Claims 1,3,7-11,13, and 16-20 are pending.
Claims 2,4-6,12,14, and 15 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lopez-Pastor LOPEZPASTOR J.A., et al., "Wi-Fi RTT-Based Active Monopulse RADAR for Single Access Point Localization", IEEE Access, IEEE, USA, Vol. 9, 24 February 2021, pp. 34755-34766, XP011844810, Pages 1- 10 hereinafter LOPEZ-PASTOR (as cited in the IDS dated 03/25/2024), in view of Aldana et al, US 20170250831 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lopez Pastor discloses generate a first frame associated with a timestamp(Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
and output the first frame as part of a ranging procedure with a wireless node(pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.),
Lopez Pastor does not discloses an apparatus for wireless communications comprising:at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions;
and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to:
wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame
However, Aldana does disclose an apparatus for wireless communications comprising:at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions([0057] If implemented in firmware and/or software, the functions may be stored as one or more instructions or program code on a computer-readable medium, such as medium 160 and/or secondary memory.);
and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to([0070] Program code may be resident on non-transitory computer readable media 378 and/or memory 330 and may be read and executed by processors 350.):
wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame([0199] a Fine Timing Measurement (FTM) frame from the corresponding STA. The FTM frame may include at least one of: or Channel Impulse Response (CIR) information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with an apparatus for wireless communications comprising:at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to: wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization. (Aldana, [0004])
Regarding claim 3 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the first frame comprises:
a fine time measurement (FTM) frame(pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
an acknowledgment (ACK) frame(pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
or a location measurement report (LMR) frame(optional element is not required).
Regarding claim 20 Lopez-Pastor discloses A wireless node comprising: generate a first frame associated with a timestamp (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the first frame, as part of a ranging procedure with a wireless node (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.),
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose at least one transceiver,at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the wireless node to: wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame.
However, Aldana does disclose at least one transceiver,at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions([0067] AP 240 may include, for example, one or more processor(s) 350, memory 330, coupled storage 360, and transceiver 390);
And one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the wireless node to([0070] Program code may be resident on non-transitory computer readable media 378 and/or memory 330 and may be read and executed by processors 350):
wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame([0199] a Fine Timing Measurement (FTM) frame from the corresponding STA. The FTM frame may include at least one of: or Channel Impulse Response (CIR) information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with at least one transceiver,at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the wireless node to: wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization. (Aldana, [0004])
Claims 8-11,13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lopez-Pastor LOPEZPASTOR J.A., et al., "Wi-Fi RTT-Based Active Monopulse RADAR for Single Access Point Localization", IEEE Access, IEEE, USA, Vol. 9, 24 February 2021, pp. 34755-34766, XP011844810, Pages 1- 10 hereinafter LOPEZ-PASTOR (as cited in the IDS dated 03/25/2024), and in further view of Aldana et al, US 20170250831 A1.
Regarding claim 8 Lopez-Pastor discloses obtain, from the wireless node, a second frame (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request.);
estimate a timestamp based on the second frame (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps.);
and adjust the estimated timestamp, based on the information regarding the transmit impulse response of the second frame (pg 34763 col.2 par.3, pg. 34757 col.2 par.1,Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. Moreover, the calculation of ToF requires computing the CIR (Channel Impulse Response) from CSI information and the use of dead reckoning system.).
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
However, Aldana does disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to([0070] Program code may be resident on non-transitory computer readable media 378 and/or memory 330 and may be read and executed by processors 350.):
obtain information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame ([0199] The FTM frame includes Channel Impulse Response (CIR) of the previous frame.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor with the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: obtain information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to output for transmission signaling of third information regarding a residual error in the estimated timestamp (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.).
Regarding claim 10, Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the information regarding the residual error in the estimated timestamp is signaled via (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTMACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.):
the first frame (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
or a location measurement report (LMR) frame (optional element is not required).
Regarding claim 11, Lopez-Pastor discloses obtain, from a wireless node, a first frame as part of a ranging procedure (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request.);
estimate a timestamp based on the first frame (pg 34763 col.2 par.3, pg. 34757 col.2 par.1,Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. Moreover, the calculation of ToF requires computing the CIR (Channel Impulse Response) from CSI information and the use of dead reckoning system.);
adjust the estimated timestamp for the first frame based on the information regarding the transmit impulse response of the first frame (pg 34763 col.2 par.3, pg. 34757 col.2 par.1,Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. Moreover, the calculation of ToF requires computing the CIR (Channel Impulse Response) from CSI information and the use of dead reckoning system.);
and output a frame with a value being based on the adjusted estimated timestamp as part of the ranging procedure (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps.).
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose an apparatus for wireless communications comprising:at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; andone or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to:
However, Aldana does disclose an apparatus for wireless communications comprising:at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions([0067] AP 240 may include, for example, one or more processor(s) 350, memory 330, coupled storage 360, and transceiver 390));
And one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to([0070] Program code may be resident on non-transitory computer readable media 378 and/or memory 330 and may be read and executed by processors 350.):
obtain information, from the first frame, regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame([0199] The FTM frame includes Channel Impulse Response (CIR) of the previous frame.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor with an apparatus for wireless communications comprising:at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; andone or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to: obtain information, from the first frame, regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the first frame comprises:
a fine time measurement (FTM) frame (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
an acknowledgment (ACK) frame (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
or a location measurement report (LMR) frame (optional element is not required).
Regarding claim 17 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein output for transmission a second frame used to estimate a timestamp as part of the ranging procedure (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
and output information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame (pg 34763 col.2 par.3, pg. 34757 col.2 par.1,Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. Moreover, the calculation of ToF requires computing the CIR (Channel Impulse Response) from CSI information and the use of dead reckoning system.).
Lopez-Pastor does not the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
However, Aldana does disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to([0059] The controller/processor 675 implements the L2 layer. The controller/processor 675 can be associated with a memory 676 that stores program codes and data. The memory 676 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium.):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Regarding claim 18 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to output for transmission signaling of information regarding residual error in the estimated timestamp via (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.):
a second frame used to estimate a timestamp as part of a ranging procedure (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator. This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps.);
or a location measurement report (LMR) frame(optional element is not required).
Regarding claim 19 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus further comprising at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to receive the first frame and the apparatus is configured to operate as a wireless station (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lopez-Pastor LOPEZPASTOR J.A., et al., "Wi-Fi RTT-Based Active Monopulse RADAR for Single Access Point Localization", IEEE Access, IEEE, USA, Vol. 9, 24 February 2021, pp. 34755-34766, XP011844810, Pages 1- 10 hereinafter LOPEZ-PASTOR (as cited in the IDS dated 03/25/2024), in view of Aldana et al, US 20170250831 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Segev et al, US 20200021979 A1.
Regarding claim 7 Lopez-Pastor discloses obtain, after the sounding sequence, an indication of a residual error in each of the timestamps (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTMACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
adjust the timestamps, based on the indication of the residual error (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
and calculate a round trip time (RTT), based on the adjusted timestamps, as part of the ranging procedure (pg.34757 col.1 par.1 This FTM standard allows digital Round-Trip-Time (RTT) measurements, which would be equivalent to the analog radio-frequency (RF) echo two-way travel time, from which the range distance R can be calculated with a meters' level accuracy.);
and output a frame with a value determined based on the calculated RTT (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps).
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
However, Aldana does disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to([0059] The controller/processor 675 implements the L2 layer. The controller/processor 675 can be associated with a memory 676 that stores program codes and data. The memory 676 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium.):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Lopez-Pastor and Aldana do not disclose obtain, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence;
However, Segev does disclose obtain, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence ([0101] [0127] The sounding signal may in some embodiments be the LTF symbols used for demodulating the payload in the FTM and ACK frames. Therefore, in some embodiments the receiver may know the sounding sequence. Generate a first sounding frame for the STA2, the first timestamp associated with a transmission of the first sounding frame.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor and Aldana with obtain, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence as taught by Segev. The motivation for doing so would be to provide direct conversion functionality. (Segev, [0038]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lopez-Pastor LOPEZPASTOR J.A., et al., "Wi-Fi RTT-Based Active Monopulse RADAR for Single Access Point Localization", IEEE Access, IEEE, USA, Vol. 9, 24 February 2021, pp. 34755-34766, XP011844810, Pages 1- 10 hereinafter LOPEZ-PASTOR (as cited in the IDS dated 03/25/2024), in view of Aldana et al, US 20170250831 A1., and in further view of Segev et al, US 20200021979 A1.
Regarding claim 16 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the output, after the sounding sequence, an indication of a residual error in each of the timestamps (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTMACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.).
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
However, Aldana does disclose the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to([0059] The controller/processor 675 implements the L2 layer. The controller/processor 675 can be associated with a memory 676 that stores program codes and data. The memory 676 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium.):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Lopez-Pastor and Aldana do not disclose output for transmission, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence;
However, Segev does disclose output for transmission, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence ([0101] [0127] The sounding signal may in some embodiments be the LTF symbols used for demodulating the payload in the FTM and ACK frames. Therefore, in some embodiments the receiver may know the sounding sequence. Generate a first sounding frame for the STA2, the first timestamp associated with a transmission of the first sounding frame.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor and Aldana with output for transmission, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence as taught by Segev. The motivation for doing so would be to provide direct conversion functionality. (Segev, [0038]).
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419