DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The Information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on May 12th, 2026 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Response to Remark(s)
Applicant's amendment filed April 30th, 2026 have been fully entered and considered. Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome each and every 122(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on February 11th, 2026. Regarding the arguments the 101 rejection, the examiner respectfully finds the arguments to be persuasive, the 101 rejection has been overcome; regarding the prior art rejection, all new grounds of rejection set forth in the present action were necessitated by Applicants’ claim amendments, see response to remarks section below. Accordingly, this action is made final.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20, 38-39 are pending, claims 1, 19 and 20 have has been amended. Claims 1-20, 38-39 remains rejected.
Response to Argument(s)
101 rejection:
The examiner recognized the Applicants followed the suggestions, and the Applicants’ arguments found to be persuasive and overcome the previously stated 101 rejection.
103 rejection:
In view of the Amendments to independent claims 1, 19 and 20 the previously applied prior art rejections are withdrawn. Applicants’ arguments are rendered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faheem Zafari et. al. (“A Survey of Indoor Localization Systems and Technologies, April 2019, IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, Vol. 21, Issue 3” hereinafter as “Zafari”) in view of C. Zhang et. al. (“LiTell: Indoor localization using unmodified light fixtures: Demo, 2016, in Proc. ACM 22nd Annu. Int. Conf. Mobile Comput. Netw., pp. 481–482” hereinafter as “Zhang”) further in view of Min Woo Ryu et. al. (“US 2018/0098676 A1” hereinafter as “Ryu”) and Abheek Saha et. al. (“US 2021/0281976 A1” hereinafter as “Saha”).
Regarding claim 1, Zafari discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components (section III.B, 3rd par., discloses “the action might be to send a discount coupon to be received by the user device, to open a door or to display some interactive content on a monitor”); and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (section II.A, 2nd paragraph, discloses the processing of the invention which can be understood to include the use of a computer which includes a memory storing program to be executed by a processor for the instructions of such processing): obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment (section II.C, 1st par., discloses the localization technique require obtaining environmental fingerprints of features of the environment which is based on RSSI measurements to estimate the user location, the environmental fingerprints here together is analogous to the recited environmental representation as claimed, by BRI); receiving an input including a reference to a first object, wherein the input includes a request for a location of the first object, and the first object is located in a physical environment (section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment; the localization can be done through a request such as discloses in section VI.A.3; therefore, the request here is analogous to the input includes a request for location of a user device [first object as claimed] within an indoor environment [a physical environment as claimed]; moreover, the localization request is to estimate location of the device with respect to some reference points [according to section I, 3rd paragraph, which is analogous to the input including a reference to a first object as claimed, since the request is reference to estimating a location in reference to a point], by BRI [broadest reasonable interpretation]); determining a location of the first object (the localization system as discussed previously is to obtain the location of the devices [any of which is analogous to the first object as claimed]), wherein the location of the first object includes one of a known location of the first object or a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object (“one of….or” indicates a selection therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a known location” which is disclosed in Zafari’s section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment which indicates a known location); and in response to receiving the input: in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are met, providing a description of the location of the first object, wherein a first criterion of the one or more first criteria is met when the location of the first object is identifiable from the environmental representation (section VIII.D discloses, in one instance of use, a location support systems allows user to obtain his location with respect to the anchor points and provides user freedom to discover serves based on his/her location; therefore, it indicates a determination that the location is available [location is obtained] to discovers services [services must be available around the user] in order for the service discovery to be available to the user; such as further discloses in section I, 4th paragraph, 2nd bullet, where it teaches that when the location is obtained in reference to a reference node then provide the user with different services [description as claimed, by BRI], determination of location in respect to a reference node is analogous to the criterion as claimed, by BRI; there must be met this criterion for the output to be providing services, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, as discussed previously and as disclosed in section II.C, 1st 2 paragraphs, the user location is determined from the environmental fingerprints, moreover, the user location is identifiable if either equation 3 or 4 is met the likelihood of the user’s location, therefore, the likelihood of the user location here indicates if the user’s location is identifiable from the environmental fingerprint according to either equation 3 or 4, therefore, by BRI, covers the scope of the claimed limitation), a second criterion of the one or more first criteria is met when a confidence corresponding to a location of the first object exceeds a confidence threshold (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, in section II.E, 2nd par., the sight path is not available due to obstacles defecting the signal causing an increase in the time taken for the signal to propagate from Tx to Tr according to the equation of 5, and the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver is required to obtain accurate location according to section II.F, 1st 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the distance and time of signal path is the confidence as claimed, and that it must be within a certain time and distance for the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver as discussed, therefore, indicating that these values must be within a certain value or threshold, as being analogous to the recited limitation; therefore, when it exceeds acceptable value then the direct sight path is not available as has been discussed), the description includes a relationship between the first object and a reference within the physical environment, the description includes one of a reference to a known location of the first object or a reference to a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object (“one of….or…” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “reference to the known location of the first object” to be taught by Zafari’s section II.A, 2nd par., discloses the location of the object includes reference point to the location, therefore, it can be understood that the description of the location also includes data/information of a reference points); and in accordance with a determination that one or more second criteria are met, forgoing providing the description of the location of the first object, wherein a criterion of the one or more second criteria is met when the location of the first object is not identifiable from the environmental representation (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, as discussed previously and as disclosed in section II.C, 1st 2 paragraphs, the user location is determined from the environmental fingerprints, moreover, the user location is identifiable if either equation 3 or 4 is met the likelihood of the user’s location, therefore, the likelihood of the user location here indicates if the user’s location is identifiable from the environmental fingerprint according to either equation 3 or 4, therefore, when the likelihood is low then the user’s location is not identifiable in that environmental fingerprints, by BRI, covers the scope of the claimed limitation), and wherein in a second criterion of the one or more second criteria is met when a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object does not exceed a confidence threshold (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, in section II.E, 2nd par., the sight path is not available due to obstacles defecting the signal causing an increase in the time taken for the signal to propagate from Tx to Tr according to the equation of 5, and the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver is required to obtain accurate location according to section II.F, 1st 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the distance and time of signal path is the confidence as claimed, and that it must be within a certain time and distance for the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver as discussed, therefore, indicating that these values must be within a certain value or threshold, as being analogous to the recited limitation; therefore, for the second criteria to be met, it cannot exceed acceptable value then for the direct sight path to be available as has been discussed).
However, Zafari does not explicitly disclose wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data; one or more accelerometers; displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers.
In the same field of Indoor Localization (title, Zhang), Zhang discloses wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data (as discussed previously and discloses in Zafari’s section II.C, 2nd paragraph, the environmental fingerprints and the user’s location are determined based on RSSI and RNs and further disclosed Zafari’s page 2587, last paragraph, cameras can be used along with RNs to localize an environment such as the environmental fingerprints of Zafari’s section II.C, 2nd paragraph, as taught in Zhang; therefore, Zhang here teaches this such as disclosed in Zhang’s page 233, the last 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the environmental fingerprints can be obtained based on cameras of visual signals or image data, by BRI, covers the claimed limitation; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to have a process that can obtain an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environment representation is generated based on image data. Thus use such image data corresponds to environment for locating the environment effectively, Abstract, Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s environmental representation can be modified to be generated based on image data as taught in Zhang.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari and Zhang share the same field of endeavor of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment; wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data. Thus use such image data corresponds to environment for locating the environment effectively, Abstract, Zhang
However, Zafari in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose one or more accelerometers; displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers.
In the same field of object localization (Title and Abstract, Ry), Ryu explicitly teaches one or more accelerometers (Par. [0101] discloses “the motion sensing unit may include an acceleration sensor…to sense the movement of the cleaning robot”); wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers (Par. [0081] discloses “the display may also employ a touch screen panel that receives a control command input by the user and displays information on the operation corresponding to the input control command” indicating that the input to perform the object localization is performed and the information regarding the operation is displayed, including all the related information being used for determination of the object localization including the environmental representation to be displayed, which uses RSSI information to determine the environmental information, Par. [0150] discloses “RSSI fingerprint map…improves accuracy of a process of estimating the direction of the station” wherein the RSSI fingerprint map is analogous to the recited environmental representation as claimed, which is analogous to Zafari’s RSSI map of the physical environment for determination of environmental fingerprint; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to use RSSI information to determine environmental fingerprint to locate object in the environment, wherein the RSSI information and displaying of the output processed based on RSSI information and the environmental fingerprint is processed together with acceleration information obtained from an acceleration sensor. Thus in order to have use acceleration to determine linear movement of the robot for more accurate and effective environment monitoring, see Ryu’s Pars [0100-0102] and Par. [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of an electronic device, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s displaying of the environmental representation can be modified to be based on one or more accelerometers, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers as taught in Ryu.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari, Zhang and Ryu share the same field of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have an electronic device, comprising one or more processors; one or more accelerometers; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers. Thus in order to have use acceleration to determine linear movement of the robot for more accurate and effective environment monitoring, see Ryu’s Pars [0100-0102] and Par. [0111]).
However, Zafari in view of Zhang and Ryu does not explicitly disclose displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation.
In the same field of RSSI fingerprint based for object localization (Title and Abstract, Saha), Saha explicitly teaches displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation (Par. [0027] discloses “technique used here resolves the problem of Wi-Fi device localization, for example, a mobile phone. This method includes learning RSSI fingerprints or RSSI patterns for areas/zones of interest in any indoor environment and consequently using the learnt associated between RSSI values and position data to make precise predictions of device locations in unmarked readings”; moreover, Par. [0027] discloses “regarding FIGS. 1A-1B and FIG. 5, FIG. 1A is the schematic view of Wi-Fi Scanner placement in an indoor area….this method includes learning RSSI fingerprints or RSSI patterns for areas/zones of interest in any indoor environment and consequently using the learnt association between RSSI values and position data to make precise predictions of device locations in unmarked readings…the local area or the indoor environment is partitioned into a graph-pattern of interconnected zones 101a, 101b, and 101c, where each zone characteristics a coverage zone for the Wi-Fi access”, see attached FIG. 1A below
).
Saha’s FIG. 1A shows the RSSI fingerprinting to locate the locations of the Wi-Fi devices in an environment with an indication of where the object is located as a circle, which is analogous to the recited limitation; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to use RSSI information to determine environmental fingerprint to locate object in the environment, wherein the RSSI information and displaying of the output processed based on RSSI information and the environmental fingerprint is processed together to obtain RSSI environmental fingerprint, wherein the RSSI fingerprints is used to locate objects within an environment to be displayed on a display with indication of the objects [marked readings and associated locations] found in the environment. Thus in order to have use such method of dynamics through Wi-Fi device localization in an indoor environment to perform optimal localization accurately, see Saha’s Par. [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of an electronic device, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s displaying of the environmental representation can be modified to have the environmental representation is displayed, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation as taught in Saha.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari, Zhang and Ryu and Saha share the same field of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have an electronic device, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environmental representation is displayed, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation. Thus in order to have use such method of dynamics through Wi-Fi device localization in an indoor environment to perform optimal localization accurately, see Saha’s Par. [0007].
Regarding claim 2, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the first object corresponds to a second electronic device different from the electronic device (as discussed above in claim 1, both the reference point and the devices include electronic devices, hence any of which can be the first object and the second device as claimed, by BRI covers the scope of the claim).
Regarding claim 3, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha, explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the first object corresponds to the electronic device (as discussed above in claim 1, both the reference point and the devices include electronic devices, hence any of which can be the first object, by BRI covers the scope of the claim).
Regarding claim 4, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the description includes a reference to a second object different from the first object (as discussed above in claim 1, the description includes information regarding services as reference spots to the second object different from the first object, by BRI).
Regarding claim 5, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the reference within the physical environment corresponds to an identified area within the physical environment (as discussed above in claim 1 which teaches that the reference within an indoor environment corresponds to a known reference in the environment physically), and the relationship between the first object and the reference within the physical environment includes the first object within the identified area (as discussed above in claim 1, the obtained location and the information regarding nearby services indicate the relationship between the device with the nearby locations for services such as disclosed in page 2569, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, 2nd bullet wherein the entity connected to the reference node, the entity connection here is analogous to the relationship as claimed by BRI).
Regarding claim 6, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: in response to receiving the input including the reference to the first object (as discussed above in claim 1, section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment; the localization can be done through a request such as discloses in section VI.A.3; therefore, the request here is analogous to the input includes a request for location of a user device [first object as claimed] within an indoor environment [a physical environment as claimed]; moreover, the localization request is to estimate location of the device with respect to some reference points [according to section I, 3rd paragraph, which is analogous to the input including a reference to a first object as claimed), requesting location information for the first object (as discussed previously, the request is to localize the location of the device); receiving location information from the first object (localization is to find location of the object including location information as disclosed in section II.A,); and determining the location of the first object based on the location information (section II.A discloses the object location is obtained based on the location information).
Regarding claim 7, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein determining the location of the first object comprises: obtaining a representation of the physical environment (page 2587, last paragraph, discloses in one approach for the device localization as taught in Zhang and Zhang [an implementation of such technique] teaches using fluorescent lights as the RNs, therefore, the fluorescent light can be understood as a representation based on BRI [broadest reasonable interpretation] of the physical environment, since the RNs here are being present in a physical environment); comparing the location information with location information corresponding to the representation (furthermore, in the same paragraph, Zhang and Zhang’s implement further teaches that LiTell uses characteristic frequency to differentiate among the RNs [differentiate is analogous to comparing location information corresponding to the representation or the RNs’ locations and the device location in this case]); and determining, based on the comparison, the location of the first object (then perform localize different users based on their proximity to a certain RN [as taught in the same paragraph]; by BRI, this paragraph teaches the same scope of the claim’s limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 7, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the location information corresponding to the representation includes a plurality of object locations, each object location of the plurality of object locations corresponding to a respective physical object in the physical environment (as discussed above in claim 7, page 2587, last paragraph, discloses in one approach for the device localization as taught in Zhang and Zhang [an implementation of such technique] teaches using fluorescent lights as the RNs, therefore, the fluorescent light can be understood as a representation based on BRI [broadest reasonable interpretation] of the physical environment; wherein the RNs here each correspond to a location information within the environment further correspond to a physical object here bring the florescent light, by BRI, covers the same scope of the claim’s limitation).
Regarding claim 9, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 7, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the location information corresponding to the representation includes a plurality of boundary locations (as discussed above in claim 7, as taught in page 2587, last paragraph, the location information of the their proximity to a certain RN, indicate location information of a plurality of user devices and also of the RNs; moreover, as disclosed in shown in FIG. 4, each RN has a boundary line such as the hyperbola RN-RN [analogous to the boundary locations as claimed by BRI]), each boundary location of the plurality of boundary locations corresponding to a respective physical boundary in the physical environment (as shown in FIG. 4, each boundary location correspond to a respective physical boundary in the environment).
Regarding claim 10, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: in response to receiving the input including the reference to the first object (section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment; the localization can be done through a request such as discloses in section VI.A.3; therefore, the request here is analogous to the input includes a request for location of a user device [first object as claimed] within an indoor environment [a physical environment as claimed]; moreover, the localization request is to estimate location of the device with respect to some reference points [according to section I, 3rd paragraph, which is analogous to the input including a reference to a first object as claimed, since the request is reference to estimating a location in reference to a point]; therefore, in response to the input or the request is received, the localization system is to then perform the obtaining of the location), identifying the first object as a secondary electronic device (such as discussed above in claim 1, the locations of the user device and the nearby services are obtained, hence, the nearby service here can be understood as the second electronic device as claimed by BRI; such as in one instance of implement as shown in FIG. 4, the RN can be understood as the first object as a secondary electronic device); after identifying the first object as the secondary electronic device, receiving, from the secondary electronic device, a positional value corresponding to a location of the secondary electronic device within the physical environment (as shown in FIG. 4, the location of the RN within a physical environment is known as a value such as according to equation 6, therefore, indicates a positional value is identified and received); and determining the location of the first object based on the received positional value (as have been discussed and shown in FIG 4 and section II.E, the location of the first object is determined accordingly based on the received positional value as such according to equation 6; by BRI, this teaching covers the same scope as of the claim’s limitation).
Regarding claim 11, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: obtaining spatial information corresponding to the physical environment of the electronic device, wherein the spatial information is based on a multi-dimensional representation of the physical environment (page 2883, of section VI.3, discloses in one implementation of this paper, Mandal teaches 3D MBL system for the device localization system, wherein the localization includes obtaining 3D multi-lateration for obtaining an estimate of the user location including mapping of the physical environment [mapping of the ToF into distance which indicates a mapping within the environment which is analogous to a multi-dimensional representation of the environment it also indicates a spatial information, by BRI, covers the claim’s limitation]); obtaining a positional value corresponding to the location of the first object (in another implementation of an example of the localization system as disclosed in page 2585 of section VI.B, where it teaches in Lim which also teaches mapping to distance which is based on RSSI values which can be understood as positional value corresponding to the location of the first object as claimed, by BRI); and in accordance with a determination that the positional value corresponding to the location of the first object is included within the spatial information corresponding to the physical environment, determining that the location of the first object is identifiable from the environmental representation (as further discloses in page 2585 of section VI.B, the RSSI values are used in creating an online RSSI map which is used to estimate the user location [determining the location of the 1st object is available by BRI] which indicates that the user location has to be within the RSSI map of the physical environment for it to locate the device which, by BRI, covers the scope of this claim’s limitation; in the same paragraph, it also teaches that tit requires a number of samples to obtain an estimate of the user location, therefore, this teaching, by BRI, also covers the claim’s limitation by stating that the samples have to be within a certain number requirement of analogous to the positional value is included within a spatial information for the location of the object to be determined; moreover, as discussed previously and as disclosed in section II.C, 1st 2 paragraphs, the user location is determined from the environmental fingerprints, moreover, the user location is identifiable if either equation 3 or 4 is met the likelihood of the user’s location, therefore, the likelihood of the user location here indicates if the user’s location is identifiable from the environmental fingerprint according to either equation 3 or 4, therefore, by BRI, covers the scope of the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: in accordance with a determination that the positional value corresponding to the location of the first object is not included within the spatial information corresponding to the physical environment, determining that the location of the first object is not identifiable from the environmental representation (as discussed above in claim 11, in the same paragraph, it also teaches that tit requires a number of samples to obtain an estimate of the user location, therefore, this teaching, by BRI, also covers the claim’s limitation by stating that the samples have to be within a certain number requirement of analogous to the positional value is included within a spatial information for the location of the object to be determined; therefore, when this requirement is not met then the location of the device is not determined; moreover, as discussed previously and as disclosed in section II.C, 1st 2 paragraphs, the user location is determined from the environmental fingerprints, moreover, the user location is identifiable if either equation 3 or 4 is met the likelihood of the user’s location, therefore, the likelihood of the user location here indicates if the user’s location is identifiable from the environmental fingerprint according to either equation 3 or 4, therefore, when the likelihood is low then the user’s location is not identifiable in that environmental fingerprints, by BRI, covers the scope of the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 13, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: obtaining a multi-dimensional representation of the physical environment (page 2883, of section VI.3, discloses in one implementation of this paper, Mandal teaches 3D MBL system for the device localization system, wherein the localization includes obtaining 3D multi-lateration for obtaining an estimate of the user location including mapping of the environment [mapping of the ToF into distance which indicates a mapping within the environment which is analogous to a multi-dimensional representation of the environment it also indicates a spatial information, by BRI, covers the claim’s limitation]), wherein the multi-dimensional representation of the physical environment includes positional values corresponding to a plurality of object representations and positional values (in another implementation of an example of the localization system as disclosed in page 2585 of section VI.B, where it teaches in Lim which also teaches mapping to distance which is based on RSSI values which can be understood as positional value corresponding to the location of the first object as claimed, by BRI) corresponding to a plurality of boundary representations (moreover, as discussed above in claim 7, as taught in page 2587, last paragraph, the location information of the their proximity to a certain RN, indicate location information of a plurality of user devices and also of the RNs; moreover, as disclosed in shown in FIG. 4, each RN has a boundary line such as the hyperbola RN-RN [analogous to the boundary locations as claimed by BRI]), wherein the one or more first criteria and the one or more second criteria are based on the obtained multi-dimensional representation (as further discloses in page 2585 of section VI.B, the RSSI values are used in creating an online RSSI map which is used to estimate the user location [determining the location of the 1st object is available by BRI] which indicates that the user location has to be within the RSSI map of the physical environment for it to locate the device which, by BRI, covers the scope of this claim’s limitation; in the same paragraph, it also teaches that tit requires a number of samples to obtain an estimate of the user location, therefore, this teaching, by BRI, also covers the claim’s limitation by stating that the samples have to be within a certain number requirement of analogous to the positional value is included within a spatial information for the location of the object to be determined).
Regarding claim 14, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the location of the first object is determined in response to receiving the input including the reference to the first object (section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment; the localization can be done through a request such as discloses in section VI.A.3; therefore, the request here is analogous to the input includes a request for location of a user device [first object as claimed] within an indoor environment [a physical environment as claimed]; moreover, the localization request is to estimate location of the device with respect to some reference points [according to section I, 3rd paragraph, which is analogous to the input including a reference to a first object as claimed, since the request is reference to estimating a location in reference to a point], by BRI [broadest reasonable interpretation]).
Regarding claim 15, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches the one or more programs including instructions for: in accordance with a determination that the first object satisfies one or more third criteria, periodically obtaining a positional value corresponding to the location of the first object (page 2587, last paragraph, discloses in one approach for the device localization as taught in Zhang and Zhang [an implementation of such technique] teaches using fluorescent lights as the RNs, therefore, the fluorescent light can be understood as a representation based on BRI [broadest reasonable interpretation] of the physical environment, since the RNs here are being present in a physical environment; furthermore, in the same paragraph, Zhang and Zhang’s implement further teaches that LiTell uses characteristic frequency to differentiate among the RNs [differentiate is analogous to comparing location information corresponding to the representation or the RNs’ locations and the device location in this case]; then perform localize different users based on their proximity to a certain RN [as taught in the same paragraph]; by BRI, this paragraph teaches the same scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, this is based on frequency selective [according to page 2571, 2nd column, 1st paragraph] which indicates periodically obtaining a positional value corresponding to the location; the satisfaction of the selection can be understood as the third criteria as claimed, by BRI).
Regarding claim 16, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the reference within the physical environment includes an identified area within the physical environment (as discussed above the physical environment includes an identified area within the environment such as disclosed in page 2580, 1st paragraph), and wherein the identified area is associated with at least one area type (wherein page 2580, 1st paragraph, discloses the area can be large area or small area of base stations which is analogous to an area type as claimed, by BRI).
Regarding claim 17, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the reference within the physical environment includes a second object identified within the physical environment (as discussed above in claim 1, the reference is within the environment includes a second object within the environment identified), wherein the second object is associated with at least one object type (as discussed above in claim 1, the second object can be of services nearby which indicates an object type, by BRI).
Regarding claim 18, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein Zafari explicitly teaches wherein the reference within the physical environment includes an identified spatial relation between a second object identified within the physical environment and a third object identified within the physical environment (the reference within the physical environment as discussed above in claim 1, which can be of refence nodes according to page 2569, 1st paragraph, therefore, the nodes are already identified and have spatial relation between these nodes [between second object and a third object within the environment] for it to obtain relative location of the nodes, therefore, covers the same scope as of the claim’s limitation, by BRI).
Regarding claim 19, Zafari discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: at an electronic device with one or more processors and memory (section II.A, 2nd paragraph, discloses the processing of the invention which can be understood to include the use of a computer which includes a memory storing program to be executed by a processor for the instructions of such processing); one or more display generation components (section III.B, 3rd par., discloses “the action might be to send a discount coupon to be received by the user device, to open a door or to display some interactive content on a monitor”): obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment (section II.C, 1st par., discloses the localization technique require obtaining environmental fingerprints of features of the environment which is based on RSSI measurements to estimate the user location, the environmental fingerprints here together is analogous to the recited environmental representation as claimed, by BRI); receiving an input including a reference to a first object, wherein the input includes a request for a location of the first object, and the first object is located in the physical environment (section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment; the localization can be done through a request such as discloses in section VI.A.3; therefore, the request here is analogous to the input includes a request for location of a user device [first object as claimed] within an indoor environment [a physical environment as claimed]; moreover, the localization request is to estimate location of the device with respect to some reference points [according to section I, 3rd paragraph, which is analogous to the input including a reference to a first object as claimed, since the request is reference to estimating a location in reference to a point], by BRI [broadest reasonable interpretation]); determining a location of the first object (the localization system as discussed previously is to obtain the location of the devices [any of which is analogous to the first object as claimed]) , wherein the location of the first object includes one of a known location of the first object or a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object (“one of….or” indicates a selection therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a known location” which is disclosed in Zafari’s section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment which indicates a known location); and in response to receiving the input: in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are met, providing a description of the location of the first object, wherein a criterion of the one or more first criteria is met when the location of the first object is identifiable from the environmental representation (section VIII.D discloses, in one instance of use, a location support systems allows user to obtain his location with respect to the anchor points and provides user freedom to discover serves based on his/her location; therefore, it indicates a determination that the location is available [location is obtained] to discovers services [services must be available around the user] in order for the service discovery to be available to the user; such as further discloses in section I, 4th paragraph, 2nd bullet, where it teaches that when the location is obtained in reference to a reference node then provide the user with different services [description as claimed, by BRI], determination of location in respect to a reference node is analogous to the criterion as claimed, by BRI; there must be met this criterion for the output to be providing services, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, as discussed previously and as disclosed in section II.C, 1st 2 paragraphs, the user location is determined from the environmental fingerprints, moreover, the user location is identifiable if either equation 3 or 4 is met the likelihood of the user’s location, therefore, the likelihood of the user location here indicates if the user’s location is identifiable from the environmental fingerprint according to either equation 3 or 4, therefore, by BRI, covers the scope of the claimed limitation) a second criterion of the one or more first criteria is met when a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object exceeds a confidence threshold (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, in section II.E, 2nd par., the sight path is not available due to obstacles defecting the signal causing an increase in the time taken for the signal to propagate from Tx to Tr according to the equation of 5, and the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver is required to obtain accurate location according to section II.F, 1st 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the distance and time of signal path is the confidence as claimed, and that it must be within a certain time and distance for the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver as discussed, therefore, indicating that these values must be within a certain value or threshold, as being analogous to the recited limitation; therefore, when it exceeds acceptable value then the direct sight path is not available as has been discussed), and the description includes a relationship between the first object and a reference within the physical environment (section VIII.D discloses, in one instance of use, a location support systems allows user to obtain his location with respect to the anchor points and provides user freedom to discover serves based on his/her location; therefore, it indicates a determination that the location is available [location is obtained] to discovers services [services must be available around the user] in order for the service discovery to be available to the user; such as further discloses in section I, 4th paragraph, 2nd bullet, where it teaches that when the location is obtained in reference to a reference node then provide the user with different services [description as claimed, by BRI], determination of location in respect to a reference node is analogous to the criterion as claimed, by BRI; there must be met this criterion for the output to be providing services, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation), the description includes a relationship between the first object and a reference within the physical environment, the description includes one of a reference to a known location of the first object or a reference to a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object (“one of….or…” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “reference to the known location of the first object” to be taught by Zafari’s section II.A, 2nd par., discloses the location of the object includes reference point to the location, therefore, it can be understood that the description of the location also includes data/information of a reference points); and in accordance with a determination that one or more second criteria are met, forgoing providing the description of the location of the first object, wherein a criterion of the one or more second criteria is met when the location of the first object is not identifiable from the environmental representation (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, as discussed previously and as disclosed in section II.C, 1st 2 paragraphs, the user location is determined from the environmental fingerprints, moreover, the user location is identifiable if either equation 3 or 4 is met the likelihood of the user’s location, therefore, the likelihood of the user location here indicates if the user’s location is identifiable from the environmental fingerprint according to either equation 3 or 4, therefore, when the likelihood is low then the user’s location is not identifiable in that environmental fingerprints, by BRI, covers the scope of the claimed limitation) and wherein in a second criterion of the one or more second criteria is met when a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object does not exceed a confidence threshold (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, in section II.E, 2nd par., the sight path is not available due to obstacles defecting the signal causing an increase in the time taken for the signal to propagate from Tx to Tr according to the equation of 5, and the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver is required to obtain accurate location according to section II.F, 1st 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the distance and time of signal path is the confidence as claimed, and that it must be within a certain time and distance for the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver as discussed, therefore, indicating that these values must be within a certain value or threshold, as being analogous to the recited limitation; therefore, for the second criteria to be met, it cannot exceed acceptable value then for the direct sight path to be available as has been discussed).
However, Zafari does not explicitly disclose wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data; one or more accelerometers; displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers.
In the same field of Indoor Localization (title, Zhang), Zhang discloses wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data (as discussed previously and discloses in Zafari’s section II.C, 2nd paragraph, the environmental fingerprints and the user’s location are determined based on RSSI and RNs and further disclosed Zafari’s page 2587, last paragraph, cameras can be used along with RNs to localize an environment such as the environmental fingerprints of Zafari’s section II.C, 2nd paragraph, as taught in Zhang; therefore, Zhang here teaches this such as disclosed in Zhang’s page 233, the last 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the environmental fingerprints can be obtained based on cameras of visual signals or image data, by BRI, covers the claimed limitation; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to have a process that can obtain an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environment representation is generated based on image data. Thus use such image data corresponds to environment for locating the environment effectively, Abstract, Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of a method, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s environmental representation can be modified to be generated based on image data as taught in Zhang.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari and Zhang share the same field of endeavor of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have a method, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment; wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data. Thus use such image data corresponds to environment for locating the environment effectively, Abstract, Zhang
However, Zafari in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose one or more accelerometers; displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers.
In the same field of object localization (Title and Abstract, Ry), Ryu explicitly teaches one or more accelerometers (Par. [0101] discloses “the motion sensing unit may include an acceleration sensor…to sense the movement of the cleaning robot”); wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers (Par. [0081] discloses “the display may also employ a touch screen panel that receives a control command input by the user and displays information on the operation corresponding to the input control command” indicating that the input to perform the object localization is performed and the information regarding the operation is displayed, including all the related information being used for determination of the object localization including the environmental representation to be displayed, which uses RSSI information to determine the environmental information, Par. [0150] discloses “RSSI fingerprint map…improves accuracy of a process of estimating the direction of the station” wherein the RSSI fingerprint map is analogous to the recited environmental representation as claimed, which is analogous to Zafari’s RSSI map of the physical environment for determination of environmental fingerprint; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to use RSSI information to determine environmental fingerprint to locate object in the environment, wherein the RSSI information and displaying of the output processed based on RSSI information and the environmental fingerprint is processed together with acceleration information obtained from an acceleration sensor. Thus in order to have use acceleration to determine linear movement of the robot for more accurate and effective environment monitoring, see Ryu’s Pars [0100-0102] and Par. [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of a method, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s displaying of the environmental representation can be modified to be based on one or more accelerometers, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers as taught in Ryu.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari, Zhang and Ryu share the same field of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have a method, comprising one or more processors; one or more accelerometers; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers. Thus in order to have use acceleration to determine linear movement of the robot for more accurate and effective environment monitoring, see Ryu’s Pars [0100-0102] and Par. [0111]).
However, Zafari in view of Zhang and Ryu does not explicitly disclose displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation.
In the same field of RSSI fingerprint based for object localization (Title and Abstract, Saha), Saha explicitly teaches displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation (Par. [0027] discloses “technique used here resolves the problem of Wi-Fi device localization, for example, a mobile phone. This method includes learning RSSI fingerprints or RSSI patterns for areas/zones of interest in any indoor environment and consequently using the learnt associated between RSSI values and position data to make precise predictions of device locations in unmarked readings”; moreover, Par. [0027] discloses “regarding FIGS. 1A-1B and FIG. 5, FIG. 1A is the schematic view of Wi-Fi Scanner placement in an indoor area….this method includes learning RSSI fingerprints or RSSI patterns for areas/zones of interest in any indoor environment and consequently using the learnt association between RSSI values and position data to make precise predictions of device locations in unmarked readings…the local area or the indoor environment is partitioned into a graph-pattern of interconnected zones 101a, 101b, and 101c, where each zone characteristics a coverage zone for the Wi-Fi access”, see attached FIG. 1A below
).
Saha’s FIG. 1A shows the RSSI fingerprinting to locate the locations of the Wi-Fi devices in an environment with an indication of where the object is located as a circle, which is analogous to the recited limitation; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to use RSSI information to determine environmental fingerprint to locate object in the environment, wherein the RSSI information and displaying of the output processed based on RSSI information and the environmental fingerprint is processed together to obtain RSSI environmental fingerprint, wherein the RSSI fingerprints is used to locate objects within an environment to be displayed on a display with indication of the objects [marked readings and associated locations] found in the environment. Thus in order to have use such method of dynamics through Wi-Fi device localization in an indoor environment to perform optimal localization accurately, see Saha’s Par. [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of a method, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s displaying of the environmental representation can be modified to have the environmental representation is displayed, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation as taught in Saha.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari, Zhang and Ryu and Saha share the same field of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have a method, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environmental representation is displayed, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation. Thus in order to have use such method of dynamics through Wi-Fi device localization in an indoor environment to perform optimal localization accurately, see Saha’s Par. [0007].
Regarding claim 20, Zafari discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a first electronic device, cause the first electronic device to (section II.A, 2nd paragraph, discloses the processing of the invention which can be understood to include the use of a computer which includes a memory storing program to be executed by a processor for the instructions of such processing, and a ROM or RAM being a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium): obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment (section II.C, 1st par., discloses the localization technique require obtaining environmental fingerprints of features of the environment which is based on RSSI measurements to estimate the user location, the environmental fingerprints here together is analogous to the recited environmental representation as claimed, by BRI); displaying, via one or more display generation components (section III.B, 3rd par., discloses “the action might be to send a discount coupon to be received by the user device, to open a door or to display some interactive content on a monitor”)receive an input including a reference to a first object, wherein the input includes a request for a location of the first object, and the first object is located in the physical environment (section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment; the localization can be done through a request such as discloses in section VI.A.3; therefore, the request here is analogous to the input includes a request for location of a user device [first object as claimed] within an indoor environment [a physical environment as claimed]; moreover, the localization request is to estimate location of the device with respect to some reference points [according to section I, 3rd paragraph, which is analogous to the input including a reference to a first object as claimed, since the request is reference to estimating a location in reference to a point], by BRI [broadest reasonable interpretation]); determine a location of the first object (the localization system as discussed previously is to obtain the location of the devices [any of which is analogous to the first object as claimed]) , wherein the location of the first object includes one of a known location of the first object or a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object (“one of….or” indicates a selection therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “a known location” which is disclosed in Zafari’s section V.A discloses indoor localization such as discloses in section V.E wherein the localization system is to obtain user/device position within an indoor environment which indicates a known location) a second criterion of the one or more first criteria is met when a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object exceeds a confidence threshold (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, in section II.E, 2nd par., the sight path is not available due to obstacles defecting the signal causing an increase in the time taken for the signal to propagate from Tx to Tr according to the equation of 5, and the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver is required to obtain accurate location according to section II.F, 1st 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the distance and time of signal path is the confidence as claimed, and that it must be within a certain time and distance for the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver as discussed, therefore, indicating that these values must be within a certain value or threshold, as being analogous to the recited limitation; therefore, when it exceeds acceptable value then the direct sight path is not available as has been discussed), the description includes a relationship between the first object and a reference within the physical environment, the description includes one of a reference to a known location of the first object or a reference to a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object (“one of….or…” indicates a selection, therefore, only one of the options is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “reference to the known location of the first object” to be taught by Zafari’s section II.A, 2nd par., discloses the location of the object includes reference point to the location, therefore, it can be understood that the description of the location also includes data/information of a reference points); and in response to receiving the input: in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are met, provide a description of the location of the first object, wherein a criterion of the one or more first criteria is met when the location of the first object is identifiable from the environmental representation (section VIII.D discloses, in one instance of use, a location support systems allows user to obtain his location with respect to the anchor points and provides user freedom to discover serves based on his/her location; therefore, it indicates a determination that the location is available [location is obtained] to discovers services [services must be available around the user] in order for the service discovery to be available to the user; such as further discloses in section I, 4th paragraph, 2nd bullet, where it teaches that when the location is obtained in reference to a reference node then provide the user with different services [description as claimed, by BRI], determination of location in respect to a reference node is analogous to the criterion as claimed, by BRI; there must be met this criterion for the output to be providing services, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, as discussed previously and as disclosed in section II.C, 1st 2 paragraphs, the user location is determined from the environmental fingerprints, moreover, the user location is identifiable if either equation 3 or 4 is met the likelihood of the user’s location, therefore, the likelihood of the user location here indicates if the user’s location is identifiable from the environmental fingerprint according to either equation 3 or 4, therefore, by BRI, covers the scope of the claimed limitation, and the description includes a relationship between the first object and a reference within the physical environment (section VIII.D discloses, in one instance of use, a location support systems allows user to obtain his location with respect to the anchor points and provides user freedom to discover serves based on his/her location; therefore, it indicates a determination that the location is available [location is obtained] to discovers services [services must be available around the user] in order for the service discovery to be available to the user; such as further discloses in section I, 4th paragraph, 2nd bullet, where it teaches that when the location is obtained in reference to a reference node then provide the user with different services [description as claimed, by BRI], determination of location in respect to a reference node is analogous to the criterion as claimed, by BRI; there must be met this criterion for the output to be providing services, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation); and in accordance with a determination that one or more second criteria are met, forgo providing the description of the location of the first object, wherein a criterion of the one or more second criteria is met when the location of the first object is not identifiable from the environmental representation (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, as discussed previously and as disclosed in section II.C, 1st 2 paragraphs, the user location is determined from the environmental fingerprints, moreover, the user location is identifiable if either equation 3 or 4 is met the likelihood of the user’s location, therefore, the likelihood of the user location here indicates if the user’s location is identifiable from the environmental fingerprint according to either equation 3 or 4, therefore, when the likelihood is low then the user’s location is not identifiable in that environmental fingerprints, by BRI, covers the scope of the claimed limitation) and wherein in a second criterion of the one or more second criteria is met when a confidence corresponding to the location of the first object does not exceed a confidence threshold (section II.E, 2nd paragraph, discloses when the sight path between the transmitter and the receives is not available, then cannot perform the localization, which covers the scope of this claim’s limitation wherein the second criteria are not met; then forgo providing the description of the location; wherein the criteria here being no sight path of location of the first object is not available, by BRI covers the scope of the claim’s limitation; moreover, in section II.E, 2nd par., the sight path is not available due to obstacles defecting the signal causing an increase in the time taken for the signal to propagate from Tx to Tr according to the equation of 5, and the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver is required to obtain accurate location according to section II.F, 1st 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the distance and time of signal path is the confidence as claimed, and that it must be within a certain time and distance for the strict synchronization of the transmitter and the receiver as discussed, therefore, indicating that these values must be within a certain value or threshold, as being analogous to the recited limitation; therefore, for the second criteria to be met, it cannot exceed acceptable value then for the direct sight path to be available as has been discussed).
However, Zafari does not explicitly disclose wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data; one or more accelerometers; displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers.
In the same field of Indoor Localization (title, Zhang), Zhang discloses wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data (as discussed previously and discloses in Zafari’s section II.C, 2nd paragraph, the environmental fingerprints and the user’s location are determined based on RSSI and RNs and further disclosed Zafari’s page 2587, last paragraph, cameras can be used along with RNs to localize an environment such as the environmental fingerprints of Zafari’s section II.C, 2nd paragraph, as taught in Zhang; therefore, Zhang here teaches this such as disclosed in Zhang’s page 233, the last 2 paragraphs; therefore, it can be understood that the environmental fingerprints can be obtained based on cameras of visual signals or image data, by BRI, covers the claimed limitation; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to have a process that can obtain an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environment representation is generated based on image data. Thus use such image data corresponds to environment for locating the environment effectively, Abstract, Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s environmental representation can be modified to be generated based on image data as taught in Zhang.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari and Zhang share the same field of endeavor of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment; wherein the environmental representation is generated based on image data. Thus use such image data corresponds to environment for locating the environment effectively, Abstract, Zhang
However, Zafari in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose one or more accelerometers; displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers.
In the same field of object localization (Title and Abstract, Ry), Ryu explicitly teaches one or more accelerometers (Par. [0101] discloses “the motion sensing unit may include an acceleration sensor…to sense the movement of the cleaning robot”); wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers (Par. [0081] discloses “the display may also employ a touch screen panel that receives a control command input by the user and displays information on the operation corresponding to the input control command” indicating that the input to perform the object localization is performed and the information regarding the operation is displayed, including all the related information being used for determination of the object localization including the environmental representation to be displayed, which uses RSSI information to determine the environmental information, Par. [0150] discloses “RSSI fingerprint map…improves accuracy of a process of estimating the direction of the station” wherein the RSSI fingerprint map is analogous to the recited environmental representation as claimed, which is analogous to Zafari’s RSSI map of the physical environment for determination of environmental fingerprint; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to use RSSI information to determine environmental fingerprint to locate object in the environment, wherein the RSSI information and displaying of the output processed based on RSSI information and the environmental fingerprint is processed together with acceleration information obtained from an acceleration sensor. Thus in order to have use acceleration to determine linear movement of the robot for more accurate and effective environment monitoring, see Ryu’s Pars [0100-0102] and Par. [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of an electronic device, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s displaying of the environmental representation can be modified to be based on one or more accelerometers, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers as taught in Ryu.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari, Zhang and Ryu share the same field of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have an electronic device, comprising one or more processors; one or more accelerometers; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environmental representation is displayed based on data received from the one or more accelerometers. Thus in order to have use acceleration to determine linear movement of the robot for more accurate and effective environment monitoring, see Ryu’s Pars [0100-0102] and Par. [0111]).
However, Zafari in view of Zhang and Ryu does not explicitly disclose displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation.
In the same field of RSSI fingerprint based for object localization (Title and Abstract, Saha), Saha explicitly teaches displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation (Par. [0027] discloses “technique used here resolves the problem of Wi-Fi device localization, for example, a mobile phone. This method includes learning RSSI fingerprints or RSSI patterns for areas/zones of interest in any indoor environment and consequently using the learnt associated between RSSI values and position data to make precise predictions of device locations in unmarked readings”; moreover, Par. [0027] discloses “regarding FIGS. 1A-1B and FIG. 5, FIG. 1A is the schematic view of Wi-Fi Scanner placement in an indoor area….this method includes learning RSSI fingerprints or RSSI patterns for areas/zones of interest in any indoor environment and consequently using the learnt association between RSSI values and position data to make precise predictions of device locations in unmarked readings…the local area or the indoor environment is partitioned into a graph-pattern of interconnected zones 101a, 101b, and 101c, where each zone characteristics a coverage zone for the Wi-Fi access”, see attached FIG. 1A below
).
Saha’s FIG. 1A shows the RSSI fingerprinting to locate the locations of the Wi-Fi devices in an environment with an indication of where the object is located as a circle, which is analogous to the recited limitation; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to use RSSI information to determine environmental fingerprint to locate object in the environment, wherein the RSSI information and displaying of the output processed based on RSSI information and the environmental fingerprint is processed together to obtain RSSI environmental fingerprint, wherein the RSSI fingerprints is used to locate objects within an environment to be displayed on a display with indication of the objects [marked readings and associated locations] found in the environment. Thus in order to have use such method of dynamics through Wi-Fi device localization in an indoor environment to perform optimal localization accurately, see Saha’s Par. [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of an electronic device, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment. Moreover, Zafari’s displaying of the environmental representation can be modified to have the environmental representation is displayed, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation as taught in Saha.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari, Zhang and Ryu and Saha share the same field of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have an electronic device, comprising one or more processors; a memory; one or more display generation components; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for obtaining an environmental representation corresponding to a physical environment, wherein the environmental representation is displayed, via the one or more display generation components, the environmental representation including an indication overlaid on an object representation. Thus in order to have use such method of dynamics through Wi-Fi device localization in an indoor environment to perform optimal localization accurately, see Saha’s Par. [0007].
Regarding claim 38, Zafari in view of Zhang, wherein Zafari discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein an intent is determined, based on the input, using a neural network (section II.C.2 discloses using of a neural network for an intent to be determined based on an input).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faheem Zafari et. al. (“A Survey of Indoor Localization Systems and Technologies, April 2019, IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, Vol. 21, Issue 3” hereinafter as “Zafari”) in view of C. Zhang et. al. (“LiTell: Indoor localization using unmodified light fixtures: Demo, 2016, in Proc. ACM 22nd Annu. Int. Conf. Mobile Comput. Netw., pp. 481–482” hereinafter as “Zhang”) further in view of Min Woo Ryu et. al. (“US 2018/0098676 A1” hereinafter as “Ryu”) and Abheek Saha et. al. (“US 2021/0281976 A1” hereinafter as “Saha”) further in view of Mingrui Zhang et. al. (“Type, Then Correct: Intelligent Text Correction Techniques for Mobile Text Entry Using Neural Networks, Oct. 2019, ACM Digital library, Association for Computing Machinery, ACM open” hereinafter as “Zhang_2”).
Regarding claim 39, Zafari in view of Zhang further in view of Ryu and Saha explicitly teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
However, Zafari does not explicitly teach receiving, by a neural network, a candidate text representation corresponding to the input; receiving, by the neural network, context information associated with the candidate text representation; determining, by the neural network, an intent confidence score based on the candidate text representation and the context information; and determining, by the neural network, an intent based on the intent confidence score
In the same field of object detection (Title and Abstract, Zhang_2), Zhang_2 explicitly teaches receiving, by a neural network, a candidate text representation corresponding to the input (page 845, 1st column, 2nd to the last par., discloses the candidate text obtained using neural network); receiving, by the neural network, context information associated with the candidate text representation (page 845, 1st column, 2nd to the last par., discloses the candidate includes information of the text string [context information] includes dictionary information); determining, by the neural network, an intent confidence score based on the candidate text representation and the context information (page 845, 1st column, 2nd to the last par., discloses the candidate with the highest score above a threshold is suggested as a correction [confidence score as claimed] based on using the neural network); and determining, by the neural network, an intent based on the intent confidence score (page 845, 1st column, last paragraph, discloses the neural networks used with an intent based on the confidence score determined; the text correction can be used in combination with the reference Zafari since Zafari uses communication through phone messaging according to Zafari’s page 2573, 1st col., 2nd par. ; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to use a neural network to detect candidate texts based on scoring of confidence values to enable a phone system to provide information regarding a result of a processing. Thus in order to have use such method of dynamics through Wi-Fi device localization in an indoor environment to communicate through messaging and texting more accurately, see Zhang_2’s Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Zafari of an electronic device. Moreover, Zafari’s electronic device can be modified to perform receiving, by a neural network, a candidate text representation corresponding to the input; receiving, by the neural network, context information associated with the candidate text representation; determining, by the neural network, an intent confidence score based on the candidate text representation and the context information; and determining, by the neural network, an intent based on the intent confidence score as taught in Zhang_2.
Such a modification is the result of combing prior art elements. Zafari, Zhang and Ryu and Saha share the same field of object localization. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to have electronic device can be modified to perform receiving, by a neural network, a candidate text representation corresponding to the input; receiving, by the neural network, context information associated with the candidate text representation; determining, by the neural network, an intent confidence score based on the candidate text representation and the context information; and determining, by the neural network, an intent based on the intent confidence score. Thus in order to have use such method of dynamics through Wi-Fi device localization in an indoor environment to communicate through messaging and texting more accurately, see Zhang_2’s Abstract.
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kenneth M. Ford et. al., “US 5506937 A”, discloses utilizing a concept-map based representation of a domain of knowledge and several icons to control the mode of output of information from the computer system. Each concept map has concept nodes which represent concepts in the domain of knowledge, links between the concept nodes, and icons. The icons are positioned at the concept nodes and represent alternative modes of output of information from the computer system. A user desiring more information about a concept node can select one of the icons corresponding to the mode of output of information desired. Modes of output of information include audio, video (images and movies), text, concept maps, and combinations of the foregoing. Through the use of concept maps and icons that control modes of output of information, a user may navigate the domain of knowledge and retrieve information specific to the user's particular needs.
Allen E. E. et. al. “US 6076088 A”, discloses An information extraction system that allows users to ask questions about documents in a database, and responds to queries by returning possibly relevant information which is extracted from the documents. The system is domain-independent, and automatically builds its own subject knowledge base. It can be applied to any new corpus of text with quick results, and no requirement for lengthy manual input. For this reason, it is also a dynamic system which can acquire new knowledge and add it to the knowledge base immediately by automatically identifying new names, events, or concepts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG HAU CAI/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673