DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1-4, 11, 13, 15, 17-18. Claim 13 remains withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pgs. 7-9, filed 5/29/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2 under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The “light-emitting end face” from Kameyama cannot be reasonably considered a “front end face”, as the “light-emitting end face” from Kameyama used to reject original claims corresponds to a rear end face of the device (Remarks pg. 8). Therefore, Kameyama does not read on the amended claims, and the associated rejections have been withdrawn (claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 14-15, 17-20). However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 14-15, 17-20 is made in view of Yoshida (US-20150124847-A1) and Thompson (US-3943462-A). Yoshida discloses a dielectric multilayer film disposed on a front end face of a laser element. Thompson discloses exact thicknesses for the component layers of the multilayer film.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 06/30/2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 14-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US-20150124847-A1) in view of Thompson (US-3943462-A).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses a nitride semiconductor laser element (figs. 1-2, 0065-0067) comprising: a stacked structure that includes a plurality of semiconductor layers including a waveguide (stacked structure 50 includes plurality of semiconductor layers including a waveguide 50a from 18+19, 0068), and has a pair of resonator end faces that are opposed to each other (pair of resonator end faces front 28 and rear 29, 0076); and a dielectric multilayer film disposed on a front end face of the pair of the resonator end faces (dielectric multilayer film 30 disposed on 28, 0079), the front end face being one of the pair of resonator end faces (28 one of 28 and 29 pair), wherein the dielectric multilayer film includes a first dielectric film (30 includes first dielectric film 33), a second dielectric film (second 35), and a third dielectric film (third 36) in a stated order from a side of the front end face (33, 35, 36 in order from right side of 28), the first dielectric film includes n protective films from a first protective film up to an nth protective film in a stated order from the side of the front end face (33 includes n=1 protective films (33) on right side of 28), where n is a positive integer (n=1).
Yoshida does not disclose and the following expressions are satisfied:
where (i) a refractive index and a film thickness of a kth protective film in the first dielectric film are denoted by nk and dk, respectively, where k is an integer satisfying 1 <= k <= n, (ii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the second dielectric film are denoted by ni and di, respectively, (iii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the third dielectric film are denoted by nj and dj, respectively, (iv) m1 is an integer of at least 2, and (v) m2 is a positive integer.
Thompson discloses a semiconductor laser die with an output facet having a dielectric interference coating with a quarter-wavelength thickness layer of silica sandwiched between two quarter-wavelength thickness layers of titania (fig. 1 laser die 1 has output facet 3 with dielectric coating 8+9+10 with silica 8 between titania 9 and 10, col. 2 lines 20-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the dielectric multilayer film in a way that satisfies the claimed relationships (i.e. optical thickness = lambda/4 for each dielectric film, 33-36) to provide increased power output for the laser and increase destruction threshold (Thompson col. 1 line 50 – col. 2 line 10).
Using Thompson, claimed expressions are as follows:
Refractive index (n) x physical film thickness (d) = optical film thickness
Optical film thickness for each of three dielectric films is lambda/4Eq. 1… SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di + nj x dj = m1 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
(lambda/4) + (lambda/4) + (lambda/4) = 3 x (lambda/4), m1 = 3
nj x dj = m2 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
1 x (lambda/4) = 1 x (lambda/4), m2 = 1
Eq. 2
3 * lambda / 16 <= SUM (nk x dk) <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 4 * lambda/16 <= 5 * lambda/16All expressions satisfied.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida discloses a nitride semiconductor laser element (figs. 1-2, 0065-0067) comprising: a stacked structure that includes a plurality of semiconductor layers including a waveguide (stacked structure 50 includes plurality of semiconductor layers including a waveguide 50a from 18+19, 0068), and has a pair of resonator end faces that are opposed to each other (pair of resonator end faces front 28 and rear 29, 0076); and a dielectric multilayer film disposed on a front end face of the pair of the resonator end faces (dielectric multilayer film 30 disposed on 28, 0079), the front end face being one of the pair of resonator end faces (28 one of 28 and 29 pair), wherein the dielectric multilayer film includes a first dielectric film (30 includes first dielectric film 33), a second dielectric film (second 35), and a third dielectric film (third 36) in a stated order from a side of the front end face (33, 35, 36 in order from right side of 28), the first dielectric film includes n protective films from a first protective film up to an nth protective film in a stated order from the side of the front end face (33 includes n=1 protective films (33) on right side of 28), where n is an integer of at least 1 (n=1)
…one of the second dielectric film and the third dielectric film has a property that a film thickness decreases due to laser light emitted from the nitride semiconductor laser element, and an other of the second dielectric film and the third dielectric film has a property that a film thickness increases due to the laser light emitted from the nitride semiconductor laser element.
Fig. 2 second film 35 contains Al2O3 by ECR sputtering and will become thinner due to laser emission/aging, Al2O3 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 line 35 - pg. 20 line 10, Yoshida 0082. Fig. 2 third film 36 contains SiO2 by ECR sputtering and will become thicker due to laser emission/aging, SiO2 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 lines 25-35. It is well known in the art that amount laser-induced damage/deformation for a given system directly correlates with beam intensity. This will result in recess shape (shrinking) in second film and protrusion shape (growth) in third film. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Yoshida does not disclose and the following expressions are satisfied:
where (i) a refractive index and a film thickness of a kth protective film in the first dielectric film are denoted by nk and dk, respectively, where k is an integer satisfying 1 <= k <= n, (ii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the second dielectric film are denoted by ni and di, respectively, (iii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the third dielectric film are denoted by nj and dj, respectively, (iv) m1 is an integer of at least 2, and (v) m2 is a positive integer.
Thompson discloses a semiconductor laser die with an output facet having a dielectric interference coating with a quarter-wavelength thickness layer of silica sandwiched between two quarter-wavelength thickness layers of titania (fig. 1 laser die 1 has output facet 3 with dielectric coating 8+9+10 with silica 8 between titania 9 and 10, col. 2 lines 20-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the dielectric multilayer film in a way that satisfies the claimed relationships (i.e. optical thickness = lambda/4 for each dielectric film, 33-36) to provide increased power output for the laser and increase destruction threshold (Thompson col. 1 line 50 – col. 2 line 10).
Using Thompson, claimed expressions are as follows:
Refractive index (n) x physical film thickness (d) = optical film thickness
Optical film thickness for each of three dielectric films is lambda/4Eq. 1… SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di + nj x dj = m1 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
(lambda/4) + (lambda/4) + (lambda/4) = 3 x (lambda/4), m1 = 3
nj x dj = m2 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
1 x (lambda/4) = 1 x (lambda/4), m2 = 1All expressions satisfied.
Regarding claim 3, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein upon receival of laser light emitted from the front end face, the following are formed at an interface between the second dielectric film and the third dielectric film: a recess in the second dielectric film; and a protrusion in the third dielectric film.
Fig. 2 second film 35 contains Al2O3 by ECR sputtering and will become thinner due to laser emission/aging, Al2O3 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 line 35 - pg. 20 line 10, Yoshida 0082. Fig. 2 third film 36 contains SiO2 by ECR sputtering and will become thicker due to laser emission/aging, SiO2 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 lines 25-35. It is well known in the art that amount laser-induced damage/deformation for a given system directly correlates with beam intensity. Therefore, damage/deformation will be greatest at center (i.e. location of highest intensity) and decrease moving away from center. This will result in recess shape (shrinking) in second film and protrusion shape (growth) in third film. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Regarding claim 4, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein a change in each film thickness occurs on an optical path of laser light emitted from the front end face.
Fig. 2 second film 35 contains Al2O3 by ECR sputtering and will become thinner due to laser emission/aging, Al2O3 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 line 35 - pg. 20 line 10, Yoshida 0082. Fig. 2 third film 36 contains SiO2 by ECR sputtering and will become thicker due to laser emission/aging, SiO2 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 lines 25-35. It is well known in the art that laser-induced damage/deformation occurs at least within the optical path of the laser. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Regarding claim 6, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
3 * lambda / 16 <= nj x dj <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 4 * lambda/16 <= 5 * lambda/16
Regarding claim 7, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the nitride semiconductor laser element has an oscillation wavelength of at most 420 nm (wavelength = 405 nm, 0069, 0090).
Regarding claim 9, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di = m3 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
(lambda/4) + (lambda/4) = 2 x (lambda/4), with m1 = 2
Regarding claim 10, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the second dielectric film includes any one of aluminum oxide (Al2O3), tantalum pentoxide (Ta205), and zirconium dioxide (ZrO2) (35 comprises Al2O3, 0079), and the third dielectric film includes any one of silicon oxide (SiO2), boron trioxide (B203), phosphorus pentoxide (P2O5), and germanium dioxide (GeO2) (36 comprises SiO2, 0089).
Regarding claim 14, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser according to claim 2, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
3 * lambda / 16 <= SUM (nk x dk) <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 4 x (lambda/16) <= 5 * lambda/16
Regarding claim 15, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the first dielectric film is in contact with the front end face (33 in physical contact with 28).
Regarding claim 17, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 2, wherein upon receival of laser light emitted from the light-emitting end face, the following are formed at an interface between the second dielectric film and the third dielectric film: a recess in the second dielectric film; and a protrusion in the third dielectric film.
Fig. 2 second film 35 contains Al2O3 by ECR sputtering and will become thinner due to laser emission/aging, Al2O3 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 line 35 - pg. 20 line 10, Yoshida 0082. Fig. 2 third film 36 contains SiO2 by ECR sputtering and will become thicker due to laser emission/aging, SiO2 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 lines 25-35. It is well known in the art that amount laser-induced damage/deformation for a given system directly correlates with beam intensity. Therefore, damage/deformation will be greatest at center (i.e. location of highest intensity) and decrease moving away from center. This will result in recess shape (shrinking) in second film and protrusion shape (growth) in third film. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Regarding claim 18, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 2, wherein a change in each film thickness occurs on an optical path of laser light emitted from the light-emitting end face.
It is well known in the art that laser-induced damage/deformation occurs at least within the optical path of the laser. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Regarding claim 19, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 2, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
3 * lambda / 16 <= (nj x dj) <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 4 * lambda / 16 <= 5 * lambda/16
Regarding claim 20, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 2, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di = m3 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
(lambda/4) + (lambda/4) = 2 x (lambda/4), with m3 = 2
where m3 is a positive integer.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Thompson and Michiue (US-20080198886-A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1.
Modified Yoshida does not disclose wherein the third dielectric film has an amorphous structure.
Michiue discloses a nitride semiconductor laser element with an amorphous SiO2 protective film (fig. 9 amorphous SiO2 22 + 23, 0095).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to give the third dielectric film an amorphous structure to reduce stress + improve adhesion (Michiue 0095).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Thompson and Lell (US-20130343419-A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1.
Modified Yoshida does not disclose wherein the nitride semiconductor laser element emits laser light of at least 1 W.
Lell discloses a laser diode assembly with a semiconductor laser emitting laser light of at least 1 W (fig. 4 curves 401 + 402 show powers above 1 W, 0018, 0062).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the nitride semiconductor laser element emit laser light of at least 1 W to provide a level of power sufficient for additional laser applications (Lell 0003-0004).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Thompson and Kamikawa (US-20080291961-A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1.
Modified Yoshida does not disclose wherein an aluminum oxynitride film is disposed in between the front end face and the dielectric multilayer film.
Kamikawa discloses a nitride semiconductor laser device with an AlON film between an end face of a laser and a dielectric multilayer film (fig. 2 AlON film 116 between end face 115 and dielectric 117 + 118, 0063-0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an aluminum oxynitride film is disposed in between the front end face and the dielectric multilayer film to provide an improved COD level (Kamikawa 0076-0077, 0080).
Regarding claim 12, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 11, wherein the aluminum oxynitride film includes crystalline aluminum nitride (Kamikawa 0115).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida fig. 2 in view of Thompson and Yoshida fig. 6.
Regarding claim 16, modified Yoshida discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1.
Modified Yoshida does not disclose wherein n is a positive integer of at least 2.
Yoshida fig. 6 discloses a separate embodiment with a three-layer first dielectric film (fig. 6 first dielectric film 261 comprises three layers, 0097).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have n is a positive integer of at least 2 while satisfying claim 1 expressions to provide additional flexibility when tailoring properties of first dielectric film.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828