DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the amendment filed 06/23/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US-20230345310-A1 (hereinafter “Li”), in view of Saily et al US-20210378053-A1 (hereinafter “Saily”).
As to claim 1:
Li1 discloses:
A method for wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by a base station, a message from a communication node in a core network, wherein the message includes an identifier identifying a multicast or broadcast service that is authorized for a mobile device to receive data; “AMF 203 sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 … may include the following information to help RAN node 202 prepare for the switch.” [0165] Li “after determining that the UE is authorized to use multicast/broadcast service. AMF 203 sends MBS session establishment message or update request message to the selected MB-SMF 208 depending on whether the MBS session exists” [0156, 0160] Li
receiving, by the base station, a request from the communication node to establish a multicast or broadcast session for the multicast or broadcast service, wherein the request includes an identifier identifying the multicast or broadcast service and a quality of service profile of the multicast or broadcast session; “after determining that the UE is authorized to use multicast/broadcast service. AMF 203 sends MBS session establishment message or update request message to the selected MB-SMF 208 depending on whether the MBS session exists, the request may include the information such as UE ID, session ID, QoS flow ID and corresponding QoS information (e.g., 5G QoS Indicator (5QI), QoS requirements such as maximum data rate per QoS flow or per MBS session, maximum latency, or error rate ” [0156, 0160] “AMF 203 also sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 including a NAS message (switch response) that may be forwarded to UE 201 by the RAN node 202. The N2 message includes UE ID, unicast session ID and corresponding session context information, QoS profile, UPF address/ID, MBS session ID with TMGI or multicast IP address, time instant that switch starts” [0244] Li
transmitting, by the base station, a message to the mobile device that is authorized to receive the data for the multicast or broadcast service, the message indicating a resource configuration for the multicast or broadcast session, wherein the resource configuration is determined in part based on the quality of service profile associated with the multicast or broadcast session; and
“the RAN node 202 is able the configure radio resource within access network for data transfer to UE 201 to meet the QoS requirement” [0172] Li
“RAN node 202 sends an RRC message to UE 201 including the NAS message carrying the delivery mode switch response from AMF 203” [0175] Li
transmitting, by the base station, the data for the multicast or broadcast service using a resource configured according to the resource configuration. “RAN node 202 may send the multicast data to one or more UEs within its cell using the radio resource.” [0175] Li
Li does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the resource configuration is determined according to whether the mobile device is in a connected state or in an idle state such that a point-to-point resource configuration is used when the mobile device is in a connected state and a point-to-multipoint configuration is used when the mobile device is in an idle state”.
However, Saily discloses “wherein the resource configuration is determined according to whether the mobile device is in a connected state or in an idle state such that a point-to-point resource configuration is used when the mobile device is in a connected state and a point-to-multipoint configuration is used when the mobile device is in an idle state” (See Saily ¶ 0056 and ¶67 ; discloses deciding how to configure a mobile device to receive multicast data or service according to the mobile device state; the mobile device will receive multicast data via multicast (point to multipoint) if the mobile is in inactive or idle mode; Also, the mobile can receive multicast data via unicast (point to point) if the mobile is in active mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Li and Saily before him or her, to modify the invention of Kim to decide how to deliver multicast data to a mobile based on determining whether the mobile in idle state or active state. The suggestion for doing so would have been to solve challenges that may exist in providing multicast data transmission to mobile low activity UEs, e.g., as the UEs change location (move between cells) and/or change state (¶ 0052).
As to claim 2:
The combination of Li and Saily discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the resource configuration s further based on the quality of service profile associated with the multicast or broadcast session.
(see Li ¶s 0156, 0160) after determining that the UE is authorized to use multicast/broadcast service. AMF 203 sends MBS session establishment message or update request message to the selected MB-SMF 208 depending on whether the MBS session exists, the request may include the information such as UE ID, session ID, QoS flow ID and corresponding QoS information (e.g., 5G QoS Indicator (5QI), QoS requirements such as maximum data rate per QoS flow or per MBS session, maximum latency, or error rate ”; (Also see Saily ¶ 0041 and 110).
As to claim 3:
Li1 discloses:
The method of claim 1, when the mobile device is in an the idle state, a context of the mobile device is released by the base station, wherein the context includes the identifier identifying the multicast or broadcast service that is authorized for the mobile device to receive data; (See Li ¶ 170 and Saily ¶ 0041 and 0050)
As to claim 4:
Li discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the resource configuration is determined further based on a number of mobile devices that are interested in accessing the multicast or broadcast service.
“In an example, the core network function finds that the number of UEs receiving the same data content via respective unicast session exceeds a threshold number and decides to start the multicast data transfer for more efficient network resource usage.” [0134] Li
“the content provider finds that the number of users receiving data on the multicast session decreases, and it becomes less efficient to continue multicast from resource management aspect” [0216] Li
As to claim 5:
LI discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the identifier identifying the multicast or broadcast service is a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI).
“AMF 203 sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 … may include the following information to help RAN node 202 prepare for the switch.” [0165] Li
“The information may include … TMGI to identify the multicast group.” [0170] Li
As to claim 6:
Li discloses:
A method for wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, by a mobile device, a request to access a multicast or broadcast service, wherein the request is configured to cause the mobile device to be authorized to receive data for the multicast or broadcast service;
“AMF 203 sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 … may include the following information to help RAN node 202 prepare for the switch.” [0165] Li
“The information may include … TMGI to identify the multicast group.” [0170] Li
receiving, at the mobile device, a message indicating a resource configuration for a multicast or broadcast session of the multicast or broadcast service, wherein the resource configuration is determined; and
“AMF 203 also sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 including a NAS message (switch response) that may be forwarded to UE 201 by the RAN node 202. The N2 message includes UE ID, unicast session ID and corresponding session context information, QoS profile, UPF address/ID, MBS session ID with TMGI or multicast IP address, time instant that switch starts” [0244] Li
receiving, at the mobile device, the data for the multicast or broadcast service using a resource configured according to the resource configuration.
“RAN node 202 may send the multicast data to one or more UEs within its cell using the radio resource.” [0175] Li
Li1 does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the resource configuration is determined according to whether the mobile device is in a connected state or in an idle state such that a point-to-point resource configuration is used when the mobile device is in a connected state and a point-to-multipoint configuration is used when the mobile device is in an idle state”.
However, Saily discloses “wherein the resource configuration is determined according to whether the mobile device is in a connected state or in an idle state such that a point-to-point resource configuration is used when the mobile device is in a connected state and a point-to-multipoint configuration is used when the mobile device is in an idle state” (See Saily ¶ 0056 and ¶67 ; discloses deciding how to configure a mobile device to receive multicast data or service according to the mobile device state; the mobile device will receive multicast data via multicast (point to multipoint) if the mobile is in inactive or idle mode; Also, the mobile can receive multicast data via unicast (point to point) if the mobile is in active mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Li and Saily before him or her, to modify the invention of Kim to decide how to deliver multicast data to a mobile based on determining whether the mobile in idle state or active state. The suggestion for doing so would have been to solve challenges that may exist in providing multicast data transmission to mobile low activity UEs, e.g., as the UEs change location (move between cells) and/or change state (¶ 0052).
As to claim 7:
The combination of Li and Saily discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the resource configuration s further based on the quality of service profile associated with the multicast or broadcast session.
(see Li ¶s 0156, 0160) after determining that the UE is authorized to use multicast/broadcast service. AMF 203 sends MBS session establishment message or update request message to the selected MB-SMF 208 depending on whether the MBS session exists, the request may include the information such as UE ID, session ID, QoS flow ID and corresponding QoS information (e.g., 5G QoS Indicator (5QI), QoS requirements such as maximum data rate per QoS flow or per MBS session, maximum latency, or error rate ”; (Also see Saily ¶ 0041 and 110).
As to claim 8:
The combination of Li and Saily discloses:
The method of claim 1, when the mobile device is in an the idle state, a context of the mobile device is released by radio access network (RAN), wherein the context includes identifier identifying the multicast or broadcast service that is authorized for the mobile device to receive data; (See Li ¶ 170 and Saily ¶ 0041 and 0050)
As to claim 9:
Li1 discloses:
The method of claim 6, wherein the resource configuration is further determined based on a number of mobile devices that are interested in accessing the multicast or broadcast service.
“In an example, the core network function finds that the number of UEs receiving the same data content via respective unicast session exceeds a threshold number and decides to start the multicast data transfer for more efficient network resource usage.” [0134] Li1
As to claim 10:
Li discloses:
The method of claim 6, wherein the multicast or broadcast service is associated with a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) that identifies the multicast or broadcast service.
“AMF 203 sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 … may include the following information to help RAN node 202 prepare for the switch.” [0165] Li
“The information may include … TMGI to identify the multicast group.” [0170] Li
As to claim 11:
Li discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions, execution of which by the processor causes the apparatus to:
See FIG. 1B Li
receive a message from a communication node in a core network, wherein the message includes an identifier identifying a multicast or broadcast service that is authorized for a mobile device to receive data;
“AMF 203 sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 … may include the following information to help RAN node 202 prepare for the switch.” [0165] Li
“The information may include … TMGI to identify the multicast group.” [0170] Li
receive a request from the communication node to establish a multicast or broadcast session for the multicast or broadcast service, wherein the request includes an identifier identifying the multicast or broadcast service and a quality of service profile of the multicast or broadcast session;
“AMF 203 also sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 including a NAS message (switch response) that may be forwarded to UE 201 by the RAN node 202. The N2 message includes UE ID, unicast session ID and corresponding session context information, QoS profile, UPF address/ID, MBS session ID with TMGI or multicast IP address, time instant that switch starts” [0244] Li
transmit a message to the mobile device that is authorized to receive the data for the multicast or broadcast service, the message indicating a resource configuration for the multicast or broadcast session, wherein the resource configuration is determined; and
“the RAN node 202 is able the configure radio resource within access network for data transfer to UE 201 to meet the QoS requirement” [0172] Li
“RAN node 202 sends an RRC message to UE 201 including the NAS message carrying the delivery mode switch response from AMF 203” [0175] Li
transmit the data for the multicast or broadcast service using a resource configured according to the resource configuration.
“RAN node 202 may send the multicast data to one or more UEs within its cell using the radio resource.” [0175] Li
Li1 does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the resource configuration is determined according to whether the mobile device is in a connected state or in an idle state such that a point-to-point resource configuration is used when the mobile device is in a connected state and a point-to-multipoint configuration is used when the mobile device is in an idle state”.
However, Saily discloses “wherein the resource configuration is determined according to whether the mobile device is in a connected state or in an idle state such that a point-to-point resource configuration is used when the mobile device is in a connected state and a point-to-multipoint configuration is used when the mobile device is in an idle state” (See Saily ¶ 0056 and ¶67 ; discloses deciding how to configure a mobile device to receive multicast data or service according to the mobile device state; the mobile device will receive multicast data via multicast (point to multipoint) if the mobile is in inactive or idle mode; Also, the mobile can receive multicast data via unicast (point to point) if the mobile is in active mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Li and Saily before him or her, to modify the invention of Kim to decide how to deliver multicast data to a mobile based on determining whether the mobile in idle state or active state. The suggestion for doing so would have been to solve challenges that may exist in providing multicast data transmission to mobile low activity UEs, e.g., as the UEs change location (move between cells) and/or change state (¶ 0052).
As to claim 12:
The combination of Li and Saily discloses:
The method of claim 11, is further based on a quality of service profile associated with the multicast or broadcast session, wherein a context includes the identifier identifying the multicast or broadcast service that is authorized for the apparatus to receive data.
(see Li ¶s 0156, 0160) after determining that the UE is authorized to use multicast/broadcast service. AMF 203 sends MBS session establishment message or update request message to the selected MB-SMF 208 depending on whether the MBS session exists, the request may include the information such as UE ID, session ID, QoS flow ID and corresponding QoS information (e.g., 5G QoS Indicator (5QI), QoS requirements such as maximum data rate per QoS flow or per MBS session, maximum latency, or error rate ”; (Also see Saily ¶ 0041 and 110).
As to claim 13:
The combination of Li and Saily discloses:
The method of claim 1, when the mobile device is in an the idle state, a context of the mobile device is released by radio access network (RAN); (See Li ¶ 170 and Saily ¶ 0041 and 0050)
As to claim 14:
Li discloses:
The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the resource configuration is determined further based on a number of mobile devices that are interested in accessing the multicast or broadcast service.
“In an example, the core network function finds that the number of UEs receiving the same data content via respective unicast session exceeds a threshold number and decides to start the multicast data transfer for more efficient network resource usage.” [0134] Li
As to claim 15:
Li discloses:
The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the identifier identifying the multicast or broadcast service is a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI).
“AMF 203 sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 … may include the following information to help RAN node 202 prepare for the switch.” [0165] Li
“The information may include … TMGI to identify the multicast group.” [0170] Li
As to claim 16:
Li discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions, execution of which by the processor causes the apparatus to:
See FIG. 1B Li
transmit a request to access a multicast or broadcast service, wherein the request is configured to cause the apparatus to be authorized to receive data for the multicast or broadcast service;
“AMF 203 sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 … may include the following information to help RAN node 202 prepare for the switch.” [0165] Li
“The information may include … TMGI to identify the multicast group.” [0170] Li
receive a message indicating a resource configuration for a multicast or broadcast session of the multicast or broadcast service, wherein the resource configuration is determined; and
“the RAN node 202 is able the configure radio resource within access network for data transfer to UE 201 to meet the QoS requirement” [0172] Li
“RAN node 202 sends an RRC message to UE 201 including the NAS message carrying the delivery mode switch response from AMF 203” [0175] Li
receive the data for the multicast or broadcast service using a resource configured according to the resource configuration.
“RAN node 202 may send the multicast data to one or more UEs within its cell using the radio resource.” [0175] Li
Li1 does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein the resource configuration is determined according to whether the mobile device is in a connected state or in an idle state such that a point-to-point resource configuration is used when the mobile device is in a connected state and a point-to-multipoint configuration is used when the mobile device is in an idle state”.
However, Saily discloses “wherein the resource configuration is determined according to whether the mobile device is in a connected state or in an idle state such that a point-to-point resource configuration is used when the mobile device is in a connected state and a point-to-multipoint configuration is used when the mobile device is in an idle state” (See Saily ¶ 0056 and ¶67 ; discloses deciding how to configure a mobile device to receive multicast data or service according to the mobile device state; the mobile device will receive multicast data via multicast (point to multipoint) if the mobile is in inactive or idle mode; Also, the mobile can receive multicast data via unicast (point to point) if the mobile is in active mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Li and Saily before him or her, to modify the invention of Kim to decide how to deliver multicast data to a mobile based on determining whether the mobile in idle state or active state. The suggestion for doing so would have been to solve challenges that may exist in providing multicast data transmission to mobile low activity UEs, e.g., as the UEs change location (move between cells) and/or change state (¶ 0052).
As to claim 17:
The combination of Li and Saily discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the resource configuration is further based on a quality of service profile associated with the multicast or broadcast session; (see Li ¶s 0156, 0160) after determining that the UE is authorized to use multicast/broadcast service. AMF 203 sends MBS session establishment message or update request message to the selected MB-SMF 208 depending on whether the MBS session exists, the request may include the information such as UE ID, session ID, QoS flow ID and corresponding QoS information (e.g., 5G QoS Indicator (5QI), QoS requirements such as maximum data rate per QoS flow or per MBS session, maximum latency, or error rate ”; (Also see Saily ¶ 0041 and 110).
As to claim 18:
Li1 discloses:
when the apparatus is in an the idle states a context of the apparatus is released by radio access network (RAN), wherein the context includes an identifier identifying the multicast or broadcast service that is authorized for the apparatus to receive data; (See Li ¶ 170 and Saily ¶ 0041 and 0050)
As to claim 19:
Li discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the resource configuration is further determined based on a number of mobile devices that are interested in accessing the multicast or broadcast service.
“In an example, the core network function finds that the number of UEs receiving the same data content via respective unicast session exceeds a threshold number and decides to start the multicast data transfer for more efficient network resource usage.” [0134] Li
As to claim 20:
Li discloses:
The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the multicast or broadcast service is associated with a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) that identifies the multicast or broadcast service.
“AMF 203 sends a N2 message to RAN node 202 … may include the following information to help RAN node 202 prepare for the switch.” [0165] Li
“The information may include … TMGI to identify the multicast group.” [0170] Li
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475