DETAILED ACTION
Applicants claim amendments filed 2/11/2026 are acknowledged and entered into the record.
Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 14, 19, 21-25, 29, and 38 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 14, 19, 23-24, and 29 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over Graus et al. (EP2067789A1, cited on IDS filed 2/8/2024) in view of Huang et al. (WO2012162067A2, cited on IDS filed 2/8/2024)
The claims are drawn to a protein comprising a 1st and 2nd polypeptide wherein said 1st and 2nd polypeptide each comprise at least a hinge region, a CH2 region, and a CH3 region of an immunoglobulin heavy chain wherein positions L234, L235, and D265 are not L, L and D respectively and wherein the positions N297 and P331 of the IgG1 heavy chain are not Q and S. The claims are further drawn to wherein the protein binds CD3 or binds CD3 and a second different target (bispecific).
Graus et al. teach antibodies that bind P-selectin and do not bind human complement factor C1q or human Fcy receptor on NK cells and thus not eliciting CDC or ADCC. Graus et al. teach combinations of mutations within the Fc region in order to mediate Fc receptor binding. Graus et al. disclose mutations in S228, L234, L235 and/or D265, and/ or contains the PVA236 or GLPSS331 mutation. Especially preferred are the mutations S228P (IgG4), L234A (IgG1), L235A (IgG1), L235E (IgG4), GLPSS331(IgG1) and/or PVA236 (IgG1). Preferred combinations of mutations are also shown in table 1. Graus et al. teach these antibodies have new and inventive properties causing a benefit for a patient suffering from inflammation disorders. Graus et al. does not teach a CD3 bispecific antibody. This deficiency is made up for by Huang et al.
Huang et al. teach bispecific, humanized antibodies comprising a CD3-binding domain and further comprising a CD20 binding domain. Huang et al. further teaches in some embodiments the antibody comprises an IgG1 Fc region modified so that binding to effector ligands is reduced (see paragraphs 125-130). Huang et al. disclose molecules having a variant Fc region with decreased ADCC activity and combining an Fc variant with other Fc modifications to provide additive, synergistic, or novel properties to the modified antibody. For example, Huang teaches antibodies comprising substitutions with alanine (A) at position 234, 235 and 265. Huang et al. further teaches pharmaceutical and diagnostic compositions of said antibodies and kits thereof and methods of treatment. (see paragraphs 177-196)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to make a CD3 bispecific antibody having the combination of mutations instantly claimed based on the teachings of Graus et al. and Huang et al. for therapeutic purposes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of Graus et al. and Huang et al. because Graus et al. teach antibody variants that contain Fc mutations which mediate Fc receptor binding for therapeutic purposes and Huang et al. teach bispecific CD3 antibody variants comprising similar Fc mutations and combining them with other Fc modifications for an additive, synergistic properties for therapeutic purposes. It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Graus et al. and Huang et al. to make a more efficient therapeutic antibody or bispecific antibody based on Fc region mutations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 14, 19, 21-25, 29, and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,590,206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and those of US Patent 10,590,206 are both drawn to a CD3 binding protein having the same Fc region substitutions L234F, L235E, D265A along with K409R and F405L.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 14, 19, 21-25, 29, and 38 are rejected.
No Claim is allowed.
/Meera Natarajan/Examiner, Art Unit 1643