DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a control unit" in claims 1-11.
The “control unit" is described in the specification as a controller (see paragraphs 115 and 153).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senf (US 2020/0116407 A1) and in view of Sjoholm (US 2015/0285537 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Senf teaches a gas injection heat management system (20 with gas injection via connection 50, see fig. 1) for a vehicle (refrigeration unit for transport vehicle, see paragraphs 1, 25 and 27), the gas injection heat management system comprising:
a first refrigerant line (refrigerant line connecting compressor 22, condenser 24, and heat exchanger 34 are connected, see fig. 1) in which a compressor (22), an inner condenser (24), and a heat exchanger (34) are sequentially provided and through which a refrigerant flows (see flow of refrigerant through compressor 22, condenser 24 and heat exchanger 34, fig. 1);
a third refrigerant line (see below annotated fig. 1) in which a second branch point (see below annotated fig. 1) is provided at a downstream point of the heat exchanger based on a flow direction of the refrigerant (second branch point downstream of heat exchanger 34, see below annotated fig. 1), the third refrigerant line branching off from the second branch point such that the refrigerant flows directly to the compressor (see refrigerant line directly supplying refrigerant to the compressor 22, fig. 1) via a first expansion valve (54) and the heat exchanger (34, see fig. 1), and in the heat exchanger, the refrigerant discharged from the inner condenser and the refrigerant discharged from the first expansion valve exchange heat with each other (see heat exchange at heat exchanger 34, fig. 1);
a fourth refrigerant line (see below annotated fig. 1) branching off from a first branch point (see below annotated fig. 1) disposed in the first refrigerant line (see below annotated fig. 1) and provided at a downstream point of the inner condenser based on the flow direction of the refrigerant (fourth refrigerant line downstream of condenser 24, see fig. 1), the fourth refrigerant line merging into a first junction point (see below annotated fig. 1) disposed in the third refrigerant line and provided at an upstream point of the first expansion valve (see first junction point at an upstream position of the expansion valve 54, below annotated fig. 1);
a control unit (controller, see paragraph 14) configured to control whether to operate the compressor (see abstract; figs. 2-3; and paragraph 39) and control whether to allow the refrigerant to flow and whether to expand the refrigerant by adjusting an opening degree of the first expansion valve (see paragraphs 32, 29, 30 and 39-41); and
a second refrigerant line (refrigerant lines with valve 36 and providing refrigerant to the evaporator 38 via valve 36, see fig. 1) in which a second expansion valve (36) and an evaporator (38) are sequentially provided and the refrigerant flows from the first refrigerant line (see first refrigerant line in above annotated fig. 1) and circulates to the compressor (22) via the second expansion valve (via expansion valve 36 and valve 46, see fig. 1) and the evaporator (see above annotated fig. 1),
wherein in a first heating mode (see fig. 1), the control unit allows the refrigerant, which flows to the first refrigerant line (see refrigerant that has passed through condenser and sub-cooler, fig. 1), to circulate to the compressor (22) via the heat exchanger (heat exchanger 34), the second branch point (see below annotated fig. 1), the first junction point (first junction point between the second branch point and on the third refrigerant line, see fig. 1) and the third refrigerant line (recirculated refrigerant that has passed through the first refrigerant line 26 is circulated to the compressor 22 via the first junction point, the expansion valve 54, the heat exchanger 34, the second branch point and the third refrigerant line, see below annotated fig. 1),
wherein in a general heating mode (see fig. 1), the control unit allows the refrigerant discharged from the inner condenser (compressed refrigerant from compressor 22 passes through condenser 24, see fig. 1) through the first refrigerant line (see below annotated fig. 1) to flow through the fourth refrigerant line without heat exchange in the heat exchanger (controller MM programmed to allow refrigerant from condenser 24 to pass through the fourth refrigerant line by opening/closing operations of valves 36 and 54 and while bypassing heat exchanger 34 and with/without bypassing flow-path F1 through heat exchanger 34, see below annotated fig. 1),
the control unit also allows the refrigerant discharged from the inner condenser (compressed refrigerant from compressor 22 passes through condenser 24, see fig. 1) through the first refrigerant line (see below annotated fig. 1) to flow to the second refrigerant line (refrigerant passing through flow path F1 while bypassing fourth refrigerant line, through valve 36 and evaporator 38 and back to the compressor 22 after passing through condenser 24, see fig. 1) and the third refrigerant line (when valve 54 is closed refrigerant passing through the refrigerant reintroduction path and/or via the third refrigerant line through heat exchanger 34 to the compressor 22, see below annotated fig. 1), and then circulate to the first refrigerant line (see recirculation of refrigerant through compressor and then again through the closed loop refrigerant circuit, which includes the first refrigerant line at the discharge of the compressor 22, below annotated fig. 1).
However, Senf does not explicitly teach that the refrigerant that has passed through the heat exchanger returns to the heat exchanger via second branch point.
Sjoholm discloses a gas injection heat management system (abstract and fig. 3), wherein in a first heating mode (see fig. 3), the system allows the refrigerant, which flows to the first refrigerant line (see high pressure refrigerant flow shown by dark solid line, fig. 3) and passes through heat exchanger (refrigerant passing through HX 108 via section 112, see fig. 3), to circulate to the compressor (24) via the heat exchanger (section 116 of heat exchanger 108), the second branch point (see below annotated fig. 3), the first junction point (valve connecting section 116 of the heat exchanger 108, see fig. 3) and the third refrigerant line (refrigerant connected to the auxiliary suction inlet 36 of the compressor from heat exchanger 108, see fig. 3), and
wherein in the first heating mode (see fig. 3), the first junction point (see below annotated fig. 3) is provided at a point (see below annotated fig. 3) where the fourth refrigerant line (see below annotated fig. 3) and a line extending from the second branch point (see below annotated fig. 3) meet (see below annotated fig. 3) and wherein in the first heating mode (see fig. 3), the refrigerant sequentially passing through the indoor condenser (indoor condenser 72), the heat exchanger (108), and the second branch point (see below annotated fig. 3) pass through the first junction point (see below annotated fig. 3) and again pass through the heat exchanger (via heat exchanger 108 through section 116, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 15-16) to be provided to the compressor (via suction inlet 36, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 15-16), and
a second refrigerant line (refrigerant lines with valve 88 and evaporator 92, see figs. 1-4) in which a second expansion valve (88) and an evaporator (92) are sequentially provided and the refrigerant flows from the first refrigerant line (refrigerant discharged by compressor flows through expansion valve 88 and evaporator 92, figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 13-14, 18) and circulates to the compressor (through suction port 32 of compressor 24) via the second expansion valve (via expansion valve 88) and the evaporator (via evaporator 92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas injection heat management system of Senf by providing a refrigerant flow system wherein in a first heating mode, the system allows the refrigerant, which flows to the first refrigerant line and passes through heat exchanger, to circulate to the compressor via the heat exchanger, the second branch point, the first junction point and the third refrigerant line and providing the first junction point at a point where the fourth refrigerant line and a line extending from the second branch point meet and the refrigerant sequentially passing through the indoor condenser, the heat exchanger and the second branch point pass through the first junction point and again pass through the heat exchanger to be provided to the compressor based on the teachings of Sjoholm for the advantage of pushing the refrigerant into the heat cycle during heating or defrost cycles if the cycle is undercharged and to improve heating capacity of the cycle (see paragraphs 15-16, Sjoholm).
In regards to claim 5, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first heating mode is a state of COP=1 (see fig. 1 and paragraph 28, for a functional heating mode which indicates a positive COP at or above 1) in which the refrigerant flowing in the first refrigerant line and the refrigerant flowing in the third refrigerant line exchange heat with each other (see below annotated fig. 1), and the refrigerant flowing in the first refrigerant line and the third refrigerant line does not exchange heat with a separate coolant (see heat exchange at heat exchanger 34 without any other coolant, below annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 6, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the control unit controls whether to allow the refrigerant to flow and whether to expand the refrigerant by adjusting an opening degree of the second expansion valve (controller MM adjusting opening degree of expansion valve 36, see fig. 1 and paragraph 29).
In regards to claim 7, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses a second heating mode (see fig. 1) the control unit allows a part of the refrigerant flowing to the first refrigerant line to circulate to the second refrigerant line and the remaining part of the refrigerant to circulate to the third refrigerant line (see refrigerant circulated to evaporator 38 and heat exchanger 34, above annotated fig. 1), such that in the evaporator (38), the refrigerant flowing in the second refrigerant line absorbs heat from air circulating in the vehicle (vehicle compartment air exchanging heat with evaporator 38, see paragraph 29 and fig. 1).
In regards to claim 9, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that the second heating mode is a state of COP=1 (see fig. 1 and paragraph 28, for a functional heating mode which indicates a positive COP at or above 1) in which the refrigerant flowing in the first refrigerant line and the refrigerant flowing in the third refrigerant line exchange heat with each other (see below annotated fig. 1), and the refrigerant flowing in the first refrigerant line, the second refrigerant line and the third refrigerant line does not exchange heat with a separate coolant (see heat exchange at heat exchanger 34 without any other coolant, below annotated fig. 1 ), and wherein the second heating mode is a state in which the refrigerant passing through the evaporator (38) exchanges heat with the air circulating in the vehicle (vehicle compartment air exchanging heat with evaporator 38, see paragraph 29 and fig. 1).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senf in view of Sjoholm as applied to claim 1 respectively above and further in view of Taras (US 6941770 B1).
In regards to claim 2, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first branch point in the first refrigerant line controls flows in three directions (see fig. 1).
However, Senf does not explicitly teach a first multi-way valve.
Taras teaches a first multi-way valve (3-way valve 42, see figs. 1-2 and col. 2, lines 58-63) is provided at the first branch point in the first refrigerant line (3-way valve 42 on first refrigerant line between condenser 24 and heat exchangers 54, 72, see figs. 1-2) and controls flows in three directions (opening and closing of valve 42 control flow in three directions, see figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat management system of Senf by providing a 3-way multi way valve as taught by Taras at the first branch point in the first refrigerant line to control flow in three directions in the heat management system of Senf in order to regulate the amount of refrigerant gas supplied to the compressor at the mid-stage to increase refrigeration capacity and system efficiency.
Claims 4, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senf in view of Sjoholm as applied to claims 1, 6 and 10 respectively above and further in view of Taras (US 6941770 B1) and Tanaka (US 5878589 A).
In regards to claim 4, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that in the first heating mode (see fig. 1), the control unit operates the compressor (see fig. 2 and paragraph 36) so that the compressed refrigerant passes through the inner condenser (compressed refrigerant from compressor 22 passes through condenser 24, see fig. 1) and radiates heat while exchanging heat with air (coil fins and tubes 26 of condenser 24 exchange heat with air, see paragraph 28);
the control unit controls an operation of opening or closing the expansion valve (54) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser 24 and subcooler 30, see fig. 1), flows to the heat exchanger (refrigerant passed through condenser 24, subcooler 30, and filter 32 then passed through heat exchanger 34 via path F1, see fig. 1) and the refrigerant flows to the third refrigerant line (when valve 54 is open, refrigerant flows through third refrigerant line, see above annotated fig. 1); and
the control unit adjusts the opening degree of the first expansion valve (opening of expansion valve 54 controlled by controller MM, see fig. 1 and paragraph 32) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser 24, subcooler 30, and filter 32 then passed through first expansion valve 54, see fig. 1) and has passed through the heat exchanger (see below annotated fig. 1 for reintroducing the refrigerant into heat exchanger 34), is expanded while passing through the first expansion valve (expansion valve 54 expands refrigerant) and then introduced into the heat exchanger again (refrigerant introduced into heat exchanger 34 after passing through expansion valve 54 via F2, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 31-32, 28, wherein refrigerant that has passed through HX 34 is reintroduced during subsequent cycles because same refrigerant is recirculated in a closed system; Also see below annotated fig. 1 for reintroducing the refrigerant into heat exchanger 34 via expansion valve 54 and path F2).
However, Senf does not explicitly teach that air heat exchanging with condenser is vehicle air, controlling multi-way valve to prevent refrigerant flow through fourth line.
Taras teaches controlling a three-way valve (42) to control an operation of opening or closing the first multi-way valve (opening valve 42 to pass refrigerant through 36, col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser 24), flows to the heat exchanger (refrigerant passing through valve 56 and heat exchanger 54, see fig. 1A) and is prevented from flowing to the fourth refrigerant line (opening valve 42 to pass refrigerant through 36, see col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14, col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 18, which prevents refrigerant flow through 59 and valve 56, see fig. 1A), such that the refrigerant flows to the third refrigerant line (refrigerant passes through 36, see col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14, col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 18; and figs. 1); and adjusting the opening degree of the first expansion valve (opening expansion valve 26) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (24) and has passed through the heat exchanger (through 58 and heat exchanger 54), is expanded while passing through the first expansion valve (expanded by expansion valve 26, see figs. 1) and then introduced into the heat exchanger again (see below annotated fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the control unit of gas injection heat management system of Senf by controlling the opening and/or closing of the first multi-way valve to prevent refrigerant that has radiated heat while passing through the condenser and has passed through the heat exchanger, from flowing to the fourth refrigerant line and flow refrigerant to the third refrigerant line based on the teachings of Taras in order to selective operate the heat exchanger for the benefit of further enhancing system dehumidification capability when required and at the same time allow for boost of the performance characteristics (see col. 4, lines 29-33, Taras).
Senf also does not explicitly teach that air used for heat exchanging with the condenser is vehicle air.
However, Tanaka discloses a gas injection heat management system for a vehicle (see abstract; figs. 1, 4-10; and col. 8, lines 54-67), the gas injection heat management system comprising a compressor (20), a first refrigerant line (refrigerant line between 20a and heat exchanger 22), an inner condenser (heat exchanger 22), and a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 23) sequentially provided and through which refrigerant flows (see figs. 1 and 4-10); in a heating mode (when heat exchanger 22 is used as a condenser), the refrigerant passes through the inner condenser and radiates heat while exchanging heat with air in the vehicle (condenser 22 exchanging heat with air of the vehicle, which is supplied to the face or foot area of the vehicle passenger, see figs. 1, 4-6, 8, 10; and col. 9, lines 31-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas injection heat management system of Senf as modified by cooling the condenser with air in the vehicle as taught by Tanaka in order to conserve energy by utilizing air heated by the condenser to circulate through the cabin of the vehicle while cooling the condenser.
In regards to claim 8, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses a second heating mode (see fig. 1) the control unit operates the compressor (see fig. 2 and paragraph 36) so that the compressed refrigerant passes through the inner condenser (compressed refrigerant from compressor 22 passes through condenser 24, see fig. 1) and radiates heat while exchanging heat with air (coil fins and tubes 26 of condenser 24 exchange heat with air, see paragraph 28);
the control unit controls an operation of opening or closing the expansion valve (54) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser 24 and subcooler 30, see fig. 1), flows to the heat exchanger (refrigerant passed through condenser 24, subcooler 30, and filter 32 then passed through heat exchanger 34 via path F1, see fig. 1) and the refrigerant flows to the third refrigerant line (when valve 54 is open, refrigerant flows through third refrigerant line, see above annotated fig. 1);
the control unit adjusts the opening degree of the first expansion valve (opening of expansion valve 54 controlled by controller MM, see fig. 1 and paragraph 32) so that a part of the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser 24, subcooler 30, and filter 32 then passed through first expansion valve 54, see fig. 1) and has passed through the heat exchanger (see below annotated fig. 1 for reintroducing the refrigerant into heat exchanger 34), is expanded while passing through the first expansion valve (expansion valve 54 expands refrigerant) and then introduced into the heat exchanger again (refrigerant introduced into heat exchanger 34 after passing through expansion valve 54 via F2, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 31-32, 28, wherein refrigerant that has passed through HX 34 is reintroduced during subsequent cycles because same refrigerant is recirculated in a closed system; Also see below annotated fig. 1 for reintroducing the refrigerant into heat exchanger 34 via expansion valve 54 and path F2); and
the control unit adjusts the opening degree of the second expansion valve (controller MM adjusting opening degree of expansion valve 36, see fig. 1 and paragraph 29) so that the remaining part of the refrigerant having passed through the heat exchanger (34) is expanded while passing through the second expansion valve (36) and then passes through the evaporator (refrigerant through path F1 passed through heat exchanger 34 then expansion valve 36 and then evaporator 38, see fig. 1).
However, Senf does not explicitly teach that air heat exchanging with condenser is vehicle air, controlling multi-way valve to prevent refrigerant flow through fourth line.
Taras teaches controlling a three-way valve (42) to control an operation of opening or closing the first multi-way valve (opening valve 42 to pass refrigerant through 36, col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser 24), flows to the heat exchanger (refrigerant passing through valve 56 and heat exchanger 54, see fig. 1A) and is prevented from flowing to the fourth refrigerant line (opening valve 42 to pass refrigerant through 36, see col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14, col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 18, which prevents refrigerant flow through 59 and valve 56, see fig. 1A), such that the refrigerant flows to the third refrigerant line (refrigerant passes through 36, see col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14, col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 18; and figs. 1); and adjusting the opening degree of the first expansion valve (opening expansion valve 26) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (24) and has passed through the heat exchanger (through 58 and heat exchanger 54), is expanded while passing through the first expansion valve (expanded by expansion valve 26, see figs. 1) and then introduced into the heat exchanger again (see below annotated fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the control unit of gas injection heat management system of Senf by controlling the opening and/or closing of the first multi-way valve to prevent refrigerant that has radiated heat while passing through the condenser and has passed through the heat exchanger, from flowing to the fourth refrigerant line and flow refrigerant to the third refrigerant line based on the teachings of Taras in order to selective operate the heat exchanger for the benefit of further enhancing system dehumidification capability when required and at the same time allow for boost of the performance characteristics (see col. 4, lines 29-33, Taras).
Senf also does not explicitly teach that air used for heat exchanging with the condenser is vehicle air.
However, Tanaka discloses a gas injection heat management system for a vehicle (see abstract; figs. 1, 4-10; and col. 8, lines 54-67), the gas injection heat management system comprising a compressor (20), a first refrigerant line (refrigerant line between 20a and heat exchanger 22), an inner condenser (heat exchanger 22), and a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 23) sequentially provided and through which refrigerant flows (see figs. 1 and 4-10); in a heating mode (when heat exchanger 22 is used as a condenser), the refrigerant passes through the inner condenser and radiates heat while exchanging heat with air in the vehicle (condenser 22 exchanging heat with air of the vehicle, which is supplied to the face or foot area of the vehicle passenger, see figs. 1, 4-6, 8, 10; and col. 9, lines 31-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas injection heat management system of Senf as modified by cooling the condenser with air in the vehicle as taught by Tanaka in order to conserve energy by utilizing air heated by the condenser to circulate through the cabin of the vehicle while cooling the condenser.
In regards to claim 11, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses that in the general heating mode (see fig. 1), the control unit operates the compressor (see fig. 2 and paragraph 36) so that the compressed refrigerant passes through the inner condenser (compressed refrigerant from compressor 22 passes through condenser 24, see fig. 1) and radiates heat while exchanging heat with air (coil fins and tubes 26 of condenser 24 exchange heat with air, see paragraph 28);
the control unit controls an operation of opening or closing the expansion valve (54) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser 24 and subcooler 30, see fig. 1), flows to the heat exchanger (refrigerant passed through condenser 24, subcooler 30, and filter 32 then passed through heat exchanger 34 via path F1, see fig. 1) and the refrigerant flows to the third refrigerant line (when valve 54 is open, refrigerant flows through third refrigerant line, see above annotated fig. 1);
the control unit fully opens the first expansion valve (expansion valve 54 fully opened) so that a part of the refrigerant having flowed to the fourth refrigerant line flows to the third refrigerant line without being expanded while passing through the first expansion valve (alternative limitation) or adjusts the opening degree of the first expansion valve (opening of expansion valve 54 adjusted, see fig. 1) so that the refrigerant is expanded while passing through the first expansion valve and then introduced into the third refrigerant line (when valve 54 is open, refrigerant flows through third refrigerant line, see above annotated fig. 1); and the control unit adjusts the opening degree of the second expansion valve (controller MM adjusting opening degree of expansion valve 36, see fig. 1 and paragraph 29) so that a part of the refrigerant having flowed through the heat exchanger (34) is expanded while passing through the second expansion valve (36) and then passes through the evaporator (refrigerant through path F1 passed through heat exchanger 34 then expansion valve 36 and then evaporator 38, see fig. 1).
However, Senf does not explicitly teach that air heat exchanging with condenser is vehicle air, controlling multi-way valve to control refrigerant flow through fourth line, and passing refrigerant through fourth line before passing through evaporator.
Taras teaches controlling a three-way valve (42) to control an operation of opening or closing the first multi-way valve (opening valve 42 to pass refrigerant through 36, col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser 24), flows to the heat exchanger (refrigerant passing through valve 56 and heat exchanger 54, see fig. 1A) and is prevented from flowing to the fourth refrigerant line (opening valve 42 to pass refrigerant through 36, see col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14, col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 18, which prevents refrigerant flow through 59 and valve 56, see fig. 1A), such that the refrigerant flows to the third refrigerant line (refrigerant passes through 36, see col. 2, line 58 – col. 3, line 14, col. 3, line 65 – col. 4, line 18; and figs. 1); and adjusting the opening degree of the first expansion valve (opening expansion valve 26) so that the refrigerant, which has radiated heat while passing through the inner condenser (24) and has passed through the heat exchanger (through 58 and heat exchanger 54), is expanded while passing through the first expansion valve (expanded by expansion valve 26, see figs. 1) and then introduced into the heat exchanger again (see below annotated fig. 1A). In addition, Taras teaches opening valve (42) to pass refrigerant through fourth line (36), second expansion valve (26) and then through evaporator (28, see figs. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the control unit of gas injection heat management system of Senf by controlling the opening and/or closing of the first multi-way valve to prevent refrigerant that has radiated heat while passing through the condenser and has passed through the heat exchanger, from flowing to the fourth refrigerant line and flow refrigerant to the third refrigerant line; and adjusting opening of second expansion valve to pass refrigerant through fourth line, second expansion valve and then through evaporator based on the teachings of Taras in order to selective operate the heat exchanger for the benefit of further enhancing system dehumidification capability when required and at the same time allow for boost of the performance characteristics (see col. 4, lines 29-33, Taras).
Senf also does not explicitly teach that air used for heat exchanging with the condenser is vehicle air.
However, Tanaka discloses a gas injection heat management system for a vehicle (see abstract; figs. 1, 4-10; and col. 8, lines 54-67), the gas injection heat management system comprising a compressor (20), a first refrigerant line (refrigerant line between 20a and heat exchanger 22), an inner condenser (heat exchanger 22), and a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 23) sequentially provided and through which refrigerant flows (see figs. 1 and 4-10); in a heating mode (when heat exchanger 22 is used as a condenser), the refrigerant passes through the inner condenser and radiates heat while exchanging heat with air in the vehicle (condenser 22 exchanging heat with air of the vehicle, which is supplied to the face or foot area of the vehicle passenger, see figs. 1, 4-6, 8, 10; and col. 9, lines 31-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas injection heat management system of Senf as modified by cooling the condenser with air in the vehicle as taught by Tanaka in order to conserve energy by utilizing air heated by the condenser to circulate through the cabin of the vehicle while cooling the condenser.
Claims 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senf in view of Sjoholm as applied to claims 3 and 7 respectively above and further in view of Tanaka (US 5878589 A).
In regards to claim 5, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that the first heating mode is a state of COP=1 (see fig. 1 and paragraph 28, for a functional heating mode which indicates a positive COP at or above 1) in which the refrigerant flowing in the first refrigerant line and the refrigerant flowing in the third refrigerant line exchange heat with each other (see below annotated fig. 1), and the refrigerant flowing in the first refrigerant line and the third refrigerant line does not exchange heat with a separate coolant (see heat exchange at heat exchanger 34 without any other coolant, below annotated fig. 1 ). In addition, Tanaka teaches a high and improved coefficient of performance, which would be a COP of one or more (see col. 3, lines 33-38; col. 5, lines 12-16; and col. 10, lines 62-67).
In regards to claim 9, Senf teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that the second heating mode is a state of COP=1 (see fig. 1 and paragraph 28, for a functional heating mode which indicates a positive COP at or above 1) in which the refrigerant flowing in the first refrigerant line and the refrigerant flowing in the third refrigerant line exchange heat with each other (see below annotated fig. 1), and the refrigerant flowing in the first refrigerant line, the second refrigerant line and the third refrigerant line does not exchange heat with a separate coolant (see heat exchange at heat exchanger 34 without any other coolant, below annotated fig. 1 ), and wherein
the second heating mode is a state in which the refrigerant passing through the evaporator (38) exchanges heat with the air circulating in the vehicle (vehicle compartment air exchanging heat with evaporator 38, see paragraph 29 and fig. 1). In addition, Tanaka teaches a high and improved coefficient of performance, which would be a COP of one or more (see col. 3, lines 33-38; col. 5, lines 12-16; and col. 10, lines 62-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "Sjoholm discloses a fourth refrigerant line branched off from upstream point of the inner condenser; however, in the instant application, the fourth refrigerant line is branched off from a downstream point of the condenser," the examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the primary reference “Senf” discloses a fourth refrigerant line branched off from downstream point of the inner condenser (see above annotated fig. 1, Senf), hence, Sjoholm is not required to teach the above mentioned claimed limitation, and therefore, applicant’s above argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "Senf does not teach second refrigerant line in which second expansion valve and an evaporator are sequentially provided after the condenser," the examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the primary reference “Senf” discloses a second refrigerant line (see above annotated fig. 1, Senf), where the second expansion valve (36) is downstream of the condenser (26) and sequentially upstream of the evaporator (38) and the compressor (22, see arrows indicating direction of refrigerant flow, above annotated fig. 1, Senf), therefore, the prior art teach the sequential presence of second expansion valve (36) and the evaporator (38) on the second refrigerant line (see above annotated fig. 1, Senf). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument, "in Senf vertical and horizontal lines do not communicate as evidenced by paragraph 34 of Senf," the examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the above argument mischaracterizes the rejection of claims and overlooks the teachings of the primary reference “Senf” as whole, where, Senf teaches simultaneous refrigerant flow through both flow paths (F1 and F2, see paragraph 35, Senf), which contradicts applicant’s assumption that vertical and horizontal refrigerant line do not communicate in the Senf reference (fig. 1 and paragraph 35, Senf), hence, applicant’s above argument is not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument, "in Senf refrigerant discharge from condenser can flow to the third refrigerant line, but cannot flow to the second refrigerant line through fourth refrigerant line without exchanging heat in the heat exchanger (34)," the examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that the claims do not require the second or the third refrigerant lines to bypass the heat exchanger; they only require the fourth line to refrigerant to pass through the fourth line without exchanging heat. In addition, as per applicant’s disclosure (fig. 2A), refrigerant passing through at least third refrigerant line (3) must pass through heat exchanger and cannot bypass the heat exchanger (60, see figs. 1-4). Also, Senf teaches that the fourth refrigerant always bypasses the heat exchanger (34 bypassed by fourth refrigerant line, see above annotated fig. 1, Senf) and the gas injection system of Senf is fully capable of supplying refrigerant back to the compressor via the second and the third refrigerant lines with/without bypassing the heat exchanger (34, see fig. 1, Senf), therefore, applicant’s above argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
n