DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species a (claims 1-12, 14-20) in the reply filed on 11/13/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 09/22/2022, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 twice rejected using two different embodiments within Kameyama (fig. 4 and fig. 1). Second embodiment (fig. 1) rejection of claim 1 follows all first embodiment (fig. 4) 35 USC 102 rejections.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 as being anticipated by Kameyama (US-20100127154-A1), hereinafter “Kam” fig. 4 embodiment.
Regarding claim 1, Kam discloses a nitride semiconductor laser element (fig. 4, 0045) comprising: a stacked structure that includes a plurality of semiconductor layers including a waveguide (fig. 4 layers 23+24+25 include waveguide, 0055,0056,0057), and has a pair of resonator end faces that are opposed to each other (fig. 4 end faces 2a + 2b opposed, 0054 lines 9-12); and a dielectric multilayer film disposed on a light-emitting end face of the pair of the resonator end faces (fig. 4 multilayer film 61+65 disposed on 2b, 2b is “light reflecting side facet” but transmits/emits a portion of laser beam, 0081, 0109, Applicant’s Specification pg. 2 lines 10-15), the light-emitting end face being a resonator end face from which light is emitted (fig. 4 light emitted from 2b, 0081 final 9 lines), wherein the dielectric multilayer film includes a first dielectric film (fig. 4 61+65 includes 61), a second dielectric film (fig. 4 65a), and a third dielectric film (fig. 4 65b) in a stated order from a light-emitting end face side (fig. 4 61, 65a, 65b in order from 2b), the first dielectric film includes n protective films from a first protective film up to an nth protective film in a stated order from the light-emitting end face side, where n is a positive integer (fig. 4 61 includes 61a-c in stated order from 2b, n=3), and the following expressions are satisfied:
where (i) a refractive index and a film thickness of a kth protective film in the first dielectric film are denoted by nk and dk, respectively, where k is an integer satisfying 1 <= k <= n, (ii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the second dielectric film are denoted by ni and di, respectively, (iii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the third dielectric film are denoted by nj and dj, respectively, (iv) m1 is an integer of at least 2, and (v) m2 is a positive integer.
Refractive index (n) x physical film thickness (d) = optical film thickness
61a-c optical film thickness = “at most” lambda/4 each (three) (0063 2nd half) Let 61a-c optical film thickness be lambda/16 each, less than lambda/4 each
65a optical film thickness = at least lambda/4 (one) (0109)
Let 65a optical film thickness be lambda/4
65b optical film thickness = at least lambda/4 (one) (0109)
Let 65b optical film thickness be lambda/4Eq. 1… SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di + nj x dj = m1 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
3 x (lambda/16) + (lambda/4) + (lambda/4) = 11 x (lambda/16) = 3 x (lambda/4) – lambda/16, with m1 = 3
nj x dj = m2 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
1 x (lambda/4) = 1 x (lambda/4), with m2 = 1
Eq. 2
3 * lambda / 16 <= SUM (nk x dk) <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 3 x (lambda/16) <= 5 * lambda/16All expressions satisfied.
Regarding claim 2, Kam discloses a nitride semiconductor laser element (fig. 4, 0045) comprising: a stacked structure that includes a plurality of semiconductor layers including a waveguide (fig. 4 layers 23+24+25 include waveguide, 0055,0056,0057), and has a pair of resonator end faces that are opposed to each other (fig. 4 end faces 2a + 2b opposed, 0054 lines 9-12); and a dielectric multilayer film disposed on a light-emitting end face of the pair of the resonator end faces (fig. 4 multilayer film 61+65 disposed on 2b, 2b is “light reflecting side facet” but transmits/emits a portion of laser beam, 0081, 0109, Applicant’s Specification pg. 2 lines 10-15), the light-emitting end face being a resonator end face from which light is emitted (fig. 4 light emitted from 2b, 0081 final 9 lines), wherein the dielectric multilayer film includes a first dielectric film (fig. 4 61+65 includes 61), a second dielectric film (fig. 4 65a), and a third dielectric film (fig. 4 65b) in a stated order from a light-emitting end face side (fig. 4 61, 65a, 65b in order from 2b), the first dielectric film includes n protective films from a first protective film up to an nth protective film in a stated order from the light-emitting end face side, where n is an integer of at least 1 (fig. 4 61 includes 61a-c in stated order from 2b, n=3), and the following expressions are satisfied:
where (i) a refractive index and a film thickness of a kth protective film in the first dielectric film are denoted by nk and dk, respectively, where k is an integer satisfying 1 <= k <= n, (ii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the second dielectric film are denoted by ni and di, respectively, (iii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the third dielectric film are denoted by nj and dj, respectively, (iv) m1 is an integer of at least 2, and (v) m2 is a positive integer.
Refractive index (n) x physical film thickness (d) = optical film thickness
61a-c optical film thickness = “at most” lambda/4 each (three) (0063 2nd half) Let 61a-c optical film thickness be lambda/16 each, less than lambda/4 each
65a optical film thickness = at least lambda/4 (one) (0109)
Let 65a optical film thickness be lambda/4
65b optical film thickness = at least lambda/4 (one) (0109)
Let 65b optical film thickness be lambda/4Eq. 1… SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di + nj x dj = m1 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
3 x (lambda/16) + (lambda/4) + (lambda/4) = 11 x (lambda/16) = 3 x (lambda/4) – lambda/16, with m1 = 3
nj x dj = m2 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
1 x (lambda/4) = 1 x (lambda/4), with m2 = 1
All expressions satisfied.
… one of the second dielectric film and the third dielectric film has a property that a film thickness decreases due to laser light emitted from the nitride semiconductor laser element (fig. 4 second film 65a contains Al2O3 by ECR sputtering and will become thinner due to laser emission/aging, Al2O3 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 line 35 - pg. 20 line 10, Kam 0076, 0109-0110), and an other of the second dielectric film and the third dielectric film has a property that a film thickness increases due to the laser light emitted from the nitride semiconductor laser element (fig. 4 third film 65b contains SiO2 by ECR sputtering and will become thicker due to laser emission/aging, SiO2 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 lines 25-35, Kam 0075, 0109-0110).
Regarding claim 3, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein upon receival of laser light emitted from the light-emitting end face, the following are formed at an interface between the second dielectric film and the third dielectric film: a recess in the second dielectric film; and a protrusion in the third dielectric film.
Fig. 4 second film 65a contains Al2O3 by ECR sputtering and will become thinner due to laser emission/aging, Al2O3 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 line 35 - pg. 20 line 10, Kam 0076, 0109-0110. Fig. 4 third film 65b contains SiO2 by ECR sputtering and will become thicker due to laser emission/aging, SiO2 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 lines 25-35, Kam 0075, 0109-0110. It is well known in the art that amount laser-induced damage/deformation for a given system directly correlates with beam intensity. Therefore, damage/deformation will be greatest at center (i.e. location of highest intensity) and decrease moving away from center. This will result in recess shape (shrinking) in second film and protrusion shape (growth) in third film. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Regarding claim 4, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein a change in each film thickness occurs on an optical path of laser light emitted from the light-emitting end face.
Fig. 4 second film 65a contains Al2O3 by ECR sputtering and will become thinner due to laser emission/aging, Al2O3 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 line 35 - pg. 20 line 10, Kam 0076, 0109-0110. Fig. 4 third film 65b contains SiO2 by ECR sputtering and will become thicker due to laser emission/aging, SiO2 has requisite properties, see Applicant’s specification pg. 19 lines 25-35, Kam 0075, 0109-0110. It is well known in the art that laser-induced damage/deformation occurs at least within the optical path of the laser. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Regarding claim 6, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
3 * lambda / 16 <= nj x dj <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 4 * lambda/16 <= 5 * lambda/16
Regarding claim 7, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the nitride semiconductor laser element has an oscillation wavelength of at most 420 nm (0054 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di = m3 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
3 x (lambda/16) + (lambda/4) = 2 x (lambda/4) – lambda/16, with m1 = 2
Regarding claim 10, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the second dielectric film includes any one of aluminum oxide (Al203), tantalum pentoxide (Ta20s), and zirconium dioxide (ZrO2) (fig. 4 65a includes Al2O3, 0109), and the third dielectric film includes any one of silicon oxide (SiO2), boron trioxide (B203), phosphorus pentoxide (P205), and germanium dioxide (GeO2) (fig. 4 65b includes SiO2, 0109).
Regarding claim 14, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser according to claim 2, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
3 * lambda / 16 <= SUM (nk x dk) <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 3 x (lambda/16) <= 5 * lambda/16
Regarding claim 15, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein the first dielectric film is in contact with the light-emitting end face (fig. 4 61 in direct physical contact with 2b).
Regarding claim 16, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, wherein n is a positive integer of at least 2 (n = 3 > 2, 61a-c in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 2, wherein upon receival of laser light emitted from the light-emitting end face, the following are formed at an interface between the second dielectric film and the third dielectric film: a recess in the second dielectric film; and a protrusion in the third dielectric film.
It is well known in the art that amount laser-induced damage/deformation for a given system directly correlates with beam intensity. Therefore, damage/deformation will be greatest at center (i.e. location of highest intensity) and decrease moving away from center. This will result in recess shape (shrinking) in second film and protrusion shape (growth) in third film. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Regarding claim 18, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 2, wherein a change in each film thickness occurs on an optical path of laser light emitted from the light-emitting end face.
It is well known in the art that laser-induced damage/deformation occurs at least within the optical path of the laser. See attached evidentiary reference RP-Photonics Laser-induced Damage highlighted sections and Yoshida US-20150124847-A1 fig. 8, 9a/b.
Regarding claim 19, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 2, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
3 * lambda / 16 <= (nj x dj) <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 4 * lambda / 16 <= 5 * lambda/16
Regarding claim 20, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 2, wherein the following expression is further satisfied:
SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di = m3 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
3 x (lambda/16) + (lambda/4) = 2 x (lambda/4) – lambda/16, with m3 = 2
where m3 is a positive integer.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 as being anticipated by Kameyama (US-20100127154-A1), hereinafter “Kam” fig. 1 embodiment.
Regarding claim 1, Kam discloses a nitride semiconductor laser element (fig. 1, 0045) comprising: a stacked structure that includes a plurality of semiconductor layers including a waveguide (fig. 1 layers 23+24+25 include waveguide, 0055,0056,0057), and has a pair of resonator end faces that are opposed to each other (fig. 1 end faces 2a + 2b opposed, 0054 lines 9-12); and a dielectric multilayer film disposed on a light-emitting end face of the pair of the resonator end faces (fig. 1 multilayer film 61+62+63 disposed on 2b, 2b is “light reflecting side facet” but transmits/emits a portion of laser beam, 0062, 0081 final 9 lines, Applicant’s Specification pg. 2 lines 10-15), the light-emitting end face being a resonator end face from which light is emitted (fig. 1 light emitted from 2b, 0081 final 9 lines), wherein the dielectric multilayer film includes a first dielectric film (fig. 1 61+62+63 includes 61), a second dielectric film (fig. 1 62), and a third dielectric film (fig. 1 leftmost 63b) in a stated order from a light-emitting end face side (fig. 1 61,62,leftmost 63b in order from 2b), the first dielectric film includes n protective films from a first protective film up to an nth protective film in a stated order from the light-emitting end face side, where n is a positive integer (fig. 1 61 includes 61a-d in stated order from 2b, n=4), and the following expressions are satisfied:
where (i) a refractive index and a film thickness of a kth protective film in the first dielectric film are denoted by nk and dk, respectively, where k is an integer satisfying 1 <= k <= n, (ii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the second dielectric film are denoted by ni and di, respectively, (iii) a refractive index and a film thickness of the third dielectric film are denoted by nj and dj, respectively, (iv) m1 is an integer of at least 2, and (v) m2 is a positive integer.
Refractive index (n) x physical film thickness (d) = optical film thickness
61a-d optical film thickness = “at most” lambda/4 each (four) (0063 2nd half) Let 61a-d optical film thickness be lambda/16 each, less than lambda/4 each
62 optical film thickness = “at least” lambda/4 (one) (0062 lines 8-11)
Let 62 optical film thickness be lambda/4
63b optical film thickness = lambda/4 (one) (0063 2nd half)
Let 63b optical film thickness be lambda/4Eq. 1… SUM (nk x dk) + ni x di + nj x dj = m1 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
4 x (lambda/16) + (lambda/4) + (lambda/4) = 3 x (lambda/4), with m1 = 3
nj x dj = m2 x lambda/4 +/- lambda/16
1 x (lambda/4) = 1 x (lambda/4), with m2 = 1
Eq. 2
3 * lambda / 16 <= SUM (nk x dk) <= 5 * lambda/16
3 * lambda / 16 <= 4 x (lambda/16) <= 5 * lambda/16All expressions satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam fig. 4 in view of Michiue (US-20080198886-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1.
Kam does not disclose wherein the third dielectric film has an amorphous structure.
Michiue discloses a nitride semiconductor laser element with an amorphous SiO2 protective film (fig. 9 amorphous SiO2 22 + 23, 0095).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to give the third dielectric film an amorphous structure to reduce stress + improve adhesion (Michiue 0095).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam fig. 4 in view of Lell (US-20130343419-A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1.
Kam does not disclose wherein the nitride semiconductor laser element emits laser light of at least 1 W.
Lell discloses a laser diode assembly with a semiconductor laser emitting laser light of at least 1 W (fig. 4 curves 401 + 402 show powers above 1 W, 0018, 0062).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the nitride semiconductor laser element emit laser light of at least 1 W to provide a level of power sufficient for additional laser applications (Lell 0003-0004).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam fig. 1 in view of Yoshida (US-20150124847-A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kam fig. 1 discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 1, with an AlN film between the light-emitting end face and the dielectric multilayer film (fig. 1 AlN 61a between 2b and 61b-d,62,63; 0063)
Applicant’s specification pg. 20 lines 1-5, crystalline AlN considered equivalent to “aluminum oxynitride film”
Kam fig. 1 does not disclose wherein an aluminum oxynitride film is disposed in between the light- emitting end face and the dielectric multilayer film (i.e. Kam AlN not disclosed as crystalline).
Yoshida discloses a first protection film between a light emitting end face of a laser element and a dielectric multilayer film, wherein the first protection film is a crystalline AlN film (fig. 6 crystalline AlN 263 between emitting face 28 and dielectric multilayer film 264/265/234/235/236, 0098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make 61a in Kam a crystalline AlN film to prevent oxidation and peeling of the film at the facet (Yoshida 0007).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kam discloses the nitride semiconductor laser element according to claim 11, wherein the aluminum oxynitride film includes crystalline aluminum nitride (61a = crystalline AlN, see claim 11 modification).
Conclusion
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828