DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/6/25. Although Applicant states that claim 9, which is directed to a method of making, is amended to require the structure of claim 1, the reasons for restriction mailed on 8/8/25 still apply to the pending claims and thus are maintained. In particular, the product of invention I (e.g., claim 1) can be made by another and materially different process than invention II (e.g., claim 9), such as 3D printing, which is another and materially different process than the molding process of claim 9. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Accordingly, claims 9-16 and 23 are withdrawn, and claims 1, 4-8, and 24-30 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 depends on cancelled claim 2. Appropriate correction is required. For the purposes of examination, claim 5 is interpreted as dependent on independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 102 (AIA )
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0005549 A1 to BLACK.
Regarding claim 1, BLACK teaches a simulated tissue structure (par. 0115: model 200… provides the one or more dissecting layer 226) comprising:
a first inner layer comprising a continuous length of fibers (par. 0115: fibers);
a second inner layer comprising an interlaced planar threaded material (par. 0115: mesh); and
an outer layer (par. 0115: silicone) surrounding the first inner layer and the second inner layer, the outer layer comprising of a material different from the first and second inner layers (par. 0115: fibers embedded in silicone; embedded mesh),
wherein the first inner layer and the second inner layer are configured to provide a longitudinal strength to the simulated tissue structure (par. 0115: fibers embedded in silicone that make the incisions and separation of the simulated uterus 216 realistic …embedded mesh that makes it possible for the silicone to hold sutures without easily tearing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over BLACK, as applied to claim 1, in view of US 2014/0248596 A1 to HART.
Regarding claim 4, BLACK teaches the elements above including an outer layer comprising silicone (par. 0115), but does not expressly disclose the silicone is a non- conductive silicone. However, HART discloses a related surgical simulation system comprising at least one simulated body organ (Abstract), and further discloses using materials including non-conductive silicone, as it is suitable for forming artificial organs (par. 0062). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of non-conductive silicone, as taught by HART, to the silicone outer layer of BLACK, in order to apply a known material that is recognized as suitable for forming artificial organs, thereby achieving predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over BLACK, as applied to claim 1, in view of US 2018/0240366 A1 to FELSINGER.
Regarding claim 8, BLACK teaches the elements above including an outer layer comprising silicone (par. 0115), but does not expressly disclose the silicone is a conductive material. However, FELSINGER discloses using conductive silicone to produce synthetic organs (par. 0032). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of conductive silicone, as taught by FELSINGER, to the silicone outer layer of BLACK, in order to apply a known material that is recognized as suitable for forming synthetic organs, thereby achieving predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 24-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715