DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temizel et al., “Geology-Driven EUR forecasting in unconventional fields,” SPE 204583, 2021 (hereinafter Temizel) (cited by the Applicant) in views of Tapscott et al., US-PGPUB 2011/0264430 (hereinafter Tapscott) and Roth et al., US-PGPUB 2019/0361146 (hereinafter Roth) and Darabi et al., “Augmented AI Framework for Well Performance Prediction and Opportunity Identification in Unconventional Reservoirs,” IPTC-20099-MS, 2020, (hereinafter Darabi) (cited by the Applicant) and evidenced by
SHAP, “An introduction to explainable AI with Shapley values,” 2021 (hereinafter SHAP)
The applied reference has a common assignee and one inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15. Temizel discloses collecting well data, including comprising basin data, completion data, and production data, for each well in an unconventional field (Introduction, page 2, bottom paragraphs, starting with “Development of a quantitative…” to page 3; Fig. 1; page 11, Basin wells),
generating spatial features for each well in different regions in the unconventional field, generating, using the well data and the spatial features, a combined well features dataset mapping the well data to the spatial features for each well in the different regions of the unconventional field (pages 3-4, Geology-Driven EUR section, discussing zones; Fig. 4; Model section, pages 13-21, and the Figs. 16, 19, 23, 25), generating, by splitting the combined well features dataset, a training dataset, and a testing dataset (Fig. 4, training and test dataset),
training a machine learning model using cross-validation and tuning on the training dataset to predict estimated ultimate recovery (EUR) (Abstract; Section 2, Geology-driven, zones are trained with neural network; Fig. 11; page 12, top paragraph, “training”; pages 24-25, “Machine Learning based Data Modeling” section”);
determining, based on the spatial features a machine learning EUR model, an impact of each attribute of completion data and production data of the well data relative to the basin data for each of the geographical locations, (page 25, “Discussions” section),
Temziel does not explicitly disclose the basin data comprising a three-dimensional characterization of a subsurface volume dived by geographical locations, and does not disclose ranked impact values comprising an individual impact on a well production of each attribute of completion data of the well data relative to the basin data for each of the geographical locations, the ranked impact values ranging from a negative impact on the well production to a positive impact on the well production, and adjusting, using the individual impact of each attribute of completion data and production data, drilling of each well, relative to the geographical locations, by changing settings of a drilling equipment.
Roth discloses and adjusting, using the impact of each attribute of completion data and production data, drilling of each well, relative to the geographical locations, by changing settings of a drilling equipment (Paragraphs [0004], [0016]; Paragraph [0152], Fig. 15)
Tapscott discloses the basin data comprising a three-dimensional characterization of a subsurface volume divided by geographical locations (Paragraph [0038]; Abstract)
Darabi discloses ranked impact values comprising an individual impact on a well production of each attribute of completion data of the well data relative to the basin data for each of the geographical locations, the ranked impact values ranging from a negative impact on the well production to a positive impact on the well production (page 8, Section “Model Explanation, SHAP technique), as evidenced by SHAP (entire pages, but particularly the graph under “The additive nature of Shapley values,” section)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Roth and Tapscott and have the basin data comprising a three-dimensional characterization of a subsurface volume dived by geographical locations, and ranked impact values comprising an individual impact on a well production of each attribute of completion data of the well data relative to the basin data for each of the geographical locations, the ranked impact values ranging from a negative impact on the well production to a positive impact on the well production, and adjusting, using the individual impact of each attribute of completion data and production data, drilling of each well, relative to the geographical locations, by changing settings of a drilling equipment, with optimal efficiency for maximum production.
Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16. Temizel discloses cleaning and normalizing the well data to remove well data for wells with missing data and to normalize the well data per requirements for machine learning (page 8, data normalization, outlier detection and feature selection)
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 17. Temizel discloses the spatial features include (x,y) coordinates indicating a horizontal position and a z-coordinate indicating depth (Model section, Figs. 16, 19, 23, 25)
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 18. Temizel discloses the splitting is performed using machine learning modeling and includes applying stratifications based on region having representative well for each regions (Fig. 4)
Regarding Claims 5, 12 and 19. Temizel discloses using the individual impact of each attribute of the well data in designing wells and stimulating wells (page 3, Geology driven EUR, designs, simulation)
Regarding Claims 6, 13 and 20. Temizel discloses determining, using the individual impact of each attribute of the well data, horizontal and spatial well placement (page 3, Geology driven EUR, designs, simulation)
Regarding Claims 7 and 14. Temizel discloses the spatial features are generated for a time period of 30, 60, or 90 days (Fig 10) Note: If the Applicant disagrees, then it would have been obvious to have said days, as it depends on the user’s design criteria, absent criticality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857