Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. §120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). the disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Prior filed applications must also support the claimed combination of elements; rendering the claimed invention obvious is not sufficient written description support. MPEP 2163 citing Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365 and Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d 1559; Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications 17/022,424 and 15/060,282 fail to provide adequate support in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application: Earlier filed applications fail to provide written description support for the claimed combination, “communication session comprises a distress notification” of Claims 1-2,4-6,8-10, 21-23, 28, 31. This combination is first described in application 15/060,282.
As a result, Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 21-23, 28, 31 are examined with a priority date of 3 March 2016.
The combination including a “physiological parameter” and a “distress notification” is first described in provisional application 62/129,816 having a priority date of 7 March 2015.
As a result, Claims 14-15, 18, 27, 29, 30, and 32 are examined with a date of 7 March 2015.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 21-23, 28 and 31 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
the following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 14, 27, 29-30, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) in view of Schaufele (US 2006/0206724) and Khamsepoor (US PG Publication 2011/0243548).
Regarding Claim 14, Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) discloses a light socket (fitting configured to be mounted in a light socket (e.g., an Edison socket) [0041]) surveillance system (hub 100, 200, 300 [0039], Figs. 1A-1C, 2, 3), comprising:
an outer housing (hub 300[0075] Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C) defining a proximal end (physical interface 304 [0075] Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C), a distal end that is opposite the proximal end (light source 306 at tip of hub 300[0075] Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C), and a sidewall (hub 100 exterior that is not part of the screw thread, Fig. 1A, 3A, [0060]) that extends between the proximal end and the distal end (external surface area of unitary body 308 [0075] Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C), wherein the sidewall comprises a first portion (hub 100 without the modules 102, Fig. 1A, 3A [0060]) and a second portion … with respect to the first portion (modules 102 [0060], [0064]), the outer housing (hub 300[0075] Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C) further including a detection system (module 102, Fig. 1; modules 302A and B, Figs. 3A, B, C); and
a screw thread contact (threaded surface Edison socket [0075] Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C) coupled to the proximal end (physical interface 304[0075] Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C) of the outer housing (hub 300[0075] Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C), wherein the screw thread contact is configured to be electrically coupled (physical interface with the lighting electrical power infrastructure [0038]) to a light socket (physical base 304 configured to be mated with Edison socket [0075]);
wherein the detection system comprises a camera configurable to record images (camera [0038]), a motion detector configured to detect motion (motion sensor [0056]), a speaker configurable to emit noise (speaker [0038]), a microphone configurable to detect sound (microphone [0038]) …,
wherein the camera (sensor to monitor … imaging [0064]) is coupled to the second portion of the sidewall (modules 102 [0060] comprises sensor to monitor … imaging [0064]),
wherein the detection system is configured to detect a first party (module comprises a sensor that detects occupancy [0064]), …
and wherein the detection system is integrated with the outer housing (hub 100 and module 102 coupled to form a unitary body and a substantially smooth surface [0076], note the modules contain the safety features such as smoke detection, carbon monoxide detection, emergency backup lighting and/or audio alarm; comfort features such as temperature measurement and/or control, humidity measurement and/or control, and/or measurement and/or control of other measures of air quality; audio/visual functionality, for example, via speakers, microphones, cameras, and/or projection display systems; security features such as video monitoring (e.g., using cameras), baby monitoring, surveillance monitoring, and/or visual and/or audio alarms; and/or healthcare features such as patient monitoring [0038]);
wherein the detection system in its entirety is spaced from the first party (physical base 304 configured to be mated with Edison socket [0075]—note that visitors are usually spaced apart from the light socket).
Erchak does not disclose, but Schaufele (US 2006/0206724) teaches an infrared camera (infrared scanning [0117]) configured to detect an infrared signature of a visitor (blood vessel face map [0117]);
configured to determine whether the first party (user [0118]) is in distress (health-related concern [0118]) based on a visual indicator or a physiological parameter (blood vessel face map, elevated skin temperature [0118], [0117]) detected by the detection system (biometric system [0116], [0110]), and the [] surveillance system (biometric system [0116], [0110]) is configured to send a distress notification (security health alert issued [0118]) in response to the detection system determining the first party is in distress (health-related concern [0118]).
Erchak does not disclose, but Khamsepoor (US PG Publication 2011/0243548) teaches second portion rotatable (rotate the camera housing [0038]) with respect to the first portion (camera-housing base 110 connected with hinges to camera housing 105 [0028], Figs. 2A, 2B),
wherein in response to determining that the first party is not located within a field of view of the camera (the processor in combination with the microphone may be configured to track the person's voice and the processor may be configured to operate one or both of the motorized hinges and/or the motorized friction hinge to rotate the camera housing [0038]), the detection system is configured to automatically rotate (operate one or both of the motorized hinges [0038]) the second portion of the sidewall (housing 105, Fig. 2A, 2B [0028]) until the first party is located within the field of view of the camera (point the light collection array at the location from which the audible signal originates [0038]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the hub of Erchak with an infrared camera because Schaufele teaches that it is an extremely versatile system that can be used for security monitoring in low and high threat situations, yet it can simultaneously be used to track health ([0002], [0015], [0072]), providing many advantages at the same time.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the detection system of Erchak with a movable camera, as in Khamsepoor, to supply convenience to a user who is speaking to the camera but can maneuver freely, improving communication.
Regarding Claim 27, Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) discloses the light socket surveillance system of Claim 14.
Erchak does not disclose, but Schaufele (US 2006/0206724) teaches wherein the visual indicator or the physiological parameter is selected from the group consisting of a lack of activity by the first party, an altered vital sign, a signal given by the first party, and a position of the first party (elevated face temperature indicates health-related concern [0118]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the hub of Erchak with an infrared camera because Schaufele teaches that it is an extremely versatile system that can be used for security monitoring in low and high threat situations, yet it can simultaneously be used to track health ([0002], [0015], [0072]), providing many advantages at the same time.
Regarding Claim 29, Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) discloses the light socket surveillance system of Claim 14, wherein the light socket is coupled to a building (the modular illumination device is configured to connect to the existing sockets (e.g., ceiling-mounted light sockets) of existing lighting electrical infrastructure [0041]).
Regarding Claim 30, Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) discloses the method of Claim 14.
Erchak does not disclose, but Schaufele (US 2006/0206724) teaches wherein the detection system is configurable to determine an identity of the first party via facial recognition (voice recognition biometric data correlated with face recognition [0014]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the hub of Erchak with an infrared camera because Schaufele teaches that it is an extremely versatile system that can be used for security monitoring in low and high threat situations, yet it can simultaneously be used to track health ([0002], [0015], [0072]), providing many advantages at the same time.
Regarding Claim 32, Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) discloses the light socket surveillance system of Claim 14.
Erchak does not disclose, but Schaufele (US 2006/0206724) teaches wherein the detection system is configured to detect the visual indicator or the physiological parameter via the infrared camera (the system could be configured to screen users for possible health risks like SARS or Asian Bird Flu through the use of passive and/or active infrared technology that measures body temperature [0072]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the hub of Erchak with an infrared camera because Schaufele teaches that it is an extremely versatile system that can be used for security monitoring in low and high threat situations, yet it can simultaneously be used to track health ([0002], [0015], [0072]), providing many advantages at the same time.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) in view of Schaufele (US 2006/0206724), Khamsepoor (US PG Publication 2011/0243548), and Gil (US Patent 10, 055,887).
Regarding Claim 15, Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) discloses the light socket (fitting configured to be mounted in a light socket (e.g., an Edison socket) [0041]) surveillance system (hub 100, 200, 300 [0039], Figs. 1A-1C, 2, 3) of Claim 14.
Erchak does not disclose, but Gil (US Patent 10, 055,887) teaches wherein the infrared camera is configured to determine a presence of at least one unique infrared signature (infrared sensor capable of detecting IR thermal signature, Column 16 lines 35-55), thereby indicating a number of visitors present within a vicinity of the system (detecting the number of people in the room, Column 16 lines 30-40).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to modify Erchak to detect infrared signatures to count persons, as in Gil, because Erchak is designed to be used as a house-hold gas sensor for safety enhancements [0038], and counting persons in the vicinity of a house-hold sensor is likely to improve the safety of persons in the vicinity during an emergency.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) in view of Schaufele (US 2006/0206724), Khamsepoor (US PG Publication 2011/0243548), and DeForest (US PG Publication 2016/0140828).
Regarding Claim 18, Erchak (US PG Publication 2016/0073479) discloses the light socket surveillance system of Claim 14.
Erchak does not disclose, but DeForest (US PG Publication 2016/0140828) teaches wherein the distress notification comprises information selected from the group consisting of images recorded by the camera, sound detected by the microphone, the number of visitors present within the vicinity of the light socket surveillance system, and combinations thereof (upon detecting an abnormal heart rate [0043], mobile device 120 begins transmitting data from smart watch 110, camera 122, microphone 124, GPS locator 126, and/or accelerometer 127 across internet 400 [0043]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to modify the hubs of Erchak with the structure and method of communicating with the watch of DeForest, because DeForest suggests that it would enable the surveillance unit of Erchak to provide help for those in need, who happen to be on the owner’s property when an emergency strikes [0004]-[0006].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been considered. Claim 1 is allowed as containing most of the provisions previously indicated as allowable. Claim 14 is not on the same continuity chain and does not include all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20140125754 A1 – monitoring premises and sending media over the network
US 20140253691 A1 – security system building 3D model of monitored subjects
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2485