DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Per Applicant amendments dated December 16, 2025, Claims 1, 9, and 17 are amended. Claim 24 is canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, 15-19, 21, and 23 are pending and examined.
Status of Application
As provided in the Advisory Action dated December 1, 2025, Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 5, 8, 9, 13, 15, 16, 17, and 24 were entered after the Final Office Action dated November 14, 2025. Further, Claim 22 was canceled. Applicant’s amendments to claims 5, 8, 13, 15, and 16 overcame the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 5-8, 13, and 15-15 in the recited Final Office Action; thus, those rejections are withdrawn. However, in the Advisory Action, the anticipation and obviousness rejections were maintained. In light of Applicant’s amendments dated December 16, 2025, the Examiner has considered the prior art of record for all that it teaches. Therefore, previous anticipation and obviousness rejections in the recited Office Actions are withdrawn and new rejections over the prior art of record are provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. [CN213989022, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a top cover assembly for a battery [Zhang 0001 and throughout], comprising:
a pole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, Fig. 3, pole 10];
a pressing block [Zhang 0050 and throughout, riveting member 15] defining a limiting hole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, hole in riveting member 15], the pole extending through and is at least partially located in the limiting hole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, Fig. 3, pole 10 including the first flange extends through the hole], the limiting hole having a first hole section and a second hole section axially connected with the first hole section, and the first hole section having a radial size larger than the second hole section [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below];
an insulating cover plate stacked with the pressing block [Zhang 0038-0048, Figs. 2/3, insulator cover 12 beneath pressing block 15], the insulating cover plate has a mounting hole opposite to the limiting hole [Zhang Figs. 2/3, hole in insulating cover plate 12], and the pole extends through the mounting hole [Zhang Figs. 2/3];
an insulating member [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3, insulating member 11];
a top cover plate sandwiched between the insulating member and the insulating cover plate [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3, top cover plate 13 is between insulating member 11 and insulating cover plate 12]; and
a sealing member [Zhang 0044-0048, Figs. 3/4, ring 14];
wherein the pole has a main body, a first flange [Zhang see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below], and a second flange [Zhang see modified Fig. 3 below, part 101], the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body [Zhang see modified Fig. 3 below], and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body [Zhang see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below];
wherein a surface of the second flange close to the first flange, an inner circumferential wall of the mounting hole, a surface of the top cover plate close to the second flange and extending beyond the inner circumferential wall of the mounting hole define a sealing cavity [Zhang 0047-0048, see Fig. 3 annotated 3 below], and the sealing member is received in the sealing cavity [Zhang 0047-0048, see Fig. 3 annotated 3 below]; and
wherein the sealing member is in contact with the main body, the second flange, and the top cover plate [Zhang Fig. 3, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Zhang is that sealing member 14 contacts the main body through insulating member 11, the second flange 101, and the top cover plate 13.],
wherein the top cover plate defines a through hole, an inner circumferential wall of the through hole and an outer circumferential wall of the main body define a gap therebetween, the sealing cavity has an opening at a position close to the gap, and the sealing cavity communicates with the gap via the opening [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3 annotated 4 and 3 below, The through hole is the hole 131 in 13. The inner circumferential wall of the through hole is shown below as well as the outer circumferential wall of the main body, and the gap being the area between the outer circumferential wall of the main body and the inner circumferential wall of the throughhole as shown in annotated 4. The sealing cavity and the opening are shown in annotated 3, where the sealing cavity is within the gap and the opening to the sealing cavity is the area not enclosed by the underside of the top plate 13, the insulating plate cover 12, and the upper portion of the second flange as shown in annotated 3. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Zhang is the sealing cavity as shown communicates with the gap as shown at the opening as shown.];
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3, annotated 1)]
Figure 3, annotated 2
Figure 3, annotated 3
Figure 13, annotated 4
the insulating member defines a positioning hole [Zhang, Fig. 3, hole in insulating member 11, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below];
the insulating member has a boss on a side of the insulating member close to the top cover plate [Zhang 0038-0052, Figs. 3 and 4, boss is extension portion 110, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below], the positioning hole extends through the boss [Zhang Figs. 3 and 4, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below], and the boss is received in the through hole [Zhang 0038, Figs. 3 and 4, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below];
the boss has a chamfer between an end surface of the boss and an inner circumferential wall of the positioning hole [Zhang annotated Fig. 4 below, Zhang discloses a chamfer at position 1 of boss 110 indicated below as well as positions 2 and 3 below. Position 1 corresponds to the claimed “a chamfer between an end surface of the boss and an inner circumferential wall of the positioning hole”.]. Zhang discloses chamfers as positions 1,2, and 3 as indicated in modified Fig. 4 below but is silent to another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss, which corresponds to position 4. However, since Zhang discloses chamfers as the other edge surfaces of the boss 1-3, modifying Zhang such that there is a chamfer at position 4, corresponding to the claimed “another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss” merely requires duplicating the same surface chamfer in position 1 to position 4. Such modification would be considered a) an aesthetic design choice taking into consideration the size, shape, and elasticity of the surrounding parts, such as the sealing member 14, b) a mere change in shape, taking into consideration the size, shape, and elasticity of the surrounding parts, such as the sealing member 14, or c) requires merely duplicating the chamfer of position 1 at position 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to a) modify the shape of Zhang’s boss 110 to include a chamfer at position 4, which corresponds to the claimed “another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss” as an aesthetic design choice, per MPEP 2144.04 I, b) as a mere change in shape per MPEP 2144 IV, B, or c) by duplication of the chamfer at position 1 at position 4, per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B, without changing the function of the boss 110, which is to insulate the top cover portion 13 from the pole 10 [Zhang 0038],
Figure 3, annotated 5
Figure 4, annotated
wherein the entire boss is received in the gap and part of the sealing member is received in the gap [Zhang see Fig. 3, annotated 6].
Figure 3, annotated 6
Note: claim 1 is an obviousness rejection due to duplication of the chamfer in position 1 for position 4 as described above.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Zhang discloses the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1, wherein the limiting hole further has a third hole section; the third hole section, the second hole section, and the first hole section are sequentially connected in an axial direction of the limiting hole [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above]; and the third hole section has a radial size smaller than the second hole section to form a step portion [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above, which shows step portion], the step portion abutting against the pole [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Zhang discloses the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 2, wherein the main body is at least partially located in the third hole section [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above], and the first flange is at least partially located in the second hole section and abuts against the step portion [Zhang Fig. 3 see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Zhang discloses the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 3, wherein the second flange is located at one side of the insulting cover plate away from the pressing block and abuts against the insulting cover plate [Zhang Fig. 3, second flange 101 abuts insulating cover plate 12].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Zhang discloses the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 5,
wherein the pressing block, the insulating member, the top cover plate, and the insulating cover plate are sandwiched between the first flange and the second flange [Zhang Fig. 3, Pressing block 15, insulating member 11, top cover plate 13, and insulating cover plate 12 are between first flange (upper flange of pole 10) and the second flange (lower flange 101) as shown in Fig. 3.].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Zhang discloses the battery of claim 6, wherein the limiting hole has a first chamfer at one end of the limiting hole close to the insulating member [Zhang Figs. 3-4 show a chamfer in the first limiting hole, see annotation below. Chamfer is shown on both sides of cross-sectional view of Fig. 3 and in close view of Fig. 4].
Figure 2, annotated to show chamfer
Figure 3, annotated to shown chamfer
Regarding Claim 8, modified Zhang discloses the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 3, wherein a surface of the first flange away from the second flange is flush with an inner bottom surface of the first hole section [Zhang Fig. 3 As indicated annotated Fig. 3 below, the upper surface of the first flange is flush with the inner bottom surface of the first hole section.].
Regarding Claim 21, modified Zhang discloses the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1, wherein the sealing member is spaced apart from the pressing block by the insulating member [Zhang Fig. 3, Sealing member 14 is spaced apart from pressing block 15 by insulating member 11.].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Zhang discloses the cover assembly for the battery of claim 1, wherein the mounting hole has a cross-section gradually decreased in area in a direction from the second flange to the first flange [See modified Zhang Fig. 3 below, The area of the cross-section of the mounting hole in insulating cover plate 12 has a larger diameter near the second flange (lower flange of pole 10 than the diameter of the hole in the insulating cover plate 12 above the second flange, which is towards the first flange. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Zhang is the cross-sectional area is gradually decreased in area in the direction from the second flange to the first flange, as claimed. ].
Claim(s) 9-11, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. [CN213989022, machine translation relied upon previously provided] and in view of Kim et al. [US20110200870A1], hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang discloses a battery with a top cover assembly [Zhang 0003-0004, 0035, and throughout], wherein the top cover assembly comprises:
a pole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, Fig. 3, pole 10];
a pressing block [Zhang 0050 and throughout, riveting member 15] defining a limiting hole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, hole in riveting member 15], the pole extending through and is at least partially located in the limiting hole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, Fig. 3, pole 10 including the first flange extends through the hole], the limiting hole having a first hole section and a second hole section axially connected with the first hole section, and the first hole section having a radial size larger than the second hole section [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below];
an insulating cover plate stacked with the pressing block [Zhang 0038-0048, Figs. 2/3, insulator cover 12 beneath pressing block 15], the insulating cover plate has a mounting hole opposite to the limiting hole [Zhang Figs. 2/3, hole in insulating cover plate 12], and the pole extends through the mounting hole [Zhang Figs. 2/3];
an insulating member [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3, insulating member 11];
a top cover plate sandwiched between the insulating member and the insulating cover plate [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3, top cover plate 13 is between insulating member 11 and insulating cover plate 12]; and
a sealing member [Zhang 0044-0048, Figs. 3/4, ring 14];
wherein the pole has a main body, a first flange [Zhang see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below], and a second flange [Zhang see modified Fig. 3 below, part 101], the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body [Zhang see modified Fig. 3 below], and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body [Zhang see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below];
wherein a surface of the second flange close to the first flange, an inner circumferential wall of the mounting hole, a surface of the top cover plate close to the second flange and extending beyond the inner circumferential wall of the mounting hole define a sealing cavity [Zhang 0047-0048, see Fig. 3 annotated 3 below], and the sealing member is received in the sealing cavity [Zhang 0047-0048, see Fig. 3 annotated 3 below]; and
wherein the sealing member is in contact with the main body, the second flange, and the top cover plate [Zhang Fig. 3, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Zhang is that sealing member 14 contacts the main body through insulating member 11, the second flange 101, and the top cover plate 13.],
wherein the top cover plate defines a through hole, an inner circumferential wall of the through hole and an outer circumferential wall of the main body define a gap therebetween, the sealing cavity has an opening at a position close to the gap, and the sealing cavity communicates with the gap via the opening [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3 annotated 4 and 3 below, The through hole is the hole 131 in 13. The inner circumferential wall of the through hole is shown below as well as the outer circumferential wall of the main body, and the gap being the area between the outer circumferential wall of the main body and the inner circumferential wall of the throughhole as shown in annotated 4. The sealing cavity and the opening are shown in annotated 3, where the sealing cavity is within the gap and the opening to the sealing cavity is the area not enclosed by the underside of the top plate 13, the insulating plate cover 12, and the upper portion of the second flange as shown in annotated 3. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Zhang is the sealing cavity as shown communicates with the gap as shown at the opening as shown.];
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3, annotated 1)]
Figure 3, annotated 2
Figure 3, annotated 3
Figure 43, annotated 4
the insulating member defines a positioning hole [Zhang, Fig. 3, hole in insulating member 11, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below];
the insulating member has a boss on a side of the insulating member close to the top cover plate [Zhang 0038-0052, Figs. 3 and 4, boss is extension portion 110, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below], the positioning hole extends through the boss [Zhang Figs. 3 and 4, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below], and the boss is received in the through hole [Zhang 0038, Figs. 3 and 4, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below];
the boss has a chamfer between an end surface of the boss and an inner circumferential wall of the positioning hole [Zhang annotated Fig. 4 below, Zhang discloses a chamfer at position 1 of boss 110 indicated below as well as positions 2 and 3 below. Position 1 corresponds to the claimed “a chamfer between an end surface of the boss and an inner circumferential wall of the positioning hole”.]. Zhang discloses chamfers as positions 1,2, and 3 as indicated in modified Fig. 4 below but is silent to another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss, which corresponds to position 4. However, since Zhang discloses chamfers as the other edge surfaces of the boss 1-3, modifying Zhang such that there is a chamfer at position 4, corresponding to the claimed “another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss” merely requires duplicating the same surface chamfer in position 1 to position 4. Such modification would be considered a) an aesthetic design choice taking into consideration the size, shape, and elasticity of the surrounding parts, such as the sealing member 14, b) a mere change in shape, taking into consideration the size, shape, and elasticity of the surrounding parts, such as the sealing member 14, or c) requires merely duplicating the chamfer of position 1 at position 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to a) modify the shape of Zhang’s boss 110 to include a chamfer at position 4, which corresponds to the claimed “another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss” as an aesthetic design choice, per MPEP 2144.04 I, b) as a mere change in shape per MPEP 2144 IV, B, or c) by duplication of the chamfer at position 1 at position 4, per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B, without changing the function of the boss 110, which is to insulate the top cover portion 13 from the pole 10 [Zhang 0038],
Figure 3, annotated 5
Figure 4, annotated
wherein the entire boss is received in the gap and part of the sealing member is received in the gap [Zhang see Fig. 3, annotated 6].
Figure 3, annotated 6
Zhang is silent to the battery comprising a case, a top cover assembly covering the case, and a battery core received in the case and electrically coupled with the top cover assembly. Kim discloses a battery [Kim 0025 and throughout, Fig. 1A, battery 100], comprising a case [Kim 0025 and throughout, Fig. 1A, case 40], a top cover assembly covering the case [Kim 0025 and throughout, Fig. 1A, top cover assembly 50], and a battery core received in the case and electrically coupled with the top cover assembly [Kim 0025-0031 and throughout, Fig. 1B, battery core assembly 10 electrically coupled to the first electrode terminal 20 and second electrode terminal 30 of the top cover assembly 50]. Since Zhang’s battery and top cover assembly would require a case to fit with the top cover assembly and a battery core electrically coupled to the top cover assembly to provide the inherent energy expected from a battery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kim’s case and battery core with Zhang’s top cover assembly for the predictable result of a battery with good sealing properties [Kim 0008 and throughout; Zhang 0001 and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Zhang discloses the battery of claim 9, wherein the limiting hole further has a third hole section; the third hole section, the second hole section, and the first hole section are sequentially connected in an axial direction of the limiting hole [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above]; and the third hole section has a radial size smaller than the second hole section to form a step portion [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above, which shows step portion], the step portion abutting against the pole [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Zhang discloses the battery of claim 10, wherein the main body is at least partially located in the third hole section [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above], and the first flange is at least partially located in the second hole section and abuts against the step portion [Zhang Fig. 3 see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Zhang discloses the battery of claim 11, wherein the second flange is located at one side of the insulting cover plate away from the pressing block and abuts against the insulting cover plate [Zhang Fig. 3, second flange 101 abuts insulating cover plate 12].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Zhang discloses the battery of claim 13 wherein the limiting hole has a first chamfer at one end of the limiting hole close to the insulating member [Zhang Figs. 3-4 show a chamfer in the first limiting hole, see annotation below. Chamfer is shown on both sides of cross-sectional view of Fig. 3 and in close view of Fig. 4].
Figure 5, annotated to show chamfer
Figure 6, annotated to shown chamfer
Regarding Claim 16, modified Zhang discloses the battery of claim 11, wherein a surface of the first flange away from the second flange is flush with an inner bottom surface of the first hole section [Zhang Fig. 3 As indicated annotated Fig. 3 below, the upper surface of the first flange is flush with the inner bottom surface of the first hole section.].
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. [CN21389022, machine translation relied upon provided], hereinafter Zhang, and in view of Jin et al. [US20200212386A1], hereinafter Jin.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses a battery [Zhang 0003-0004, 0035, and throughout], wherein the top cover assembly comprises:
a pole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, Fig. 3, pole 10];
a pressing block [Zhang 0050 and throughout, riveting member 15] defining a limiting hole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, hole in riveting member 15], the pole extending through and is at least partially located in the limiting hole [Zhang 0038 and throughout, Fig. 3, pole 10 including the first flange extends through the hole], the limiting hole having a first hole section and a second hole section axially connected with the first hole section, and the first hole section having a radial size larger than the second hole section [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below];
an insulating cover plate stacked with the pressing block [Zhang 0038-0048, Figs. 2/3, insulator cover 12 beneath pressing block 15], the insulating cover plate has a mounting hole opposite to the limiting hole [Zhang Figs. 2/3, hole in insulating cover plate 12], and the pole extends through the mounting hole [Zhang Figs. 2/3];
an insulating member [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3, insulating member 11];
a top cover plate sandwiched between the insulating member and the insulating cover plate [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3, top cover plate 13 is between insulating member 11 and insulating cover plate 12]; and
a sealing member [Zhang 0044-0048, Figs. 3/4, ring 14];
wherein the pole has a main body, a first flange [Zhang see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below], and a second flange [Zhang see modified Fig. 3 below, part 101], the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body [Zhang see modified Fig. 3 below], and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body [Zhang see Fig. 3 annotated 1 below];
wherein a surface of the second flange close to the first flange, an inner circumferential wall of the mounting hole, a surface of the top cover plate close to the second flange and extending beyond the inner circumferential wall of the mounting hole define a sealing cavity [Zhang 0047-0048, see Fig. 3 annotated 3 below], and the sealing member is received in the sealing cavity [Zhang 0047-0048, see Fig. 3 annotated 3 below]; and
wherein the sealing member is in contact with the main body, the second flange, and the top cover plate [Zhang Fig. 3, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Zhang is that sealing member 14 contacts the main body through insulating member 11, the second flange 101, and the top cover plate 13.],
wherein the top cover plate defines a through hole, an inner circumferential wall of the through hole and an outer circumferential wall of the main body define a gap therebetween, the sealing cavity has an opening at a position close to the gap, and the sealing cavity communicates with the gap via the opening [Zhang 0038, Fig. 3 annotated 4 and 3 below, The through hole is the hole 131 in 13. The inner circumferential wall of the through hole is shown below as well as the outer circumferential wall of the main body, and the gap being the area between the outer circumferential wall of the main body and the inner circumferential wall of the throughhole as shown in annotated 4. The sealing cavity and the opening are shown in annotated 3, where the sealing cavity is within the gap and the opening to the sealing cavity is the area not enclosed by the underside of the top plate 13, the insulating plate cover 12, and the upper portion of the second flange as shown in annotated 3. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Zhang is the sealing cavity as shown communicates with the gap as shown at the opening as shown.];
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3, annotated 1)]
Figure 3, annotated 2
Figure 3, annotated 3
Figure 73, annotated 4
the insulating member defines a positioning hole [Zhang, Fig. 3, hole in insulating member 11, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below];
the insulating member has a boss on a side of the insulating member close to the top cover plate [Zhang 0038-0052, Figs. 3 and 4, boss is extension portion 110, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below], the positioning hole extends through the boss [Zhang Figs. 3 and 4, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below], and the boss is received in the through hole [Zhang 0038, Figs. 3 and 4, see Fig. 3, annotated 5 below];
the boss has a chamfer between an end surface of the boss and an inner circumferential wall of the positioning hole [Zhang annotated Fig. 4 below, Zhang discloses a chamfer at position 1 of boss 110 indicated below as well as positions 2 and 3 below. Position 1 corresponds to the claimed “a chamfer between an end surface of the boss and an inner circumferential wall of the positioning hole”.]. Zhang discloses chamfers as positions 1,2, and 3 as indicated in modified Fig. 4 below but is silent to another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss, which corresponds to position 4. However, since Zhang discloses chamfers as the other edge surfaces of the boss 1-3, modifying Zhang such that there is a chamfer at position 4, corresponding to the claimed “another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss” merely requires duplicating the same surface chamfer in position 1 to position 4. Such modification would be considered a) an aesthetic design choice taking into consideration the size, shape, and elasticity of the surrounding parts, such as the sealing member 14, b) a mere change in shape, taking into consideration the size, shape, and elasticity of the surrounding parts, such as the sealing member 14, or c) requires merely duplicating the chamfer of position 1 at position 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to a) modify the shape of Zhang’s boss 110 to include a chamfer at position 4, which corresponds to the claimed “another chamfer between the end surface of the boss and an outer circumferential wall of the boss” as an aesthetic design choice, per MPEP 2144.04 I, b) as a mere change in shape per MPEP 2144 IV, B, or c) by duplication of the chamfer at position 1 at position 4, per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B, without changing the function of the boss 110, which is to insulate the top cover portion 13 from the pole 10 [Zhang 0038],
Figure 3, annotated 5
Figure 4, annotated
wherein the entire boss is received in the gap and part of the sealing member is received in the gap [Zhang see Fig. 3, annotated 6].
Figure 3, annotated 6
Zhang is silent to an energy storage device, comprising a housing, and a plurality of batteries received in the housing, wherein each of the plurality of batteries comprise a case, a top cover assembly covering the case, and a battery core received in the case and electrically coupled with the top cover assembly. The skilled artisan would know how to use a plurality of modified Zhang’s battery each with modified Zhang’s top cover assembly described above in a housing as an energy storage device. Jin disclose an energy storage device [Jin 0076 and throughout, Fig. 1, battery pack 200] comprising a housing [Jin 0077 and throughout, Fig. 1, housing 20 with upper and lower housing 210 and 220] and a plurality of batteries received in the housing [Jin 0078 and throughout, Figs. 1/4, batteries 1], wherein each of the plurality of batteries comprises a case [Jin 0086 and throughout, Fig. 5, case 12], a top cover assembly covering the case [Jin 0086 and throughout, Fig. 5, top cover assembly 13], and a battery core received in the case and electrically coupled with the top cover assembly [Jin 0086, Figs. 6/7, electrode assembly 11].
Since Zhang’s battery and top cover assembly would require a case to fit with the top cover assembly and a battery core electrically coupled to the top cover assembly to provide the inherent energy expected from a battery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Jin’s case and battery core with Zhang’s top cover assembly and to substitute Zhang modified by Jin’s battery for each of the plurality of batteries in the energy storage device of Jin with the predicted result of an energy storage device where the batteries have good sealing properties [Zhang 0001 and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Zhang discloses the energy storage device of claim 17, wherein the limiting hole further has a third hole section; the third hole section, the second hole section, and the first hole section are sequentially connected in an axial direction of the limiting hole [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above]; and the third hole section has a radial size smaller than the second hole section to form a step portion [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above, which shows step portion], the step portion abutting against the pole [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above].
Regarding Claim 19, modified Zhang discloses the energy storage device of claim 18, wherein the main body is at least partially located in the third hole section [Zhang Fig. 3, see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above], and the first flange is at least partially located in the second hole section and abuts against the step portion [Zhang Fig. 3 see Fig. 3, annotated 1 above].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments with respect to the anticipation rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 21-23 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The anticipation rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 21-23 over Zhang have been withdrawn. In light of Applicant’s amendments, the Examiner has reconsidered the prior art of Zhang for all that it teaches and has provided obviousness rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 21, and 23 in view of Zhang as described above. Likewise, new obviousness rejections are provided for claims 9-11, 13, and 15-16 over Zhang in view of Kim and claims 17-19 over Zhang in view of Jin as described above.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pgs. 10-11 regarding the anticipation rejection and Zhang’s “sealing member is received in the sealing cavity”, the Examiner has provided an obviousness rejection for claims 1, 9, and 17 above, which include the claim limitation “sealing member is received in the sealing cavity”. Please reference the rejection above and, for convenience, the Examiner has copied an annotated Fig. 3 below showing the claimed configuration. Thus, Zhang’s Fig. 3 teaches the claimed configuration.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pgs. 12-14 regarding the amended limitation “wherein the entire boss is received in the gap, and part of the sealing member is received in the gap” of claims 1, 9, and 17. please reference the rejection above. For convenience, the Examiner has copied an annotated Fig. 3 below showing the claimed configuration. Thus, Zhang’s Fig. 3 teaches the claimed configuration.
For the reason’s provided above, evidence of obviousness over the provided prior art outweighs evidence of novelty and nonobviousness of the claimed invention.
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724