DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The claims were amended prior to examination on March 27, 2024. Claims 1-20 were canceled and Claims 21-40 were newly added prior to examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species found in Figure 2 directed to a packet in the reply filed on July 10, 2025, is acknowledged. Claims 21-22, 27-31, 33-37, and 40 encompass the elected species and will be examined below.
Interview with Attorney
The Examiner called attorney Andrews on October 16, 2025, to seek clarification on what appeared to be a typo on claim 27 which noted “a fluid-impermeable middle layer comprising a polymer; a fluid-impermeable outer layer”. The only polymer defined by the specification and originally filed claims was a super absorbent polymer and therefore not impermeable. Additionally, all other independent claims had a “fluid absorbent middle layer comprising a polymer” The attorney agreed it was a typo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The “a fluid-impermeable middle layer comprising a polymer” is not supported by the originally filed application as the only polymer is specifically noted as a Super Absorbent Polymer (SAP).
Claim 31 is rejected under 112(a) as it depends from claim 27.
Claim 27 is being interpreted as the term “a fluid-impermeable middle layer comprising a polymer” contains a typo and should read “a fluid-absorbent middle layer comprising a polymer” based on the Examiner initiated Interview with Attorney Andrews as detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 27-28, 31, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evers US 5300358 in view of Somers et al. US 2006/0030023 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Evers discloses a biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article (abstract and Col 3 lines 1-15 which define biodegradable), comprising:
-an inner layer comprising a non-woven fluid permeable fabric (Col 8 lines 25-32 which disclose the topsheet can be non-woven and Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles);
-a fluid absorbent middle layer comprising a polymer (Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles, which includes a middle layer with a super absorbent polymer);
- a fluid impermeable outer layer (Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles including an impermeable back sheet or outer layer).
Evers discloses in Col 3 lines 1-15 which define biodegradable that Fungi can be added to aid in the degradation process but fails to disclose a composition comprising one or more mycelium, fungal spores, or combinations thereof configured for reacting with bodily waste to initiate growth and degrade the inner layer, middle layer and outer layer of the biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article.
Somers discloses an enzyme packet designed to be used with a generic absorbent article to help breakdown the bio-waste thereby being drawn to the same problem as the instant claims. Somers teaches the packet can contain Aspergillus (or filamentous Fungi) to aid the degradation process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have added the enzyme packet of Somers to the diaper to Evers as Evers specifically teaches that fungi can be added to help degrade the article in Col 3 lines 1-15.
Regarding claim 22, Evers and modified by Somers discloses the composition comprises a plurality of mycelium beads, fabric on which mycelium has been deposited or mycelium in a powder form (Somers [0051]).
Regarding claim 27, Evers discloses a biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article (abstract and Col 3 lines 1-15 which define biodegradable), comprising:
-an inner layer comprising a non-woven fluid permeable fabric (Col 8 lines 25-32 which disclose the topsheet can be non-woven and Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles);
-a fluid absorbent middle layer comprising a polymer (Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles, which includes a middle layer with a super absorbent polymer);
- a fluid impermeable outer layer (Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles including an impermeable back sheet or outer layer).
Evers discloses in Col 3 lines 1-15 which define biodegradable that Fungi can be added to aid in the degradation process but fails to disclose a packet containing a composition comprising one or more mycelium, fungal spores, or combinations thereof configured for reacting with bodily waste to initiate growth and degrade the inner layer, middle layer and outer layer of the biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article.
Somers discloses an enzyme packet designed to be used with a generic absorbent article to help breakdown the bio-waste thereby being drawn to the same problem as the instant claims. Somers teaches the packet can contain Aspergillus (or filamentous Fungi) to aid the degradation process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have added the enzyme packet of Somers to the diaper to Evers as Evers specifically teaches that fungi can be added to help degrade the article in Col 3 lines 1-15.
Regarding claim 28, Evers and modified by Somers discloses the composition comprises a plurality of mycelium beads, fabric on which mycelium has been deposited or mycelium in a powder form (Somers [0051]).
Regarding claim 31, Evers and modified by Somers discloses wherein the packet is configured for being opened and handled via human action to allow the deposition of the one or more mycelium, fungal spores, or combinations thereof into the biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article at a time of disposal (figure 2 c which has a tear notch and [0015] which teaches the user adds the composition).
Regarding claim 33, Evers discloses wherein the polymer is a super absorbent polymer (SAP) (Col. 2 lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 34, Evers and modified by Somers discloses wherein the composition further comprises one or more enzymes (Somers [0046] notes powered or encapsulated form).
Regarding claim 35, Evers and modified by Somers discloses wherein the composition is in an encapsulated form (Somers [0015] notes an enzyme producing bacteria plus enzymes).
Regarding claim 36, Evers and modified by Somers discloses wherein the composition is embedded into the biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article (Somers [0034] notes the composition can be embedded in the absorbent article).
Regarding claim 37, Evers and modified by Somers discloses wherein the composition is configured for using the bodily waste to grow and for degrading the biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article (Somers- abstract, [0067] which notes the pack contains a fungus and [0044-0046 and 0049-50] which discloses the enzymes degrade the waste by feeding or growing off the waste).
Claim(s) 29- 30 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somers et al. US 2006/0030023 A1 in view of Evers US 5300358.
Regarding claim 29, Somers discloses a composition comprising fungal spores configured for reacting with bodily waste to initiate growth (abstract, [0067] which notes the pack contains a fungus and [0044-0046 and 0049-50] which discloses the enzymes degrade the waste by feeding or growing off the waste). Sombers additionally discloses the composition is configured for deposition onto the biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article prior to or after soiling with bodily waste ([0031].
While Somers discloses a generic absorbent article, he fails to discloses a biodegradable disposable fluid absorbent article with (a) an inner layer comprising a non-woven fluid permeable fabric, (b) an absorbent middle layer comprising a polymer, and (c) a liquid impermeable outer layer.
Evers teaches a biodegradable absorbent article (abstract) and that fungus is known to be added to enhance decomposition of the article. Evers teaches the absorbent articles as an inner layer comprising a non-woven fluid permeable fabric (Col 8 lines 25-32 which disclose the topsheet can be non-woven and Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles); a fluid absorbent middle layer comprising a polymer (Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles, which includes a middle layer with a super absorbent polymer); and a fluid impermeable outer layer (Col 2 lines 40-55 which disclose a three-layer article typical of most absorbent articles including an impermeable back sheet or outer layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have used an absorbent article with the specifics of the article as taught by Evers since Evers teaches the addition of fungus to enhance decomposition and Somers teaches a generic absorbent article.
Regarding claim 30, Somers discloses the composition comprises a plurality of mycelium beads, fabric on which mycelium has been deposited or mycelium in a powder form ([0051]).
Regarding claim 40, Somers discloses wherein the composition further comprises one or more enzymes ([0015] notes an enzyme producing bacteria plus enzymes).
Conclusion
/GABRIELLA E BURNETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/NICHOLAS J. WEISS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781