DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Li (US-20210359379-A1) is newly applied in combination with Chen.
Applicant argues that the tab 320 of Chen is not a current collector. However, the material and function of the tab 320 is to electrically connect the electrolyte, which is part of the electrode body, to the lid 120 (see e.g., Chen; [0032], [0039]). Therefore, the tab 320 of Chen is structurally and functionally the same as the claimed current collector.
Applicant argues that the spring element 325 of Chen serves a different purpose as the claimed current collector. However, applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim. While Chen does provide that the tab 320 having spring element 325 provides a force to the electrolyte, the structure of the element still corresponds with the current collector as claimed; electrically connecting and having the orthographic projection configuration as claimed. Therefore, while Chen describes the additional unction of elastic biasing and vibration dampening, the folds of the spring, as explicitly shown in the figures (see e.g., Chen; fig. 3B), are straight line folds that partition the structure into the three-part structure as claimed (see further annotated fig. 3B below regarding claim 1).
Applicant argues that the structure of the spring element 325 of Chen is different from the structure of the claimed current collector as claimed because Chen does no disclose folding portions extending along a straight lines and does not provide grooves. However, as shown in figs. 3B-C of Chen, the folds are straight (as opposed to a curved fold). Regarding the grooves, Li is newly applied to modify Chen to teach the grooves on both ends of the fold.
Applicant further argues that he spring element 325 of Chen connects to the lid 120 and the electrolyte 305, which does not correspond to the first part connected to a pole and a third part connected to a wound core. Particularly, applicant submits that the third part connected to the electrolyte cannot correspond with a wound core. However, firstly, electrolytes are disposed in the electrode body, and Li is further provided to modify Chen to teach that the electrolyte may be part of the wound core body. Secondly, Chen provides that the electrolyte can include a solid-state electrolyte (see e.g., Chen; [0035]) such that the structural connection may be achieved.
Applicant further argues that the spring element 325 does not have a middle section that physically separates the two end sections in a thickness direction. However, Chen shows the curves of the spring component in fig. 3B, and annotated fig. 3B below regarding claim 1 shows how there may be a middle section in between the top and bottom portions, which corresponds with the three-part configuration as claimed.
Applicant further argues that the connection ends are offset from each other in a lengthwise direction of the second part. Li is newly applied to modify Chen to teach the lengthwise offset.
Regarding applicant’s arguments over Kim’s modification to Chen, Kim is no longer applied to teach the wound core. Li is newly applied to teach the wound core.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11, 17, 19, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20190296388-A1), and in further view of Li (US-20210359379-A1) (application date 2020-08-10).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses
a top cover assembly for a battery, comprising:
a pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0022], regarding lid 120 with positive and negative portions); and
a current collector having a plurality of folding sections (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0032], [0039]-[0041], regarding tab 320), wherein:
the plurality of folding sections comprise at least a first folding section and a second folding section, the first folding section being spaced apart from the second folding section in a length direction of the current collector (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0040], regarding folds of the tab);
the current collector is divided by the first folding section and the second folding section into a first part, a second part, and a third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), the first part being bent toward one side of the second part and electrically connected with the pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0003]-[0004], [0041], [0060], regarding wherein the tab electrically couples the electrolyte with the lid), and the third part being bent toward the other side of the second part and electrically connected with a electrolyte of the battery (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0032], wherein 325 connects to electrolyte 305 which is part of the core of the battery, [0003]-[0004], [0041], [0060], regarding wherein the tab electrically couples the electrolyte with the lid); and
an orthographic projection of the first part on the third part falls entirely within an orthographic projection of the second part on the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein an orthographic projection projected from the top of the figure to the bottom of the figure shows that the first, second, and third parts are all aligned such that the first part on the third part is the same, and therefore falls entirely within, the second part on the third part).
wherein both the first folding section and the second folding section extends along a straight line (see e.g., Chen; figs. 3A, 3B, 3C, [0043], which shows that the bends are straight line folds),
wherein, after bending, the first part and the third part are located on opposite sides of the second part in a thickness direction of the top cover assembly, such that the second part is disposed between the first part and the third part in the thickness direction and physically separates the first part from the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein the second part is a middle section of the tab and separates the top and bottom of the tab corresponding to the first and third part, the separation is between the parts in the vertical direction of the figure corresponding to a thickness direction);
wherein the first part has a first connection end connected to the pole, and the third part has a second connection end connected to the electrolyte (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, 3B, which shows the tab connected to the lid corresponding to the pole, and the other end connected to the electrolyte, which may be part of a wound core).
Chen discloses wherein the electrode in the housing may be rectangular, cylindrical, or other shapes (see e.g., Chen; [0021]). Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode core is a wound core. However, Li discloses wherein the electrode core may be a wound core (see e.g., Li; [0079]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the electrode body of Chen be a wound core as disclosed by Li in order to function in devices such as vehicles (see e.g., Li; [0069]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the first folding section has first grooves at both ends thereof, and the second folding section has second grooves at both ends thereof. However, Li discloses a connector component similarly provided with three folding portions wherein a first folding section has notches at both ends thereof (132a) and a section folding section has notches at both ends thereof (131d) (see e.g., Li; figs. 10-11, 22-23, [0115], [0098]-[0099], [0104]), corresponding to the grooves as claimed. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second folding sections as disclosed by Chen to have notches at both ends thereof as disclosed by Li in order to facilitate relative bending of the connecting portion such that bending can be convenient and accurate (see e.g., Li; [0115], [0098]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose after bending, the first connection end and the second connection end are offset from each other in a lengthwise direction of the second part. However, Li discloses that the connector component has a larger connection portion connecting to the wound core of the battery than the connection portion connected to the sealing cap of the battery (131 in comparison to 133), such that the connection end connecting to the wound core is offset from the connection end connecting to the sealing cap in a lengthwise direction of a second part (132). That is, at least one end of the connecting portion 131 (see e.g., Li; figs. 15 and 9-10, [0088]-[0089]) is connected to the wound core of the battery, as shown in fig. 15, on a different vertical plane then the ends of the connecting portion 133 connected to the cap because of the protruding portion 131h. The lengthwise direction of the second part is the horizontal direction in the figure. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connecting component as disclosed by Chen such that the first connection end and the second connection end are offset from each other in a lengthwise direction of the second part as disclosed by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a structure in that improves infiltration efficiency and enhance the connecting reliability with the wound core of the battery to improve overcurrent capacity (see e.g., Li; [0005]-[0006], [0092], [0111]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1. Chen may also be mapped onto claim 1 as show below in annotated fig. 3B. Thus, Chen also discloses wherein the first part has a length larger than the second part in the length direction of the current collector.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses
A battery (see e.g., Chen; [0020]), comprising a case (see e.g., Chen; [0021], regarding housing), a top cover assembly covering the case (see e.g., Chen; fig. 1, [0022], regarding lid [0022]), and a battery core received in the case and electrically coupled with the top cover assembly (see e.g., Chen; fig. 3A, [0032], regarding tab 320 coupling electrolyte 305 to lid 120),
the top cover assembly for a battery, comprising:
a pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0022], regarding lid 120 with positive and negative portions); and
a current collector having a plurality of folding sections (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0032], [0039]-[0041], regarding tab 320), wherein:
the plurality of folding sections comprise at least a first folding section and a second folding section, the first folding section being spaced apart from the second folding section in a length direction of the current collector (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0040], regarding folds of the tab);
the current collector is divided by the first folding section and the second folding section into a first part, a second part, and a third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), the first part being bent toward one side of the second part and electrically connected with the pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0003]-[0004], [0041], [0060], regarding wherein the tab electrically couples the electrolyte with the lid), and the third part being bent toward the other side of the second part and electrically connected with a electrolyte of the battery (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0032], wherein 325 connects to electrolyte 305 which is part of the core of the battery, [0003]-[0004], [0041], [0060], regarding wherein the tab electrically couples the electrolyte with the lid); and
an orthographic projection of the first part on the third part falls entirely within an orthographic projection of the second part on the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein an orthographic projection projected from the top of the figure to the bottom of the figure shows that the first, second, and third parts are all aligned such that the first part on the third part is the same, and therefore falls entirely within, the second part on the third part).
wherein both the first folding section and the second folding section extends along a straight line (see e.g., Chen; figs. 3A, 3B, 3C, [0043], which shows that the bends are straight line folds),
wherein, after bending, the first part and the third part are located on opposite sides of the second part in a thickness direction of the top cover assembly, such that the second part is disposed between the first part and the third part in the thickness direction and physically separates the first part from the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein the second part is a middle section of the tab and separates the top and bottom of the tab corresponding to the first and third part, the separation is between the parts in the vertical direction of the figure corresponding to a thickness direction);
wherein the first part has a first connection end connected to the pole, and the third part has a second connection end connected to the electrolyte (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, 3B, which shows the tab connected to the lid corresponding to the pole, and the other end connected to the electrolyte, which may be part of a wound core).
Chen discloses wherein the electrode in the housing may be rectangular, cylindrical, or other shapes (see e.g., Chen; [0021]). Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode core is a wound core. However, Li discloses wherein the electrode core may be a wound core (see e.g., Li; [0079]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the electrode body of Chen be a wound core as disclosed by Li in order to function in devices such as vehicles (see e.g., Li; [0069]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the first folding section has first grooves at both ends thereof, and the second folding section has second grooves at both ends thereof. However, Li discloses a connector component similarly provided with three folding portions wherein a first folding section has notches at both ends thereof (132a) and a section folding section has notches at both ends thereof (131d) (see e.g., Li; figs. 10-11, 22-23, [0115], [0098]-[0099], [0104]), corresponding to the grooves as claimed. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second folding sections as disclosed by Chen to have notches at both ends thereof as disclosed by Li in order to facilitate relative bending of the connecting portion such that bending can be convenient and accurate (see e.g., Li; [0115], [0098]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose after bending, the first connection end and the second connection end are offset from each other in a lengthwise direction of the second part. However, Li discloses that the connector component has a larger connection portion connecting to the wound core of the battery than the connection portion connected to the sealing cap of the battery (131 in comparison to 133), such that the connection end connecting to the wound core is offset from the connection end connecting to the sealing cap in a lengthwise direction of a second part (132). That is, at least one end of the connecting portion 131 (see e.g., Li; figs. 15 and 9-10, [0088]-[0089]) is connected to the wound core of the battery, as shown in fig. 15, on a different vertical plane then the ends of the connecting portion 133 connected to the cap because of the protruding portion 131h. The lengthwise direction of the second part is the horizontal direction in the figure. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connecting component as disclosed by Chen such that the first connection end and the second connection end are offset from each other in a lengthwise direction of the second part as disclosed by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a structure in that improves infiltration efficiency and enhance the connecting reliability with the wound core of the battery to improve overcurrent capacity (see e.g., Li; [0005]-[0006], [0092], [0111]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 9. Chen may also be mapped onto claim 9 as show below in annotated fig. 3B. Thus, Chen also discloses wherein the first part has a length larger than the second part in the length direction of the current collector.
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses an energy storage device, comprising a housing and a plurality of batteries received in the housing (see e.g., Chen; fig. 4, [0049], regarding battery pack 405 with plurality of cells 100 and battery case 410), wherein each of the plurality of batteries comprises a case (see e.g., Chen; [0021], regarding housing 105 for each cell), a top cover assembly covering the case (see e.g., Chen; fig. 3A, [0022], regarding lid 120), and a battery core received in the case and electrically coupled with the top cover assembly (see e.g., Chen; [0032], regarding tab 320 coupling electrolyte 305 of battery core),
the top cover assembly for a battery, comprising:
a pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0022], regarding lid 120 with positive and negative portions); and
a current collector having a plurality of folding sections (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, [0032], [0039]-[0041], regarding tab 320), wherein:
the plurality of folding sections comprise at least a first folding section and a second folding section, the first folding section being spaced apart from the second folding section in a length direction of the current collector (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0040], regarding folds of the tab);
the current collector is divided by the first folding section and the second folding section into a first part, a second part, and a third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B), the first part being bent toward one side of the second part and electrically connected with the pole (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0003]-[0004], [0041], [0060], regarding wherein the tab electrically couples the electrolyte with the lid), and the third part being bent toward the other side of the second part and electrically connected with a electrolyte of the battery (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, [0032], wherein 325 connects to electrolyte 305 which is part of the core of the battery, [0003]-[0004], [0041], [0060], regarding wherein the tab electrically couples the electrolyte with the lid); and
an orthographic projection of the first part on the third part falls entirely within an orthographic projection of the second part on the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein an orthographic projection projected from the top of the figure to the bottom of the figure shows that the first, second, and third parts are all aligned such that the first part on the third part is the same, and therefore falls entirely within, the second part on the third part).
wherein both the first folding section and the second folding section extends along a straight line (see e.g., Chen; figs. 3A, 3B, 3C, [0043], which shows that the bends are straight line folds),
wherein, after bending, the first part and the third part are located on opposite sides of the second part in a thickness direction of the top cover assembly, such that the second part is disposed between the first part and the third part in the thickness direction and physically separates the first part from the third part (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3B, wherein the second part is a middle section of the tab and separates the top and bottom of the tab corresponding to the first and third part, the separation is between the parts in the vertical direction of the figure corresponding to a thickness direction);
wherein the first part has a first connection end connected to the pole, and the third part has a second connection end connected to the electrolyte (see e.g., Chen; annotated fig. 3A, 3B, which shows the tab connected to the lid corresponding to the pole, and the other end connected to the electrolyte, which may be part of a wound core).
Chen discloses wherein the electrode in the housing may be rectangular, cylindrical, or other shapes (see e.g., Chen; [0021]). Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrode core is a wound core. However, Li discloses wherein the electrode core may be a wound core (see e.g., Li; [0079]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the electrode body of Chen be a wound core as disclosed by Li in order to function in devices such as vehicles (see e.g., Li; [0069]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the first folding section has first grooves at both ends thereof, and the second folding section has second grooves at both ends thereof. However, Li discloses a connector component similarly provided with three folding portions wherein a first folding section has notches at both ends thereof (132a) and a section folding section has notches at both ends thereof (131d) (see e.g., Li; figs. 10-11, 22-23, [0115], [0098]-[0099], [0104]), corresponding to the grooves as claimed. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second folding sections as disclosed by Chen to have notches at both ends thereof as disclosed by Li in order to facilitate relative bending of the connecting portion such that bending can be convenient and accurate (see e.g., Li; [0115], [0098]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose after bending, the first connection end and the second connection end are offset from each other in a lengthwise direction of the second part. However, Li discloses that the connector component has a larger connection portion connecting to the wound core of the battery than the connection portion connected to the sealing cap of the battery (131 in comparison to 133), such that the connection end connecting to the wound core is offset from the connection end connecting to the sealing cap in a lengthwise direction of a second part (132). That is, at least one end of the connecting portion 131 (see e.g., Li; figs. 15 and 9-10, [0088]-[0089]) is connected to the wound core of the battery, as shown in fig. 15, on a different vertical plane then the ends of the connecting portion 133 connected to the cap because of the protruding portion 131h. The lengthwise direction of the second part is the horizontal direction in the figure. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connecting component as disclosed by Chen such that the first connection end and the second connection end are offset from each other in a lengthwise direction of the second part as disclosed by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a structure in that improves infiltration efficiency and enhance the connecting reliability with the wound core of the battery to improve overcurrent capacity (see e.g., Li; [0005]-[0006], [0092], [0111]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 17. Chen may also be mapped onto claim 1 as show below in annotated fig. 3B. Thus, Chen also discloses wherein the first part has a length larger than the second part in the length direction of the current collector.
Regarding claim 22, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the third part has an enlarged section, a width of the enlarged section is larger than that of the second part, the enlarged section has an avoidance gap, the avoidance gap extends through part of an edge of the enlarged section, and the enlarged section has an avoidance hole opposite to one end of the pole. However, Li discloses wherein the third part has an enlarged section (see e.g., Li; fig. 10, [0089], wherein the body of the third part may correspond with an enlarged section, the section having protruding part 131h), a width of the enlarged section is larger than that of the second part (see e.g., Li; fig. 10), the enlarged section has an avoidance gap (see e.g., Li; fig. 10, 22, [0113], regarding notch 13e which helps facilitate venting), the avoidance gap extends through part of an edge of the enlarged section (see e.g., Li; fig. 10, 22), and the enlarged section has an avoidance hole opposite to one end of the pole (see e.g., Li; fig. 10, 22, [0106]-[0107], regarding through hole 131b for electrolyte injection, which is opposite to an end of the pole).
Claim(s) 4-6, 12-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20190296388-A1) and Li (US-20210359379-A1), and in further view of Kim (US-20110200870-A1) and Suzuka (US-6218044-B1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for the battery of claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly disclose an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Kim discloses a top cover assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating cover plate 62 and mounting hole, [0040], regarding item 62 described as a first lower insulator); a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding top cover plate 51, stacked with insulating cover plate 62, defining a through hole), the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the through hole above the mounting hole and therefore opposite, and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole); and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating member 61 stacked with top cover plate 51 on the side facing the center, the side facing away from insulating cover plate 62, [0045], regarding item 61 described as a first seal gasket formed with insulating material).
Kim is equivalent analogous art because Kim similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a rectangular secondary battery wherein the electrode body may be wound. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by Chen by further providing an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, as disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of the electrode terminal (see e.g., Kim; [0009]).
Modified Chen also does not explicitly disclose the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Suzuka discloses a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1 below, regarding a through hole and a positioning hole) and having a diameter smaller than the through hole (see e.g., Suzuka; Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 44-47, regarding positioning projection 12 having a large diameter portion corresponding to the through hole diameter, Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 57-60, regarding positioning projection 12 having a small diameter portion corresponding to the positioning hole diameter). Suzuka is equivalent analogous art because Suzuka similarly discloses a cover assembly for a battery. Providing a positioning hole with a diameter smaller than the through hole component would assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Suzuka; Section 2 lines 7-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by modified Chen by providing a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole disclosed by Suzuka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Suzuka; Section 2 lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 4. Chen does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising: a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate, the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole; the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange, the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body, and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body; and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence, the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section, the first flange is received in the second hole section, and part of the main body is received in the third hole section.
However, Kim discloses the assembly further comprising: a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate (see e.g., Kim; Annotated fig. 1C, regarding pressing block 63 disposed on the top side of insulating member 61, the top side of insulating member 61 facing away from top cover plate 51), the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole (see e.g., Kim; Annotated fig. 1C, regarding limiting hole which comprises of the first, second, and third hole sections; the widest diameter of the limiting hole is larger than the through hole, and therefore larger than the positioning hole of modified Chen described above, thus the limiting hole would be opposite to the positioning hole); the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding a main body comprising of first terminal body 21 and first terminal plate 64, a first flange, and a second flange), the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first flange on the top half of main body), projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first flange on the top half of main body projecting radially and extending circumferentially from the main body), and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the second flange located at the bottom edge of the main body), projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the second flange projecting radially and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body); and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first, second, and third hole sections in descending sequence), the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C), the first flange is received in the second hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C), and part of the main body is received in the third hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C). Providing these hole and flange configurations is beneficial because it may improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of Chen by providing a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate, the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole; the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange, the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body, and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body; and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence, the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section, the first flange is received in the second hole section, and part of the main body is received in the third hole section, disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 5. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the pressing block has a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member, the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block, and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess.
However, Kim discloses the pressing block has a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C below, regarding pressing block 63 with fitting protrusion facing insulating member 61), the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding a fitting recess on the lower side of insulating member 61 that faces towards the pressing block 63, wherein the fitting recess is formed with the connection between insulating member 61 and insulating cover plate 62, [0047], regarding the adherence between 61 and 62), and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the fitting protrusion embedded in the fitting recess with top cover plate 51 interposed; the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess because the fitting protrusion is situated in a recessed portion of top cover plate 51 which further has a protrusion portion situated inside the fitting recess, the upper portion 61a of insulating member 61 also overlaps with the fitting protrusion in the thickness direction, and the fitting protrusion is situated directly above the fitting recess). The recessed and protruding structure is beneficial because it can improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by Chen by providing the pressing block with a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member, the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block, and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess, disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 9. Chen does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Kim discloses a top cover assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating cover plate 62 and mounting hole, [0040], regarding item 62 described as a first lower insulator); a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding top cover plate 51, stacked with insulating cover plate 62, defining a through hole), the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the through hole above the mounting hole and therefore opposite, and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole); and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating member 61 stacked with top cover plate 51 on the side facing the center, the side facing away from insulating cover plate 62, [0045], regarding item 61 described as a first seal gasket formed with insulating material).
Kim is equivalent analogous art because Kim similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a rectangular secondary battery wherein the electrode body may be wound. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by Chen by further providing an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, as disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of the electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Modified Chen also does not explicitly disclose the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Suzuka discloses a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1 below, regarding a through hole and a positioning hole) and having a diameter smaller than the through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 44-47, regarding positioning projection 12 having a large diameter portion corresponding to the through hole diameter, Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 57-60, regarding positioning projection 12 having a small diameter portion corresponding to the positioning hole diameter). Suzuka is equivalent analogous art because Suzuka similarly discloses a cover assembly for a battery. Providing a positioning hole with a diameter smaller than the through hole component would assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Section 2 lines 7-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by modified Chen by providing a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole disclosed by Suzuka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Section 2 lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 12. Chen does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising: a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate, the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole; the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange, the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body, and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body; and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence, the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section, the first flange is received in the second hole section, and part of the main body is received in the third hole section.
However, Kim discloses the assembly further comprising: a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding pressing block 63 disposed on the top side of insulating member 61, the top side of insulating member 61 facing away from top cover plate 51), the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding limiting hole which comprises of the first, second, and third hole sections; the widest diameter of the limiting hole is larger than the through hole, and therefore larger than the positioning hole of modified Chen described above, thus the limiting hole would be opposite to the positioning hole); the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding a main body comprising of first terminal body 21 and first terminal plate 64, a first flange, and a second flange), the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first flange on the top half of main body), projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first flange on the top half of main body projecting radially and extending circumferentially from the main body), and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the second flange located at the bottom edge of the main body), projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the second flange projecting radially and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body); and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding first, second, and third hole sections in descending sequence), the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C), the first flange is received in the second hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C), and part of the main body is received in the third hole section (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C). Providing these hole and flange configurations is beneficial because it may improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by Chen by providing a pressing block disposed on one side of the insulating member away from the top cover plate, the pressing block defining a limiting hole opposite to the positioning hole; the pole has a main body, a first flange, and a second flange, the first flange being located at an edge of one end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in a circumferential direction of the main body, and the second flange being located at an edge of the other end of the main body, projecting radially from the main body, and extending in the circumferential direction of the main body; and the limiting hole has a first hole section, a second hole section, and a third hole section which communicate in sequence, the first hole section has a radial size larger than the second hole section, the first flange is received in the second hole section, and part of the main body is received in the third hole section, disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 13. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the pressing block has a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member, the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block, and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess.
However, Kim discloses the pressing block has a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C below, regarding pressing block 63 with fitting protrusion facing insulating member 61), the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding a fitting recess on the lower side of insulating member 61 that faces towards the pressing block 63, wherein the fitting recess is formed with the connection between insulating member 61 and insulating cover plate 62, [0047], regarding the adherence between 61 and 62), and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the fitting protrusion embedded in the fitting recess with top cover plate 51 interposed; the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess because the fitting protrusion is situated in a recessed portion of top cover plate 51 which further has a protrusion portion situated inside the fitting recess, the upper portion 61a of insulating member 61 also overlaps with the fitting protrusion in the thickness direction, and the fitting protrusion is situated directly above the fitting recess). The recessed and protruding structure is beneficial because it can improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by Chen by providing the pressing block with a fitting protrusion on one side of the pressing block facing towards the insulating member, the insulating member defines a fitting recess on one side of the insulating member facing towards the pressing block, and the fitting protrusion is embedded in the fitting recess, disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of an electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 17. Chen does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Kim discloses a top cover assembly further comprising: an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating cover plate 62 and mounting hole, [0040], regarding item 62 described as a first lower insulator); a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding top cover plate 51, stacked with insulating cover plate 62, defining a through hole), the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding the through hole above the mounting hole and therefore opposite, and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole); and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1C, regarding insulating member 61 stacked with top cover plate 51 on the side facing the center, the side facing away from insulating cover plate 62, [0045], regarding item 61 described as a first seal gasket formed with insulating material).
Kim is equivalent analogous art because Kim similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a rectangular secondary battery wherein the electrode body may be wound. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by Chen by further providing an insulating cover plate defining a mounting hole; a top cover plate stacked with the insulating cover plate and defining a through hole, the through hole being opposite to the mounting hole and having a diameter smaller than the mounting hole; and an insulating member stacked with one side of the top cover plate away from the insulating cover plate, as disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the sealing performance of the electrode terminal (see e.g., [0009]).
Modified Chen also does not explicitly disclose the insulating member defining a positioning hole, the positioning hole being opposite to the through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole.
However, Suzuka discloses a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1 below, regarding a through hole and a positioning hole) and having a diameter smaller than the through hole (see e.g., Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 44-47, regarding positioning projection 12 having a large diameter portion corresponding to the through hole diameter, Annotated fig. 1, Section 5 lines 57-60, regarding positioning projection 12 having a small diameter portion corresponding to the positioning hole diameter). Suzuka is equivalent analogous art because Suzuka similarly discloses a cover assembly for a battery. Providing a positioning hole with a diameter smaller than the through hole component would assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Section 2 lines 7-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cover assembly disclosed by modified Chen by providing a positioning hole being opposite to a through hole and having a diameter smaller than the through hole disclosed by Suzuka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to assist in alignment, assembly, operation efficiency, lowering manufacturing cost, and provide a water-proof/drip-proof cover (see e.g., Section 2 lines 7-14).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20190296388-A1), Li (US-20210359379-A1), Kim (US-20110200870-A1), and Suzuka (US-6218044-B1), and in further view of Fujisaka (JP-4698159-B2) (see translation).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 4. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess, the through hole being defined in the anti- rotation recess; and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member, the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess.
However, Fujisaka discloses a top cover assembly for a battery, wherein the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup below, regarding anti-rotation recess; anti-rotation due to top cover plate 10 comprising of multiple flanges abutting against components 2, 19, 11, and 13 which provides an anti-rotation limiting effect from friction), the through hole being defined in the anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding the through hole); and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding insulating member 11 with anti-rotation flange), the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding anti-rotation flange and anti-rotation recess). Fujisaka is further equivalent analogous art because Fujisaka similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a battery wherein the electrode is wound and the current collector is folded. The configuration disclosed by Fujisaka is beneficial because it reduces electrical resistance of the welded portion while reducing the explosion caused by welding when welding a current collector to a sealing body or a current collector to an outer casing, and has a gas exhaust hole that has high weld strength and excellent gas exhaust capacity (see e.g., [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by modified Chen such that the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess, the through hole being defined in the anti- rotation recess; and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member, the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess, disclosed by Fujisaka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce electrical resistance of the welded portion while reducing the explosion caused by welding when welding a current collector to a sealing body or a current collector to an outer casing, and have a gas exhaust hole that has high weld strength and excellent gas exhaust capacity (see e.g., Fujisaka; [0001]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chen teaches the top cover assembly for a battery of claim 12. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess, the through hole being defined in the anti- rotation recess; and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member, the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess. However, Fujisaka discloses a top cover assembly for a battery, wherein the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup below, regarding anti-rotation recess; anti-rotation due to top cover plate 10 comprising of multiple flanges abutting against components 2, 19, 11, and 13 which provides an anti-rotation limiting effect from friction), the through hole being defined in the anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding the through hole); and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding insulating member 11 with anti-rotation flange), the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess (see e.g., Annotated fig. 2 closeup, regarding anti-rotation flange and anti-rotation recess). Fujisaka is further equivalent analogous art because Fujisaka similarly discloses a top cover assembly for a battery wherein the electrode is wound and the current collector is folded. The configuration disclosed by Fujisaka is beneficial because it reduces electrical resistance of the welded portion while reducing the explosion caused by welding when welding a current collector to a sealing body or a current collector to an outer casing, and has a gas exhaust hole that has high weld strength and excellent gas exhaust capacity (see e.g., [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly disclosed by modified Chen such that the top cover plate defines an anti-rotation recess, the through hole being defined in the anti- rotation recess; and the insulating member has an anti-rotation flange on a circumferential wall of the insulating member, the anti-rotation flange being embedded in the anti-rotation recess, disclosed by Fujisaka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce electrical resistance of the welded portion while reducing the explosion caused by welding when welding a current collector to a sealing body or a current collector to an outer casing, and have a gas exhaust hole that has high weld strength and excellent gas exhaust capacity (see e.g., [0001]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728