212-0213, 0228;)
RE Claim 9: Kim ‘723 discloses:
The method, wherein)
before the transmitting, by a first device, first state indication information to a relay core network device, (A service request message for a UE-to-Network session, sent by relay UE to the network, includes information about relay connection status, and UE identifiers, the first indication. The service request procedure includes a newly defined NAS message. The service request is sent to the core and the MME. Base station recognizes the relay UE is connected to remote UE by the MME making an indication indicating the UEs connection.; Abstract, ¶¶0009, 0022, 0511, 0529, 0546)
the method further comprises:
receiving, by first device, a release request message transmitted by the relay core network device, wherein the release request message is used to request to release a NAS signaling connection of the relay UE, (MME performs signaling for the UE’s access to the network by functions such as session management and terminal-to-network session handling including. MME may perform an MME/HSS-initiated detach procedure for an ECM-IDLE UE as part of a Network Triggered Service Request; ¶¶094, 215)
wherein the first state indication information comprises the second indication information. (A service request message for a UE-to-Network session, transmitted by the relay UE, includes information about relay connection status, and UE identifiers, the first indication. The service request procedure includes a newly defined NAS message. The service request is sent to the relay core network and the MME. Base station recognizes the relay UE is connected to remote UE, UE-to-Network relay communication, by the MME making an indication indicating the UEs connection. The UE may have an emergency bearer request, the second indication, associated with an emergency service.; Abstract, ¶¶0009, 0022, 0511, 0529, 0546, 0547)
RE Claim 13: Kim ‘723 discloses:
A core network device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, (Network nodes includes a processor, memory, and software; Fig. 23; ¶¶0690-0691, 0702-0703)
the processor is configured to:
receive first state indication information transmitted by a first device, wherein the first state indication information comprises first indication information (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the first state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511; The UE may have an emergency bearer request associated with an emergency service which is sent by a service request message, ¶0178. The service request message may include an indicator for requesting establishment of a radio bearer, an emergency service, the second state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME. ¶¶011, 0022, 0511), the first indication information indicates that relay user equipment (UE) is performing UE-to-network relay communication (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the first state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511), wherein
the first state indication information is used for determining that a release procedure of a non-access stratum NAS signaling connection of the relay UE is not to be initiated, (Relay UE may inform the network on status of connection to the remote UE, connected or disconnected, the first state indication. Relay UE informs the eNB using RRC message. eNB relays information to MME. Alternatively, relay UE may inform the MME using NAS message. ¶¶0542-0546. To prevent the NAS connection from being released, relay UE transmits the new defined NAS message of which the contents of may include an indicator set accordingly. Fig. 12, 22; ¶¶0009, 0011, 0022, 0178, 0529, 0685)
Kim ‘723 does not explicitly disclose:
the relay core network device is a relay access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and the first device is the relay UE or an access network device of the relay UE,
However, Kim ‘343 discloses:
the relay core network device is a relay access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and the first device is the relay UE or an access network device of the relay UE, (5G system architecture includes various components including a core access and mobility function, AMF, and a radio access network, RAN. The AMF and the RAN form a relay core network device. ¶¶0212-0213, Fig. 9; Relay UE provides network access to the base station for a remote UE. Fig. 23; 5G system, an access network device gNB, transmits and receives signals to the UE, a relay UE. ¶0229, Fig. 23),
wherein the relay UE is in a connected state (The relay UE may be in an EMM-IDLE mode or EMM-CONNECTED mode for NAS procedure. ¶¶0529-0533. Method for performing, by a base station, a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE when a connection between a relay user equipment (UE) and a remote UE is set up. Initial context setup message includes an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits/receives traffic of the remote UE. ¶¶009-0011, 0019-0020; Relay UE is in EMM-CONNECTED Mode for service request. ¶¶0630-0635.),
after the receiving, by a relay core network device, first state indication information transmitted by a first device (A remote UE connected to a relay UE, first device, which performs transmit and receive to the network. Method for performing, by a base station, a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE when a connection between a relay user equipment (UE) and a remote UE is set up. Initial context setup message includes an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE and the relay UE transmits/receives traffic of the remote UE. ¶¶009-0011), the method further comprises:
receive second state indication information transmitted by the first device, wherein the second state indication information is used for determining that the restriction of not initiating a release procedure of a NAS signaling connection of the relay UE is to be removed (The UE may have an emergency bearer request, the second indication, associated with an emergency service. Abstract, ¶¶0009, 0022, 0511, 0529, 0546, 0547); The MME upon accepting a service request message with a newly defined NAS message for an emergency bearer, the second indication, deactivates all non-emergency bearers. Emergency bearer is at least one bearer reserved with an allocation and retention priority, and indicator ARP, for an emergency service, an ARP of highest priority. To prevent the NAS connection from being released, relay UE transmits the new defined NAS message of which the contents of may include an indicator set accordingly. Fig. 22; ¶¶0009, 0011, 0022, 0178, 0529, 0685); and
wherein the second state indication information comprises second indication information (A service request message, transmitted by the relay UE, for a UE-to-Network session includes information about relay connection status, the third state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME.; ¶¶009, 0011, 0511; The UE may have an emergency bearer request associated with an emergency service which is sent by a service request message, ¶0178. The service request message may include an indicator for requesting establishment of a radio bearer, an emergency service, the fourth state indication. The service request is sent to and received by the relay core network and the MME. ¶¶011, 0022, 0511), wherein
the second indication information indicates that the relay UE has completed the UE- to-network relay communication, or indicates that a connection for the UE-to-network relay communication has been released (Fig. 12; Relay UE may inform the network on status of connection to the remote UE, connected or disconnected. Relay UE informs the eNB using RRC message. eNB relays information to MME. Alternatively, relay UE may inform the MME using NAS message. ¶¶0542-0546).
Kim ‘723 does not explicitly disclose:
the relay core network device is a relay access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and the first device is the relay UE or an access network device of the relay UE,
However, Kim ‘343 discloses:
the relay core network device is a relay access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, and the first device is the relay UE or an access network device of the relay UE, (5G system architecture includes various components including a core access and mobility function, AMF, and a radio access network, RAN. The AMF and the RAN form a relay core network device. ¶¶0212-0213, Fig. 9; Relay UE provides network access to the base station for a remote UE. Fig. 23; 5G system, an access network device gNB, transmits and receives signals to the UE, a relay UE. ¶0229, Fig. 23);
Kim ‘724 and Kim ‘343 do not explicitly disclose:
delete the first state indication information from a context of the relay UE according to the second state indication information,
However, Chun discloses:
delete the first state indication information from a context of the relay UE according to the second state indication information (Network transmits disaster information, emergency service and second indicator, to relay and remote UE. Col. 4, Ln. 10-19; Relay transmits disaster information to remote UE, an emergency service connection. Relay UE determines if remote UE has received all disaster information messages. Col. 16, Ln. 53-58 ; For example, when the eNB transmits the disaster information message in an SIB, the eNB may additionally include information indicating whether the relay UE should release the connection with the remote UE, first indication information, or forward the disaster information message to the remote UE. The relay UE operates based on the information. Col. 18, Ln. 37-43. Therefore, the relay UE context of the relay UE is deleted when the remote UE to relay UE connection is released.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teachings of an LTE network of Kim, operation of a remote UE and a relay UE with an LTE MME, with the teachings of a 5G network of Kim ‘343, operation of a remote UE and a relay UE with a 5G AMF, with the teachings of Chun, network informs the relay UE to maintain or release the relay connection to the remote UE based on emergency services.
The motivation in doing so would be to support improvements to the operation of the relay UE over a 5G network architecture to maintain relay connectivity during emergency services communications to a remote UE. (Kim ‘723: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0011, 0023-0025; Kim ‘343: Abstract, ¶¶0007-0010, 0869, 0212-0213, 0228 ; Chun: Abstract, Col. 4, Ln. 10-19, Col. 14, Ln. 37 to Col. 15, Ln. 5)
RE Claim 14: Kim ‘723 discloses:
The core network device, wherein
the processor is configured to: before the receiving first state indication information transmitted by a first device, transmit a release request message to the first device, wherein the release request message is used to request to release a NAS signaling connection of the relay UE. (MME performs signaling for the UE’s access to the network by functions such as session management and terminal-to-network session handling including. MME may perform an MME/HSS-initiated detach procedure for an ECM-IDLE UE as part of a Network Triggered Service Request; ¶¶094, 215)
RE Claim 15: Kim ‘723 discloses:
The core network device, wherein
the processor is configured to: after the receiving first state indication information transmitted by a first device, store the first state indication information into the context of the relay UE. (A service request message for a UE-to-Network session, sent by relay UE, includes information about relay connection status, and UE identifiers. The service request procedure includes a newly defined NAS message. The service request is sent to the core and the MME. Base station recognizes the relay UE is connected to remote UE by the MME making an indication indicating the UEs connection.; Abstract, ¶¶0009, 0022, 0511, 0529, 0546) (The relay UE transmits a service request message to the network which includes a newly defined NAS message to an MME. From the MME, an S1 initial context setup stores the relay UE radio capability information and, per the service request message, an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE; Fig. 20; ¶¶0010, 0011)
RE Claim 16: Kim ‘723 discloses:
The core network device, wherein the first device is the access network device of the relay UE (A remote UE connected to a relay UE, first device, which performs transmit and receive to the network; ¶¶009-0011); and
the processor is configured to: before the storing the first state indication information into the context of the relay UE, receive identifier information of the relay UE that is transmitted by the access network device. (The access network device of the relay UE is the radio access network, base station, which is connected to the core network device including MME. The relay UE transmits a service request message to the network which includes a newly defined NAS message to an MME. From the MME, an S1 initial context setup stores the relay UE radio capability information and, per the service request message, an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE; Fig. 1, 2; Abstract, Fig. 20; ¶¶0010, 0011) (A base station, access network device, communicates directly with the UE. The base station is connected to the core network such as the MME. The S1 initial context setup based on the service request message includes indicator messages for remote UE to UE relay status and identifiers of the remote UE and relay UE; Fig. 1, 2; Fig. 20; ¶¶0052, 0011)
RE Claim 20: Kim ‘723 discloses:
A first device, wherein the first device is a relay user equipment (UE) or an access network device of the relay UE, and comprises a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the processor is configured to implement the steps of the state indication method. (A remote UE connected to a relay UE, first device, which performs transmit and receive to the network including an indicator indicating that the remote UE is connected to the relay UE; ¶¶009-0011, 0022; UE includes a processor, memory, and memory stores information, program, for driving the processor. ¶0692, Fig. 23; Network nodes, access network device of the relay UE, includes a processor, memory, and software; Fig. 23; ¶¶0690-0691, 0702-0703)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is directed to Claim 1. Applicant submits “Amended claim 1 is a dynamic, bidirectional, state-dependent control loop mechanism specifically designed for the relay scenario. The active flag of Kim '723 is static, unidirectional, and is not bound to or managed in a closed loop with the specific state of the relay communication. Thus, Kim '723 does not disclose, teach or suggest the technical solution defined by amended claim 1 as a whole”, applicant emphasis.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., control loops and directionality) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s second argument is directed to Kim ‘723, ¶¶0009-0011, 0019-0022. Applicant submits that the referenced paragraphs disclose ‘a service request procedure triggered by a remote UE’. Applicant states “In contrast, the core of amended claim 1 is how to manage or control the release procedure of a NAS signaling connection of the relay UE after it has been established.”
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant’s third argument is directed to Kim ‘723, ¶¶0178, 0529-0533, 0542-0547. Applicant submits Kim ‘723 discloses MME deactivating non-emergency bearers relating to user-plane resources, bearers, “but does NOT involve changing or governing the release procedure of a NAS signaling connection, i.e., switching of a control plane state.”, applicant emphasis. Applicant states similar arguments for the other referenced paragraphs and argues that they also do not disclose changing or control of a control plan state for the release procedure of a NAS signaling connection.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim ‘723 discloses the subject matter for the limitations, as written, for two states indication information for determining a NAS release. The amendments to claims 1, 8, and 14 have cancelled elements of emergency services as additional information to determine if NAS release procedure is initiated. Therefore, the determination to initiate the NAS release procedure is based on a connection and a release state of the remote UE and relay UE.
The first state indication information indicates that the relay UE is performing UE-to-network relay communication. The first state indication information is disclosed by Kim ‘723. Relay UE informs the MME by NAS message on the status of the remote UE and relay UE is connected or disconnected. ¶0542-0546. When relay UE and remote UE are connected they are performing relay communications via the link and indicated over NAS.
The second state indication information limitation, now amended, indicates that the relay has completed UE-to-network relay communication or indicates a connection for the UE-to-network relay communication has been released. The second state information is disclosed by Kim ‘723. Relay UE informs the MME by NAS message on the status of the remote UE and relay UE is connected or disconnected. ¶0542-0546. The limitation for the second indication information, as amended, recites two options. First option is to indicate completion of UE-to-network communication or second option that the connection for the UE-to-network relay communication has been released. When relay UE and remote UE are disconnected the connection for relay communication is released and indicated over NAS. Therefore, the second option is rejected and the first option is an optional element.
A message to connect or release the connection between a relay UE and a remote UE may be performed over PC5 interface. PC5 messages include Direct Communication Request, Disconnect Request and Disconnect Response. ¶¶0324-326, 0334-0337. A connection or release message over PC5 interface is control plane signaling which falls under NAS-level signaling layer. Kim ‘723 discloses a method to control NAS releases. To prevent the NAS connection from being released, relay UE transmits the new defined NAS message of which the contents of may include an
Applicant’s fourth argument is directed to the limitation of deleting the first state indication information from a context of the relay UE. Applicant submits that Kim ‘723 does not disclose, teach or suggest.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner refers applicant to the last Office Action and the limitation in question. The rejection of the limitation is cited to Chun and not Kim ‘723 or Kim ‘343. Therefore, the argument is moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20210250890 A1 Won
US 20220345879 A1 Park et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of a remote UE, a relay UE, and NAS signaling.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419