DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 07/13/2026
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11 of remarks, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wenzel (US20230253787A1) in view of Sato (US20170198932A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 10-11, 14-18, 20, 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenzel (US20230253787A1) in view of Sato (US20170198932A1)
Regarding claim 1,
Wenzel teaches, A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, at an energy management device and at a first time, a marginal emissions signal that identifies a first grid energy source and a second grid energy source to service an additional electrical demand; (¶0252 teaches, At step 3104, data relating to available power sources on the energy grid is collected, i.e., identifying the different energy sources and general information on production of the energy sources serving the energy grid. ¶0246 teaches steps being performed by BMS controller 366)
wherein the energy management device is communicatively coupled with a refrigerant climate control system that is powered by the first grid energy source at the first time, wherein the energy management device and the refrigerant climate control system are located at a first location; (¶0068 teaches, BMS controller 366 may communicate with multiple downstream building systems or subsystems (e.g., HVAC system 100, a security system, a lighting system, waterside system 200, etc.) via a communications link 370. ¶0071 teaches BMS and HVAC system is located in building 10)
generating, by the energy management device, a control signal for the refrigerant climate control system based at least in part on the marginal emissions signal….; and (¶0252 teaches, At step 3108, the data from steps 3104 and 3106 are used to estimate a time-varying value of carbon emissions per unit energy or power (e.g., average, MOER) received from the energy grid. ¶0253 teaches calculating total carbon emission based on time-varying value of carbon emissions per unit energy or power (e.g., average, MOER). ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generating time-varying setpoints based on total carbon emission for time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. “For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods.”)
providing, by the energy management device, the control signal to a controller of the refrigerant climate control system that is separate from the energy management device, wherein the control signal is configured to cause the controller to avoid operating the refrigerant climate control system with power from the second grid energy source at a second time that is later than the first time. (¶0069 teaches BMS controller sends setpoints to AHU controller. ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generated time-varying setpoints time-shifts building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. “For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods.”
Wenzel doesn't teach, receiving, by the energy management device, coordinating control information from a remote coordinating server that enables coordination of refrigerant climate control systems at a plurality of different locations; (Sato in ¶0029 teaches EMS (Energy Management System) 22 receives control-schedules of the air conditioners 21 from the management system 1. ¶0045 and ¶0059 and ¶0047 teaches control-schedules are generated by the management system 1 for controlling multiple air conditioners 21 under the control of the multiple consumers A, B, and C included in a consumer group 18. ¶0033 teaches, The management system 1 is provided with an operational unit such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and ¶0026 teaches, The management system 1 is connected to each of consumers 19 in a consumer group 18 by a network 20 such as the Internet and a LAN, therefore it teaches a server)
generating, by the energy management device, a control signal for the refrigerant climate control system based at least in part on….. the coordinating control information; (Sato in ¶003 l teaches, the air-conditioning command unit 27 in the EMS 22 outputs control commands for the air conditioners 21 to the air-conditioning central controller 23 so that the air conditioners will operate in accordance with the received control-schedule.)
Sato is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, a control equipment in order to manage electric power for consumers such as buildings (see ¶0001). A combination of Sato with Wenzel would allow the system to receive coordinating control information from a coordinating server that coordinates operation of the refrigerant climate control system with other refrigerant climate control systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Sato with Wenzel. One would have been motivated to do so because this would allow reduction of the electric power usage with the state value set for the area where the device is installed kept within the range in accordance with the power-suppression-time, as taught by Sato in ¶0007.
Regarding claim 2,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the marginal emissions signal comprises receiving the marginal emissions signal from a remote system that monitors characteristics associated with the first and second grid energy sources. (Wenzel in ¶0252 teaches, At step 3104, data relating to available power sources on the energy grid is collected, i.e., identifying the different energy sources and general information on production of the energy sources serving the energy grid. This information is typically available, even where detailed estimates of carbon emissions or real-time MOER are not shared by utility companies.)
Regarding claim 5,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the energy management device comprises a home automation system configured to control operation of connected accessories at a dwelling, and the refrigerant climate control system comprises an air conditioning system or a heat pump system of the dwelling. (Wenzel in ¶0246 teaches, Process 3100 can be executed by the BMS controller 366. ¶0047 teaches A BMS can include, for example, a HVAC system, a security system, a lighting system, a fire alerting system, any other system that is capable of managing building functions or devices, or any combination thereof. ¶0063 teaches AHU controller controls a AHU (air handling unit))
Regarding claim 6,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the control signal for the refrigerant climate control system comprises optimizing electrical energy use of the refrigerant climate control system based on the marginal emissions signal. (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generating time-varying setpoints based on total carbon emission for time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. “For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods.”)
Regarding claim 7,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the control signal comprises a binary flag; (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generating time-varying setpoints which include time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods)
in a first state of the binary flag, the binary flag is interpreted by the controller of the refrigerant climate control as a first suggestion to operate a compressor of the refrigerant climate control system; and (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches, pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period)
in a second state of the binary flag, the binary flag is interpreted by the controller of the refrigerant climate control as a second suggestion to refrain from operating the compressor of the refrigerant climate control system. (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches, eliminating operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods)
Regarding claim 8,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the control signal comprises a set of instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to operate, using the first grid energy source, a compressor of the refrigerant climate control system in one of a plurality of modes. (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches operating building equipment is operated in accordance with the optimized setpoints, which includes time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods)
Regarding claim 10,
Wenzel teaches, An energy management device, comprising:
a memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and a processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to at least: (¶0075-¶0076 teaches BMS controller comprising a memory 408 which is communicably connected to processor 406 via processing circuit 404 and includes computer code for executing (e.g., by processing circuit 404 and/or processor 406) one or more processes)
receive, at a first time, a marginal emissions signal identifies a first grid energy source and a second grid energy source to service an additional electrical demand; (¶0252 teaches, At step 3104, data relating to available power sources on the energy grid is collected, i.e., identifying the different energy sources and general information on production of the energy sources serving the energy grid. ¶0246 teaches steps being performed by BMS controller 366)
wherein the energy management device is communicatively coupled with a refrigerant climate control system that is powered by the first grid energy source at the first time, wherein the energy management device and the refrigerant climate control system are located at a first location and; (¶0068 teaches, BMS controller 366 may communicate with multiple downstream building systems or subsystems (e.g., HVAC system 100, a security system, a lighting system, waterside system 200, etc.) via a communications link 370. ¶0071 teaches BMS and HVAC system is located in building 10)
generate a control signal for the refrigerant climate control system based at least in part on the marginal emissions signal…..; and (¶0252 teaches, At step 3108, the data from steps 3104 and 3106 are used to estimate a time-varying value of carbon emissions per unit energy or power (e.g., average, MOER) received from the energy grid. ¶0253 teaches calculating total carbon emission based on time-varying value of carbon emissions per unit energy or power (e.g., average, MOER). ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generating time-varying setpoints based on total carbon emission for time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. “For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods.”)
provide the control signal to a controller of the refrigerant climate control system that is separate from the energy management device, wherein the control signal is configured to cause the controller to avoid operating the refrigerant climate control system with power from the second grid energy source at a second time that is later than the first time. (¶0069 teaches BMS controller sends setpoints to AHU controller. ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generated time-varying setpoints time-shifts building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. “For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods.”
Wenzel doesn't teach, receive coordinating control information from a remote coordinating server that enables coordination of refrigerant climate control systems at a plurality of different locations; (Sato in ¶0029 teaches EMS (Energy Management System) 22 receives control-schedules of the air conditioners 21 from the management system 1. ¶0045 and ¶0059 and ¶0047 teaches control-schedules are generated by the management system 1 for controlling multiple air conditioners 21 under the control of the multiple consumers A, B, and C included in a consumer group 18. ¶0033 teaches, The management system 1 is provided with an operational unit such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and ¶0026 teaches, The management system 1 is connected to each of consumers 19 in a consumer group 18 by a network 20 such as the Internet and a LAN, therefore it teaches a server)
generate a control signal for the refrigerant climate control system based at least in part on…. the coordinating control information; (Sato in ¶003 l teaches, the air-conditioning command unit 27 in the EMS 22 outputs control commands for the air conditioners 21 to the air-conditioning central controller 23 so that the air conditioners will operate in accordance with the received control-schedule.)
Sato is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, a control equipment in order to manage electric power for consumers such as buildings (see ¶0001). A combination of Sato with Wenzel would allow the system to receive coordinating control information from a coordinating server that coordinates operation of the refrigerant climate control system with other refrigerant climate control systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Sato with Wenzel. One would have been motivated to do so because this would allow reduction of the electric power usage with the state value set for the area where the device is installed kept within the range in accordance with the power-suppression-time, as taught by Sato in ¶0007.
Regarding claim 11,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The energy management device of claim 10, wherein receiving the marginal emissions signal comprises receiving the marginal emissions signal from a remote system that monitors characteristics associated with the first and second grid energy sources. (Wenzel in ¶0252 teaches, At step 3104, data relating to available power sources on the energy grid is collected, i.e., identifying the different energy sources and general information on production of the energy sources serving the energy grid. This information is typically available, even where detailed estimates of carbon emissions or real-time MOER are not shared by utility companies.)
Regarding claim 14,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The energy management device of claim 10, wherein generating the control signal for the refrigerant climate control system comprises optimizing electrical energy use of the refrigerant climate control system based on the energy optimization signal. (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generating time-varying setpoints based on total carbon emission for time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. “For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods.”)
Regarding claim 15,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The energy management device of claim 10, wherein the control signal comprises a set of instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to operate, using the first grid energy source, a compressor of the refrigerant climate control system in one of a plurality of modes. (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches operating building equipment is operated in accordance with the optimized setpoints, which includes time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods)
Regarding claim 16,
Wenzel teaches, One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an energy management device, cause the energy management device to perform operations comprising: (¶0075-¶0076 teaches BMS controller comprising a memory 408 which is communicably connected to processor 406 via processing circuit 404 and includes computer code for executing (e.g., by processing circuit 404 and/or processor 406) one or more processes)
receiving, at the energy management device and at a first time, a marginal emissions signal that identifies a first grid energy source and a second grid energy source to service an additional electrical demand, (¶0252 teaches, At step 3104, data relating to available power sources on the energy grid is collected, i.e., identifying the different energy sources and general information on production of the energy sources serving the energy grid. ¶0246 teaches steps being performed by BMS controller 366)
wherein the energy management device is communicatively coupled with a refrigerant climate control system that is powered by the first grid energy source at the first time, wherein the energy management device and the refrigerant climate control system are located at a first location; (¶0068 teaches, BMS controller 366 may communicate with multiple downstream building systems or subsystems (e.g., HVAC system 100, a security system, a lighting system, waterside system 200, etc.) via a communications link 370. ¶0071 teaches BMS and HVAC system is located in building 10)
generating, by the energy management device, the control signal for the refrigerant climate control system based at least in part on the marginal emissions signal….; and. (¶0252 teaches, At step 3108, the data from steps 3104 and 3106 are used to estimate a time-varying value of carbon emissions per unit energy or power (e.g., average, MOER) received from the energy grid. ¶0253 teaches calculating total carbon emission based on time-varying value of carbon emissions per unit energy or power (e.g., average, MOER). ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generating time-varying setpoints based on total carbon emission for time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. “For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods.”)
providing, by the energy management device, the control signal to a controller of the refrigerant climate control system that is separate from the energy management device, wherein the control signal is configured to cause the controller to avoid operating the refrigerant climate control system with power from the second grid energy source at a second time that is later than the first time. (¶0069 teaches BMS controller sends setpoints to AHU controller. ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generated time-varying setpoints time-shifts building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. “For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods.”)
Wenzel doesn't teach, receiving, by the energy management device, coordinating control information from a remote coordinating server that enables coordination of refrigerant climate control systems at a plurality of different locations; (Sato in ¶0029 teaches EMS (Energy Management System) 22 receives control-schedules of the air conditioners 21 from the management system 1. ¶0045 and ¶0059 and ¶0047 teaches control-schedules are generated by the management system 1 for controlling multiple air conditioners 21 under the control of the multiple consumers A, B, and C included in a consumer group 18. ¶0033 teaches, The management system 1 is provided with an operational unit such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and ¶0026 teaches, The management system 1 is connected to each of consumers 19 in a consumer group 18 by a network 20 such as the Internet and a LAN, therefore it teaches a server)
Sato is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, a control equipment in order to manage electric power for consumers such as buildings (see ¶0001). A combination of Sato with Wenzel would allow the system to receive coordinating control information from a coordinating server that coordinates operation of the refrigerant climate control system with other refrigerant climate control systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Sato with Wenzel. One would have been motivated to do so because this would allow reduction of the electric power usage with the state value set for the area where the device is installed kept within the range in accordance with the power-suppression-time, as taught by Sato in ¶0007.
Regarding claim 17,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein:
the control signal comprises a binary flag; (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches generating time-varying setpoints which include time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods)
in a first state of the binary flag, the binary flag is interpreted by the controller of the refrigerant climate control as a first suggestion to operate a compressor of the refrigerant climate control system; and (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches, pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period)
in a second state of the binary flag, the binary flag is interpreted by the controller of the refrigerant climate control as a second suggestion to refrain from operating the compressor of the refrigerant climate control system. (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches, eliminating operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods)
Regarding claim 18,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the control signal comprises a set of instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to operate, using the first grid energy source, a compressor of the refrigerant climate control system in one of a plurality of modes. (Wenzel in ¶0254-¶0255 teaches operating building equipment is operated in accordance with the optimized setpoints, which includes time-shifting building equipment to low-carbon periods and away from high-carbon-emissions periods. For example, a building can be pre-cooled or pre-heated during a low-carbon period (e.g., cooled below a preferred temperature setpoint, heated above a preferred temperature setpoint) to reduce or eliminate operating of cooling equipment (chillers, etc.) during high-carbon periods)
Wenzel and Sato doesn't explicitly teach, and wherein the plurality of modes comprises a first mode that fills a receiver of the refrigerant climate control system, and (Becker in ¶0042 teaches, In the example of FIG. 1A, the compressor 40 is operated as in FIG. 1, at a time desired ( e.g. when electricity rates are lower) until the material 90 within the thermal storage 120 achieves the desired temperature. While the compressor 40 runs, a first refrigerant ( cold) from the compressor 40 and outside air handler 50 flows through the first set of heat transfer tubes 82 a within the thermal storage 120 and cools and/or freezes the material 90 within the thermal storage 120.)
a second mode that serves current demand of the refrigerant climate control system. (Becker in ¶0044 teaches, When cooling is required within the structure as determined by, for example, a thermostat or other temperature sensing device, the condensed, liquefied second refrigerant from the thermal storage 120 is pumped into the inside air handler 70 through a high pressure line 7 4 and optionally. The inside air handler 70 receives the cooled, liquid second refrigerant through the second high-pressure line 7 4 and the liquid second refrigerant evaporates (changes state to a gas refrigerant) within the coils of the inside air handler 70, extracting heat from air flowing through the inside air handler 70 to provide cool air within the structure ( e.g., home, office, refrigerator).)
Becker is an art in the area of interest as it relates to air conditioners, and more particularly, to a thermal storage air conditioner (see ¶0001). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the air conditioner and air conditioner operating method of Wenzel in view of Becker to include an air conditioner with thermal storage which could perform the claimed method. One would have been motivated to do so because this would allow performing extra work (e.g. drawing extra energy or electricity) during certain time periods when the energy cost is low and to reduce the amount of work ( e.g. drawing less energy or electricity) during other time periods when energy cost is high, as taught by Becker in ¶003 l. This would reduce the overall cost of operating the air conditioner.
Regarding claim 20,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein receiving the marginal emissions signal comprises receiving the marginal emissions signal from a remote system that monitors characteristics associated with the first and second grid energy sources. (Wenzel in ¶0252 teaches, At step 3104, data relating to available power sources on the energy grid is collected, i.e., identifying the different energy sources and general information on production of the energy sources serving the energy grid. This information is typically available, even where detailed estimates of carbon emissions or real-time MOER are not shared by utility companies.)
Regarding claim 22,
Wenzel and Sato teaches, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the energy management device, climate control information to the remote coordinating server, the climate control information being based on the control signal. (Sato in ¶0035 teaches, The air-conditioning-operation-record collection unit 4 of the management system 1 transmits a transmission request for operation records of air conditioners 21 to an EMS 22 in a consumer 19 via the network 20, collects the operation records of the air conditioners 21 from the EMS 22 in the consumer 19, and stores them in the air-conditioning-operation-record storage 5. ¶0033 teaches, The management system 1 is provided with an operational unit such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and ¶0026 teaches, The management system 1 is connected to each of consumers 19 in a consumer group 18 by a network 20 such as the Internet and a LAN, therefore it teaches a server)
Regarding claim 23,
Wenzel and Sato teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the energy management device comprises a home automation controller, and (Wenzel in ¶0252 and ¶0246 teaches a BMS)
wherein the plurality of different locations comprises a plurality of residential homes. (Sato in ¶0047 teaches, a group of consumers A, B and C, such as buildings)
Regarding claim 24,
Wenzel and Sato teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of different locations is within a particular geographic region, (Sato in ¶0047-¶0048 teaches a consumer group comprising a plurality of buildings or factories served by the power company.)
and wherein the marginal emissions signal is specific to the geographic region. (Wenzel in ¶0252 teaches, a data relating to available power sources on the energy grid is collected, i.e., identifying the different energy sources and general information on production of the energy sources serving the energy grid. Therefore, it teaches marginal emission signal specific to a geographic region (i.e. the region served by the grid).)
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenzel (US20230253787A1) in view of Sato (US20170198932A1) and further in view of Ren ((US20220352717A1).
Regarding claim 4,
Wenzel and Sato doesn’t explicitly teach, The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein first grid energy source comprises a residential power generation system. (Wenzel in ¶0252 teaches collecting data relating to available power sources on the energy grid. However, it doesn’t teach one of the power sources on the energy grid comprises a residential power generation system. Ren in ¶0038 teaches power being supplied to power grids from Distributed Energy Resources (DER) including a plurality of residences 214 are coupled to DERs including solar panels 214 a and wind turbines 214 b)
Ren is an art in the area of interest as it teaches demand response in power grids and networks (see ¶0001). A combination of Ren with Wenzel and Sato would teach a power grid with plurality of energy generation sources. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Ren with Wenzel and Sato. One would have motivated to do so because DERs provide a voltage boost to the grid wherever they are connected, DERs can reduce the power required of a base load generator such as a power plant and DER is seen as a mechanism for achieving reduced greenhouse gas emissions and a mechanism for reducing load on the electrical grids in which they are deployed, as taught by Ren in ¶0004.
Regarding claim 13,
Wenzel and Sato doesn’t explicitly teach, The energy management device of claim 10, wherein the first grid energy source comprises at least one of a residential solar generation system or a residential battery power system. (Wenzel in ¶0252 teaches collecting data relating to available power sources on the energy grid. However, it doesn’t teach one of the power sources on the energy grid comprises a residential power generation system. Ren in ¶0038 teaches power being supplied to power grids from Distributed Energy Resources (DER) including a plurality of residences 214 are coupled to DERs including solar panels 214 a and wind turbines 214 b)
Ren is an art in the area of interest as it teaches demand response in power grids and networks (see ¶0001). A combination of Ren with Wenzel and Sato would teach a power grid with plurality of energy generation sources. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Ren with Wenzel and Sato. One would have motivated to do so because DERs provide a voltage boost to the grid wherever they are connected, DERs can reduce the power required of a base load generator such as a power plant and DER is seen as a mechanism for achieving reduced greenhouse gas emissions and a mechanism for reducing load on the electrical grids in which they are deployed, as taught by Ren in ¶0004.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenzel (US20230253787A1) in view of Sato (US20170198932A1) and further in view of Becker (US20160187013A1) hereinafter Becker.
Regarding claim 9,
Wenzel and Sato doesn’t explicitly teach, The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the plurality of modes comprises a first mode that fills a receiver of the refrigerant climate control system, and (Becker in ¶0042 teaches, In the example of FIG. 1A, the compressor 40 is operated as in FIG. 1, at a time desired (e.g. when electricity rates are lower) until the material 90 within the thermal storage 120 achieves the desired temperature. While the compressor 40 runs, a first refrigerant (cold) from the compressor 40 and outside air handler 50 flows through the first set of heat transfer tubes 82 a within the thermal storage 120 and cools and/or freezes the material 90 within the thermal storage 120.)
a second mode that serves current demand of the refrigerant climate control system. (Becker in ¶0044 teaches, When cooling is required within the structure as determined by, for example, a thermostat or other temperature sensing device, the condensed, liquefied second refrigerant from the thermal storage 120 is pumped into the inside air handler 70 through a high pressure line 74 and optionally. The inside air handler 70 receives the cooled, liquid second refrigerant through the second high-pressure line 74 and the liquid second refrigerant evaporates (changes state to a gas refrigerant) within the coils of the inside air handler 70, extracting heat from air flowing through the inside air handler 70 to provide cool air within the structure (e.g., home, office, refrigerator).)
Becker is an art in the area of interest as it relates to air conditioners, and more particularly, to a thermal storage air conditioner (see ¶0001). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the air conditioner and air conditioner operating method of Wenzel and Sato in view of Becker to include an air conditioner with thermal storage which could perform the claimed method. One would have been motivated to do so because this would allow performing extra work (e.g. drawing extra energy or electricity) during certain time periods when the energy cost is low and to reduce the amount of work (e.g. drawing less energy or electricity) during other time periods when energy cost is high, as taught by Becker in ¶0031. This would reduce the overall cost of operating the air conditioner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haze (US20150308703A1) in ¶0109 teaches, The demand-controlled group determination unit 260 then groups the power consumers 130 on the basis of the calculated demand control allowable indexes and determines details of the demand control on each group (step S605) and ¶0116 teaches, If any of the power consumers 130 which are being demand-controlled based on the received demand control commands cancels the demand control (YES in step S610), the temperature receiving unit 210 receives the temperature at the time of the cancellation measured by the environmental information sensor 132 of the power consumer 130 from the communication device 131 thereof and sends the temperature to the cancellation temperature table 230 (step S611).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISTIAQUE AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116