DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-14, and 16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Chen (US-20190296388-A1) is newly applied to teach claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-22. Chen discloses a folding current collector which connected to a pole as shown in annotated fig. 3A of Chen below.
With the folds of the current collector, Chen discloses it may comprise of multiple folds with at least a first part, a second part, and a third part, and wherein an orthographic projection of the first part on the third part falls entirely within an orthographic projection of the second part on the third part. As shown below, the first part is the same width as the second and third part, so an orthographic projection from the top of the figure would of the first part on the third part would be the same, as therefore fall entirely within, an orthographic projection of the second part on the third part.
Furthermore, Chen may correspond with the claims such that the first part is longer than the second part as shown in the annotated fig. 3B below.
Applicant’s arguments are not directed to the secondary references regarding the dependent claims of the pending application. Therefore, the same secondary references are used to modify Chen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20190296388-A1), and in further view of Kim (US-20110200870-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses
a top cover assembly for a battery, comprising:
a pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0022], regarding lid 120 with positive and negative portions); and
a current collector having a plurality of folding sections (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0032], [0039]-[0041], regarding tab 320), wherein:
the plurality of folding sections comprise at least a first folding section and a second folding section, the first folding section being spaced apart from the second folding section in a length direction of the current collector (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0040], regarding folds of the tab);
the current collector is divided by the first folding section and the second folding section into a first part, a second part, and a third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), the first part being bent toward one side of the second part and connected with the pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), and the third part being bent toward the other side of the second part and connected with a core of the battery (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0032], wherein 325 connects to electrolyte 305 which is part of the core of the battery); and
an orthographic projection of the first part on the third part falls entirely within an orthographic projection of the second part on the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein an orthographic projection projected from the top of the figure to the bottom of the figure shows that the first, second, and third parts are all aligned such that the first part on the third part is the same, and therefore falls entirely within, the second part on the third part).
Chen discloses wherein the electrode in the housing may be rectangular, cylindrical, or other shapes (see e.g., Chen; [0021]). Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode core is a wound core. However, Kim discloses wherein an electrode assembly is formed by winding (see e.g., Kim; [0026]) to form a wound core. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the electrode body of Chen be a wound core as disclosed by Kim in order to provide a rechargeable battery (see e.g., Kim; [0008]) in a rectangular body (see e.g., Kim; fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1. Chen discloses wherein at least one of the first folding section or the second folding section extends straight (see e.g., Chen; fig. 3A, 3B, 3C, [0043], which shows that the bends are straight line folds).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 2. Chen may also be mapped onto claim 1 as show below in annotated fig. 3B. Thus, Chen also discloses wherein the first part has a length larger than the second part in the length direction of the current collector.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses
A battery (see e.g., Chen; [0020]), comprising a case (see e.g., Chen; [0021], regarding housing), a top cover assembly covering the case (see e.g., Chen; fig. 1, [0022], regarding lid [0022]), and a battery core received in the case and electrically coupled with the top cover assembly (see e.g., Chen; fig. 3A, [0032], regarding tab 320 coupling electrolyte 305 to lid 120),
the top cover assembly for a battery, comprising:
a pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0022], regarding lid 120 with positive and negative portions); and
a current collector having a plurality of folding sections (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0032], [0039]-[0041], regarding tab 320), wherein:
the plurality of folding sections comprise at least a first folding section and a second folding section, the first folding section being spaced apart from the second folding section in a length direction of the current collector (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0040], regarding folds of the tab);
the current collector is divided by the first folding section and the second folding section into a first part, a second part, and a third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), the first part being bent toward one side of the second part and connected with the pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), and the third part being bent toward the other side of the second part and connected with a core of the battery (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0032], wherein 325 connects to electrolyte 305 which is part of the core of the battery); and
an orthographic projection of the first part on the third part falls entirely within an orthographic projection of the second part on the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein an orthographic projection projected from the top of the figure to the bottom of the figure shows that the first, second, and third parts are all aligned such that the first part on the third part is the same, and therefore falls entirely within, the second part on the third part).
Chen discloses wherein the electrode in the housing may be rectangular, cylindrical, or other shapes (see e.g., Chen; [0021]). Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode core is a wound core. However, Kim discloses wherein an electrode assembly is formed by winding (see e.g., Kim; [0026]) to form a wound core. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the electrode body of Chen be a wound core as disclosed by Kim in order to provide a rechargeable battery (see e.g., Kim; [0008]) in a rectangular body (see e.g., Kim; fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 10, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 9. Chen discloses wherein at least one of the first folding section or the second folding section extends straight (see e.g., Chen; fig. 3A, 3B, 3C, [0043], which shows that the bends are straight line folds).
Regarding claim 11, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 10. Chen may also be mapped onto claim 9 as show below in annotated fig. 3B. Thus, Chen also discloses wherein the first part has a length larger than the second part in the length direction of the current collector.
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses an energy storage device, comprising a housing and a plurality of batteries received in the housing (see e.g., Chen; fig. 4, [0049], regarding battery pack 405 with plurality of cells 100 and battery case 410), wherein each of the plurality of batteries comprises a case (see e.g., Chen; [0021], regarding housing 105 for each cell), a top cover assembly covering the case (see e.g., Chen; fig. 3A, [0022], regarding lid 120), and a battery core received in the case and electrically coupled with the top cover assembly (see e.g., Chen; [0032], regarding tab 320 coupling electrolyte 305 of battery core),
the top cover assembly for a battery, comprising:
a pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0022], regarding lid 120 with positive and negative portions); and
a current collector having a plurality of folding sections (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0032], [0039]-[0041], regarding tab 320), wherein:
the plurality of folding sections comprise at least a first folding section and a second folding section, the first folding section being spaced apart from the second folding section in a length direction of the current collector (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0040], regarding folds of the tab);
the current collector is divided by the first folding section and the second folding section into a first part, a second part, and a third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), the first part being bent toward one side of the second part and connected with the pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), and the third part being bent toward the other side of the second part and connected with a core of the battery (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0032], wherein 325 connects to electrolyte 305 which is part of the core of the battery); and
an orthographic projection of the first part on the third part falls entirely within an orthographic projection of the second part on the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein an orthographic projection projected from the top of the figure to the bottom of the figure shows that the first, second, and third parts are all aligned such that the first part on the third part is the same, and therefore falls entirely within, the second part on the third part).
Chen discloses wherein the electrode in the housing may be rectangular, cylindrical, or other shapes (see e.g., Chen; [0021]). Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode core is a wound core. However, Kim discloses wherein an electrode assembly is formed by winding (see e.g., Kim; [0026]) to form a wound core. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the electrode body of Chen be a wound core as disclosed by Kim in order to provide a rechargeable battery (see e.g., Kim; [0008]) in a rectangular body (see e.g., Kim; fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 18, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 17. Chen discloses wherein at least one of the first folding section or the second folding section extends straight (see e.g., Chen; fig. 3A, 3B, 3C, [0043], which shows that the bends are straight line folds).
Regarding claim 19, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 18. Chen may also be mapped onto claim 1 as show below in annotated fig. 3B. Thus, Chen also discloses wherein the first part has a length larger than the second part in the length direction of the current collector.
Claim(s) 4-6, 12-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20190296388-A1), and in further view of Kim (US-20110200870-A1) and Suzuka (US-6218044-B1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly disclose an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Kim discloses a top cover assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating cover plate 62 and mounting hole, [0040], regarding item 62 described as a first lower insulator); a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding top cover plate 51, stacked with insulating cover plate 62, defining a through hole), the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the through hole above the mounting hole and therefore opposite, and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole); and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating member 61 stacked with top cover plate 51 on the side facing the center, the side facing away from insulating cover plate 62, [0045], regarding item 61 described as a first seal gasket formed with insulating material).
Kim is equivalent analogous art because Kim similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a rectangular secondary battery wherein the electrode body may be wound. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by Chen by further providing an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, as disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of the electrode terminal (see e.g., Kim; [0009]).
Modified Chen also does not explicitly disclose the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Suzuka discloses a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1 below, regarding a through hole and a positioning hole) and having a diameter smaller than the through hole (see e.g., Suzuka; Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 44-47, regarding positioning projection 12 having a large diameter portion corresponding to the through hole diameter, Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 57-60, regarding positioning projection 12 having a small diameter portion corresponding to the positioning hole diameter). Suzuka is equivalent analogous art because Suzuka similarly discloses a cover assembly for a battery. Providing a positioning hole with a diameter smaller than the through hole component would assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Suzuka; Section 2 lines 7-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by modified Chen by providing a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole disclosed by Suzuka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Suzuka; Section 2 lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 4. Chen does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising: a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate, the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole; the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange, the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body, and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body; and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence, the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section, the first flange is received in the second hole section, and part of the main body is received in the third hole section.
However, Kim discloses the assembly further comprising: a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate (see e.g., Kim; Annotated fig. 1C, regarding pressing block 63 disposed on the top side of insulating member 61, the top side of insulating member 61 facing away from top cover plate 51), the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole (see e.g., Kim; Annotated fig. 1C, regarding limiting hole which comprises of the first, second, and third hole sections; the widest diameter of the limiting hole is larger than the through hole, and therefore larger than the positioning hole of modified Chen described above, thus the limiting hole would be opposite to the positioning hole); the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding a main body comprising of first terminal body 21 and first terminal plate 64, a first flange, and a second flange), the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first flange on the top half of main body), projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first flange on the top half of main body projecting radially and extending circumferentially from the main body), and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the second flange located at the bottom edge of the main body), projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the second flange projecting radially and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body); and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first, second, and third hole sections in descending sequence), the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C), the first flange is received in the second hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C), and part of the main body is received in the third hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C). Providing these hole and flange configurations is beneficial because it may improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of Chen by providing a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate, the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole; the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange, the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body, and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body; and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence, the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section, the first flange is received in the second hole section, and part of the main body is received in the third hole section, disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 5. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the pressing block has a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member, the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block, and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess.
However, Kim discloses the pressing block has a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C below, regarding pressing block 63 with fitting protrusion facing insulating member 61), the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding a fitting recess on the lower side of insulating member 61 that faces towards the pressing block 63, wherein the fitting recess is formed with the connection between insulating member 61 and insulating cover plate 62, [0047], regarding the adherence between 61 and 62), and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the fitting protrusion embedded in the fitting recess with top cover plate 51 interposed; the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess because the fitting protrusion is situated in a recessed portion of top cover plate 51 which further has a protrusion portion situated inside the fitting recess, the upper portion 61a of insulating member 61 also overlaps with the fitting protrusion in the thickness direction, and the fitting protrusion is situated directly above the fitting recess). The recessed and protruding structure is beneficial because it can improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by Chen by providing the pressing block with a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member, the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block, and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess, disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 9. Chen does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Kim discloses a top cover assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating cover plate 62 and mounting hole, [0040], regarding item 62 described as a first lower insulator); a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding top cover plate 51, stacked with insulating cover plate 62, defining a through hole), the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the through hole above the mounting hole and therefore opposite, and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole); and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating member 61 stacked with top cover plate 51 on the side facing the center, the side facing away from insulating cover plate 62, [0045], regarding item 61 described as a first seal gasket formed with insulating material).
Kim is equivalent analogous art because Kim similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a rectangular secondary battery wherein the electrode body may be wound. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by Chen by further providing an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, as disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of the electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Modified Chen also does not explicitly disclose the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Suzuka discloses a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1 below, regarding a through hole and a positioning hole) and having a diameter smaller than the through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 44-47, regarding positioning projection 12 having a large diameter portion corresponding to the through hole diameter, Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 57-60, regarding positioning projection 12 having a small diameter portion corresponding to the positioning hole diameter). Suzuka is equivalent analogous art because Suzuka similarly discloses a cover assembly for a battery. Providing a positioning hole with a diameter smaller than the through hole component would assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Section 2 lines 7-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by modified Chen by providing a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole disclosed by Suzuka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Section 2 lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 12. Chen does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising: a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate, the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole; the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange, the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body, and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body; and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence, the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section, the first flange is received in the second hole section, and part of the main body is received in the third hole section.
However, Kim discloses the assembly further comprising: a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding pressing block 63 disposed on the top side of insulating member 61, the top side of insulating member 61 facing away from top cover plate 51), the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding limiting hole which comprises of the first, second, and third hole sections; the widest diameter of the limiting hole is larger than the through hole, and therefore larger than the positioning hole of modified Chen described above, thus the limiting hole would be opposite to the positioning hole); the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding a main body comprising of first terminal body 21 and first terminal plate 64, a first flange, and a second flange), the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first flange on the top half of main body), projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first flange on the top half of main body projecting radially and extending circumferentially from the main body), and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the second flange located at the bottom edge of the main body), projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the second flange projecting radially and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body); and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first, second, and third hole sections in descending sequence), the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C), the first flange is received in the second hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C), and part of the main body is received in the third hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C). Providing these hole and flange configurations is beneficial because it may improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by Chen by providing a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate, the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole; the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange, the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body, and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body; and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence, the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section, the first flange is received in the second hole section, and part of the main body is received in the third hole section, disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 13. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the pressing block has a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member, the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block, and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess.
However, Kim discloses the pressing block has a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C below, regarding pressing block 63 with fitting protrusion facing insulating member 61), the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding a fitting recess on the lower side of insulating member 61 that faces towards the pressing block 63, wherein the fitting recess is formed with the connection between insulating member 61 and insulating cover plate 62, [0047], regarding the adherence between 61 and 62), and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the fitting protrusion embedded in the fitting recess with top cover plate 51 interposed; the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess because the fitting protrusion is situated in a recessed portion of top cover plate 51 which further has a protrusion portion situated inside the fitting recess, the upper portion 61a of insulating member 61 also overlaps with the fitting protrusion in the thickness direction, and the fitting protrusion is situated directly above the fitting recess). The recessed and protruding structure is beneficial because it can improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by Chen by providing the pressing block with a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member, the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block, and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess, disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 17. Chen does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Kim discloses a top cover assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating cover plate 62 and mounting hole, [0040], regarding item 62 described as a first lower insulator); a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding top cover plate 51, stacked with insulating cover plate 62, defining a through hole), the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the through hole above the mounting hole and therefore opposite, and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole); and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating member 61 stacked with top cover plate 51 on the side facing the center, the side facing away from insulating cover plate 62, [0045], regarding item 61 described as a first seal gasket formed with insulating material).
Kim is equivalent analogous art because Kim similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a rectangular secondary battery wherein the electrode body may be wound. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by Chen by further providing an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, as disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of the electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Modified Chen also does not explicitly disclose the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Suzuka discloses a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1 below, regarding a through hole and a positioning hole) and having a diameter smaller than the through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 44-47, regarding positioning projection 12 having a large diameter portion corresponding to the through hole diameter, Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 57-60, regarding positioning projection 12 having a small diameter portion corresponding to the positioning hole diameter). Suzuka is equivalent analogous art because Suzuka similarly discloses a cover assembly for a battery. Providing a positioning hole with a diameter smaller than the through hole component would assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Section 2 lines 7-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by modified Chen by providing a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole disclosed by Suzuka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Section 2 lines 7-14).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20190296388-A1), Kim (US-20110200870-A1) and Suzuka (US-6218044-B1), and in further view of Fujisaka (JP-4698159-B2) (see translation).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 4. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess, the through hole being defined in the anti- rotation recess; and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member, the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess.
However, Fujisaka discloses a top cover assembly for a battery, wherein the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup below, regarding anti-rotation recess; anti-rotation due to top cover plate 10 comprising of multiple flanges abutting against components 2, 19, 11, and 13 which provides an anti-rotation limiting effect from friction), the through hole being defined in the anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding the through hole); and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding insulating member 11 with anti-rotation flange), the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding anti-rotation flange and anti-rotation recess). Fujisaka is further equivalent analogous art because Fujisaka similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a battery wherein the electrode is wound and the current collector is folded. The configuration disclosed by Fujisaka is beneficial because it reduces electrical resistance of the welded portion while reducing the explosion caused by welding when welding a current collector to a sealing body or a current collector to an outer casing, and has a gas exhaust hole that has high weld strength and excellent gas exhaust capacity (see e.g., [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by modified Chen such that the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess, the through hole being defined in the anti- rotation recess; and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member, the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess, disclosed by Fujisaka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce electrical resistance of the welded portion while reducing the explosion caused by welding when welding a current collector to a sealing body or a current collector to an outer casing, and have a gas exhaust hole that has high weld strength and excellent gas exhaust capacity (see e.g., Fujisaka; [0001]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 12. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess, the through hole being defined in the anti- rotation recess; and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member, the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess. However, Fujisaka discloses a top cover assembly for a battery, wherein the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup below, regarding anti-rotation recess; anti-rotation due to top cover plate 10 comprising of multiple flanges abutting against components 2, 19, 11, and 13 which provides an anti-rotation limiting effect from friction), the through hole being defined in the anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding the through hole); and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding insulating member 11 with anti-rotation flange), the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding anti-rotation flange and anti-rotation recess). Fujisaka is further equivalent analogous art because Fujisaka similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a battery wherein the electrode is wound and the current collector is folded. The configuration disclosed by Fujisaka is beneficial because it reduces electrical resistance of the welded portion while reducing the explosion caused by welding when welding a current collector to a sealing body or a current collector to an outer casing, and has a gas exhaust hole that has high weld strength and excellent gas exhaust capacity (see e.g., [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by modified Chen such that the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess, the through hole being defined in the anti- rotation recess; and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member, the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess, disclosed by Fujisaka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce electrical resistance of the welded portion while reducing the explosion caused by welding when welding a current collector to a sealing body or a current collector to an outer casing, and have a gas exhaust hole that has high weld strength and excellent gas exhaust capacity (see e.g., [0001]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20190296388-A1) and Kim (US-20110200870-A1), and further in view of Muroya (US-20190103596-A1).
Regarding claim 21, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the first folding section has first grooves at both ends thereof, and the second folding section has second grooves at both ends thereof.
However, Muroya discloses wherein the first folding section has first grooves at both ends thereof (see e.g., Muroya; Annotated fig. 4 below), and the second folding section has second grooves at both ends thereof (see e.g., Muroya; Annotated fig. 4 below). Additionally, figs. 6-7 show the grooves or notches, the notches further described in [0072].
Muroya is further analogous art because Muroya discloses the tab connecting the lid to the electrode core with multiple folds (see e.g., Muroya; figs. 1,2, 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bends disclosed by Chen to have first grooves and second grooves as disclosed by Muroya in order to increase reliability, wherein the battery is unlikely to damage and break even when impacted or vibrated (see e.g., Muroya; [0007]-[0008]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20190296388-A1) and Kim (US-20110200870-A1), and further in view of Tsutsumi (US-20130143111-A1).
Regarding claim 22, modified Chen the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the third part has an enlarged section, a width of the enlarged section is larger than that of the second part, the enlarged section has an avoidance gap, the avoidance gap extends through part of an edge of the enlarged section, and the enlarged section has an avoidance hole opposite to one end of the pole.
However, Tsutsumi may be applied to Chen because Tsutsumi teaches a folded current collector (see e.g., Tsutsumi; fig. 2 regarding current collector 4). Tsutsumi teaches a folded section of the current collector that folds down along the side of the cell that may correspond with a third part of Chen. This section has a flaring out connection portion 4a (see e.g., Tsutsumi; Annotated fig. 2, [0036]) that may correspond to an enlarged section. Providing this flaring out connection portion to Chen would result in a width of the third part to have a with larger than the second part. The connection portions 4a also provide an avoidance gap that extends through part of an edge of the enlarged section (see e.g., Tsutsumi; Annotated fig. 2). Tsutsumi also teaches through holes 15 corresponding to avoidance holes (see e.g., Tsutsumi; Annotated fig. 2, [0051]), which are in the enlarged section and opposite to one end of the pole.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the third part disclosed by Chen by having an enlarged section, a width of the enlarged section is larger than that of the second part, the enlarged section has an avoidance gap, the avoidance gap extends through part of an edge of the enlarged section, and the enlarged section has an avoidance hole opposite to one end of the pole, as shown by the current collector of Tsutsumi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a position for electrolyte solution to be poured into the case (see e.g., Tsutsumi; [0051]), and is an alternative way to connect to the power generating element (see e.g., Tsutsumi; [0036]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728