DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 11/26/2025, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 10, 11, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 11/26/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Ricciardi in view of Huang and Elenbass
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11-14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricciardi(USPubN 2019/0267041) in view of Huang(USPubN 2016/0247025) further in view of Elenbass et al.(USPubN 2009/0204471; hereinafter Elenbass).
As per claim 1, Ricciardi teaches a scratchpad creation method, wherein the method comprises: receiving a first input performed by a user on a target identifier, wherein the target identifier is associated with a first video file(“With regard to FIGS. 12A and 12B, an illustration of a video capture device 1200, such as a smart phone, that includes an electronic display 1202 is shown. In FIG. 12A, the video capture device 1200 may utilize a processing unit (not shown) to execute an application or user interface (e.g., website) that supports capturing and creating extracted video based on one or more input search parameters. The video capture device 1200 may identify video content inclusive of content that satisfies the input parameter(s) in generating the extracted video. After capturing video, the video capture device 1200 may provide a user with a user interface 1204a that enables the user to select a player based on an identifier, such as a number, on the player's uniform. As shown, a user interface element 1206 may be selected by the user, and a selectable list 1208 may provide the user with player numbers identified within video segments captured by the video capture device 1200. Alternatively, rather than listing number limited to players on a team, all numbers 0-99 may be available for selection of a number matching a player. In this instance, the user selected player number 7.” in Para.[0118]); and
displaying a first scratchpad in response to the first input, wherein the first scratchpad is a scratchpad created based on content of the first video file, the first scratchpad comprises at least one video identifier and at least one video clip progress identifier(“With regard to FIG. 14C, is an illustration of the video recording device 1400 presenting the user interface 1402c, where the user interface 1402c includes a video display region 1426 for video content to be displayed. The user interface 1402c may include a “live stream” soft-button 1428a and “instant replay” soft-button 1428b that may be selectable by the user to select whether he or she wants to watch live streaming or an instant replay, respectively. A “record” soft-button 1428c may enable a user to start recording new video content without having to leave the user interface 1402c” in Para.[0136], “With regard to FIG. 18B, a screen shot of an illustrative user interface 1800b inclusive of the video feeds 1802a and 1802b of FIG. 18A are shown. An “add to favorites” soft-button 1812 allows for a user to add the video feed 1802a to a favorite video list. An “add hashtags” soft-button 1814 enables a user to add hashtag(s) to the video in the video feed 1802a. A “share with friends” soft-button 1816 enables the user to share the video with friends or family of the user. The video feed may include other conventional controls, including time control element 1818, full screen control element 1820, and zoom control element 1822. Other control elements may be provided to a user, as well” in Para.[0151]),
the video identifier is used to indicate a video clip in the first video file, and the video clip progress identifier is used to indicate completion progress of user operation corresponding to the video clip (Para.[0132]-[0136], [0151], Selectable video segment links can be interpreted as the video identifier to be used to indicate a video clip in the first video file because the video segment links may be hyperlinks and used to send a request to download respective video file so the user can look up the video clip. The time control element can be interpreted as the video clip progress identifier because the user operates to view the video clip and the time control element identifies the progress of the user viewing the video clip).
Ricciardi is silent about the video clip progress identifier is used to indicate completion percentage of a user operation corresponding to the video clip and wherein the user operation is a manual operation performed by the user under the guidance of the first video file.
Huang teaches wherein the user operation is a manual operation performed by the user under the guidance of the first video file(“video fragments that the user is interested in and which are found for the user will be highlighted on the time progress bar in the playing interface of the video file, and therefore, the user can directly click to view the interested parts in the video file without searching additionally, which facilitates the user's operation” in Para.[0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Ricciardi with the above teachings of Huang in order to improve user experience.
Elebaas teaches the video clip progress identifier is used to indicate completion percentage of a user operation corresponding to the video clip(“the job may involve translating, reviewing, editing a long video“ in Para.[0123], “a worker's reputation score on task completion rate is determined by computing the percentage of tasks that are assigned to the worker and the tasks that is completed and approved” in Para.[0178]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Ricciardi and Huang with the above teachings of Elebaas in order to improve the performance of tasks or subtasks based on desired parameters.
As per claim 2, Ricciardi, Huang and Elebaas teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Ricciardi teaches wherein the receiving a first input performed by a user on a target identifier comprises: receiving the first input performed by the user on the target identifier displayed on a video recording interface of the first video file; and the displaying a first scratchpad in response to the first input comprises: displaying the first scratchpad in a case that an input characteristic of the first input is a preset input characteristic(“With regard to FIG. 14B, an illustration of the video recording device 1400 is showing to be displaying a user interface 1402b, where the user has selectably changed the view from an “instant replay” view to a “live streaming” view by selecting the video feed type soft-button 1404. The user interface 1402b enables the user to select search parameters, such as those shown in table 1416, where the user may select and enter a player, team, play/action, and delivery. As shown, the user has entered two sets of search parameters 1418a and 1418b. In the first set of search parameters 1418a, the user has selected player number “6,” team name, action type of where the player is 10 feet or less from the ball, and video delivery, where a notification delivery may include displaying a video segment that matches the search parameters to be posted to a list for the user to view or any other type of message notification that enables the user to select and download video content, as understood in the art. If the user selects an automatic delivery, then in response to a particular set of search parameters occurring and being identified as occurring, then a video segment that matches the search parameter may be automatically in a list, streamed, or otherwise delivered to the video recording device 1400. In one embodiment, the video segments may automatically be displayed on the video recording device, such as in a video viewer as provided in FIG. 14C. Another list 1420 may enable a user to select from a set of live streaming sources 1422a-1422c that lists locations 1424a, users 1424b, and camera types 1424c from which to select by a user” in Para.[0135]).
As per claim 3, Ricciardi, Huang and Elebaas teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Ricciardi teaches wherein after the receiving a first input performed by a user on a target identifier and before the displaying a first scratchpad, the method further comprises: displaying a scratchpad editing interface of the first scratchpad, wherein the scratchpad editing interface comprises a scratchpad content editing area, and the scratchpad content editing area comprises N video identifiers, description information corresponding to each video identifier, and N video clip progress identifiers corresponding to the N video identifiers, wherein N video clips are video clips obtained by dividing the first video file based on the content of the first video file, and N is a positive integer(“additional video capture devices 402 may be configured to capture video in the same or similar manner as the video capture device 402a, and the server 416 may be configured to receive and process video captured by multiple video capture devices to generate a crowd sourced video, where the crowd sourced video may include video clips or content segments from different angles at a sporting event. The crowd sourced video may be a single video file inclusive of video clips available from the crowd sourced video clips or video clips that match search parameter(s), as further described herein” in Para.[0079], “a user interface 2300 may provide for a video editing environment in which video clips taken by different users at different angles may be listed along a first axis 2302y and time of the video clips may be along a second axis 2302x is shown. The different users that collect the video clips may be located around a sporting event, for example. In one embodiment, the user may enter a location relative to a field (e.g., home team side, 30 yard line), and the location may be used for positioning relative to other video clips collected from a sporting event, in this case the Oakland Riders vs Golden State Warriors game. A first composite video 2304 is shown to be assembled from multiple video clips 2306, in this case three video clips. The composite video 2304 has associated information 2308, including number of players, number of tags, duration, and number of video clips. Available video clips 2310 that meet a search criteria (e.g., player number(s), hashtag(s), or otherwise) may be listed and available for a user to select to include in a composite or extracted video. By providing for each of the video clips with crowd sourced tags, a user may be able to identify and select video content in a fast and easy manner and at angles not possible for a single user to obtain. Various video editing functions, such as clipping, zooming, transitioning, etc., as understood in the art, may be provided, as well. In one embodiment, the editing deck may be automated so that the user is able to receive a composite video without having to perform custom selection or editing” in Para.[0157]).
As per claim 4, Ricciardi, Huang and Elebaas teach all of limitation of claim 3.
Ricciardi teaches wherein the scratchpad editing interface further comprises a scratchpad attribute editing area, and the scratchpad attribute editing area comprises at least one scratchpad attribute of the first scratchpad; and after the displaying a scratchpad editing interface of the first scratchpad, the method further comprises: receiving a second input performed by the user on the scratchpad attribute editing area; updating at least one scratchpad attribute of the first scratchpad in response to the second input; and generating the first scratchpad based on content in the scratchpad content editing area and the scratchpad attribute editing area, wherein the scratchpad attribute comprises at least one of the following: a scratchpad subject, a scratchpad reminder time, and a scratchpad completion time(“a screenshot of an illustrative user interface 3000 that enables the user to edit a video clip is shown. The user interface 3000 may include a video clip 3002 along with a full timeline 3004 of the original video clip 3002, in this case a 2:45 second timeline, and a timeline 3006 showing times of an edited video clip with a first time selectable indicia 3008a and second time selectable indicia 3008b that a user may move or otherwise select to change a starting time and ending time, respectively, to produce an edited video clip. The edited video clip may be a portion of the raw video clip. In this case, the starting time of the edited video clip is 2:35 seconds, and the end time of the edited video clip is 2:45 seconds. In an embodiment, the edit times available for the first and second indicia 3008a-3008b may be limited to a particular time, such as 10 seconds. Alternatively, non-fixed amount of time less than the original length of time of the original video clip may be available to the user to set. Once the user has edited start and stop times of the video clip, the user may select a “save” soft-button 3010a to save the edited video clip or selected a “reset” soft-button 3010b to reset the edited video clip to be the same timeline as the original video clip. Although the user interface 3000 is configured to enable the user to adjust length of the edited video clip, it should be understood that alternative video editing capabilities may also be available, such as lighting, angle, zoom, or any other video editing feature, as understood in the art.” in Para.[0164]).
As per claim 8, Ricciardi, Huang and Elebaas teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Ricciardi teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying an entry identifier of at least one scratchpad, wherein the entry identifier of the at least one scratchpad comprises an entry identifier of the first scratchpad, and the entry identifier of the first scratchpad is determined based on the content of the first video file; and in a case that a fourth input performed by the user on the entry identifier of the first scratchpad is received, displaying a scratchpad editing interface of the first scratchpad in response to the fourth input(Para.[0157]).
As per claim 9, Ricciardi, Huang and Elebaas teach all of limitation of claim 8.
Ricciardi teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fifth input performed by the user on a video thumbnail of a second video file and the scratchpad entry identifier of the first scratchpad; and in response to the fifth input, adding, to the first scratchpad, P video identifiers, description information corresponding to each video identifier, and P video clip progress identifiers corresponding to the P video identifiers, wherein P video clips are video clips obtained by dividing the second video file based on content of the second video file, and P is a positive integer(Para.[0076], [0081], [0132]).
As per claim 11, the limitations in the claim 11 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 12, the limitations in the claim 12 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 13, the limitations in the claim 13 has been discussed in the rejection claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, the limitations in the claim 14 has been discussed in the rejection claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the limitations in the claim 18 has been discussed in the rejection claim 8 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, the limitations in the claim 19 has been discussed in the rejection claim 9 and rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10, 15-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484