DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 10, 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Status:
Claims 1-14 and 20-25 are pending.
Claims 15-19 are cancelled.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim 25 is newly added.
Claims 1, 11 and 22 are amended
Claims 1-14 and 21-25 are examined as follow:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second component" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-14 and 21-25 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 13-14, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6443855B2 (newly cited) herein set forth as JP43855B2.
Regarding claim 1, JP43855B2 Fig.1 discloses a through transmission connecting device (refer to fig. 1) comprising:
a first support (refer to the aluminum block cited in JP43855B2’s machine translation NPL page 3-4 “…The support member 1 is made of a heat insulating material made of, for example, a silicon plate. The thickness of the support member 1 may be made thicker or an aluminum block may be laid below …”);
a first tool (support member #1, fig.1) mounted to the first support (refer to the aluminum block cited in JP43855B2’s machine translation NPL page 3-4 “…The support member 1 is made of a heat insulating material made of, for example, a silicon plate. The thickness of the support member 1 may be made thicker or an aluminum block may be laid below …”), the first tool (support member #1, fig.1) having a first component-contacting surface (refer to the contact surface between #1 with #2b in fig.1) contacting and retaining a first component (#2b, fig.1) during light-transmission bonding (refer to the generation and bonding of the #5 in fig.1),
a second support (refer to the unshown structure generating the pressure arrow on #3 in fig.1); and
a second tool (#3, fig.1) mounted to the second support (refer to the unshown structure generating the pressure arrow on #3 in fig.1), the second tool (#3, fig.1) having a second component-contacting surface (refer to the contact surface between #3 and #2a in fig.1) contacting and retaining the second component (#2, fig.5A) during the light-transmission bonding (refer to the generation and bonding of the #5 in fig.1), #2b, fig.1)
wherein the first tool (#2b, fig.1) and the second tool (#2a, fig.1) are movable with respect to each other to press (refer to all the pressure arrows in fig.1, and the #2 is removed from device) the first component (#2b, fig.1) and the second component (#2a, fig.1) together at the connecting portion (#5, fig.1); and
Wherein the first tool (#2b, fig.1) comprises a layer of a thermal isolator having a high thermal resistance that hinders thermal conduction (refer to the “heat insulating material” cited in JP43855B2’s machine translation NPL page 3-4 “…The support member 1 is made of a heat insulating material made of, for example, a silicon plate. The thickness of the support member 1 may be made thicker or an aluminum block may be laid below …”).
JP43855B2 Fig.1 does not specifically disclose the first component comprising a light-absorbing material; the second component comprising a light-transmissive material and such that light transmitted through the second component is absorbable by the first component at a connecting portion between the first component and the second component.
However, in another embodiment of JP43855B2 fig. 20, JP43855B2 fig. 20 discloses the first component (#92, fig.20) comprising a light-absorbing material; the second component comprising a light-transmissive material (refer to JP43855B2’s machine translation NPL page 1 “…a thermoplastic resin material 92 that absorbs laser light …”) and such that light (#94a, fig.20) transmitted through the second component (#91, fig.20) is absorbable by the first component (#92, fig.20) at a connecting portion (#95 and #96, fig.20) between the first component (#92, fig.20) and the second component (#91, fig.20) (also refer to JP43855B2’s machine translation NPL Page 2 “…the laser beam 94 a passes through the pressing member 93 and the first thermoplastic resin material 91 and is absorbed by the second thermoplastic resin material 92. Then, the second thermoplastic resin material 92 generates heat, and a high-temperature region 96 necessary for welding is formed on the welding surface 95 where the first thermoplastic resin material 91 and the second thermoplastic resin material 92 are in contact with each other…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe’s fig.1 invention with method teaching of fig.20, such that would provide Fig.1 with fig.20 teach benefit of does not melting second component through instead of start melting in between and inside the first and second component, created a better looking weld spot from outside and also stronger weld point too.
Regarding claim 8, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 disclose wherein the thermal isolator has a thickness in the range of 1 mm < ti < 10 cm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s thermal isolator with a thickness in the range of 1 mm < ti < 10 cm, is merely a change of a thickness for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, using different thickness of thermal insulator to sure enough insulation thickness to prevent melting or damage of other parts or structure, such that would not melt or damaged the invention or produce defected or flawed product.
Regarding claim 9, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not disclose wherein the thermal isolator has a thickness in the range of 2.5 mm < ti < 7.5 cm.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermal isolator with a thickness in the range of 2.5 mm < ti < 7.5 cm, is merely a change of a thickness for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, using different thickness of thermal insulator to sure enough insulation to prevent melting or damage of other parts or structure, such that would not melt or damage the invention or produce defects or flawed product.
Regarding claim 10, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not disclose wherein the thermal isolator has a thickness in the range of 5 mm < ti < 5 cm.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermal isolator with a thickness in the range of 5 mm < ti < 5 cm, is merely a change of a thickness for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, using different thickness of thermal insulator to sure enough insulation to prevent melting or damage of other parts or structure, such that would not melt or damage the invention or produce defected or flawed product.
Regarding claim 13, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not disclose wherein at least one of the first support and the second support are at least partly made of a metal.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe’s invention with wherein at least one of the first support and the second support are at least partly made of a metal, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, using metal for better structural strength and wear resistance, such that would improve the operational life span of the invention.
Regarding claim 14, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not disclose wherein at least one of the first support and the second support are at least partly made of steel or aluminum.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe’s invention with wherein at least one of the first support and the second support are at least partly made of steel or aluminum, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, using steel or aluminum for better structural strength and wear resistance, such that would improve the operational life span of the invention.
Regarding claim 21, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 further discloses wherein the light absorbing material is a plastic (refer to the abstract “thermoplastic”).
JP43855B2 does not specifically disclose wherein the first component has a high thermal conductivity at least in a connecting portion in the range of X> 50 W/(m K).
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the range of thermal conductivity of Watanabe’s first component, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of routine optimization, refer to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP 2144.05 II. In order to optimize how fast and how large the melting on the first component, such that would optimizing the welding of the plastic plates and further optimizing the welding speed and also reduce defective product from being produced at the same time.
Regarding claim 22, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 further discloses wherein the thermal isolator is of a thickness selected to hinders thermal conduction (refer to the “heat insulating material” cited in JP43855B2’s machine translation NPL page 3-4 “…The support member 1 is made of a heat insulating material made of, for example, a silicon plate. The thickness of the support member 1 may be made thicker or an aluminum block may be laid below …”).
Regarding claim 24, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 further discloses wherein the light transmission bonding technology is simultaneous light or laser transmission welding (refer to abstract and title for “laser light”).
Regarding claim 25, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 further discloses wherein the thermal isolator has a thickness sufficient to prevent melting of the thermal isolator during the light transmission bonding (refer to the “heat insulating material” cited in JP43855B2’s machine translation NPL page 3-4 “…The support member 1 is made of a heat insulating material made of, for example, a silicon plate. The thickness of the support member 1 may be made thicker or an aluminum block may be laid below …”) (Examiner note: since JP43855B2 also discloses a thickness for thicker as choice, and cited limitation does not disclose a specific range of thickness, therefore JP43855B2 also discloses such teaching).
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6443855B2 (newly cited) herein set forth as JP43855B2, in view of Yamazaki (US4597161) herein set forth as Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 2, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not specifically disclose wherein the thermal isolator has a thermal conductivity of k<2 W/(m K).
In the similar field of connecting device, Yamazaki discloses wherein the thermal isolator has a thermal conductivity of K<2W/(mK) (refer to Col 8 line 19-21 cited: “…polyether ether ketone (PEEK) resin (thermal conductivity 6.times.10.sup.-4 cal/sec/cm/.degree.C., melting point 334.degree. C.)…” Examiner note: 6x10-4 cal/sec/cm/degree C is equal to 0.006978 W/M.K).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s thermal isolator with the thermal conductivity of the thermal isolator to k<2 W/(m K), as taught by Yamazaki, In order to provide the small thermal conductivity and high melting point to prevent the heating damage to the surrounding, such that would increase the operational life span of the invention.
Regarding claim 3, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not specifically disclose wherein the thermal isolator has a thermal conductivity of k<1 W/(m K).
In the similar field of connecting device, Yamazaki discloses wherein the thermal isolator has a thermal conductivity of K<1W/(mK) (refer to Col 8 line 19-21 cited: “…polyether ether ketone (PEEK) resin (thermal conductivity 6.times.10.sup.-4 cal/sec/cm/.degree.C., melting point 334.degree. C.)…” Examiner note: 6x10-4 cal/sec/cm/degree C is equal to 0.006978 W/M.K).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s thermal isolator with the thermal conductivity of the thermal isolator to k<1 W/(m K), as taught by Yamazaki, In order to provide the small thermal conductivity and high melting point to prevent the heating damage to the surrounding, such that would increase the operational life span of the invention.
Regarding claim 4, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not specifically discloses wherein the thermal isolator has a melting point of Tmp> 2000oC.
In the similar field of connecting device, Yamazaki discloses wherein the thermal isolator has a melting point (refer to Col 8 line 19-21 cited: “…polyether ether ketone (PEEK) resin (thermal conductivity 6.times.10.sup.-4 cal/sec/cm/.degree.C., melting point 334.degree. C.)…” Examiner note: 6x10-4 cal/sec/cm/degree C is equal to 0.006978 W/M.K).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s thermal isolator with a melting point, as taught by Yamazaki, In order to provide the small thermal conductivity and high melting point to prevent the heating damage to the surrounding, such that would increase the operational life span of the invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermal conductivity of the thermal isolator has a melting point of tmp> 2000oC, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of routine optimization of what melting point needed for what material being connected, refer to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP 2144.05 II. In order to optimize the thermal isolator melting point, depend on what material being connected, such that would allow the isolator to perform insulation that meet requirement for heat generated to connect material that required certain temperature.
Regarding claim 5, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not specifically disclose wherein the thermal isolator has a melting point of tmp> 250oC.
In the similar field of connecting device, Yamazaki discloses wherein the thermal isolator has a melting point of tmp> 250oC (refer to Col 8 line 19-21 cited: “…polyether ether ketone (PEEK) resin (thermal conductivity 6.times.10.sup.-4 cal/sec/cm/.degree.C., melting point 334.degree. C.)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s thermal isolator with a melting point of tmp> 250oC, as taught by Yamazaki, in order to provide the small thermal conductivity and high melting point to prevent the heating damage to the surrounding and the invention.
Regarding claim 6, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not disclose wherein the thermal isolator is a thermoplastic material.
In the similar field of connecting device, Yamazaki discloses wherein the thermal isolator is a thermoplastic material (refer to Col 8 line 19-21 cited: “…polyether ether ketone (PEEK) resin (thermal conductivity 6.times.10.sup.-4 cal/sec/cm/.degree.C., melting point 334.degree. C.)…”, examiner note: PEEK is a thermoplastic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s thermal isolator with a thermoplastic material, as taught by Yamazaki, in order to provide the small thermal conductivity and high melting point to prevent the heating damage to the surrounding and the invention.
Regarding claim 7, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not disclose wherein the thermal isolator is a polyether ether ketone (PEEK).
In the similar field of connecting device, Yamazaki discloses wherein the thermal isolator is a polyether ether ketone (PEEK) (refer to Col 8 line 19-21 cited: “…polyether ether ketone (PEEK) resin (thermal conductivity 6.times.10.sup.-4 cal/sec/cm/.degree.C., melting point 334.degree. C.)…”, examiner note: PEEK is a thermoplastic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s thermal isolator with a polyether ether ketone (PEEK), as taught by Yamazaki, in order to provide the small thermal conductivity and high melting point to prevent the heating damage to the surrounding and the invention.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6443855B2 (newly cited) herein set forth as JP43855B2, in view of Tan et al (US2010/0162665A1) herein set forth as Tan.
Regarding claim 11, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not specifically disclose wherein the first component-contacting surface comprises a non-stick coating adjacent to the thermal isolator such that the non-stick coating is present at least in a contact area of the first tool with the first component.
In the similar field of plastic welding, Tan discloses the use of non-stick ink on area that do prevent and control a plastic weld (refer to Paragraph 0033 cited: “…the process prints a non-stick ink on a predetermined non-weld area. The non-stick ink applied in step 120 may be or include, for example, a mold-release agent such as silicone, paraffin, and/or a fluorocarbon. The purpose of the non-stick ink is to selectively prevent a plastic weld…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s first tool with comprises a non-stick coating adjacent to the thermal isolator such that the non-stick coating is present at least in a contact area of the first tool with the first component, as taught by Tan, in order to control when the plastic welding happen and where would the plastic would stick to, such that would reduce sticking on the tools that will cause maintenance issue or defected product when product stick to the invention’s tools.
Regarding claim 12, the modification of JP43855B2 and Tan discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 11, JP43855B2 or Tan does not disclose wherein the non-stick coating consists of polytetrafluoroethylene.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tan’s non-stick coating with a known material such as polytetrafluoroethylene, for that is well known within one of ordinary skill in the art as the matter of design choice or desired application, refer to In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, control when the plastic welding happen and where the plastic would stick to, such that would reduce sticking on the tools that will cause maintenance issue or defective product when product stick to the invention’s tools.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6443855B2 (newly cited) herein set forth as JP43855B2, in view of Hirschvogel et al (US6270083B1) herein set forth as Hirschvogel.
Regarding claim 23, JP43855B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP43855B2 does not specifically disclose wherein the first component is a plastic matrix material filled with graphite.
In the similar field of plastic welding, Hirschvogel discloses a component is a plastic matric material filled with graphite (refer to claim 18 cited: “…herein said reinforcing plastic foil is welded to said at least one flexible graphite layer using elevated temperatures“).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP43855B2’s first component with a plastic matrix material filled with graphite, as taught by Hirschvogel, in order to provide a better tensile strength for the invention, such that would provide better protection to the product and increase the operational life span of the product made.
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Specification Objection: the amendment/argument filed on August 28, 2026 overcame the Specification objection in the previous office action.
With respect to the Notification of 112f: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on August 28, 2026 overcame the Notification of 112f in the previous office action.
The applicant’s amendment filed on August 28, 2026 has raised new issue of 112b antecedent basis issue.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed August 28, 2026 have been fully considered but moot in view of the new grounds of rejection with the newly cited Primary Prior art JP6443855B2 (newly cited).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 October 11, 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761