Status of Application
Claims 1-11 are pending and presented for examination on the merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 7, and 11 each recites “normal” in the last line and that term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, charging the cell to full voltage is considered. Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are rejected on the same ground for depending on the indefinite independent claims 1 and 7.
Further, claim 2 recites a limitation starting with “preferably” in line 2. Claim 7 contains a limitation starting with “possibly” in line 6. It is unclear whether these limitations are required. For examination purposes, they are considered not required.
Also, claim 2 recites “the partial charge step” and claim 7 recites the same term in lines 5 and 6. Claim 3 recites "the initial partial charge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the respective claim. For examination purposes, the terms are considered to refer to step c.
Claim 2 recites “…to stimulate further SEI loss” at the end and claim 7 recites the same limitation in line 6. However, according to the paragraph starting line 21 of Page 11 of the specification, the formation cycle, or charging step, can be repeated one or more times to further complete the formation of the SEI. It raises confusion whether the SEI is lost or completed in the claim step. For examination purposes, further SEI formation is considered.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the formation cycles" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the term is considered to refer to step c according to the paragraph starting line 21 of Page 11 of the specification.
Claim 10 recites “an elevated storage step” raises confusion about what is being elevated. For examination purposes, the term is considered to refer to elevated temperature storage as mentioned at the top of Page 13 of the specification.
Claim 11 fails to recite an action in step a) in line 2. For examination purposes, it is considered to recite “a) pre-lithiating an anode”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2011/0236751 to Amiruddin et al. (hereinafter Amiruddin I), in view of US 2012/0107680 to Amiruddin et al. (hereinafter Amiruddin II).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Amiruddin I teaches a process of maximizing specific capacity and capacity retention of a lithium ion cell comprising: a) providing an anode, b) assembling the anode, a cathode, a separator and electrolyte into a sealed cell ([0004]; [0052]), c) charging the cell to a voltage above that of electrolyte reduction but below that voltage that would violate the anode maximum safe lithium capacity, e.g. first charging to a lower voltage and/or subsequent charging at least to the operational voltage to activate the cell ([0019]; [0030]; [0031]; [0071]; [0072]; [0078]), d) discharging or partially discharging the cell ([0031-33]; [0079]); and e) charging the cell to the full voltage in subsequent charging and discharging cycles and/or when ready for use ([0019]; [0078]; [0079]).
Amiruddin I does not expressly teach pre-lithiating the anode in step a).
Amiruddin II also relates to a lithium ion cell and teaches that supplemental lithium can be provided to the negative electrode active material prior to assembly of the battery (abstract; [0065-67]; [0070]; [0121]; [0143]; [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to have pre-lithiated the anode prior to assembly of the lithium ion cell in the process of Amiruddin I, motivated by the fact that Amiruddin II teaches that the inclusion of the supplemental lithium in the negative electrode results in dramatic decrease in the fading of specific capacity of the positive electrode active material by stabilizing the positive electrode active material and significantly improves cycling over a large number of cycles with significantly reduced facing of the battery capacities ([0040]; [0073]; [0150-152]).
Regarding claim 2, the cell is discharged and the partial charge step or step c) is repeated, as in the case of getting the battery ready for use or in the case of repeated charge/discharge cycling ([0078]; [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, an elevated temperature is applied to the cell after the initial partial charge or step c) for, e.g. at least about 12 hours ([0031]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Amiruddin I teaches that cell specific capacity and volumetric capacity density are increased ([0057]) and that cell capacity retention is increased (abstract; [0082]). Furthermore, since the prior arts render the claimed method obvious, the same results would have necessarily followed.
Regarding claim 6, step c) is performed at elevated temperature as it is combined with one or more resting step at an elevated temperature ([0031]; [0071]; [0075]; [0078]).
Regarding claim 7, Amiruddin I teaches a process of maximizing specific capacity and capacity retention of a lithium ion cell (abstract) comprising: a) providing an anode, b) assembling the anode, a cathode, a separator and electrolyte into a sealed cell ([0004]; [0052]), c) heating the cell to an elevated temperature as an elevated temperature is applied during one or more of the resting periods ([0031]), combined with d) charging the cell to a voltage above that of electrolyte reduction but below that voltage that would violate the anode maximum safe lithium capacity, e.g. charging initially to a lower voltage; and charging fully in subsequent charging and discharging cycles and/or when ready for use ([0004]; [0019]; [0030]; [0031]; [0070-74]; [0078]). The claimed steps e) and f) are optional and thus not required.
Amiruddin I does not expressly teach pre-lithiating the anode in step (a).
However, Amiruddin II also relates to a lithium ion cell and teaches that supplemental lithium supplemental lithium can be provided to the negative electrode active material prior to assembly of the battery using electrochemical deposition (abstract; [0065-67]; [0070]; [0121]; [0143]; [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to have pre-lithiated the anode prior to assembly of the lithium ion cell in the process of Amiruddin I, motivated by the fact that Amiruddin II teaches that the inclusion of the supplemental lithium in the negative electrode results in dramatic decrease in the fading of specific capacity of the positive electrode active material by stabilizing the positive electrode active material and significantly improves cycling over a large number of cycles with significantly reduced facing of the battery capacities ([0040]; [0073]; [0150-152]).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Amiruddin I teaches that cell specific capacity and volumetric capacity density are increased ([0057]) and that cell capacity retention is increased (abstract; [0082]). Furthermore, since the prior arts render the claimed method obvious, the same results would have necessarily followed.
Regarding claim 10, Amiruddin I teaches that a storage step at an elevated temperature is used prior to fully charging the battery ([0031]; [0071]; [0075]]; [0078])
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,748,599. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims 1 and 10 recite all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11 and claim 7 of the current application, receptively. Further, claims 2-6 of the conflicting patent correspond to claims 2-6 of the counterpart. Claims 11-13 of the conflicting patent are the same as claims 8-10 of the instant application.
Conclusion
/Heng M. Chan/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725