Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 19, 20 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durney (USPN 3,699,589) in view of Rumpf (USPN 4,083,512).
Regarding Claim 1, Durney discloses a weight distribution system (Figures 1-7) for a protective suit (12), comprising: a harness (Figures 3-7) including a harness interface (HI, see annotated Figure 2 below); a suit interface (SI, see annotated Figure 2 below) configured to be coupled to the protective suit (12); a strap adjuster (28/32) configured to adjust a length of a strap between the harness interface and the suit interface in response to a user input (Col. 3, lines 36-48); and an input device (device, see annotated Figure 2 below) configured to receive the user input. Durney does not specifically disclose the strap adjuster having a self-locking mechanism that resists tension in the strap and is controllably releasable under load in response to a rotational user input. However, Rumpf discloses a strap adjuster (Figures 1-3) having a self-locking mechanism that resists tension in the strap and is controllably releasable under load in response to a rotational user input (Col. 4, line 36-Col 6, line 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the strap adjuster as taught by Rumpf, in order to provide adjustable pressure, safety and locking force to the system of Durney.
Regarding Claim 2, Durney discloses the input device is located on an exterior surface of the protective suit (Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Durney discloses a second suit interface (SS, see annotated Figure 2 below) and a second harness interface (SH, see annotated Figure 2 below), wherein the strap adjuster is configured to adjust a second length of the strap between the second suit interface and the second harness interface while adjusting the first length of the strap between the first harness interface and the first suit interface in response to the user input (Col. 3, lines 36-48).
Regarding Claim 6, Durney discloses wherein the strap adjuster includes a pulley (130) configured to grip the strap (via 102/98/100) between the first length and the second length (Col. 3, lines 36-48 & Col. 4, line 60-Col. 6, line 14), and wherein the input device is either configured to transfer rotational force to the pulley (Col. 3, lines 36-48 & Col. 4, line 60-Col. 6, line 14), or configured to operate a motor to exert rotational force on the pulley.
Regarding Claim 7, Durney discloses the strap adjuster is configured to shorten the first length while lengthening the second length (Col. 3, lines 36-48 & Col. 4, line 60-Col. 6, line 14), and lengthen the first length while shortening the second length (Col. 3, lines 36-48 & Col. 4, line 60-Col. 6, line 14).
Regarding Claim 9, Durney discloses a first strap end of the strap is coupled to the first harness interface and a second strap end of the strap is coupled to the second harness interface (Figures 1-3).
Regarding Claim 19, Durney discloses a weight distribution system (Figures 1-7) for a protective suit (12), comprising :a strap to couple a harness (Figures 3-7) to an interior of the protective suit (Figures 1-3) ;an input configured to receive user input from outside of the protective suit while the protective suit is closed (Col. 3, lines 36-48); and a strap adjuster (28/32) configured to adjust a vertical position of the harness relative to the protective suit in response to a user input (Col. 3, lines 36-48). Durney does not specifically disclose the strap adjuster having a self-locking mechanism that resists tension in the strap and is controllably releasable under load in response to a rotational user input. However, Rumpf discloses a strap adjuster (Figures 1-3) having a self-locking mechanism that resists tension in the strap and is controllably releasable under load in response to a rotational user input (Col. 4, line 36-Col 6, line 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the strap adjuster as taught by Rumpf, in order to provide adjustable pressure, safety and locking force to the system of Durney.
Regarding Claim 20, Durney discloses the means for adjusting the vertical position of the harness includes a means for adjusting a strap length (Col. 3, lines 36-48 & Col. 4, line 60-Col. 6, line 14).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Durney and Rumpf disclose the strap adjuster comprises a motor (Rumpf, Col. 2, line 32-Col. 3, line 39) and a reel (Rumpf, Col. 2, line 32-Col. 3, line 39 & Col. 4, line 36-Col 6, line 41) configured to grip the strap the reel comprises a ratchet (Rumpf, Col. 4, line 36-Col 6, line 41); the rotational user input is a rotational force (Rumpf, Col. 4, line 36-Col 6, line 41); and the input device is configured to transfer the rotational force to the strap adjuster (Rumpf, Col. 4, line 36-Col 6, line 41).
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durney (USPN 3,699,589) in view of Rumpf (USPN 4,083,512) in further view of Hawkins (USPN 3,724,815).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Durney and Rumpf do not specifically disclose the self-locking mechanism comprises a Weston Brake. However, Hawkins discloses a Weston Brake. It would have been obvious to use a Weston Brake for the locking mechanism, as taught by Hawkins, in order to protect from overloading.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732