DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 09/23/2022.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “sequences of instructions” in line 4 and should recite “one or more instruction sequences” to be consistent with the language in lines 5-6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsumura (Design and Evaluation of an Auto-Memoization Processor).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 17, Tsumura discloses an apparatus comprising: one or more processor cores configured to execute instructions [section 1]; and hardware-based logic to, detect loops in sequences of instructions [section 1; the system detects loop iterations]; memoize one or more loops that are repeated during execution of the one or more instruction sequences [section 2.1; the system memoizes loops]; predict an instance of a loop in an instruction sequence is a memoized loop [sections 2.1, 2.3; the system detects a match between executing code and a memoized loop; the system does this first my using an address to predict a possible match, and then confirming the match by comparing other data related to the loop]; and for the predicted instance of the memoized loop, remove instructions in the predicted instance of the memoized loop from the instruction sequence [section 2.1; in response to detecting a matching memoized loop, the system omits the execution of those instructions]; determine input data loaded into input registers at a start of the loop are the same as in previous instances of the memoized loop [section 2.1; the system compares inputs of the executing instructions to the inputs of the memoized loop]; and when the input data are the same, continue execution of instructions in the instruction sequence [section 2.1; when the input matches, the loop instructions are omitted and execution continues].
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 18, Tsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the hardware-based logic is further configured to: store an output context for the memoized loop comprising output register values upon completion of the loop and memory loads and/or stores and their order performed via execution of the memoized loop [section 2; the system stores an output context associated with the memoized loop]; and reproduce the output context of the memoized loop as if the instructions in the memoized loop had been executed [section 2; the system outputs the stored output context instead of executing the loop].
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 19, Tsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus further comprises: a loop memoization table configured to store a plurality of entries, each entry containing information pertaining to a respective memoized loop [section 2; the system uses a table to store data pertaining to memoized loops] including, a loop start program counter (PC) [section 2; Figure 4; the table includes a PC that represents the start address of the memoizable region]; an input register signature comprising a set of input register values when the loop begins [section 2; Figure 4; the table includes a set of input register values]; and an output register signature comprising a set of output register values when the loop is completed [section 2, Figure 4; the table includes a set of output register values associated with a set of input values].
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Tsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a post-retirement Uop buffer [section 2, Figure 2; the system includes a buffer and a table for storing loop instructions after they have been executed], wherein the hardware-based logic is further configured to: write retired Uops to the post-retirement Uop buffer [section 2, Figure 2; the buffer and table store values of instructions that have been executed]; inspect retired Uops in the post-retirement Uop buffer to identify loops that are repeated [section 2; the system detects loops of instructions]; and identify repeated loops that are candidates for memoization [section 2; the loops are memoized].
Regarding claim 8, Tsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the loops are identified as being repeated, at least in part, by tracking back branch program counters [section 2.1; a system detects a loop by detecting a back branch instruction and its branch target].
Regarding claim 9, Tsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a memoize context buffer that is used to track input and output values through registers and loads/stores and an order in which they occur when a memoized loop is executed [section 2; the inputs and outputs of a loop are tracked, including their order].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 13-15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/COREY S FAHERTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183