DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-12 and 14-22 are pending for examination in the application filed 11/10/2025. Claims 1 and 14-15 have been amended and claim 13 has been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 11 of the Remarks that Lautenschlager is completely silent on an image displaying the multiple vessels of interest in an anatomical vessel structure two-dimensionally without overlapping. This limitation is taught by Lavi. As stated on page 5 of the Final Office Action from 06/10/2025:
Lautenschlager teaches the determining a two-dimensional unfolded image ([0046] FIG. 5 illustrates a feeding vessel 500 of a tumor in a medical image. The image can be rendered for example using volume rendering technique (VRT) or maximum intensity projection (MIP)).
Applicant further argues on page 12 of the Remarks that it would not have been obvious to determine the two-dimensional unfolded image using the elements of the method taught by Lautenschlager. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. Please see below for the entire 35 USC § 103 rejection of Taerum in view of Lavi and Lautenschlager as facilitated by the newly added amendments.
Drawings
Figures 1 and 4-5 are objected to as depicting a block diagram without “readily identifiable” descriptors of each block, as required by 37 CFR 1.84(n). Rule 84(n) requires “labeled representations” of graphical symbols, such as blocks; and any that are “not universally recognized may be used, subject to approval by the Office, if they are not likely to be confused with existing conventional symbols, and if they are readily identifiable.” In the case of Figures 1 and 4-5 the blocks are not readily identifiable per se and therefore require the insertion of text that identifies the function of that block. That is, each vacant block should be provided with a corresponding label identifying its function or purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claims 1 and 15 recite the limitations “determining a two-dimensional unfolded image of the vessel structure from the image data set, the unfolded image being an image displaying the multiple vessels of interest in the anatomical vessel structure two-dimensionally without overlapping, the unfolded image including at least a part of at least one of a surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or a surrounding anatomy for at least one additional anatomical structure, and the determining the two-dimensional unfolded image including determining the unfolded image by excluding the at least the part of at least one of the surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or the surrounding anatomy for the at least one additional anatomical structure”. It is unclear whether the two-dimensional unfolded image includes surrounding anatomy or excludes it. Further, it is unclear whether the unfolded image and the two-dimensional unfolded image differ, and if these images differ in regards to the surrounding anatomy being included or excluded. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taerum (US20130066188A1) in view of Lavi (Guy A. Lavi "Mapping the coronary arteries on a sphere in CT angiography", Proc. SPIE 5367, Medical Imaging 2004: Visualization, Image-Guided Procedures, and Display, (5 May 2004)) and Lautenschlager (US20120014573A1).
Regarding claim 1, Taerum teaches a computer-implemented (computer system 12a) method for performing at least one measurement (aneurysm 1028 length) in an anatomical vessel structure (vessel 1010) in an imaging region ([0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010. For example, a proximal neck and distal neck may be located. Between the necks, a maximum lumen and minimum lumen may be located, together with a cross sectional area of each. The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed), the anatomical vessel structure comprising multiple vessels of interest for the measurement ([0052] FIG. 10A shows a first orientation 1003A of the 3D image 1002 and FIG. 10B shows a second orientation 1003B of the 3D image 1002. A menu 1009 is provided to add or remove a particular vessel or vessels of interest. The available vessels are listed in the menu 1009), the method comprising:
receiving a three-dimensional image data set of the imaging region ([0021] The system 10 comprises a medical imaging scanner 12 that acquires image data of a patient under examination. The scanner 12 may use any appropriate imaging modality to acquire the image data, for example, magnetic resonance, computed tomography, ultrasound, and X-ray imaging. The scanner 12 may acquire raw image data from multiple scanned views of the region of interest of the patient, reconstruct the images, and produce image data signals for the multiple views);
determining a two-dimensional unfolded image of the vessel structure from the image data set, the unfolded image being an image displaying the multiple vessels of interest in the anatomical vessel structure two-dimensionally, the unfolded image including at least a part of at least one of a surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or a surrounding anatomy for at least one additional anatomical structure (See Fig. 10A. [0052] In user interface 1000, the "Vessel Finder" mode provides a 3D image 1002 of a region of a patient together with three orthogonal 2D multi-planar rendering (MPR) views 1004, 1006 and 1008. For example, the views may be an axial view, coronal view and a sagittal view, respectively);
displaying the unfolded image ([0051] The user interface 1000 is provided on a display of the user workstation 22 to allow a user to display, annotate and/or edit a medical image generated from scans of a patient);
determining at least one landmark in the vessel structure ([0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010. For example, a proximal neck and distal neck may be located. Between the necks, a maximum lumen and minimum lumen may be located, together with a cross sectional area of each. The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed) and visualizing the at least one landmark at a corresponding landmark position in the unfolded image ([0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed. Each of the determined features may be color-coded and a cross section of the vessel at a location of each feature shown in a respective (color-coded) window. The 2D image, cross sectional images, landmark (aneurysm) and measurement are shown in Figure 16);
performing the at least one measurement based on the at least one landmark and the three-dimensional image data set ([0052] In user interface 1000, the "Vessel Finder" mode provides a 3D image 1002 of a region of a patient together with three orthogonal 2D multi-planar rendering (MPR) views 1004, 1006 and 1008. [0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode… The length of the aneurism may be determined);
and displaying a result of the at least one measurement in the unfolded image in a user presentation or together with the unfolded image in the user presentation ([0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010. For example, a proximal neck and distal neck may be located. Between the necks, a maximum lumen and minimum lumen may be located, together with a cross sectional area of each. The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed. The 2D image, cross sectional images, landmark (aneurysm) and measurement are shown in Figure 16).
Taerum does not teach the unfolded image being an image displaying the multiple vessels of interest in the anatomical vessel structure two-dimensionally without overlapping.
Lavi, in the same field of endeavor of 2D vessel visualization, teaches the unfolded image being an image displaying the multiple vessels of interest in the anatomical vessel structure two-dimensionally without overlapping.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Taerum with the teachings of Lavi so that "the entire coronary tree can be explored quite rapidly allowing a relatively thorough examination of the vessels lumen in a CPR-type presentation" [Lavi Results para. 2].
Taerum does not teach the determining the two-dimensional unfolded image including determining the unfolded image by excluding the at least the part of at least one of the surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or the surrounding anatomy for the at least one additional anatomical structure, and overlaying at least one indicator describing at least one of a position or dimensions of the at least the part of at least one of the surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or the surrounding anatomy for the at least one additional anatomical structure over the unfolded image.
Lautenschlager, in the same field of endeavor of evaluating vessels in a medical image, teaches the determining the two-dimensional unfolded image including determining the unfolded image by excluding the at least the part of at least one of the surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or the surrounding anatomy for the at least one additional anatomical structure ([0046] FIG. 5 illustrates a feeding vessel 500 of a tumor in a medical image. The image can be rendered for example using volume rendering technique (VRT) or maximum intensity projection (MIP)),
and overlaying at least one indicator describing at least one of a position or dimensions of the at least the part of at least one of the surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or the surrounding anatomy for the at least one additional anatomical structure over the unfolded image ([0048] FIG. 7 illustrates the feeding vessel 500 of the tumor with the marked planned catheter position 602 along with distal feeding vessel branches. The distal vessel branches after the position 602 are indicated along the blood flow direction e.g. in a different color to distinguish itself from rest of the feeding vessel and also from the background of the medical image. The indication of the distal vessel branches can also be in the form of dotted lines as indicated in FIG. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Taerum with the teachings of Lautenschlager to determine the two dimensional unfolded image excluding part of the surrounding anatomy "to emphasize the identification of a catheter location in the feeding vessel and the simulation of embolization according to the present invention. Based on the identification and simulation a physician can pre-plan the embolization procedure before the actual intervention" [Lautenschlager 0045] and overlay an indicator of the position or dimensions of the surrounding anatomy because "The advantage for the physician is that he can perform different iterations to visualize different simulation of embolization and finally select a more accurate catheter position which will not cutoff any major vessels feeding to the healthy tissues" [Lautenschlager 0049].
Regarding claim 2, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 1. Taerum further teaches wherein the determining the at least one landmark determines the at least one landmark at least partly based on at least one of user interaction data of a user interaction with the unfolded image or by a landmark detection algorithm ([0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010).
Regarding claim 3, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 1. Taerum further teaches determining vessel structure information using at least one evaluation algorithm ([0027] FIG. 3 illustrates an operational flow diagram of processes performed to determine a centerline of a tubular structure, such as that shown in FIG. 2), the vessel structure information describing at least one of a course of the vessels of interest or dimensions of the vessels of interest from the image data set ([0027] In general, the processes of FIG. 3 identify the centerline and cross sectional contours of tubular structures that may be found in volumetric data, such as that shown in FIG. 2…Given a 3D array of scalar values and a first and a second point (seed points), the processes will find a path from the first point to the second point that lies in the center of a tubular structure. The first point and the second point may be any points along the tubular structure), wherein at least one of the determining the unfolded image or the performing the measurement is at least partly based on the vessel structure information ([0044] With reference to FIG. 8, there is an operational flow diagram of process performed to determine a location of an aneurysm… [0045] At S804, to determine the two ends of the aneurysm, the contour area may be considered as a function of position along the length of the centerline of the tubular structure. [0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed).
Regarding claim 4, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 3. Taerum further teaches wherein the determining vessel structure information includes determining at least one of, centerlines of the vessels of interest, or a lumen information describing a lumen of the vessels of interest ([0027] FIG. 3 illustrates an operational flow diagram of processes performed to determine a centerline of a tubular structure, such as that shown in FIG. 2. [0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010. For example, a proximal neck and distal neck may be located. Between the necks, a maximum lumen and minimum lumen may be located, together with a cross sectional area of each).
Regarding claim 5, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 4. Taerum further teaches wherein the at least one measurement relates to at least one disease, wherein the lumen information is determined based on a presence of the at least one disease ([0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010. For example, a proximal neck and distal neck may be located. Between the necks, a maximum lumen and minimum lumen may be located, together with a cross sectional area of each).
Regarding claim 6, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 3. Taerum further teaches displaying at least a part of the vessel structure information in the unfolded image ([0051] As show in FIGS. 10A and 10B, the user interface 1000 enables a user to view vessels within a patient's body, display information and characteristics of the vessels (e.g., centerlines, stenosis, aneurysms, cross-sections, contours, etc.)).
Regarding claim 7, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 1. Taerum further teaches determining, for at least one landmark, at least one additional two-dimensional display image at the landmark position; and displaying the at least one additional two-dimensional display image adjacent to the unfolded image in the user presentation ([0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed. Each of the determined features may be color-coded and a cross section of the vessel at a location of each feature shown in a respective (color-coded) window. Additionally or optionally, one or more Windows 1020 may be provided to show cross-sections of the above noted features of the vessel 1010. The 2D image, cross sectional images, landmark (aneurysm) and measurement are shown in Figure 16).
Regarding claim 8, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 7. Taerum further teaches wherein the at least one additional two-dimensional display image is a sectional image of the vessel of interest in which the landmark is located ([0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed. Each of the determined features may be color-coded and a cross section of the vessel at a location of each feature shown in a respective (color-coded) window. Additionally or optionally, one or more Windows 1020 may be provided to show cross-sections of the above noted features of the vessel 1010).
Regarding claim 9, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 7. Taerum further teaches wherein a result of the at least one measurement is related to vessel structure information, derived from the image data set and underlying the at least one measurement at the landmark ([0027] In general, the processes of FIG. 3 identify the centerline and cross sectional contours of tubular structures that may be found in volumetric data, such as that shown in FIG. 2. The volumetric data may be derived from magnetic resonance or computed tomography imagery of vessels where a contrast agent was injected into the blood stream to enhance the imagery for centerlining. [0044] With reference to FIG. 8, there is an operational flow diagram of process performed to determine a location of an aneurysm… [0045] At S804, to determine the two ends of the aneurysm, the contour area may be considered as a function of position along the length of the centerline of the tubular structure. [0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed).
Regarding claim 10, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 1. Taerum further teaches modifying at least one of at least one displayed landmark position or displayed vessel structure information based on user modification information determined from interaction of a user with the user presentation ([0054] As show in FIGS. 11A and 11B, the user interface may provide a "Vessel Editor" mode, wherein a user may make adjustments to the vessel, the centerline, and other characteristics of the vessel).
Regarding claim 11, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 10. Taerum further teaches wherein the modifying includes updating each of the at least one measurement based on at least one of the respective landmark or vessel structure information ([0050] Within the analysis view, user may select various functions to determine characteristics of the vessel under analysis. For example the user may determine areas of stenosis or aneurysms present in the vessel either manually or automatically by selecting an appropriate tool. The user may also edit contours associated with the vessel of interest. [0044] With reference to FIG. 8, there is an operational flow diagram of process performed to determine a location of an aneurysm… [0045] At S804, to determine the two ends of the aneurysm, the contour area may be considered as a function of position along the length of the centerline of the tubular structure. [0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed).
Regarding claim 12, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 1. Lavi teaches selecting a set of input points (Figure 1 coronary treelike arterial structure) in the three-dimensional image data set ([Results para. 4] All scans were performed with the Philips Brilliance 16/Mx8000 IDT 16-slice scanner), wherein the set of input points comprises a first plurality of input points that represents the vessel structure (centerline coordinates of all major vessels from the original scanner coordinate system (X,Y,Z)),
determining a projection surface with respect to the three-dimensional image data set (Figure 2 (a) The centerlines of the three major coronary arteries and the best sphere fitting their vertices. (b) The sphere after aligning its axis of rotation with the major axis of the heart),
calculating a set of surface points of the projection surface (centerline coordinates of all major vessels in spherical coordinate system), wherein for each input point of the set of input points, a corresponding surface point of the set of surface points is calculated based on a projection of the corresponding input point onto the projection surface ([Methodology para. 3-4] Centerlines coordinates of all major vessels are converted from the original scanner coordinate system (X,Y,Z) to a spherical coordinate system (that is, latitude and longitude (φ, λ) and height h above the sphere) defined by the center of the sphere and by the aligned axis of rotation. This transformation is performed in two steps. In the first, the scanner coordinate system is shifted and rotated, following equation 1, to conform to the center of the sphere and its axis of rotation. (Xs ,Ys ,Zs) are the coordinates in the aligned system, M is the rotation matrix and (Xc ,Yc ,Zc) is the center of the sphere. In the second step the Cartesian coordinates are converted to spherical coordinates, following equation 2, where R is the radius of the sphere. Figure 3 illustrates the relationship between the three coordinate systems),
calculating a deformed projection surface (Figure 4. The smoothed free-form surface containing the centerlines, as evolved from the base sphere) by applying a deformation algorithm onto the projection surface, the set of input points and the set of surface points, wherein each surface point of the set of surface points is moved to the corresponding input point of the set of input points (Serving as a base surface, the sphere (or ellipsoid) is stretched to fit the exact shape of the arteries. That is, each grid point on the sphere (figure 2b) is moved a distance ∆ along the normal to the surface of the sphere ( Nˆ ). Very close to a centerline vertex the distance ∆ equals h as seen in figure 3. When a grid point does not hit a centerline when moved along the normal, the distance ∆ varies between 0 and h depending on the distance to the closest centerline vertex. The distances to the surrounding vertices are calculated as great-circle distances using the Law of Cosines known from spherical trigonometry as written in equation 3. d is the great-circle distance to the i-vertex and is calculated from the spherical coordinates of the vertex (φ, λ)i and those of the grid point (φ, λ)0. The resultant surface, smoothed using a Gaussian kernel, is illustrated in Figure 4);
calculating a set of voxel positions (resampled voxel data) with respect to the three-dimensional image data based on the deformed projection surface ([Methodology para. 6] Resampling the voxel data with the resulting surface in the manner CPRs are formed will derive the closed shape curved reformation shown in figure 5),
and calculating the two-dimensional unfolded image (Figure 8. The “map” mode of visualization, spreading the entire coronary tree on a 2D image) of the vessel structure based on the three-dimensional image data set and the set of voxel positions ([Methodology ¶11] The complete structure of the coronary arteries is spread over the 2D image, showing the surrounding tissues and the aortic root of the tree as well. The resultant image maintains a continuous look with a layout providing an easy orientation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Taerum with the teachings of Lavi so that "the entire coronary tree can be explored quite rapidly allowing a relatively thorough examination of the vessels lumen in a CPR-type presentation" [Lavi Results para. 2].
Regarding claim 14, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 1. Lautenschlager teaches wherein the additional anatomical structure is a vessel not of interest for the at least one measurement, the vessel not of interest overlaps or crosses at least one of the vessels of interest of the vessel structure, and the indicator describes at least one of a course of the vessel not of interest or dimensions of the vessel not of interest ([0048] FIG. 7 illustrates the feeding vessel 500 of the tumor with the marked planned catheter position 602 along with distal feeding vessel branches. The distal vessel branches after the position 602 are indicated along the blood flow direction e.g. in a different color to distinguish itself from rest of the feeding vessel and also from the background of the medical image. The indication of the distal vessel branches can also be in the form of dotted lines as indicated in FIG. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Taerum with the teachings of Lautenschlager to have an indicator describing the course or dimensions of the vessel not of interest because "The advantage for the physician is that he can perform different iterations to visualize different simulation of embolization and finally select a more accurate catheter position which will not cutoff any major vessels feeding to the healthy tissues" [Lautenschlager 0049].
Regarding claim 15, Taerum teaches a data processing device (image processing system 16. [0022] The image processing system 16 has an image data archive or database 18, an application server 20, and a user workstation 22… The image data archive or database 18 may be a Picture Archiving and Communications System (PACS)) for performing at least one measurement in an anatomical vessel structure in an imaging region, the vessel structure comprising multiple vessels of interest for the measurement ([0025] The imaging system 10 and, in particular, the image processing system 16 is adapted to permit the imaging system 10 to operate and to implement methods in accordance with the present disclosure. [0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010. For example, a proximal neck and distal neck may be located. Between the necks, a maximum lumen and minimum lumen may be located, together with a cross sectional area of each. The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed. [0052] FIG. 10A shows a first orientation 1003A of the 3D image 1002 and FIG. 10B shows a second orientation 1003B of the 3D image 1002. A menu 1009 is provided to add or remove a particular vessel or vessels of interest. The available vessels are listed in the menu 1009);
the data processing device comprising: a display ([0022] The image processing system 16 has an image data archive or database 18, an application server 20, and a user workstation 22… [0024] The workstation 22 may comprise appropriate user interfaces, like displays, storage media, input/output devices, etc. [0048] For example, a dedicated workstation may be provided with multiple monitors to display several views at once);
an interface (image processing system 16) configured to receive a three-dimensional image data set of the imaging region ([0022] The imaging scanner 12 is operably connected to a computer system 12a that controls the operation of the scanner 12 and, via a communication channel 14, to an image processing system 16 that processes the image data signals utilizing appropriate image processing software applications);
a memory; and processing circuitry ([0061] It should be understood that the various techniques described herein may be implemented in connection with hardware or software or, where appropriate, with a combination of both. Thus, the methods and apparatus of the presently disclosed subject matter, or certain aspects or portions thereof, may take the form of program code (i.e., instructions) embodied in tangible media, such as floppy diskettes, CD-ROMs, hard drives, or any other machine-readable storage medium wherein, when the program code is loaded into and executed by a machine, such as a computer, the machine becomes an apparatus for practicing the presently disclosed subject matter. In the case of program code execution on programmable computers, the computing device generally includes a processor, a storage medium readable by the processor (including volatile and non-volatile memory and/or storage elements)),
configured to cause the data processing device to determine a two- dimensional unfolded image of the vessel structure from the image data set, wherein the unfolded image is an image displaying the multiple vessels of interest in the anatomical vessel structure two-dimensionally, and the unfolded image includes the at least the part of at least one of the surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or the surrounding anatomy for the at least one additional anatomical structure ([0025] The imaging system 10 and, in particular, the image processing system 16 is adapted to permit the imaging system 10 to operate and to implement methods in accordance with the present disclosure. See Fig. 10A. [0052] In user interface 1000, the "Vessel Finder" mode provides a 3D image 1002 of a region of a patient together with three orthogonal 2D multi-planar rendering (MPR) views 1004, 1006 and 1008. For example, the views may be an axial view, coronal view and a sagittal view, respectively);
display, on the display, the unfolded image ([0051] The user interface 1000 is provided on a display of the user workstation 22 to allow a user to display, annotate and/or edit a medical image generated from scans of a patient),
determine at least one landmark in the vessel structure and visualize the at least one landmark at a corresponding landmark position in the unfolded image ( [0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010. For example, a proximal neck and distal neck may be located. Between the necks, a maximum lumen and minimum lumen may be located, together with a cross sectional area of each. The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed),
perform the at least one measurement based on the at least one landmark and the three-dimensional image data set ([0057] as shown in FIG. 16, in the Analysis mode, the auto aneurysm tool may locate an aneurysm 1028 and the vessel 1010, and mark several features of the vessel 1010. For example, a proximal neck and distal neck may be located. Between the necks, a maximum lumen and minimum lumen may be located, together with a cross sectional area of each),
and display a result of the at least one measurement in the unfolded image in a user presentation or together with the unfolded image in the user presentation ([0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed. Each of the determined features may be color-coded and a cross section of the vessel at a location of each feature shown in a respective (color-coded) window. The 2D image, cross sectional images, landmark (aneurysm) and measurement are shown in Figure 16).
Taerum does not teach the unfolded image is an image displaying the multiple vessels of interest in the anatomical vessel structure two-dimensionally without overlapping.
Lavi, in the same field of endeavor of 2D vessel visualization, teaches the unfolded image is an image displaying the multiple vessels of interest in the anatomical vessel structure two-dimensionally without overlapping.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Taerum with the teachings of Lavi so that "the entire coronary tree can be explored quite rapidly allowing a relatively thorough examination of the vessels lumen in a CPR-type presentation" [Lavi Results para. 2].
Taerum does not teach determine a two-dimensional unfolded image of the vessel structure from the image data set by excluding at least a part of at least one of a surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or a surrounding anatomy for at least one additional anatomical structure, and overlaying at least one indicator describing at least one of a position or dimensions of the at least the part of at least one of the surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or the surrounding anatomy for the at least one additional anatomical structure over the unfolded image,
Lautenschlager, in the same field of endeavor of evaluating vessels in a medical image, teaches determine a two-dimensional unfolded image of the vessel structure from the image data set by excluding at least a part of at least one of a surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or a surrounding anatomy for at least one additional anatomical structure ([0046] FIG. 5 illustrates a feeding vessel 500 of a tumor in a medical image. The image can be rendered for example using volume rendering technique (VRT) or maximum intensity projection (MIP)),
and overlaying at least one indicator describing at least one of a position or dimensions of the at least the part of at least one of the surrounding anatomy in the imaging region or the surrounding anatomy for the at least one additional anatomical structure over the unfolded image ([0048] FIG. 7 illustrates the feeding vessel 500 of the tumor with the marked planned catheter position 602 along with distal feeding vessel branches. The distal vessel branches after the position 602 are indicated along the blood flow direction e.g. in a different color to distinguish itself from rest of the feeding vessel and also from the background of the medical image. The indication of the distal vessel branches can also be in the form of dotted lines as indicated in FIG. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Taerum with the teachings of Lautenschlager to determine the two dimensional unfolded image excluding part of the surrounding anatomy "to emphasize the identification of a catheter location in the feeding vessel and the simulation of embolization according to the present invention. Based on the identification and simulation a physician can pre-plan the embolization procedure before the actual intervention" [Lautenschlager 0045] and overlay an indicator of the position or dimensions of the surrounding anatomy because "The advantage for the physician is that he can perform different iterations to visualize different simulation of embolization and finally select a more accurate catheter position which will not cutoff any major vessels feeding to the healthy tissues" [Lautenschlager 0049].
Regarding claim 16, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the device of claim 15. Taerum further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the device to at least one of: determine vessel structure information describing at least one of a course of the vessels of interest or dimensions of the vessels of interest from the image data set using at least one evaluation algorithm ([0025] The imaging system 10 and, in particular, the image processing system 16 is adapted to permit the imaging system 10 to operate and to implement methods in accordance with the present disclosure, for example, as shown in FIG. 3. [0027] In general, the processes of FIG. 3 identify the centerline and cross sectional contours of tubular structures that may be found in volumetric data, such as that shown in FIG. 2),
and at least one of (i) use at least a part of the vessel structure information for determining the unfolded image or (ii) use at least a part of the vessel structure information for performing the measurement ([0044] With reference to FIG. 8, there is an operational flow diagram of process performed to determine a location of an aneurysm… [0045] At S804, to determine the two ends of the aneurysm, the contour area may be considered as a function of position along the length of the centerline of the tubular structure. [0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined);
or determine user interaction data of a user interaction with the unfolded image ([0051 The user may interact with the user interface 1000 using any input devices of the user workstation 22, such as a mouse, keyboard, touchscreen, etc.) [0024] The workstation 22 may comprise appropriate user interfaces, like displays, storage media, input/output devices, etc.),
use the user interaction data to determine at least one of the at least one landmark, user modification information regarding at least one displayed landmark position, or displayed vessel structure information and determined from interaction of a user with the user presentation ([0054] As show in FIGS. 11A and 11B, the user interface may provide a "Vessel Editor" mode, wherein a user may make adjustments to the vessel, the centerline, and other characteristics of the vessel),
and modify at least one of the at least one landmark position or the displayed vessel structure information according to the user modification information ([0025] The imaging system 10 and, in particular, the image processing system 16 is adapted to permit the imaging system 10 to operate and to implement methods in accordance with the present disclosure. ([0050] Within the analysis view, user may select various functions to determine characteristics of the vessel under analysis. For example the user may determine areas of stenosis or aneurysms present in the vessel either manually or automatically by selecting an appropriate tool. The user may also edit contours associated with the vessel of interest).
Regarding claim 17, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 1. Taerum further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions that, when executed by a data processing device of a system, cause the system to perform the method of claim 1 ([0061] the methods and apparatus of the presently disclosed subject matter, or certain aspects or portions thereof, may take the form of program code (i.e., instructions) embodied in tangible media, such as floppy diskettes, CD-ROMs, hard drives, or any other machine-readable storage medium wherein, when the program code is loaded into and executed by a machine, such as a computer, the machine becomes an apparatus for practicing the presently disclosed subject matter).
Regarding claim 18, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 2. Taerum further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions that, when executed by a data processing device of a system, cause the system to perform the method of claim 2 ([0061] the methods and apparatus of the presently disclosed subject matter, or certain aspects or portions thereof, may take the form of program code (i.e., instructions) embodied in tangible media, such as floppy diskettes, CD-ROMs, hard drives, or any other machine-readable storage medium wherein, when the program code is loaded into and executed by a machine, such as a computer, the machine becomes an apparatus for practicing the presently disclosed subject matter).
Regarding claim 19, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 3. Taerum further teaches determining, for at least one landmark, at least one additional two-dimensional display image at the landmark position; and displaying the at least one additional two-dimensional display image adjacent to the unfolded image in the user presentation ([0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed. Each of the determined features may be color-coded and a cross section of the vessel at a location of each feature shown in a respective (color-coded) window. Additionally or optionally, one or more Windows 1020 may be provided to show cross-sections of the above noted features of the vessel 1010. The 2D image, cross sectional images, landmark (aneurysm) and measurement are shown in Figure 16).
Regarding claim 20, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 4. Taerum further teaches determining, for at least one landmark, at least one additional two-dimensional display image at the landmark position; and displaying the at least one additional two-dimensional display image adjacent to the unfolded image in the user presentation ([0057] The length of the aneurism may be determined and displayed. Each of the determined features may be color-coded and a cross section of the vessel at a location of each feature shown in a respective (color-coded) window. Additionally or optionally, one or more Windows 1020 may be provided to show cross-sections of the above noted features of the vessel 1010. The 2D image, cross sectional images, landmark (aneurysm) and measurement are shown in Figure 16).
Regarding claim 21, Taerum, Lavi, and Lautenschlager teach the method of claim 1. Lavi teaches wherein the unfolded image is a single image displaying a global view of the anatomical vessel structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Taerum with the teachings of Lavi so that "the entire coronary tree can be explored quite rapidly allowing a relatively thorough examination of the vessels lumen in a CPR-type presentation" [Lavi Results para. 2].
Regarding claim 22, Taerum and Lavi teach the method of claim 1. Lavi teaches wherein the unfolded image is a global view of the anatomical vessel structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Taerum with the teachings of Lavi so that "the entire coronary tree can be explored quite rapidly allowing a relatively thorough examination of the vessels lumen in a CPR-type presentation" [Lavi Results para. 2].
Conclusion
/JACQUELINE R ZAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666