DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 8/11/2022, 12/12/2024, and 7/3/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Jeong et al. ("Graph Neural Network for Music Score Data and Modeling Expressive Piano Performance," 2019, retrieved November 24, 2025 from https://proceedings.mlr.press/v97/jeong19a/jeong19a.pdf), hereinafter Jeong.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong discloses a computer-implemented estimation model (Jeong abstract: "we design the model using note-level gated graph neural network") training method comprising: obtaining a plurality of training data, each including condition data and a corresponding shortening rate (Jeong § 6.1: "Since there was no available public data set for our task, we created our own data set by collecting pairs of score in MusicXML and corresponding performances in MIDI. We collected the score files from MuseScore1 and Musicalion2 , and the performance MIDI files from Yamaha ecompetition data3 . The performance data consists of human piano performances of classical music from the Baroque to contemporary music, which were recorded by a computer-controlled piano (Yamaha Disklavier) during the competitions. This dataset has been widely used in music generation tasks (Huang et al., 2019; Hawthorne et al., 2019). To make note-level score and performance data pairs, XML-to-MIDI matching is required. We utilized an automatic alignment algorithm (Nakamura et al., 2017) to synchronize the score XML to performance MIDI in note-level."), wherein: the condition data represents a sounding condition specified for a specific note by score data representing: (i) respective durations of a plurality of notes (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output. The feature extraction scheme is detailed in (Jeong et al., 2019). The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level. The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling."), and (ii) a shortening indication for shortening a duration of the specific note, which is one of the plurality of notes (Jeong § 3.1: "We define six edge types in musical score: next, rest, onset, sustain, voice, and slur as shown in Figure 2. A next edge connects a note to its following note, i.e., the following note that begins exactly when the note ends. A rest edge links a note with the rest following to other notes that begin when the rest ends. If there are consecutive rests, they are combined as a single rest. An onset edge is to connect notes that begin together, i.e., on the same onset. Notes that appear between a note start and its end are connected by sustain edges. voice edges are a subset of next edges which connect notes in the same voice only. Among voice edges, we add slur edges between notes under the same slur."), and the shortening rate represents an amount of shortening of the duration of the specific note (Jeong § 4.1: "The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level. The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling."); and training an estimation model to learn a relationship between the condition data and the shortening rate by machine learning using the plurality of training data (Jeong § 6.3: "We trained all models using the Adam optimizer (Kingma & Ba, 2015) with a learning rate of 0.0003, weight decay of 1e5, and dropout of 0.1. For the training batch, the notes were sliced at the end of measure that include the 400-th note. We
tried both classification and regression for the output, but the output quality was better in regression. Therefore, we used mean square error for the loss, and the output features were all normalized with µ = 0, σ = 1. The loss was calculated note-wise except the tempo loss, which was calculated in beat-wise.").
Regarding claim 7, Jeong discloses a computer-implemented estimation model training method comprising the features of claim 6 as discussed above.
Jeong further discloses that the sounding condition represented by the condition data includes a pitch and a duration of the specific note (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output. The feature extraction scheme is detailed in (Jeong et al., 2019). The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level. The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling.") and information about at least one of a note before the specific note or a note after the specific note (Jeong § 3.1: "We define six edge types in musical score: next, rest, onset, sustain, voice, and slur as shown in Figure 2. A next edge connects a note to its following note, i.e., the following note that begins exactly when the note ends. A rest edge links a note with the rest following to other notes that begin when the rest ends. If there are consecutive rests, they are combined as a single rest. An onset edge is to connect notes that begin together, i.e., on the same onset. Notes that appear between a note start and its end are connected by sustain edges. voice edges are a subset of next edges which connect notes in the same voice only. Among voice edges, we add slur edges between notes under the same slur.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Jeong in view of Oura et al. ("Recent Development of the HMM-based Singing Voice Synthesis System — Sinsy," 2010, retrieved November 24, 2025 from https://www.isca-archive.org/ssw_2010/oura10_ssw.pdf), hereinafter Oura.
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches generating a shortening rate representative of an amount of shortening of the duration of the specific note (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output. The feature extraction scheme is detailed in (Jeong et al., 2019). The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level. The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling."), by inputting, to a first estimation model, condition data representative of a sounding condition specified by the score data for the specific note (Jeong § 4.2: "Our system consists of three modules: a score encoder Es, a performance encoder, Ep and a performance decoder Dp. For a given score input X, the score module Es infers a score condition C. The score module employs ISGN with two GGNN layers and a single layer of measure-level RNN with a long short term memory (LSTM). The initial input X passes through the three-layer dense network. The first layer of GGNN updates note-level features only, and measure level features remain fixed. The second layer of GGNN updates the whole hidden state. The outputs of both layers are concatenated to compose C as a skip connection. For the encoded score condition C and its corresponding performance features Y, the performance encoder module encodes the performance style, Y for given C, as a latent vector z. The input of the style encoder is the score condition C concatenated with its corresponding performance features Y. The dimension of concatenated data is reduced with a dense layer and used for input of the performance encoder. The performance encoder consists of a GGNN and two-layers measure-level LSTM. The higher-level of performance encoder employs HAN instead of ISGN since it focuses on the summarization of total sequence rather than characteristics of individual notes. During the inference, the encoder can be bypassed by sampling z from the normal distribution or using a pre-encoded z."); generating a series of control data, each representing a control condition of the sound signal corresponding to the score data (Jeong § 4.2: "The last part of the system is the performance decoder D : C, z, Yˆ 0 7→ Yˆ, which generates the performance features Yˆ. We employ the ISGN structure in the decoder module as well. It infers performance parameters for each note in the input score by the iterative method. We employed the concept of hierarchical decoding of latent vector in VAE introduced in (Roberts et al., 2018). Instead of directly using the encoded z, we decode z into measure-level by concatenating z ×Lm with measure-level representation Hm in the encoded score C and feeding it to another LSTM module. The LSTM module returns measure-level performance style vector zm ∈ R Lm×De, where Lm and De represent number of measures and dimension of encoded vector z.), the series of control data reflecting a shortened duration of the specific note shortened in accordance with the generated shortening rate (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output… The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling.").
Jeong does not explicitly disclose generating the sound signal in accordance with the series of control data.
However, Oura teaches generating the sound signal in accordance with the series of control data (Oura § 2.1: "Second, according to the label sequence, an HMM corresponding to the song is constructed by concatenating the context-dependent HMMs. Third, the state durations of the song HMM are determined with respect to the state duration models. Fourth, the spectrum and excitation parameters are generated by the speech parameter generation algorithm [14]. Finally, a singing voice is synthesized directly from the generated spectrum and excitation parameters by using a Mel Log Spectrum Approximation (MLSA) filter [15].").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the computer-implemented sound signal generation method of Jeong by adding the sound signal generation of Oura to obtain natural singing voices (Oura § 6).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong (in view of Oura) teaches a computer-implemented sound signal generation method comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Jeong further teaches that the first estimation model is a machine learning model (Jeong § 4.2: "Our system consists of three modules: a score encoder Es, a performance encoder, Ep and a performance decoder Dp… The performance encoder consists of a GGNN and two-layers measure-level LSTM.") that learns a relationship between a sounding condition specified for a specific note in a piece of music and a shortening rate of the specific note (Jeong § 4.1: "The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level.").
Regarding claim 3, Jeong (in view of Oura) teaches a computer-implemented sound signal generation method comprising the features of claim 2 as discussed above.
Jeong further teaches that the sounding condition represented by the condition data includes a pitch and a duration of the specific note (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output. The feature extraction scheme is detailed in (Jeong et al., 2019). The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level.") and information about at least one of a note before the specific note or a note after the specific note (Jeong § 3.1: "We define six edge types in musical score: next, rest, onset, sustain, voice, and slur as shown in Figure 2. A next edge connects a note to its following note, i.e., the following note that begins exactly when the note ends.").
Regarding claim 4, Jeong (in view of Oura) teaches a computer-implemented sound signal generation method comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Oura further teaches the sound signal is generated by inputting the series of control data into a second estimation model separate from the first estimation model (Oura § 2.1: "An arbitrarily given musical score including the lyrics to be synthesized is first converted in the synthesis part to a context-dependent label sequence. Second, according to the label sequence, an HMM corresponding to the song is constructed by concatenating the context-dependent HMMs. Third, the state durations of the song HMM are determined with respect to the state duration models. Fourth, the spectrum and excitation parameters are generated by the speech parameter generation algorithm [14]. Finally, a singing voice is synthesized directly from the generated spectrum and excitation parameters by using a Mel Log Spectrum Approximation (MLSA) filter [15].").
Regarding claim 5, Jeong (in view of Oura) teaches a computer-implemented sound signal generation method comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Jeong further teaches that the generating of the series of control data includes: generating intermediate data in which the duration of the specific note has been shortened by the shortening rate (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output. The feature extraction scheme is detailed in (Jeong et al., 2019). The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level. The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling."); and generating the series of control data that corresponds to the intermediate data (Jeong § 4.2: "The last part of the system is the performance decoder D : C, z, Yˆ 0 7→ Yˆ, which generates the performance features Yˆ. We employ the ISGN structure in the decoder module as well. It infers performance parameters for each note in the input score by the iterative method.).
Regarding claim 8, Jeong teaches one or more memories for storing instructions (Jeong abstract: "we design the model using note-level gated graph neural network"); and one or more processors communicatively connected to the one or more memories (Jeong abstract: "we design the model using note-level gated graph neural network") and that execute instructions to: generate a shortening rate representative of an amount of shortening of the duration of the specific note (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output. The feature extraction scheme is detailed in (Jeong et al., 2019). The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level. The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling."), by inputting, to a first estimation model, condition data representative of a sounding condition specified by the score data for the specific note (Jeong § 4.2: "Our system consists of three modules: a score encoder Es, a performance encoder, Ep and a performance decoder Dp. For a given score input X, the score module Es infers a score condition C. The score module employs ISGN with two GGNN layers and a single layer of measure-level RNN with a long short term memory (LSTM). The initial input X passes through the three-layer dense network. The first layer of GGNN updates note-level features only, and measure level features remain fixed. The second layer of GGNN updates the whole hidden state. The outputs of both layers are concatenated to compose C as a skip connection. For the encoded score condition C and its corresponding performance features Y, the performance encoder module encodes the performance style, Y for given C, as a latent vector z. The input of the style encoder is the score condition C concatenated with its corresponding performance features Y. The dimension of concatenated data is reduced with a dense layer and used for input of the performance encoder. The performance encoder consists of a GGNN and two-layers measure-level LSTM. The higher-level of performance encoder employs HAN instead of ISGN since it focuses on the summarization of total sequence rather than characteristics of individual notes. During the inference, the encoder can be bypassed by sampling z from the normal distribution or using a pre-encoded z."); generate a series of control data, each representing a control condition of the sound signal corresponding to the score data (Jeong § 4.2: "The last part of the system is the performance decoder D : C, z, Yˆ 0 7→ Yˆ, which generates the performance features Yˆ. We employ the ISGN structure in the decoder module as well. It infers performance parameters for each note in the input score by the iterative method. We employed the concept of hierarchical decoding of latent vector in VAE introduced in (Roberts et al., 2018). Instead of directly using the encoded z, we decode z into measure-level by concatenating z ×Lm with measure-level representation Hm in the encoded score C and feeding it to another LSTM module. The LSTM module returns measure-level performance style vector zm ∈ R Lm×De, where Lm and De represent number of measures and dimension of encoded vector z.), the series of control data reflecting a shortened duration of the specific note shortened in accordance with the generated shortening rate (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output… The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling.").
Jeong does not explicitly disclose generating the sound signal in accordance with the series of control data.
However, Oura teaches generating the sound signal in accordance with the series of control data (Oura § 2.1: "Second, according to the label sequence, an HMM corresponding to the song is constructed by concatenating the context-dependent HMMs. Third, the state durations of the song HMM are determined with respect to the state duration models. Fourth, the spectrum and excitation parameters are generated by the speech parameter generation algorithm [14]. Finally, a singing voice is synthesized directly from the generated spectrum and excitation parameters by using a Mel Log Spectrum Approximation (MLSA) filter [15].").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sound signal generation system of Jeong by adding the sound signal generation of Oura to obtain natural singing voices (Oura § 6).
Regarding claim 9, Jeong (in view of Oura) teaches a sounds signal generation system comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above.
Jeong further teaches that the first estimation model is a machine learning model (Jeong § 4.2: "Our system consists of three modules: a score encoder Es, a performance encoder, Ep and a performance decoder Dp… The performance encoder consists of a GGNN and two-layers measure-level LSTM.") that learns a relationship between a sounding condition specified for a specific note in a piece of music and a shortening rate of the specific note (Jeong § 4.1: "The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level.").
Regarding claim 10, Jeong (in view of Oura) teaches a sounds signal generation system comprising the features of claim 9 as discussed above.
Jeong further teaches that the sounding condition represented by the condition data includes a pitch and a duration of the specific note (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output. The feature extraction scheme is detailed in (Jeong et al., 2019). The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level.") and information about at least one of a note before the specific note or a note after the specific note (Jeong § 3.1: "We define six edge types in musical score: next, rest, onset, sustain, voice, and slur as shown in Figure 2. A next edge connects a note to its following note, i.e., the following note that begins exactly when the note ends.").
Regarding claim 11, Jeong (in view of Oura) teaches a sounds signal generation system comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above.
Oura further teaches the sound signal is generated by inputting the series of control data into a second estimation model separate from the first estimation model (Oura § 2.1: "An arbitrarily given musical score including the lyrics to be synthesized is first converted in the synthesis part to a context-dependent label sequence. Second, according to the label sequence, an HMM corresponding to the song is constructed by concatenating the context-dependent HMMs. Third, the state durations of the song HMM are determined with respect to the state duration models. Fourth, the spectrum and excitation parameters are generated by the speech parameter generation algorithm [14]. Finally, a singing voice is synthesized directly from the generated spectrum and excitation parameters by using a Mel Log Spectrum Approximation (MLSA) filter [15].").
Regarding claim 12, Jeong (in view of Oura) teaches a sounds signal generation system comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above.
Jeong further teaches that in the generation of the series of control data, the one or more processors execute the instructions to: generate intermediate data in which the duration of the specific note has been shortened by the shortening rate (Jeong § 4.1: "Our model exploits pre-defined score and performance features for input and output. The feature extraction scheme is detailed in (Jeong et al., 2019). The input features include various type of musical information such as pitch and duration of note, tempo and dynamic markings. The input features are all embedded in note-level. The output features consist of tempo, MIDI velocity (loudness), onset deviation (micro-timing of each note), articulation (duration ratio), and seven features to handle piano pedaling."); and generate the series of control data that corresponds to the intermediate data (Jeong § 4.2: "The last part of the system is the performance decoder D : C, z, Yˆ 0 7→ Yˆ, which generates the performance features Yˆ. We employ the ISGN structure in the decoder module as well. It infers performance parameters for each note in the input score by the iterative method.).
Conclusion
/PHILIP G SCOLES/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/JEFFREY DONELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837