Status of Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 17/951,289 received February 27, 2026. Claims 12-13 are canceled, claims 1, 3 and 10 are amended, and claims 2, 4-9, 11 and 14 are left as original or previously presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissan JP-3211323-B2 (hereinafter Nissan) in view of Schierling et al. U.S. PGPub 2020/0144815 A1 (hereinafter Schierling) and Schaede EP-3422522-B1 (hereinafter Schaede).
Regarding Claim 1, Nissan teaches a method for supplying a consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) with electrical energy from an industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22), wherein the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) is galvanically isolated from the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22, Via Switch, Element 51), the method comprising: establishing a connection between an energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22)
Excerpt from Nissan:
in a first operating state (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. Refer to the excerpt from Nissan copied below for convenience. Nissan describes this as the “accumulation mode” or “storage mode”, when the switch 51 is in the normal state as illustrated, storage device 50 receives energy from 22 and is charged.) and transferring electrical energy from the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22) into the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50),
Excerpt from Nissan:
wherein, when the connection is being established between the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. See annotated Fig. 7 below.) and the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22), a connection between the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) is disconnected and the consumer device remains galvanically isolated from the industrial network (Nissan. As can be seen in Fig. 7, during the “storage mode” as illustrated, the consumer device is galvanically isolated from the industrial network by switch 51.);
and establishing a connection between the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) and the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) in a second operating state (Nissan. As can be seen in Fig. 7 and as understood in the disclosure, during the “charging mode”, switch 51 would be in the opposite position as illustrated. Therefore the consumer device is again galvanically isolated from the industrial network by switch 51.) and transferring electrical energy from the energy storage to the consumer device,
Excerpt from Nissan:
wherein, when the connection is being established between the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) and the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50), a connection between the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22) is disconnected and the consumer device remains galvanically isolated from the industrial network (Nissan. As can be seen in Fig. 7 and as understood in the disclosure, during the “charging mode”, switch 51 would be in the opposite position as illustrated. Therefore the consumer device is again galvanically isolated from the industrial network by switch 51.), wherein, in the first operating state, a stabilization of the industrial network is enabled by a power exchange with the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. Although Nissan does not explicitly describe this as a stabilization of the industrial network, Nissan’s “accumulation mode” or “storage mode”, when the switch 51 is in the normal state as illustrated, storage device 50 receives energy from 22 and is charged which suggests a stabilization of the industrial network.), but Nissan does not explicitly teach the industrial network is a DC network or wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial DC network to provide stabilization of the industrial network.
Schierling, however, teaches the industrial source network is a DC network (Schierling, Fig. 1, Element 2; Para. [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nissan’s AC network to include a DC network, for the purpose of providing DC power to a variety of DC loads, such as “electrical consumers” (DC loads in general), “energy stores” or “photovoltaic systems PV” as described in Schierling paragraph [0075], avoiding a requirement of a separate AC/DC converter for each DC load, and although Nissan’s charging device teaches receiving AC power from an external AC network source (and converting the incoming power to DC before charging the battery 50), it would have been an obvious alternative to set up the conversion circuit to receive DC power from an external DC network as taught by Schierling, since Nissan’s conversion circuit 47-48 is capable of DC to DC bidirectional conversion, and the setup of the conversion circuit would simply be dependent on the input source, i.e. AC or DC.
The combined teaching of the Nissan and Schierling references discloses the claimed invention as stated above, but does not explicitly teach wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial DC network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial DC network to provide stabilization of the industrial network.
Schaede, however, teaches wherein a stabilization of the industrial DC network
Excerpt from Schaede:
is enabled by a power exchange with the energy storage, wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial DC network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial DC network (Schaede, “adjusted” reads on “varied”. See excerpt below).
Excerpt from Schaede:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Nissan as modified by Schierling is silent as to the system configured to assure a stabilized connection to the industrial network, Nissan would inherently incorporate some type of conventional stabilizing type connection commonly understood in the art. The stabilizing type connection taught by Schaede, for controlling the stability of the connection by adjusting the system, teaches one of the many conventional stabilizing type connections utilized in the art for connecting a battery energy storage system to an industrial network. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Schaede, to control the connection and transfer of power in the system of Nissan.
Regarding Claim 2, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Nissan teaches wherein, in a case of an existing connection between the energy storage and the industrial DC network or between the energy storage and the consumer device, a power is exchanged at a C-rate of less than one with respect to a capacity of the energy storage, and/or in a case of an existing connection between the energy storage and a battery of a vehicle assigned to the consumer device, a power flows from the energy storage to the consumer device at a C-rate of greater than one with respect to a capacity of the battery of the vehicle.
Excerpt from Nissan:
(As is well known in the art, “the C-rate is a measure of how quickly a battery is charged or discharged relative to its maximum capacity in one hour”. Nissan’s invention does not explicitly teach the C-rate of charging or discharging, but as understood by the disclosure, the charge rate of the energy storage when in the “accumulation mode” far exceeds a C-rate of 1C in that 100kW to 200kW of energy can be provided to the battery of an electric vehicle within a short time, for example 10 to 20 minutes, i.e. if c-rate is 60/t, then 60/20 suggests a C-rate of 3. Likewise, Nissan suggests a low C-rate for charging the storage battery 50 from the network 22 by stating it “has a substantially constant low load on the power receiving equipment and the commercial power supply 22”. Although this is not a specific C-rate, it suggests a C-rate of less than one.)
Regarding Claim 3, Nissan teaches a system comprising an industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22), at least one energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50), at least one consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) and at least one apparatus (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 51 and 49), wherein the apparatus is configured to: establish a connection between an energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22) and transferring electrical energy from the industrial network into the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. Refer to the excerpt from Nissan copied below for convenience. Nissan describes this as the “accumulation mode” or “storage mode”, when the switch 51 is in the normal state as illustrated, storage device 50 receives energy from 22 and is charged.),
Excerpt from Nissan:
wherein, when the connection is being established between the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. See annotated Fig. 7 below.) and the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22), a connection between the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) is disconnected and the consumer device remains galvanically isolated from the industrial network (Nissan. As can be seen in Fig. 7, during the “storage mode” as illustrated, the consumer device is galvanically isolated from the industrial
network by switch 51.);
and establish a connection between the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) and the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and transferring electrical energy from the energy storage to the consumer device,
Excerpt from Nissan:
wherein, when the connection is being established between the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4) and the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50), a connection between the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22) is disconnected and the consumer device remains galvanically isolated from the industrial network (Nissan. As can be seen in Fig. 7 and as understood in the disclosure, during the “charging mode”, switch 51 would be in the opposite position as illustrated. Therefore the consumer device is again galvanically isolated from the industrial network by switch 51.), but Nissan does not explicitly teach where the industrial network is a DC network,
wherein the apparatus comprises a DC/DC converter (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 49) and a switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51), wherein a first interface of the DC/DC converter is connected to the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50), and a second interface of the DC/DC converter is connected to a first connection of the switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51, right side of switch), wherein the first connection of the switching unit in a first operating state (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. Refer to the excerpt from Nissan copied below for convenience. Nissan describes this as the “accumulation mode” or “storage mode”, when the switch 51 is in the normal state as illustrated, storage device 50 receives energy from 22 and is charged.) is connected to a second connection of the switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51, left upper side of switch) to connect the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) to the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22), and wherein the first connection of the switching unit in a second operating state (Nissan. As can be seen in Fig. 7 and as understood in the disclosure, during the “charging mode”, switch 51 would be in the opposite position as illustrated. Therefore the consumer device is again galvanically isolated from the industrial network by switch 51.) is connected to a third connection of the switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51, left lower side of switch) to connect the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) to the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4), wherein the DC/DC converter comprises a bidirectional converter
Excerpt from Nissan:
and is configured to enable a stabilization of the industrial network by a power exchange with the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. Although Nissan does not explicitly describe this as a stabilization of the industrial network, Nissan’s “accumulation mode” or “storage mode”, when the switch 51 is in the normal state as illustrated, storage device 50 receives energy from 22 and is charged which suggests a stabilization of the industrial network.), but Nissan does not explicitly teach where the industrial network is a DC network or wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial network to provide stabilization of the industrial network.
Schierling, however, teaches the industrial source network is a DC network (Schierling, Fig. 1, Element 2; Para. [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nissan’s AC network to include a DC network, for the purpose of providing DC power to a variety of DC loads, such as “electrical consumers” (DC loads in general), “energy stores” or “photovoltaic systems PV” as described in Schierling paragraph [0075] avoiding a requirement of a separate AC/DC converter for each DC load, and although Nissan’s charging device teaches receiving AC power from an external AC network source (and converting the incoming power to DC before charging the battery 50), it would have been an obvious alternative to set up the conversion circuit to receive DC power from an external DC network as taught by Schierling, since Nissan’s conversion circuit 47-48 is capable of DC to DC bidirectional conversion, and the setup of the conversion circuit would simply be dependent on the input source, i.e. AC or DC.
The combined teaching of the Nissan and Schierling references discloses the claimed invention as stated above, but does not explicitly teach wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial DC network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial DC network to provide stabilization of the industrial network.
Schaede, however, teaches to enable a stabilization of the industrial DC network
Excerpt from Schaede:
by a power exchange with the energy storage, wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial DC network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial DC network.
Excerpt from Schaede:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Nissan as modified by Schierling is silent as to the system configured to assure a stabilized connection to the industrial network, Nissan would inherently incorporate some type of conventional stabilizing type connection commonly understood in the art. The stabilizing type connection taught by Schaede, for controlling the stability of the connection by adjusting the system, teaches one of the many conventional stabilizing type connections utilized in the art for connecting a battery energy storage system to an industrial network. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Schaede, to control the connection and transfer of power in the system of Nissan.
Regarding Claim 4, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 3. Furthermore, Nissan teaches further comprising a controller configured to control the apparatus with a control signal, wherein the apparatus is configured to assume the first operating state or the second operating state as a function of the control signal (Nissan, Where the “accumulation” or “storage mode” read on the “first operating state” and the “charging mode” reads on the “second operating state”.
Excerpt from Nissan:
Regarding Claim 5, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 3. Furthermore, Nissan suggests wherein the energy storage comprises a plurality of sub-storages, the apparatus comprises a plurality of apparatuses, and the consumer device comprises a plurality of consumer devices, wherein each apparatus and consumer device is assigned to each sub-storage, respectively, so that the sub-storages are alternately or cumulatively connected to the industrial DC network, but is not explicit in the explanation.
Excerpt from Nissan:
Schierling, however, teaches wherein the energy storage comprises a plurality of sub-storages, the apparatus comprises a plurality of apparatuses, and the consumer device comprises a plurality of consumer devices, wherein each apparatus and consumer device is assigned to each sub-storage, respectively, so that the sub- storages are alternately or cumulatively connected to the industrial DC network (Schierling, Fig. 1; Paras. [0075] – [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nissan’s AC network to include a DC network, for the purpose of providing DC power to a variety of DC loads, such as “electrical consumers” (DC loads in general), “energy stores” or “photovoltaic systems PV” as described in Schierling paragraph [0075], avoiding a requirement of a separate AC/DC converter for each DC load, and although Nissan’s charging device teaches receiving AC power from an external AC network source (and converting the incoming power to DC before charging the battery 50), it would have been an obvious alternative to set up the conversion circuit to receive DC power from an external DC network as taught by Schierling, since Nissan’s conversion circuit 47-48 is capable of DC to DC bidirectional conversion, and the setup of the conversion circuit would simply be dependent on the input source, i.e. AC or DC.
Regarding Claim 6, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 3. Furthermore, Nissan teaches wherein the DC/DC converter has a rated power of at least 50 kW, and wherein a capacity of the energy storage is configured so that the energy storage is discharged at a C-rate of less than one when electrical power is drawn at a level of the rated power of the DC/DC converter.
Excerpt from Nissan:
(As is well known in the art, “the C-rate is a measure of how quickly a battery is charged or discharged relative to its maximum capacity in one hour”. Nissan’s invention does not explicitly teach the C-rate of charging or discharging, but as understood by the disclosure, the charge rate of the energy storage when in the “accumulation mode” far exceeds a C-rate of 1C in that 100kW to 200kW of energy can be provided to the battery of an electric vehicle within a short time, for example 10 to 20 minutes, i.e. if c-rate is 60/t, then 60/20 suggests a C-rate of 3. Likewise, Nissan suggests a low C-rate for charging the storage battery 50 from the network 22 by stating it “has a substantially constant low load on the power receiving equipment and the commercial power supply 22”. Although this is not a specific C-rate, it suggests a C-rate of less than one.)
Regarding Claim 7, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 3. Furthermore, Nissan teaches characterized in that the at least one consumer is a charging apparatus for charging a battery of a vehicle having a capacity of greater than 50 kWh.
Excerpt from Nissan:
Regarding Claim 8, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 7/3. Furthermore, Nissan teaches wherein a rated power of the DC/DC converter is configured so that the battery of the vehicle can be charged at a C-rate of greater than 1.
Excerpt from Nissan:
Excerpt from Nissan:
(As is well known in the art, “the C-rate is a measure of how quickly a battery is charged or discharged relative to its maximum capacity in one hour”. Nissan’s invention does not explicitly teach the C-rate of charging or discharging, but as understood by the disclosure, the charge rate of the energy storage when in the “accumulation mode” far exceeds a C-rate of 1C in that 100kW to 200kW of energy can be provided to the battery of an electric vehicle within a short time, for example 10 to 20 minutes, i.e. if c-rate is 60/t, then 60/20 suggests a C-rate of 3. Likewise, Nissan suggests a low C-rate for charging the storage battery 50 from the network 22 by stating it “has a substantially constant low load on the power receiving equipment and the commercial power supply 22”. Although this is not a specific C-rate, it suggests a C-rate of less than one.)
Regarding Claim 9, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 7/3. Furthermore, Nissan teaches further comprising further charging apparatuses configured to charge further batteries of further vehicles, wherein the further charging apparatuses are connected in parallel with one another.
Excerpt from Nissan:
Regarding Claim 10, Nissan teaches an apparatus (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 46), comprising: a DC/DC converter (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 49); and a switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51), wherein a first interface of the DC/DC converter is configured to connect to an energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50), and a second interface of the DC/DC converter is connected to a first connection of the switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51, right side of switch), wherein a second connection (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51, left upper side of switch) of the switching unit is configured to connect to an industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22), and a third connection of the switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51, left lower side of switch) is configured to connect to a consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4), wherein the first connection of the switching unit in a first operating state (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. Refer to the excerpt from Nissan copied below for convenience. Nissan describes this as the “accumulation mode” or “storage mode”, when the switch 51 is in the normal state as illustrated, storage device 50 receives energy from 22 and is charged.) is connected to the second connection of the switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51, left upper side of switch) to establish a connection between the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and the industrial network (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 22), and wherein the first connection of the switching unit in a second operating state (Nissan. As can be seen in Fig. 7 and as understood in the disclosure, during the “charging mode”, switch 51 would be in the opposite position as illustrated. Therefore the consumer device is again galvanically isolated from the industrial network by switch 51.) is connected to the third connection of the switching unit (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 51, left lower side of switch) to establish a connection between the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50) and the consumer device (Nissan, Fig. 7, Elements 2/4), wherein the DC/DC converter comprises a bidirectional converter
Excerpt from Nissan:
and configured to enable a stabilization of the industrial network by a power exchange with the energy storage (Nissan, Fig. 7, Element 50. Although Nissan does not explicitly describe this as a stabilization of the industrial network, Nissan’s “accumulation mode” or “storage mode”, when the switch 51 is in the normal state as illustrated, storage device 50 receives energy from 22 and is charged which suggests a stabilization of the industrial network.), wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial DC network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial DC network
, but Nissan does not explicitly teach where the industrial network is a DC network or wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial network to provide stabilization of the industrial network.
Schierling, however, teaches the industrial source network is a DC network (Schierling, Fig. 1, Element 2; Para. [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nissan’s AC network to include a DC network, for the purpose of providing DC power to a variety of DC loads, such as “electrical consumers” (DC loads in general), “energy stores” or “photovoltaic systems PV” as described in Schierling paragraph [0075] avoiding a requirement of a separate AC/DC converter for each DC load, and although Nissan’s charging device teaches receiving AC power from an external AC network source (and converting the incoming power to DC before charging the battery 50), it would have been an obvious alternative to set up the conversion circuit to receive DC power from an external DC network as taught by Schierling, since Nissan’s conversion circuit 47-48 is capable of DC to DC bidirectional conversion, and the setup of the conversion circuit would simply be dependent on the input source, i.e. AC or DC.
The combined teaching of the Nissan and Schierling references discloses the claimed invention as stated above, but does not explicitly teach wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial DC network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial DC network to provide stabilization of the industrial network.
Schaede, however, teaches to enable a stabilization of the industrial DC network
Excerpt from Schaede:
by a power exchange with the energy storage, wherein electrical power transferred from the industrial DC network into the energy storage is varied to support the industrial DC network.
Excerpt from Schaede:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that although Nissan as modified by Schierling is silent as to the system configured to assure a stabilized connection to the industrial network, Nissan would inherently incorporate some type of conventional stabilizing type connection commonly understood in the art. The stabilizing type connection taught by Schaede, for controlling the stability of the connection by adjusting the system, teaches one of the many conventional stabilizing type connections utilized in the art for connecting a battery energy storage system to an industrial network. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Schaede, to control the connection and transfer of power in the system of Nissan.
Regarding Claim 11, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 10. Furthermore, Nissan teaches wherein the DC/DC converter comprises a DC/DC converter without galvanic isolation (Where “without galvanic isolation” suggests “without a transformer”, and since Nissan does not use a transformer, it is considered “non-galvanic”).
Regarding Claim 14, The combined teaching of the Nissan, Schierling and Schaede references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 10. Furthermore, Nissan teaches wherein the apparatus in the second operating state is configured to enable an energy supply to the consumer device from the energy storage (Nissan. As can be seen in Fig. 7 and as understood in the disclosure, during the “charging mode”, switch 51 would be in the opposite position as illustrated. Therefore the consumer device is again galvanically isolated from the industrial network by switch 51.).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed February 27, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found prior art reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859