DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
i. Applicant argues that the reference Zellers et al. (2014/0191973) does not cure deficiencies of others among cited prior art. Please consider the following respectful grounds of disagreement.
Zellers’ teaching (Figure 3) comprising instances of spacers (Comprising 304) positioned above the base (Comprising 301) are deemed to read fairly on the amended subject matter. Please see additional grounds of rejection, which will not be repeated here, for brevity.
ii. Other arguments directed toward patentability are moot in view of the updated rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 27, 34 are objected to.
Previously recited (Claims 27, 34) language base structure although not found in the instant application is interpreted to refer to [0089]1 the structure (Figures 6A–6C: Comprising 102; Figure 11B: Comprising 1112) to which ribs (Comprising e.g. 107–n2) may partially extend.
Amendment of claims to recite language lower component redundantly captures the feature ([0127], Figure 11A: Comprising 1106; [0129], Figure 11B: Comprising 1112) identified with the previously and currently recited base structure.
For the sake of compact prosecution, the recited base structure and lower component are interpreted to be one in the same. Please rectify the redundancy or furnish a supported argument clarifying grounds by which the interpretation is mistaken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Claims 27 – 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi et al. (2014/0218640; hereinafter Chi) in view of Zellers et al. (2014/0191973; hereinafter Zellers).
Regarding claim 27, Chi discloses a keyboard for an electronic device (Figure 7A; [0002]), comprising:
a base structure (Comprising 14);
a top member (Comprising 16) coupled to the base structure (Comprising 14) and defining:
an exterior side (Surface of 16, facing away from 18) having a keyboard region (Figure 1A: Comprising 10) and a trackpad region (Figure 8: Comprising 60); and
an interior side (Figure 7A: Surface of 16, facing toward 18) opposite the exterior side;
a lower component (Comprising 14) positioned below the top member (Comprising 16), the top member and the lower component defining a gap therebetween (Space {44} between pads {42} and tabs {26} [0060] elsewhere spanning height of support structure {23});
a reinforcement structure (Comprising 23) positioned along the interior side of the top member (Surface of 16, facing toward 18), the reinforcement structure comprising a rib (Comprising 40), the reinforcement structure (Comprising 23) defining, in the keyboard region (Comprising 10) of the top member (Comprising 16):
a first local deformation region (Comprising a first one of 26) configured to locally deform in response to a first input ([0053]: Deflection off plane by force or pressure) applied to the top member (Comprising 16) at a first key region within the keyboard region (Each slot is outline of glass tab [0049] forming respective one key [0052]); and
a second local deformation region (Comprising a second, differing one of 26) configured to locally deform in response to a second input ([0053]: Deflection off plane by force or pressure) applied to the top member (Comprising 16) at a second key region within the keyboard region (Each slot is outline of glass tab [0049] forming respective one key [0052]);
a first force-sensing system (Figure 7B: Comprising 46, 56 of a respective first one of 42) coupled to the interior side of the top member (Surface of 16, facing toward 18) within the first local deformation region (Comprising corresponding first one of 26) and configured to detect the local deformation due to the first input ([0061]: Deflection changing contact pad resistance, indicative of particular key pressed); and
a second force-sensing system (Comprising 46, 56 of a respective second, differing one of 42) coupled to the interior side of the top member (Surface of 16, facing toward 18) within the second local deformation region (Comprising corresponding second, differing one of 26) and configured to detect the location deformation due to the second input ([0061]: Deflection changing contact pad resistance, indicative of particular key pressed).
Chi does not explicitly disclose the keyboard wherein the rib is suspended above the lower component.
In the same field of endeavor, Zellers implements a haptic keyboard [0003] the rib (Figure 3: Comprising 304) is suspended above the lower component (Comprising 301). This is among structure implemented to produce an overall thinner keyboard with the key travel distance of a conventional keyboard [0053].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Pance to be modified wherein the rib is suspended above the lower component, in view of the teaching of Zellers, to shrink keyboard depth and preserve key travel distance.
Regarding claim 28, Chi in view of Zellers discloses the keyboard of claim 27. Chi discloses the keyboard wherein the rib is one of a plurality of ribs (Figure 7B: Comprising 40) extending from the interior side of the top member (Comprising 16).
Regarding claim 29, Chi in view of Zellers discloses the keyboard of claim 27. Chi discloses the keyboard wherein the rib (Figure 7B: Comprising 40) positioned between the first local deformation region and the second local deformation region (e.g. Rightmost, centrally positioned instances of 42).
Regarding claim 30, Chi in view of Zellers discloses the keyboard of claim 29. Chi discloses the keyboard wherein the rib (Figure 7B: Comprising 40) substantially isolates the local deformation due to the first input to the first local deformation region and substantially isolates the local deformation due to the second input to the second local deformation region (Particular key pressed/held down [0061] corresponding to deflection of associated tab, while the support structure (comprising vertical walls) supports and prevents the collapse of the sheet [0057]).
Regarding claim 31, Chi in view of Zellers discloses the keyboard of claim 27. Chi discloses the keyboard wherein the top member (Figure 7B: Comprising 16) is formed of glass [0047].
Regarding claim 32, Chi in view of Zellers discloses the keyboard of claim 27. Chi discloses the keyboard further comprising a touch-sensing system coupled to the interior side of the top member and configured to determine a location of a touch input applied within the trackpad region ([0023], [0068]: Integrated board with touch sensors underneath glass touchpad surface).
ii. Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi in view of Zellers, as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Pance et al. (2014/0218853; hereinafter Pance)3.
Regarding claim 33, Chi in view of Zellers discloses the keyboard of claim 27.
Chi in view of Zellers does not explicitly disclose the keyboard wherein: the first force-sensing system comprises a first strain gauge coupled to the interior side of the top member; and the second force-sensing system comprises a second strain gauge coupled to the interior side of the top member.
In the same field of endeavor, Pance discloses device housing whose input/output functionality [0003] comprises a plurality of pressure sensors [0077] underneath a lower housing surface [0055] capable of being implemented with capacitive or strain gauge (among others) sensors [0052]. The interchangeability of sensing types communicates a reasonable expectation of success for device functionality to remain intact, irrespective of the sensing technology chosen. Replacing Chi’s existing capacitive sensors [0027] with strain gauges, in view of the teaching of Pance, amounts to simple substitution.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the claimed invention for the keyboard of Chi to be modified wherein the first force-sensing system comprises a first strain gauge coupled to the interior side of the top member; and the second force-sensing system comprises a second strain gauge coupled to the interior side of the top member, in view of the teaching of Pance, by virtues of said modification amounting to simple substitution, in view of the reasoning above.
iii. Claims 20 – 26, 34 – 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pance and Chi in view of Zellers (this combination of references hereinafter referred to as PCZ).
Regarding claim 20, Pance discloses a laptop computer ([0041]; Figure 4) comprising:
an enclosure (Comprising 12) comprising:
an upper portion (Comprising 26) comprising a display (Comprising 14); and
a lower portion (Comprising 22) coupled to the upper portion (Comprising 26) and comprising:
a glass [0046] top member (Figures 10A – 11C: Comprising 122) defining a top surface ([0008]: Exposed surface) and a bottom surface ([0008]: Interior surface, proximate sensors’ positioning) opposite the top surface ([0008]: Exposed surface, with which user interacts);
a lower component (Comprising housing {12 of Figure 4} underside, opposite surface {122 of Figures 10A – 11C} acting as input device [0073]) positioned below the glass top member (Comprising 122), the glass top member and the lower component defining a gap (Within which instances of 64, 128 contained);
a first input region (Figure 4: Comprising a first one among divisions of 16, forming QWERTY configuration; [0076]) of the glass top member (Figures 10A – 11C: Comprising 122);
a second input region (Figure 4: Comprising a second, differing one among divisions of 16, forming QWERTY configuration; [0076]) of the glass top member (Figures 10A – 11C: Comprising 122);
a first visually differentiated keyboard key ([0076]: Light sources illuminating respective divisions of the QWERTY configuration, including a first one of said divisions) defined along the top surface ([0008]: Exposed surface) of the glass top member (Comprising 122) and positioned in the first input region (Figure 4: Comprising a first one among divisions of 16, forming QWERTY configuration; [0076]);
a second visually differentiated keyboard key ([0076]: Light sources illuminating respective divisions of QWERTY configuration, including a second, differing one of said divisions) defined along the top surface ([0008]: Exposed surface) of the glass top member (Figures 10A – 11C: Comprising 122) and positioned in the second input region (Comprising a second, differing one among divisions of 16, forming QWERTY configuration; [0076]);
a first force-sensing system (Comprising a first one of 128) coupled to the glass top member (Comprising 122) within the first input region and configured to detect a touched position on the glass top member within the first input region ([0074]: Packages in pattern that mimics keyboard determine where surface was struck, using one-to-one correlation of sensors and conventional keyboard keys; corresponding to the area of a first one of said keys); and
a second force-sensing system (Comprising a second, differing one of 128) coupled to the glass top member (Comprising 122) within the second input region and configured to detect a touched position on the glass top member with the second input region ([0074]: Packages in pattern mimic keyboard, determine where surface was struck, using one-to-one correlation of sensors and conventional keyboard keys; corresponding to the area of a second, differing one of said keys).
Pance does not explicitly disclose the computer further comprising a first rib structure positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member; a second rib structure positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member; the first force-sensing system configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member; and the second force-sensing system configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member.
In the same field of endeavor, Chi discloses a keyboard formed from glass [0002] comprising a first rib structure (Comprising a first one among 40) positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member (Comprising 16) and defining a first input region (Comprising a corresponding first one of 24) of the glass top member (Of 16); a second rib structure (Comprising second, differing one among 40) positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member (Comprising 16) and defining a second input region (Comprising a corresponding second, differing one of 24) of the glass top member (Of 16); the first force-sensing system configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member ([0061]: Change in contact pad resistance and resulting signal voltage, of a particular key being pressed or held down); and the second force-sensing system configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member ([0061]: Change in contact pad resistance and resulting signal voltage, of another particular key being pressed or held down). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified as further comprising a first rib structure positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member; a second rib structure positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member; the first force-sensing system configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member; and the second force-sensing system configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Pance in view of Chi does not explicitly disclose the computer wherein the first rib structure suspended above the lower component, the second rib structure suspended above the lower component.
In the same field of endeavor, Zellers implements a haptic keyboard [0003] wherein the first rib structure (Figure 3: Comprising a first instance of 304) suspended above the lower component (Comprising 301), the second rib structure (Comprising a second, differing instance of 304) suspended above the lower component (Comprising 301). This is among structure implemented to produce an overall thinner keyboard with the key travel distance of a conventional keyboard [0053].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Pance to be modified wherein the first rib structure suspended above the lower component, the second rib structure suspended above the lower component, in view of the teaching of Zellers, to shrink keyboard depth and preserve key travel distance.
Regarding claim 21, PCZ discloses the laptop computer of claim 20.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the computer wherein: the first input region is configured to locally deform in response to a first input force applied within the first input region; and the second input region is configured to locally deform in response to a second input force applied within the second input region.
However, Chi’s keyboard [0002] is provided wherein: the first input region is configured to locally deform in response to a first input force applied within the first input region ([0061]: Glass tab deflection in response to a first particular key of the keyboard being pressed); and the second input region is configured to locally deform in response to a second input force applied within the second input region ([0061]: Glass tab deflection in response to a second, differing particular key of the keyboard being pressed). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein the first input region is configured to locally deform in response to a first input force applied within the first input region; and the second input region is configured to locally deform in response to a second input force applied within the second input region, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 22, PCZ discloses the laptop computer of claim 21.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the computer wherein: the first rib structure substantially isolates the local deformation from the first input force to the first input region; and the second rib structure substantially isolates the local deformation from the second input force to the second input region.
In the same field of endeavor, Chi keyboard [0002] is formed wherein: the first rib structure (Figure 7A: Comprising a first one among shown instances of 40) substantially isolates the local deformation from the first input force to the first input region (Particular key pressed/held down [0061] corresponding to deflection of associated tab, while the support structure (comprising vertical walls) supports and prevents the collapse4 of the sheet [0057]); and the second rib structure (Comprising a second, differing one among shown instances of 40) substantially isolates the local deformation from the second input force to the second input region (Particular key pressed/held down [0061] corresponding to deflection of associated tab, while the support structure (comprising vertical walls) supports and prevents the collapse of the sheet [0057]). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein the first rib structure substantially isolates the local deformation from the first input force to the first input region; and the second rib structure substantially isolates the local deformation from the second input force to the second input region, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 23, PCZ discloses the laptop computer of claim 21.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the computer wherein: the first force-sensing system comprises a first compressible structure positioned between the glass top member and a support structure and configured to be compressed by the local deformation of the first input region; and the second force-sensing system comprises a second compressible structure positioned between the glass top member and the support structure and configured to be compressed by the local deformation of the second input region.
However, the keyboard of Chi [0002] is provided wherein: the first force-sensing system comprises a first compressible structure (Figure 7B: Comprising a first instance of 42) positioned between the glass top member (Comprising 16) and a support structure (Comprising 14) and configured to be compressed by the local deformation of the first input region [0061]; and the second force-sensing system comprises a second compressible structure (Comprising a second, differing instance of 42) positioned between the glass top member (Comprising 16) and the support structure (Comprising 14) and configured to be compressed by the local deformation of the second input region [0061]. This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein: the first force-sensing system comprises a first compressible structure positioned between the glass top member and a support structure and configured to be compressed by the local deformation of the first input region; and the second force-sensing system comprises a second compressible structure positioned between the glass top member and the support structure and configured to be compressed by the local deformation of the second input region, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 24, PCZ discloses the laptop computer of claim 23. Pance discloses the computer wherein: the first force-sensing system is configured to produce a first haptic output detectable within the first input region ([0078]: Touch location haptic device, providing higher amplitude vibration); and the second force-sensing system is configured to produce a second haptic output detectable within the second input region ([0078]: At least one among haptic actuators having location other than touch surface position, producing a vibration not comprising the higher amplitude).
Regarding claim 25, PCZ discloses the laptop computer of claim 23.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the computer wherein the first compressible structure comprises: a first pair of electrode layers; a first compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the first pair of electrode layers; a second pair of electrode layers; and a second compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the second pair of electrode layers.
However, the keyboard of Chi [0002] is provided wherein the first compressible structure comprises: a first pair of electrode layers (Figure 7B: Comprising 46, 56 of a corresponding first instance of 42); a first compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the first pair of electrode layers ([0060]: With respect to the first instance of 42, comprising the quality of being compressible, elastic); a second pair of electrode layers (Comprising 46, 56 of a corresponding second, differing instance of 42); and a second compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the second pair of electrode layers ([0060]: With respect to the second, differing instance of 42, comprising the quality of being compressible, elastic). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein wherein the first compressible structure comprises: a first pair of electrode layers; a first compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the first pair of electrode layers; a second pair of electrode layers; and a second compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the second pair of electrode layers, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 26, PCZ discloses the laptop computer of claim 25.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the computer wherein the first pair of electrode layers and the second pair of electrode layers are coupled to a processing system that detects the deformation of the glass top member within the first input region based at least in part on: a first change in capacitance detected between the electrode layers of the first pair of electrode layers; and a second change in capacitance detected between the electrode layers of the second pair of electrode layers.
However, the keyboard of Chi [0002] is provided wherein the first pair of electrode layers and the second pair of electrode layers (Figure 7B: Comprising 46, 56 of two separate instances of 42) are coupled to a processing system that detects the deformation of the glass top member within the first input region based at least in part on: a first change in capacitance detected between the electrode layers of the first pair of electrode layers and a second change in capacitance detected between the electrode layers of the second pair of electrode layers (Controller in conductive layer, pressing/holding down particular key producing change in signal voltage [0061] that is capacitive in nature [0027] with which corresponding tip structure and contact pad [0062] are associated). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein the first pair of electrode layers and the second pair of electrode layers are coupled to a processing system that detects the deformation of the glass top member within the first input region based at least in part on: a first change in capacitance detected between the electrode layers of the first pair of electrode layers; and a second change in capacitance detected between the electrode layers of the second pair of electrode layers, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 34, Pance discloses a computing system ([0041]; Figure 4) comprising:
an enclosure (Comprising 12) comprising:
an upper portion (Comprising 26) comprising a display (Comprising 14); and
a lower portion (Comprising 22) coupled to the upper portion (Comprising 26) and comprising:
a base structure ([0027]: Comprising at least one of {not shown} multiple walls);
a glass [0046] top member (Figures 10A – 11C: Comprising 122) coupled to the base structure (Not shown; forming space containing housing input elements [0027] including sensors [0028] operating as input devices [0074] of the lower portion [0046]) and separated from the base structure by a gap ([0027], Figure 1: Containing illustrated elements, controller), the glass top member defining:
a top surface ([0008]: Exposed surface) defining a keyboard region (Figure 4: Comprising 16) and a trackpad region (Comprising 18); and
a bottom surface ([0008]: Interior surface, proximate sensors’ positioning) opposite the top surface ([0008]: Exposed surface, with which user interacts); and
an actuator stack (Figures 11A – 11C: Comprising a first one of 128) extending from the base structure ([0027]: Not shown; contained in space defined thereby) to the bottom surface of the glass top member ([0008]: Interior surface) and configured to:
detect a touched position on the glass top member in a key region of the keyboard region ([0074]: Packages in pattern mimic keyboard, determine where surface was struck, using one-to-one correlation of sensors and conventional keyboard keys); and
produce a haptic output locally in the key region (Keyboard haptic feedback [0076] nearest touched position of keystroke [0078]).
Pance does not explicitly disclose the system configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member, and further comprising a rib positioned along the bottom surface.
In the same field of endeavor, Chi discloses a keyboard formed from glass [0002] wherein the first force-sensing system configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member (Figure 7B; [0061]: Change in signal voltage across a first one of 56, of a particular key being pressed or held down), and further comprising a rib (Comprising 40) positioned along the bottom surface (Of 12/18). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified as configured to detect a deformation of the glass top member, and further comprising a rib positioned along the bottom surface, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Pance in view of Chi does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the rib is suspended above the lower component.
In the same field of endeavor, Zellers implements a haptic keyboard [0003] the rib (Figure 3: Comprising 304) is suspended above the lower component (Comprising 301). This is among structure implemented to produce an overall thinner keyboard with the key travel distance of a conventional keyboard [0053].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Pance to be modified wherein the rib is suspended above the lower component, in view of the teaching of Zellers, to shrink keyboard depth and preserve key travel distance.
Regarding claim 35, PCZ discloses the computing system of claim 34. Pance discloses the system wherein: the actuator stack is a first actuator stack (Figures 11A – 11C: Comprising a first one of 128); the key region is a first key region (Comprising a first one of keyboard keys arranged in one-to-one correspondence with sensors [0074] of sensor/actuator package [0075]); a first touched position; the haptic output is a first haptic output (Haptic feedback indicative of keystroke [0078] on QWERTY keyboard [0076]); and the lower portion further comprises: a second actuator stack (Comprising a second, differing one of 128) extending from the base structure ([0027]: Comprising at least one of {not shown} multiple walls) to the bottom surface of the glass top member (Comprising 122) and configured to: detect a second a second touched position of the glass top member in a second key region of the keyboard region ([0074]: Packages in pattern mimic keyboard, determine where surface was struck, using one-to-one correlation of sensors and conventional keyboard keys); and produce a second haptic output by locally deforming the glass top member in the second key region (Keyboard haptic feedback [0076] nearest touched position of keystroke [0078]).
Pance does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the local deformation is a first local deformation and a second local deformation.
In the same field of endeavor, Chi discloses a keyboard formed from glass [0002] wherein the local deformation is a first local deformation and a second local deformation of the glass top member in a second key region of the keyboard region (Figure 7B; [0061]: Change in signal voltage across at least first and second differing instances of 56, of respective particular key being pressed or held down). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein the local deformation is a first local deformation and a second local deformation, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 36, PCZ discloses the computing system of claim 35.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the rib is positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member and between the first key region and the second key region.
In the same field of endeavor, Chi discloses a keyboard [0002] wherein the lower portion further comprises a rib (Figure 7A: Comprising a first one among shown instances of 40) positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member (Comprising 16) and between the first key region and the second key region (e.g. Comprising rightmost, centrally positioned instances of 42). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein the rib positioned along the bottom surface of the glass top member and between the first key region and the second key region, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 37, PCZ discloses the computing system of claim 34.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the actuator stack comprises a plurality of compliant electrode stacks.
In the same field of endeavor, Chi discloses a keyboard [0002] wherein the actuator stack comprises a plurality of compliant electrode stacks (Figure 7B: 46, 56 corresponding to each of multiple instances of 42). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein the actuator stack comprises a plurality of compliant electrode stacks, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 38, PCZ discloses the computing system of claim 37.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the system wherein a compliant electrode stack of the plurality of compliant electrode stacks comprises: a pair of electrode layers; and a compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the pair of electrode layers.
In the same field of endeavor, Chi discloses a keyboard [0002] wherein a compliant electrode stack of the plurality of compliant electrode stacks comprises: a pair of electrode layers (Figure 7B: Comprising 46, 56 of a corresponding first instance of 42); and a compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the pair of electrode layers ([0060]: With respect to the first instance of 42, comprising the quality of being compressible, elastic). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein a compliant electrode stack of the plurality of compliant electrode stacks comprises: a pair of electrode layers; and a compliant material positioned between the electrode layers of the pair of electrode layers, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Regarding claim 39, PCZ discloses the computing system of claim 38.
Pance does not explicitly disclose the system wherein: the local deformation of the glass top member in the key region is detected based at least in part on a change in capacitance between the electrode layers of the pair of electrode layers; and the local deformation of the glass top member is produced by: supplying a first electrical signal to a first electrode layer of the pair of electrode layers; and supplying a second electrical signal to a second electrode layer of the pair of electrode layers.
In the same field of endeavor, Chi discloses a keyboard [0002] wherein: the local deformation of the glass top member in the key region is detected based at least in part on a change in capacitance between the electrode layers of the pair of electrode layers (Pressing/holding down particular key producing change in signal voltage [0061] that is capacitive in nature [0027] with which corresponding tip structure and contact pad [0062] are associated). This structure is among measures implemented to reduce weight and thickness [0026].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the computer of Pance to be modified wherein: the local deformation of the glass top member in the key region is detected based at least in part on a change in capacitance between the electrode layers of the pair of electrode layers; and the local deformation of the glass top member is produced by: supplying a first electrical signal to a first electrode layer of the pair of electrode layers; and supplying a second electrical signal to a second electrode layer of the pair of electrode layers, in view of the teaching of Chi, to reduce weight and thickness.
Pance in view of Chi does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the local deformation of the glass top member is produced by: supplying a first electrical signal to a first electrode layer of the pair of electrode layers; and supplying a second electrical signal to a second electrode layer of the pair of electrode layers.
However, Zeller produces surface deformations with the application of driving voltages [0063] across electrodes bonded to each among a large number of active layers connected in parallel [0049] for a haptic response localized to individual keyboard keys [0043]. This is among structure implemented to produce an overall thinner keyboard with the key travel distance of a conventional keyboard [0053].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Pance to be modified wherein the local deformation of the glass top member is produced by: supplying a first electrical signal to a first electrode layer of the pair of electrode layers; and supplying a second electrical signal to a second electrode layer of the pair of electrode layers, in view of the teaching of Zellers, to shrink keyboard depth and preserve key travel distance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AM/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623
1 2023/0015526 (PG Publication of instant application).
2 1 ≤ n ≤ 4.
3 Cited in Applicant’s 24 January 2024 IDS.
4 Wall (Comprising 40 of Figure 7B) functioning comparable to pivot or fulcrum, wherein a sheet (Comprising 16) portion immediately overhead a corresponding pressure pad (Comprising 42) deflects, and has contiguous relationship to a stationary sheet (Comprising 16) portion immediately overhead a supporting portion of wall (Comprising 40).