DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0328154 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘154”) in view of Kang et al. (US 2022/0123230 A1) (hereafter “Kang”).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-12: Kim ‘154 discloses an organic electroluminescence element comprising an anode, a cathode and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {paragraph [0067] and Table 1: Device Example 2}.
The organic layer comprises an organic material composition comprising a first host compound and a second host compound {paragraph [0067] and Table 1: Device Example 2}.
The host materials are present at a weight ratio of 1:1 {paragraph [0067]}.
The first host compound has the structure shown below {Table 2 and p. 53: Compound C-179}.
Kim ‘154 does not teach that the device comprises a compound having the structure of the instant Formula (1) as the second host material.
However, Kim ‘154 teaches that the second host material has the structure of Formula (2) of Kim ‘154 which can further have the structure of Formula 2-11 of Kim ‘154 {paragraphs [0013] and [0050]}.
Where HAr is a 3- to 30- membered heteroaryl and L2 can be a single bond {paragraphs [0014]-[0016]} and at least two of R21 or R22 are linked to form a ring {paragraph [0017]}.
Kang teaches compounds useful as host materials in organic electroluminescence devices {paragraphs [0007], [0019], [0041], [0044], and [0058]}.
Kang exemplifies the compound shown below {paragraph [0044] and p. 19: Compound C-65}.
The compound of Kang shown above has the structure of Formula (2) of Kim ‘154 {paragraphs [0013]-[0017]}.
Kang teaches that organic electroluminescent devices comprising the compounds of Kang have improved efficiency and lifetime {abstract and paragraphs [0019] and [0089}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Kim ‘154 such that the second host material of Kim ‘154 was the compound of Kang shown above, based on the teaching of Kim ‘154 and Kang. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements (the described options for the 2nd host material of Kim ‘154 and the exemplified compounds of Kang) according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case means selecting a compound that when used in an organic electroluminescent device having improved efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Kang.
Regarding claim 12: Kim ‘154 as modified by Kang teaches all of the features with respect to claim 11, as outlined above.
An organic electroluminescence device is an electronic device.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0359216 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘216”) in view of Kang et al. (US 2022/0123230 A1) (hereafter “Kang”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9-12: Kim ‘216 discloses an organic electroluminescence element comprising an anode, a cathode and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {paragraph [0089] and Table 1: Device Example 3}.
The organic layer comprises an organic material composition comprising a first host compound and a second host compound {paragraph [0089] and Table 1: Device Example 3}.
The host materials are present at a weight ratio of 1:1 {paragraph [0089]}.
The first host compound has the structure shown below {Table 2 and p. 113: Compound C-179}.
Kim ‘216 does not teach that the device comprises a compound having the structure of the instant Formula (1) as the second host material.
However, Kim ‘216 teaches that the second host material has the structure of Formula (2) of Kim ‘216,
, where Ar2 has the structure of Formula (3) of Kim ‘216 shown below {paragraphs [0014]-[0018]}.
Where HAr is a 3- to 20- membered heteroaryl and L2 can be a single bond {paragraphs [0016]-[0017]}.
Kang teaches compounds useful as host materials in organic electroluminescence devices {paragraphs [0007], [0019], [0041], [0044], and [0058]}.
Kang exemplifies the compound shown below {paragraph [0044] and p. 18: Compound C-63}.
The compound of Kang shown above has the structure of Formula (2) of Kim ‘216 {paragraphs [0014]-[0019]}.
Kang teaches that organic electroluminescent devices comprising the compounds of Kang have improved efficiency and lifetime {abstract and paragraphs [0019] and [0089}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Kim ‘216 such that the second host material of Kim ‘216 was the compound of Kang shown above, based on the teaching of Kim ‘216 and Kang. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements (the described options for the 2nd host material of Kim ‘216 and the exemplified compounds of Kang) according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case means selecting a compound that when used in an organic electroluminescent device having improved efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Kang.
Where in the compound of Kang shown above, the instant R2 can be equated with the carbazolyl linked benzene moiety where L2 is bivalent carbazolyl, and Ar2 is phenyl.
Regarding claim 12: Kim ‘216 as modified by Kang teaches all of the features with respect to claim 11, as outlined above.
An organic electroluminescence device is an electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As outlined above, Kim et al. (US 2021/0359216 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘216”) in view of Kang et al. (US 2022/0123230 A1) (hereafter “Kang”) can be interpreted as the closest prior art. Kang is relied upon to teach the compounds having the structure of the instant Formula (1). However, Kang does not teach that a nitrogen containing six-membered ring is one of the instant R1 to R4. Furthermore, the prior art does not teach modifying the compounds of Kang such that one of the instant R1 to R4 comprises a nitrogen containing six-membered ring. Additionally, even if such teachings were in the prior art, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that both modifying a compound of Kang and using it as the second host material of Kim ‘216 would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786