DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings with 9 Sheets of Figs. 1-8 received on 9/21/2022 are acknowledged and accepted.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Abstract recites “This disclosure, and the exemplary embodiments provided herein, include a system and method” in lines 1-2 and “In exemplary embodiments, a reflector” in line 3. This is incorrect language. It is suggested to be replaced with --A system and method” in lines 1-2 and --A reflector-- in line 3.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 5,15,16, objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5,15,16 recite “wherein the reflective areas and nonreflective areas”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. It is suggested to be replaced with -- wherein the reflective areas and the nonreflective areas--
Appropriate correction is required.
Duplicate Claims
Applicant is advised that should claim 15 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 21-25, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and Claim 21 recite the limitation "the cylinder face" in line 5 and line 4 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear whether the cylinder face is the same as the cylinder member or the cylinder face is different from the cylinder member. From the current specification (para 28), it appears that the cylinder face is the same as the cylinder member. For the purposes of examination, the cylinder face is interpreted to be the cylinder member.
Claims 2-10 are dependent on claim 1 and hence inherit its deficiencies.
Claims 22-25 are dependent on claim 21 and hence inherit its deficiencies.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the rotational LIDAR barcode is mounted to one of another. vehicle, a robot, and a fixed structure”. It is not clear whether there is a vehicle and also another vehicle or whether there is a single vehicle. From the specification, it appears there is a single vehicle. For the purpose of examination, the rotational LIDAR barcode is mounted to one of a vehicle, a robot, and a fixed structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-6,8-9,11-13,15-18,20-22,24-25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bao et al (US 8,777,107 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bao teaches (fig 1-3) a rotational LIDAR barcode (roller laser encoding apparatus, col 3, lines 20-27 with a decoding method to decode a barcode, col 1, lines 16-20, decoder such as a camera or laser scanner, col 1, lines 26-30) operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system (laser transmitter 3, laser receiver 4, col 3, lines 20-27) comprising:
a cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) including an outside face, the outside face including a vertical height and a horizontal width, the horizontal width equal to a circumference of the cylinder face (as in fig 1);
a barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) operatively attached to the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape) outside face (as in fig 1), the barcode pattern including a pattern of reflective areas and nonreflective areas representing a binary barcode data message (“a coding number "X" could be expressed as a number of bits N of a binary mode, such that the coding density is defined as a number "N", and the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8 is divided into N sections.”, col 5, lines 12-24) (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65, the white bars are the reflective areas and the black bars are the nonreflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30)
a rotator (“a motor 7 for driving the curved barcode surface 2 to revolve to form a revolving surface”, col 3, lines 25-27) operatively coupled to the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape), the rotator rotating the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape) and operatively attached barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2); and
a mount (the rod attached to the wheel 8 and motor 7 is considered the mount, fig 1) configured to align the barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2), as it rotates, to reflect light received from the LIDAR barcode detecting system (laser transmitter 3, laser receiver 4) back to the LIDAR barcode detecting system (“At the same time, the laser transmitter 3 is activated, via the input-output bus, to emit an emitting laser beam to the curved barcode surface 2, wherein the emitting laser beam is reflected by the curved barcode surface 2 to form a reflected laser beam. The reflected laser beam is received by the laser received 4 to form an optical signal”, col 3, lines 39-44).
Regarding Claim 2, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1,
wherein the reflective areas (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65) are one of reflective strips (reflective strips are the white bars “A high light reflective bar (i.e. strong light reflective intensity, which is the white bar in the present invention)”, col 6, lines 21-23), and retroreflective strips.
Regarding Claim 3, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1,
wherein the rotator (“The motor 7 is a step-motor for driving the curved barcode surface 2 to rotate”, col 7, lines 15-16) is one of an electric motor, a wind driven rotator and a wave driven rotator.
Regarding Claim 5, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1,
wherein the reflective areas and nonreflective areas (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65, the white bars are the reflective areas and the black bars are the nonreflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30) extend along a longitudinal axis of the cylinder member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) (as in fig 1,2).
Regarding Claim 6, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1,
wherein the cylinder member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) is one of a drum (drum as in fig 1,2), and a cylindrically shaped lattice structure.
Regarding Claim 8, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1,
wherein the barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) necessary to completely communicate the binary barcode data message extends more than 180 degrees around the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) outside face (360 degree wrapping around wheel 8 as in fig 1,2).
Regarding Claim 9, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1,
wherein the barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) necessary to completely communicate the binary barcode data message extends more than 180 degrees around the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) outside face (360 degree wrapping around wheel 8 as in fig 1,2), and
the rotational LIDAR barcode (roller laser encoding apparatus, col 3, lines 20-27 with a decoding method to decode a barcode, col 1, lines 16-20, decoder such as a camera or laser scanner, col 1, lines 26-30) is controllable to broadcast by rotating and NOT broadcast by NOT rotating (“The motor 7 is activated to drive the rotating wheel 8 to rotate at a constant rotating speed. During the rotating operation of the rotating wheel 8, the laser beam is reflected on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8 and is received by the light receiving lens 14“, col 4, lines 22-26, when not rotating the laser beam is not reflected and hence there is no broadcasting).
Regarding Claim 11, Bao teaches (fig 1-3) a method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a rotational LIDAR barcode (roller laser encoding apparatus, col 3, lines 20-27 with a decoding method to decode a barcode, col 1, lines 16-20, decoder such as a camera or laser scanner, col 1, lines 26-30) and a vehicle mounted LIDAR system comprising:
wrapping a cylinder face of a cylinder member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) with a barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) including a pattern of reflective areas and nonreflective areas representing a binary barcode data message (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65, the white bars are the reflective areas and the black bars are the nonreflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30) to be decoded by the vehicle mounted LIDAR system (“a decoding method to decode a barcode”, col 1, lines 16-20, “decoder such as a camera or laser scanner”, col 1, lines 26-30);
rotating (“a motor 7 for driving the curved barcode surface 2 to revolve to form a revolving surface”, col 3, lines 25-27) the cylinder (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) and wrapped barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) at a predetermined angular speed or range of speeds,
a rotational plane of the cylinder (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) and wrapped barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) providing for reflecting at least one beam transmitted from the vehicle mounted LIDAR system (“At the same time, the laser transmitter 3 is activated, via the input-output bus, to emit an emitting laser beam to the curved barcode surface 2, wherein the emitting laser beam is reflected by the curved barcode surface 2 to form a reflected laser beam. The reflected laser beam is received by the laser received 4 to form an optical signal”, col 3, lines 39-44); and
the vehicle mounted LIDAR system scanning the rotating cylinder (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) and wrapped barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) and decoding (The reflected laser beam is received by the laser received 4 to form an optical signal”, col 3, lines 39-44) the wrapped barcode pattern to determine the data message associated with the wrapped barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62). (The recitation "vehicle mounted LiDAR system" of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. MPEP §2106).
Regarding Claim 12, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11,
wherein the reflective areas (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65) are one of reflective strips (reflective strips are the white bars “A high light reflective bar (i.e. strong light reflective intensity, which is the white bar in the present invention)”, col 6, lines 21-23), and retroreflective strips.
Regarding Claim 13, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11,
wherein the rotator (“The motor 7 is a step-motor for driving the curved barcode surface 2 to rotate”, col 7, lines 15-16) is one of an electric motor, a wind driven rotator and a wave driven rotator.
Regarding Claim 15, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11,
wherein the reflective areas and nonreflective areas (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65, the white bars are the reflective areas and the black bars are the nonreflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30) extend along a longitudinal axis of the cylinder member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) (as in fig 1,2).
Regarding Claim 16, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11,
wherein the reflective areas and nonreflective areas (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65, the white bars are the reflective areas and the black bars are the nonreflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30) extend along a longitudinal axis of the cylinder member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) (as in fig 1,2).
Regarding Claim 17, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11,
wherein the barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) necessary to completely communicate the binary barcode data message extends more than 180 degrees around the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) outside face (360 degree wrapping around wheel 8 as in fig 1,2).
Regarding Claim 18, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11,
wherein the barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) necessary to completely communicate the binary barcode data message extends more than 180 degrees around the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) outside face (360 degree wrapping around wheel 8 as in fig 1,2), and
the rotational LIDAR barcode (roller laser encoding apparatus, col 3, lines 20-27 with a decoding method to decode a barcode, col 1, lines 16-20, decoder such as a camera or laser scanner, col 1, lines 26-30) is controllable to broadcast by rotating and NOT broadcast by NOT rotating (“The motor 7 is activated to drive the rotating wheel 8 to rotate at a constant rotating speed. During the rotating operation of the rotating wheel 8, the laser beam is reflected on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8 and is received by the light receiving lens 14“, col 4, lines 22-26, when not rotating the laser beam is not reflected and hence there is no broadcasting).
Regarding Claim 20, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11,
wherein the binary barcode data message (“a coding number "X" could be expressed as a number of bits N of a binary mode, such that the coding density is defined as a number "N", and the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8 is divided into N sections.”, col 5, lines 12-24) is associated with one of a lane closure, traffic sign, parking lane, parking spot, store front, landmark, authenticity of a sign, emergency vehicle identification, traffic pattern, other vehicle and point of interest (curved surface of wheel 8 is the point of interest).
Regarding Claim 21, Bao teaches a vehicle mounted LIDAR and rotational LIDAR barcode system (roller laser encoding apparatus, col 3, lines 20-27 with a decoding method to decode a barcode, col 1, lines 16-20, decoder such as a camera or laser scanner, col 1, lines 26-30) comprising:
a vehicle mounted LIDAR system (laser transmitter 3, laser receiver 4, col 3, lines 20-27); and
a rotational LIDAR barcode (roller laser encoding apparatus, col 3, lines 20-27 with a decoding method to decode a barcode, col 1, lines 16-20, decoder such as a camera or laser scanner, col 1, lines 26-30) operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system (laser transmitter 3, laser receiver 4, col 3, lines 20-27) including:
a cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) including an outside face, the outside face including a vertical height and a horizontal width, the horizontal width equal to a circumference of the cylinder face (as in fig 1);
a barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) operatively attached to the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape) outside face (as in fig 1), the barcode pattern including a pattern of reflective areas and nonreflective areas representing a binary barcode data message (“a coding number "X" could be expressed as a number of bits N of a binary mode, such that the coding density is defined as a number "N", and the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8 is divided into N sections.”, col 5, lines 12-24) (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65, the white bars are the reflective areas and the black bars are the nonreflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30)
a rotator (“a motor 7 for driving the curved barcode surface 2 to revolve to form a revolving surface”, col 3, lines 25-27) operatively coupled to the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape), the rotator rotating the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape) and operatively attached barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2); and
a mount (the rod attached to the wheel 8 and motor 7 is considered the mount, fig 1) configured to align the barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2), as it rotates, to reflect light received from the LIDAR barcode detecting system (laser transmitter 3, laser receiver 4) back to the LIDAR barcode detecting system (“At the same time, the laser transmitter 3 is activated, via the input-output bus, to emit an emitting laser beam to the curved barcode surface 2, wherein the emitting laser beam is reflected by the curved barcode surface 2 to form a reflected laser beam. The reflected laser beam is received by the laser received 4 to form an optical signal”, col 3, lines 39-44). (The recitation "vehicle mounted LiDAR system" of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. MPEP §2106).
Regarding Claim 22, Bao teaches the vehicle mounted LIDAR barcode detection and rotational LIDAR barcode system according to claim 21,
wherein the reflective areas (“The barcode formed on a curved surface is a sequence of different color laser reflectivity. The barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 has two different color bars, preferably black and white; col 3, lines 59-65) are one of reflective strips (reflective strips are the white bars “A high light reflective bar (i.e. strong light reflective intensity, which is the white bar in the present invention)”, col 6, lines 21-23), and retroreflective strips.
Regarding Claim 24, Bao teaches the vehicle mounted LIDAR barcode detection and rotational LIDAR barcode system according to claim 21,
wherein the barcode pattern (the barcode on the curved barcode surface 2 is printed on the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8, col 3, lines 59-62) necessary to completely communicate the binary barcode data message extends more than 180 degrees around the cylindrical member (wheel 8 having a cylindrical shape, col 3, lines 59-62) outside face (360 degree wrapping around wheel 8 as in fig 1,2).
Regarding Claim 25, Bao teaches the vehicle mounted LIDAR barcode detection and rotational LIDAR barcode system according to claim 21,
wherein the binary barcode data message (“a coding number "X" could be expressed as a number of bits N of a binary mode, such that the coding density is defined as a number "N", and the outer surface of the rotating wheel 8 is divided into N sections.”, col 5, lines 12-24) is associated with one of a lane closure, traffic sign, parking lane, parking spot, store front, landmark, authenticity of a sign, emergency vehicle identification, traffic pattern, other vehicle and point of interest (curved surface of wheel 8 is the point of interest).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al (US 8,777,107 B1) in view of Davidson et al (US 2021/0311205 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1.
However, Bao does not teach
wherein the rotational LIDAR barcode is mounted to one of another vehicle, a robot, and a fixed structure.
Bao and Davidson are related as LiDAR barcodes.
Davidson teaches (fig 1A, 3A),
wherein the LiDAR barcode (fiducial such as 102,104,106, on structures such as buildings and lamp posts and more, para 32) is mounted to one of another vehicle, a robot, and a fixed structure (buildings, lamp post etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting of the rotational LiDAR barcode of Bao to be mounted as of Davidson for the purpose of making use of secure autonomous navigation systems (para 32).
Regarding Claim 14, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11.
However, Bao does not teach
wherein the rotational LIDAR barcode is mounted to one of another vehicle, a robot, and a fixed structure.
Bao and Davidson are related as LiDAR barcodes.
Davidson teaches (fig 1A, 3A),
wherein the LiDAR barcode (fiducial such as 102,104,106, on structures such as buildings and lamp posts and more, para 32) is mounted to one of another vehicle, a robot, and a fixed structure (buildings, lamp post etc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting of the rotational LiDAR barcode of Bao to be mounted as of Davidson for the purpose of making use of secure autonomous navigation systems (para 32).
Claim(s) 7,23, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al (US 8,777,107 B1) in view of Marco et al (US 10,339,353 B2).
Regarding Claim 7, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1,
wherein the rotator (“a motor 7 for driving the curved barcode surface 2 to revolve to form a revolving surface”, col 3, lines 25-27) rotates the cylindrical member at a predetermined rotational speed which is constant.
However, Bao does not teach
rotating at a predetermined speed which varies.
Bao and Marco are related as rotating cylinders with barcodes.
Marco teaches (fig 1A),
a cylindrical surface (surface 102, col 4, lines 60-64) with a barcode (barcodes, col 1, lines 24-28, machine readable data, col 4, lines 51-55) rotating at a predetermined speed which varies (“three-dimensional concentric curves 100 may encode a multiplicity of data sets, wherein encoded data of each data set is represented by light reflected from surface 102 while surface 102 is rotated at a corresponding speed”, col 5, lines 40-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speed of the cylindrical surface of Bao to vary as of Marco for the purpose of encoding and decoding multiple sets of data (col 5, lines 40-44) and significantly increasing the amount data which can be encoded (col 1, lines 34-37).
Regarding Claim 23, Bao teaches the vehicle mounted LIDAR barcode detection and rotational LIDAR barcode system according to claim 21.
wherein the rotator (“a motor 7 for driving the curved barcode surface 2 to revolve to form a revolving surface”, col 3, lines 25-27) rotates the cylindrical member at a predetermined rotational speed which is constant.
However, Bao does not teach
rotating at a predetermined speed which varies.
Bao and Marco are related as rotating cylinders with barcodes.
Marco teaches (fig 1A),
a cylindrical surface (surface 102, col 4, lines 60-64) with a barcode (barcodes, col 1, lines 24-28, machine readable data, col 4, lines 51-55) rotating at a predetermined speed which varies (“three-dimensional concentric curves 100 may encode a multiplicity of data sets, wherein encoded data of each data set is represented by light reflected from surface 102 while surface 102 is rotated at a corresponding speed”, col 5, lines 40-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speed of the cylindrical surface of Bao to vary as of Marco for the purpose of encoding and decoding multiple sets of data (col 5, lines 40-44) and significantly increasing the amount data which can be encoded (col 1, lines 34-37).
Claim(s) 10, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al (US 8,777,107 B1).
Regarding Claim 10, Bao teaches the rotational LIDAR barcode operatively associated with a LIDAR barcode detection system according to Claim 1,
wherein a nonreflective bit (one of the black bars which is wider than the rest, fig 3) associated with the nonreflective areas (the black bars are the nonreflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30) is wider than a reflective bit (one of the white bars which is the least wide, fig 3) associated with the reflective areas (the white bars are the reflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30).
However, Bao does not teach
wherein a nonreflective bit associated with the nonreflective areas is at least 3 times wider than a reflective bit associated with the reflective areas.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). The ratio of the width of the nonreflective bit and the width of the reflective bit can be in a range of values. An increase in the ratio results in coverage of a larger area by the nonreflective bit in the LIDAR but makes less data storage. A decrease in ratio results in smaller coverage of the by the nonreflective bit in the LiDAR but makes the device more reflective. Therefore, the ratio of the widths is a result effective variable.
One would have chosen the width of the nonreflective bit is at least 3 times wider than the width of reflective bit according to a result effective variable balancing the need of data storage amount with improving reflective contribution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the ratio of the width of the nonreflective bit and the width of the reflective bit. One would have been motivated to have the nonreflective bit associated with the nonreflective areas to be at least 3 times wider than a reflective bit associated with the reflective areas balancing a desired effectiveness of data storage and reflective contribution.
Regarding Claim 19, Bao teaches the method of encoding and decoding data represented as a barcode using a LIDAR system according to claim 11,
wherein a nonreflective bit (one of the black bars which is wider than the rest, fig 3) associated with the nonreflective areas (the black bars are the nonreflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30) is wider than a reflective bit (one of the white bars which is the least wide, fig 3) associated with the reflective areas (the white bars are the reflective areas, see col 6, lines 21-30).
However, Bao does not teach
wherein a nonreflective bit associated with the nonreflective areas is at least 3 times wider than a reflective bit associated with the reflective areas.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). The ratio of the width of the nonreflective bit and the width of the reflective bit can be in a range of values. An increase in the ratio results in coverage of a larger area by the nonreflective bit in the LIDAR but makes less data storage. A decrease in ratio results in smaller coverage of the by the nonreflective bit in the LiDAR but makes the device more reflective. Therefore, the ratio of the widths is a result effective variable.
One would have chosen the width of the nonreflective bit is at least 3 times wider than the width of reflective bit according to a result effective variable balancing the need of data storage amount with improving reflective contribution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the ratio of the width of the nonreflective bit and the width of the reflective bit. One would have been motivated to have the nonreflective bit associated with the nonreflective areas to be at least 3 times wider than a reflective bit associated with the reflective areas balancing a desired effectiveness of data storage and reflective contribution.
Conclusion
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 1/10/2026