DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 45-51, 55-70 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 45-47, 49-51, 55-57, 59-63, 65-69 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cushwa et al. [US 9799181] in view of Jacobs [US 20170069196].
As to claim 45. Cushwa discloses A lockdown system for use in a building including at least one room with a door providing access to the at least one room, the lockdown system comprising:
room lockdown components, [fig. 1, col. 2, lines 10-19] barricade device 10, positionable in the at least one room, [fig. 3, col. 3, lines 13-15], the room lockdown components comprising door-securing device, [fig. 1, col. 2, lines 10-19] barricade device 10, and a storage device for storing the door-securing device in a non-deployed condition of the door-securing device, [fig. 3, col. 3, lines 13-15], wherein the door-securing device is manually deployable to a deployed condition, [col. 2, lines 30-31], in which the door securing device is manually positioned to prevent opening of the door providing access to the room, [fig. 2, col. 3, lines 7-9]; and
light fixtures positionable inside the building, [col. 5, lines 19-23] the alert is provided as a light mounted inside or outside the room, the mounted light is interpreted as the light fixture, at least a plurality of the light fixtures selectively providing illumination in one or more colors, a light has at least one color;
wherein initiation of a lockdown event is automatically signaled when the door-securing device is moved from its non-deployed condition and/or is deployed to its deployed condition, [col. 3, lines 34-39] alert communicated when the device is removed from its storage, whereupon the signaled initiation of a lockdown event is communicated to at least one communication device, [col. 3, lines 34-39] alert signaled to a monitoring station 82, and an alert notification of the initiation of the lockdown event is provided via the at least one communication device, [fig. 5, col. 5, lines 28-35];
wherein further the at least a plurality of the light fixtures:
(i) receive the signaled initiation of a lockdown event, [col. 3, lines 42-45] initiation of lockdown event is signaled to other rooms as a wireless alert signal; [col. 4, lines 28-29] wherein the alert signal from lockdown device sensor provided as a light, and
(ii) in response to receipt of the signaled initiation of a lockdown event, automatically provide illumination in one of the one or more colors, [col. 3, lines 42-45] initiation of lockdown event is signaled to other rooms as a wireless alert signal to alert to other rooms that an intruder is in the building, [col. 5, lines 19-27] in the form of a light, that has been predesignated to notify persons in the building that a lockdown event has been initiated ("the notification color"), [col. 5, lines 19-27] the alert is signaled using a light; wherein a light has at least one color which reads on the claimed notification color;
wherein initiation of a lockdown event is signaled via a wireless network, [col. 3, lines 34-45] alert communicated wirelessly when the device is removed from its storage, and wherein the light fixtures form part of the wireless network, [col. 3, lines 37-44] “an alert to be signaled through a communication system … the movement of the barricade device can signal to other rooms 24 that they should deploy their barricade devices ; wherein [col. 5, lines 19-23] states “the alert could be accompanied by a light mounted … inside each room to alert the occupants to deploy the barricade device”; wherein the alert signaled through the communication system, that is used to alert the occupants is also communicated to the light mounted inside each room through the communication system, and makes the lights part of the network.
Cushwa fails to disclose wherein the light fixtures are operative to relay the signaled initiation of a lockdown event to all light fixtures forming part of the wireless network, and wherein further the signaled initiation of a lockdown event is communicated to the art least one communication device via one or more of the light fixtures.
Jacobs teaches an emergency notification and response system 1’ for a building 40 with a plurality of rooms 41 having a condition transmitter device 2 inside each room and a condition indicator device 5 outside each room and a signage 43 in the hallway 44, [fig. 4, 0126, 0127]; wherein the indicator device 5 comprises an indicator module 7 comprising indicator lights for visualizing the security condition, [0108, 0109]; wherein the indicator device further comprises a communication interface 6 for receiving the security notification, [0108]; wherein the communication in the system can be wireless and indirect over intermediate devices, [0099], which can be implemented to use a zigbee network, [0100]; wherein the alert notification can be provided through relay devices from the condition transmitter to the indicator and to any further devices of the system, [0054].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cushwa with that of Jacobs so that the emergency notification can have multiple routes to reach the intended recipient.
As to claim 46. Cushwa discloses The lockdown system of claim 45, wherein a visual display is provided via the at least one communication device showing at least whether the door-securing device has been moved from its storage device, [col. 6, lines 8-23].
As to claim 47. Cushwa discloses The lockdown system of claim 45, wherein a visual display is provided via the at least one communication device showing at least whether the door-securing device has been moved from its storage device and whether the door-securing device has been moved to the deployed condition thereof, [col. 5, lines 23-26; col. 6, lines 8-23].
As to claim 49. Cushwa discloses The lockdown system of claim 45, wherein: the door-securing device has at least a first pin for insertion into a mating socket positionable proximate a door to be secured, [fig. 2] pin 20, and receptacle 16, the deployed condition of the door-securing device is characterized by the at least first pin being received in the socket, [fig. 2, col. 3, lines 4-11].
As to claim 50. Cushwa discloses The lockdown system of claim 45, wherein the signaled initiation of a lockdown event is communicated, via the at least one communication device, to at least one other communication device, [col. 3, lines 34-39] alert signaled to a monitoring station 82.
As to claim 57. Cushwa discloses The lockdown system of claim 45, wherein a visual display is provided via the at least one communication device showing at least the locations of the at least a plurality of the light fixtures and the location of the door-securing device, [fig. 5, col. 5, lines 23-27], showing whether any of the at least a plurality of the light fixtures are providing illumination in the notification color, and further showing whether the door-securing device is in the non-deployed condition thereof, [fig. 5, col. 5, lines 23-27] display shows where the device is deployed and where it is not deployed.
As to claim 55. Cushwa fails to disclose The lockdown system of claim 45, wherein further one or more of the at least a plurality of the light fixtures provides illumination in the notification color in response to manual input via the at least one communication device.
Jacobs teaches an emergency notification and response system with colored LED indicator lights as an alert illumination, [0122]; wherein the indicator can be activated manually by a remote activation unit 50, [0128-0130].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cushwa with that of Jacobs so that a user outside the rooms can initiate lockdown if an emergency is identified.
As to claim 56. Cushwa fails to disclose The lockdown system of claim 55, wherein the one or more of the at least a plurality of the light fixtures selectively provide illumination in a plurality of colors, and wherein further the illumination color of each of the one or more of the at least a plurality of light fixtures is independently selectively changeable in response to manual input via the at least one communication device.
Jacobs teaches an emergency notification and response system with color coded LED indicator lights as an alert illumination, [0112]; wherein the indicator can be activated manually by a remote activation unit 50 to selectively activate each conditions of the indicator, [0128-0130].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cushwa with that of Jacobs so that the a user outside the rooms can initiate lockdown if an emergency is identified.
As to claim 59. Cushwa discloses A lockdown system for use in a building including at least one room with a door providing access to the at least one room, the lockdown system comprising:
components, [fig. 1, col. 2, lines 10-19] barricade device 10, positionable in the at least one room, [fig. 3, col. 3, lines 13-15], the room lockdown components comprising door-securing device, [fig. 1, col. 2, lines 10-19] barricade device 10, and a storage device for storing the door-securing device in a non-deployed condition of the door-securing device, [fig. 3, col. 3, lines 13-15], wherein the door-securing device is manually deployable to a deployed condition, [col. 2, lines 30-31], in which the door securing device is manually positioned to prevent opening of the door providing access to the room, [fig. 2, col. 3, lines 7-9], and
wherein initiation of a lockdown event is signaled when the door-securing device is moved from its non-deployed condition and/or when the door-securing device is deployed to its deployed condition, [col. 3, lines 34-39]; and
light fixtures positionable inside the building, [col. 5, lines 19-23], the light fixtures operative to:
(i) selectively provide illumination, [col. 5, lines 19-23];
(ii) receive the signaled initiation of a lockdown event, [col. 5, lines 19-23], via a wireless communication network, [col. 3, lines 34-39] alert signaled to a monitoring station 82, when the door-securing device is moved from its non- deployed condition and/or when the door-securing device is deployed to its deployed condition, [col. 3, lines 34-39], and in response thereto provide illumination in one of the one or more colors, [col. 3, lines 42-45] initiation of lockdown event is signaled to other rooms as a wireless alert signal to alert to other rooms that an intruder is in the building, [col. 5, lines 19-27] in the form of a light, that has been predesignated to notify persons in the building that a lockdown event has been initiated("the notification color"), [col. 5, lines 19-27] the alert is accompanied by a light; wherein a light has at least one color which reads on the claimed notification color; and
(iii) receive, via the wireless communication network, the signaled initiation of a lockdown event via at least one communication device, [col. 3, lines 42-45] initiation of lockdown event is signaled to other rooms as a wireless alert signal to alert to other rooms that an intruder is in the building, [col. 5, lines 19-27] in the form of a light, and in response thereto provide illumination in the notification color, [col. 5, lines 19-27] the alert is signaled as a light; wherein a light has at least one color which reads on the claimed notification color;
wherein the light fixtures form part of the wireless network, [col. 5, lines 19-233] the alert accompanied by a light mounted inside each room, which requires sending the alert signal to the light unit through the network, [col. 4, lines 16-30] alert signal from sensor communicated to the visual alarm device.
Cushwa fails to disclose wherein the initiation of a lockdown event is in response to manual input; and wherein the light fixtures are operative to relay the signaled initiation of a lockdown event to all light fixtures forming part of the wireless network.
Jacobs teaches an emergency notification and response system 1’ for a building 40 with a plurality of rooms 41 having a condition transmitter device 2 inside each room and a condition indicator device 5 outside each room and a signage 43 in the hallway 44, [fig. 4, 0126, 0127]; wherein the indicator device 5 comprises an indicator module 7 comprising indicator lights for visualizing the security condition, [0108, 0109]; wherein the indicator device further comprises a communication interface 6 for receiving the security notification, [0108]; wherein the communication in the system can be wireless and indirect over intermediate devices, [0099], which can be implemented to use a zigbee network, [0100]; wherein the alert notification can be provided through relay devices from the condition transmitter to the indicator and to any further devices of the system, [0054]; wherein the indicator can be activated manually by a remote activation unit 50, [0128-0130].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cushwa with that of Jacobs so that the user can be alerted to the lockdown with a simple color-coded alert that can be easily and quickly identified by the users.
As to claim 60. Cushwa discloses The lockdown system of claim 59, wherein further, when the door-securing device is moved from its non-deployed condition and/or when the door-securing device is deployed to its deployed condition, [col. 3, lines 34-39], the signaled initiation of a lockdown event is communicated to the at least one communication device, [col. 3, lines 34-39] alert signaled to a monitoring station 82, and an alert notification of the initiation of the lockdown event is provided via the at least one communication device, [fig. 5, col. 5, lines 28-35].
As to claims 61-63, 65-67, 69 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 56, 46, 47, 57, 49-51, respectively.
As to claim 68. Cushwa discloses The lockdown system of claim 67, wherein the at least one other communication device is disposed external of the building, [col. 3, lines 60-66] alert from building to local law enforcement.
Claims 58, 70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cushwa in view of Jacobs as applied to claims 45 and 59 above, further in view of Allibhoy et al. [US 20160232728].
As to claim 58. the combination of Cushwa and Jacobs fails to disclose The lockdown system of claim 45, wherein further one or more of the plurality of the light fixtures receives text messages and converts those text messages into audio which emanates from one or more speakers provided in said one or more light fixtures.
Allibhoy teaches a system and method of entry control wherein the system sends a text message to a door controller module and the module outputs the text as an audio, [0040].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Cushwa and Jacobs with that of Allibhoy so that the system can save on communication bandwidth.
As to claim 70. is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 58.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 48, 64 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 45, 59 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688