DETAILED ACTION
In response to the restriction requirement, Applicant elected claims 1-3, 11-15 for further examination. As a result, claims 4-10, 16-25 are withdrawn from further prosecution.
Applicant’s Election with traverse is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that the searches would be co-extensive and would not unduly burden the examiner. This is not found persuasive because burden is not only based upon searches being co-extensive. Examination and analysis for determination of patentability creates burden.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the API gateway” (lines 8-9) should be corrected as “the API gateway server”. “The user” (line 9) should be corrected as a user.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the API gateway” (line 12) should be corrected as “the API gateway server”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 16 of copending Application No. 17/950155 (Amendment dated 6/13/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the copending applications simply teach all claimed limitations of the claims in the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding to claims 1, 11:
Claim 1 (or 10) of the copending application teaches a system configured to generate extensible carbon objects comprising input and a memory including non-transitory program memory for storing at least instructions and a processor that is operative to execute instructions that enable actions (Claim 1: lines 1-4), the system comprising:
an application programming interface (API) gateway server between a logical layer and a representational layer, the API gateway server being configured with an extensible Carbon Reporting Markup Language (CarML) configured to interface software with the logical layer, the comprising a core set of common data schema and message types including interface objects for extensible carbon objects, and third party external systems, the API gateway configured to allow the user to generate an extensible carbon object representing a carbon instrument (Claim1: lines 8-14).
Regarding to claims 2-3, 12-15: further comprising a Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) library database configured to store an environmental embodied CO2e record for a cradle to gate life cycle of an item or process, based on the process inputs and outputs of a Reference Unit and a Defined Unit, wherein the system comprises a public ledger configured to record an extensible carbon object to the LCI (claim 1, lines 15-22. Claim 16 teaches the public ledger).
Claims 1-3 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9 of copending Application No. 17/950157 (Amendment dated 8/14/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the copending applications simply teach all claimed limitations of the claims in the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding to claims 1, 11:
Claim 1 (or 9) of the copending application teaches a system configured to generate extensible carbon objects comprising input and a memory including non-transitory program memory for storing at least instructions and a processor that is operative to execute instructions that enable actions (Claim 1: lines 1-4), the system comprising:
an application programming interface (API) gateway server between a logical layer and a representational layer, the API gateway server being configured with an extensible Carbon Reporting Markup Language (CarML) configured to interface software with the logical layer, the comprising a core set of common data schema and message types including interface objects for extensible carbon objects, and third party external systems, the API gateway configured to allow the user to generate an extensible carbon object representing a carbon instrument (Claim1: lines 8-15).
Regarding to claims 2-3, 12-15: further comprising a Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) library database configured to store an environmental embodied CO2e record for a cradle to gate life cycle of an item or process, based on the process inputs and outputs of a Reference Unit and a Defined Unit, wherein the system comprises a public ledger configured to record an extensible carbon object to the LCI (claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because:
The claims, in general, are simply directed to a method/system having a server configured with a software that is programmed to generate an extension carbon report via an interface without any specific and without including additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Abstract idea). The claims even though further define the comprising of a core set of common data schema and message types, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As a result, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application; the claims thus are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drummond (US 2004/0249732) in view of Sperling et al. (US 2009/0292617).
Drummond discloses a system configured to generate extensible carbon objects comprising input and a memory including non-transitory program memory (FIG. 2, element 226) for storing at least instructions and a processor (FIG. 2, element 220) that is operative to execute instructions that enable actions, the system comprising:
an application programming interface (API) gateway server (FIG. 2, element 110) between a logical layer and a representational layer, the API gateway server being configured with a software program for extensible carbon objects (paragraph [0048]: A server program for controlling the processor to transact the purchase and sale of the emission reduction benefits and retirement guarantees), and third party external systems (FIG. 2, elements 102, 208),
the API gateway configured to allow the user to generate an extensible carbon object representing a carbon instrument (paragraph [0052]: Buyers at workstations 102 may participate in the electronic carbon trading by interacting with the carbon management).
Drummond however does not teach wherein the software program is configured with an extensible Carbon Reporting Markup Language (CarML) configured to interface software with the logical layer, the CarML comprising a core set of common data schema and message types including interface objects.
Sperling et al. discloses a method/system for calculating an estimated cost to offset a calculated carbon emissions of a web server configured with an extensible Carbon Reporting Markup Language comprising a core set of common data schema and message types including interface objects (FIG. 4, element 410: XML (eXtensible Markup Language)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drummond’s server to be configured with eXtensible Markup Language to provide XML web service to obtain the carbon offset information as taught by Sperling et al. (paragraph [0043]).
Claim(s) 2-3, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drummond (US 2004/0249732) in view of Sperling et al. (US 2009/0292617), and further in view of Oliver Gomila (US 2022/0114562).
Drummond, as modified, discloses the claim invention as discussed above, except further comprising a Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) library database configured to store an environmental embodied CO2e record for a cradle to gate life cycle of an item or process, based on the process inputs and outputs of a Reference Unit and a Defined Unit, wherein the system comprises a public ledger configured to record an extensible carbon object to the LCI, and wherein the system is configured to generate an embodied CO2e record for the cradle to gate life cycle of a product or service, based on the process inputs and outputs of one or more Reference Units and one or more Defined Units, from the LCI.
Oliver Gomila discloses a system for conversion of transaction of carbon units comprising a Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) library database configured to store an environmental embodied CO2e record for a cradle to gate life cycle of an item or process (paragraphs [0048]-[0049]: The product life cycle (cradle to gate, cradle to consumer, cradle to grave) database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drummond’s system, as modified, to comprise the cradle to gate cycle database to store carbon emission quantity of all phases of a product/service to gain the accuracy of the carbon emission calculation/estimation as taught by Oliver Gomila (paragraphs [0048]-[0049]).
CONTACT INFORMATION
/LAM S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853