Claims 1,3,7-11,13, and 16-20 are pending.
Claims 2,4-6,12,14, and 15 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the cited reference fails to disclose “wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame.” Referring to specification, Applicant argues that “the claims require that the first itself carries information regarding the transmit impulse response of that very same first frame rather than information regarding a transmit impulse response of some other, previously transmitted frame.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner respectfully notes that the claim is broader than what applicant appears to argue. Although the claim recites “transmit impulse response of the first frame as part of the first frame,” the claim does not limit the claim wherein the first frame is only one frame. In other words, the first frame can further comprise one or more frame that can include one or more of a previous frame. Alternatively stated, the first frame can be further defined as one or more frames including the currently transmitted frame and previously transmitted frame, therefore, including the transmit impulse response of the first frame as a part of the first frame reads on the cited reference. As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
To overcome the reference, Applicant can amend the claim to recite that the first frame does not include any of the previous frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3, 8-10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lopez-Pastor LOPEZPASTOR J.A., et al., "Wi-Fi RTT-Based Active Monopulse RADAR for Single Access Point
Localization", IEEE Access, IEEE, USA, Vol. 9, 24 February 2021, pp. 34755-34766, XP011844810, Pages 1-
10 hereinafter LOPEZ-PASTOR (as cited in the IDS dated 03/25/2024), in view of Aldana et al, US 20170250831 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lopez Pastor discloses generate a first frame associated with a timestamp(Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
and output transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the first frame as part of a ranging procedure with a wireless node
(pg. 34757 col.2par. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.),
Lopez Pastor does not disclose at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions;
and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to:
wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame.
However, Aldana does disclose an apparatus for wireless communications comprising:at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions ([0057] If implemented in firmware and/or software, the functions may be stored as one or more instructions or program code on a computer readable medium, such as medium 160 and/or secondary memory.);
and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to ([0070] Program code may be resident on non-transitory computer readable media 378 and/or memory330 and may be read and executed by processors 350.):
wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame([0199] a Fine Timing Measurement (FTM)frame from the corresponding STA. The FTM frame may include at least one of: or Channel Impulse Response (CIR) information.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with an apparatus for wireless communications comprising: at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor executable instructions to cause the apparatus to: wherein the first frame comprises signaling including information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization. (Aldana, [0004])
Regarding claim 3 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the first frame comprises:a fine time measurement (FTM) frame(pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it
dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
an acknowledgment (ACK) frame(pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 When the request is received by the
responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
or a location measurement report (LMR) frame(optional element is not required).
Regarding claim 8 Lopez-Pastor discloses estimate a timestamp based on the second frame(Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps.);
and adjust the estimated timestamp, based on the information regarding the transmit impulse response of the second frame(pg 34763 col.2 par.3, pg. 34757 col.2 par.1,Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1
This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the
associated timestamps. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. Moreover, the calculation of ToF requires computing the CIR (Channel Impulse Response) from CSI information and the use of dead reckoning system.).
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame: receive, via the at least one transceiver, from the wireless node, a second frame; receive, via the at least one transceiver, information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame.
However, Aldana does disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to(
[0070] Program code maybe resident on non-transitory computer readable media 378 and/or memory330 and may be read and executed by processors 350.):
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from the wireless node, a second frame([0199] The FTM frame includes Channel Impulse Response (CIR) of the previous frame.);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame([0199] The FTM frame includes Channel Impulse Response (CIR) of the previous frame.)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor with the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame: receive, via the at least one transceiver, from the wireless node, a second frame; receive, via the at least one transceiver, information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame as taught
by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to output transmit, via the at least one transceiver, for transmission signaling of third information regarding a residual error in the estimated timestamp(Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.).
Regarding claim 10, Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the information regarding the residual error in the estimated timestamp is signaled via(Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.):
the first frame (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an
acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
or a location measurement report (LMR) frame(optional element is not required).
Regarding claim 20 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a wireless node (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.).
Claims 7,11,13, and 16-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lopez-Pastor LOPEZPASTOR J.A., et al., "Wi-Fi RTT-Based Active Monopulse RADAR for Single Access Point
Localization", IEEE Access, IEEE, USA, Vol. 9, 24 February 2021, pp. 34755-34766, XP011844810, Pages 1-10 hereinafter LOPEZ-PASTOR (as cited in the IDS dated 03/25/2024), in view of Aldana et al, US
20170250831 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Segev et al, US 20200021979 A1.
Regarding claim 7 Lopez-Pastor discloses obtain receive, via the at least one transceiver, after the sounding sequence, an indication of a residual error in each of the timestamps (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTMACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
adjust the timestamps, based on the indication of the residual error(Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
and calculate a round trip time (RTT), based on the adjusted timestamps, as part of the ranging procedure (pg.34757 col.1 par.1 This FTM standard allows digital Round-Trip-Time (RTT)
measurements, which would be equivalent to the analog radio-frequency (RF) echo two-way travel time, from which the range distance R can be calculated with a meters' level accuracy.);
and output transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a frame with a value determined based on the calculated RTT (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps).
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
However, Aldana does disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to[0059] The controller/processor 675 implements the L2 layer. The controller/processor 675 can be associated with a memory676 that stores program codes and data. The memory 676 may be referred to as a computer readable medium.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to as taught by Wagner. The motivation for doing so would be to improve noise robustness by trading measurement speed for dynamic range. (Wagner, [0325])
Lopez-Pastor and Aldana do not disclose obtain receive, via the at least one transceiver, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence;
However, Segev does disclose obtain receive, via the at least one transceiver, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence ([0101] [0127] The sounding signal may in some embodiments be the LTF symbols used for demodulating the payload in the FTM and ACK frames. Therefore, in some embodiments the receiver may know the sounding sequence. Generate a first sounding frame for the STA2, the first timestamp associated with a transmission of the first sounding frame.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor and Aldana with obtain receive, via the at least one transceiver, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence as taught by Segev. The motivation for doing so would be to provide direct conversion functionality. (Segev, [0038])
Regarding claim 11, Lopez-Pastor discloses estimate a timestamp based on the first frame(pg 34763 col.2 par.3, pg. 34757 col.2 par.1,Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. Moreover, the calculation of ToF requires computing the CIR (Channel Impulse Response) from CSI information and the use of dead reckoning system.);
adjust the estimated timestamp for the first frame based on the information regarding the transmit impulse response of the first frame(pg 34763 col.2 par.3, pg. 34757 col.2 par.1,Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. Moreover, the calculation of ToF requires computing the CIR (Channel Impulse Response) from CSI information and the use of dead reckoning system.).
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose an apparatus for wireless communications comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions;
and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain receive, via the at least one transceiver information, from the first frame, information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame;
However, Aldana does disclose an apparatus for wireless communications comprising: at least one transceiver([0067]AP 240 may include, for example, one or more processor(s) 350, memory330, coupled storage 360, and transceiver 390);
at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions([0070] Program code may be resident on non-transitory computer readable media 378 and/or memory 330 and may be read and executed by processors 350.);
and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to ([0070] Program code may be resident on non-transitory computer readable media 378 and/or memory 330 and may be read and executed by processors 350.):
obtain receive, via the at least one transceiver, from a wireless node, a first frame as part of a ranging procedure([0199] The FTM frame includes Channel Impulse Response (CIR) ofthe previous frame.);
obtain receive, via the at least one transceiver information, from the first frame, information regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame([0199] The FTM frame includes Channel Impulse Response (CIR) ofthe previous frame.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor with an apparatus for wireless
communications comprising: at least one transceiver: at least one memory comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or in any combination, to execute the processor executable instructions to cause the apparatus to: obtain information, from the first frame, regarding a transmit impulse response of the first frame as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Lopez-Pastor and Aldana do not disclose and output transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a frame with a value being based on the adjusted estimated timestamp as part of the ranging procedure
However, Segev does disclose and output transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a frame with a value being based on the adjusted estimated timestamp as part of the ranging procedure([0101] [0127] The sounding signal may in some embodiments be the LTF symbols used for demodulating the payload in the FTM and ACK frames. Therefore, in some embodiments the receiver may know the sounding sequence. Generate a first sounding frame for the STA2, the first timestamp associated with a transmission of the first sounding frame.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor and Aldanawith and output transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a frame with a value being based on the adjusted estimated timestamp as part of the ranging procedure as taught by Segev. The motivation for doing so would be to provide direct conversion functionality. (Segev, [0038])
Regarding claim 13, Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the first frame comprises:
a fine time measurement (FTM) frame(pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
an acknowledgment (ACK) frame(pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 When the request is received by the
responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.);
or a location measurement report (LMR) frame(optional element is not required).
Regarding claim 16 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus and output transmit, via the at least one transceiver, after the sounding sequence, an indication of a residual error in each of the timestamps (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTMACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.).
Lopez-Pastor does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
However, Aldana does disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to ([0059] The controller/processor 675 implements the L2 layer. The controller/processor 675 can be associated with a memory676 that stores program codes and data. The memory676maybereferredto as a computer-readable medium.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with the one or more processors are
configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Lopez-Pastor and Aldana do not disclose transmit, via the at least one transceiver, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence;
However, Segev does disclose transmit, via the at least one transceiver, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence ([0101] [0127] The sounding signal may in some embodiments be the LTF symbols used for demodulating the payload in the FTM and ACK frames. Therefore, in some embodiments the receiver may know the sounding sequence. Generate a first sounding frame for the STA2, the first timestamp associated with a transmission of the first sounding frame.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez-Pastor and Aldana with output for
transmission, as part of the ranging procedure, signaling indicating a timestamp for each of multiple
acknowledgment frames that are part of a sounding sequence as taught by Segev. The motivation for
doing so would be to provide direct conversion functionality. (Segev, [0038])
Regarding claim 17 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a second frame used to estimate a timestamp as part of the ranging procedure(Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.);
and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, information regarding a transmit impulse response of the second frame (pg 34763 col.2 par.3, pg. 34757 col.2 par.1,Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. Moreover, the calculation of ToF requires computing the CIR (Channel Impulse Response)from CSI information and the use of dead reckoning system.).
Lopez-Pastor does not the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
However, Aldana does disclose the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to ([0059] The controller/processor 675 implements the L2 layer. The controller/processor 675 can be associated with a memory 676 that stores program codes and data. The memory 676 maybe referred to as a computer readable medium.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lopez Pastor with the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the
apparatus to as taught by Aldana. The motivation for doing so would be to improve UE location determination and/or channel characterization (Aldana, [0004]).
Regarding claim 18 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to output for transmission transmit, via the at least one transceiver, signaling of information regarding residual error in the estimated timestamp via (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1, pg 34758 col. 2 par. 1 This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps. The estimated RTT ranging error is more significant for shortest distances.):
a second frame used to estimate a timestamp as part of a ranging procedure (Fig.2 pg. 34757 col. 2 par. 1 When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK)frame to the initiator. This initiates an exchange of two FTM-ACK frames from which the RTT can be calculated from the associated timestamps.);
or a location measurement report (LMR) frame(optional element is not required).
Regarding claim 19 Lopez-Pastor discloses the apparatus wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a wireless station (pg. 34757 col.2 par.1 The first message frame sent by the initiator to the responder is labeled as FTM request. When the request is received by the responder, it dispatches an acknowledge (ACK) frame to the initiator.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419