DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI (Pub. No.: US 2015/0098184A1) and further in view of Porzio (Patent No.: US 9710016B1).
With respect to claim 1:
TSAI discloses a portable electronic device (fig. 6, item 102 and parag. 0042); a base on the portable electronic device and having at least one connector part (fig. 2, item 108 as in parag. 0042); and an accessory usable with the portable electronic device (fig. 3, item 112) and having at least one connector part (fig. 3, item 114), the at least one connector part on the base and at least one connector part on the accessory configured to cooperate such that: a) the accessory is movable from a starting position, fully spaced from the base, to against the base and guidingly relative to the base in translation in a first direction along a first path portion towards one fully connected relationship with the base (fig. 6 with portable electronic device 102 engaged with accessory device 112 as in parag. 0052);
TSAI does not explicitly disclose b) with the accessory in the one fully connected relationship with the base the accessory is prevented from being separated from the base along a path opposite to the first direction.
Porzio in the same field of endeavor discloses accessory in the one fully connected relationship with the base, the accessory is prevented from being separated from the base along a path opposite to the first direction (abstract discloses that the sidewalls (32,34,36) of the securing apparatus (20) have entrance guides and may be adjusted to secure different sized electronic devices (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Porzio into the teaching of TSAI in order to provide an improved docking station for securing an electronic device in a convenient position, that may be customized to fit different sized electronic devices or cases, that may secure or embed a connector device such as a charging cable, that may help align and guide an electronic device while being received.
With respect to claim 2:
TSAI in view of Porzio discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the at least one connector part on the base comprises a holding surface (fig. 1, item 108 of TSAI is a docking port or holding surface) with and the at least one connector part on the accessory comprises a holding surface that moves relative to the holding surface on the base and into confronting relationship with the holding surface on the base, as an incident of the accessory moving into the one fully connected relationship with the base (TSAI discloses in fig. 6 with device 102 in fully connection with accessory 112), to block the accessory from being moved out of the one fully connected relationship (fig. 1 of Porzio in a docked position without moving).
With respect to claim 3:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 2 wherein the holding surfaces are placed in confronting relationship as an incident of the accessory being moved in the first direction along the first path portion and into the one fully connected relationship with the base whereupon the holding surface on the accessory is moved up to and past the holding surface on the base (fig. 6 discloses the electronic device 102 in placed in confronting relationship with the accessory 112).
With respect to claim 4:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 3 wherein there is a deflectable tab on one of the accessory and base on which the holding surface on the one of the accessory and base is located and with the accessory in the one fully connected relationship the tab can be repositioned to change a relationship between the holding surfaces on the accessory and base thereby allowing the accessory to be moved out of the one fully connected relationship (fig. 6 and 12).
With respect to claim 5:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the at least one connector part on the accessory and the at least one connector part on the base that cooperate to guide the accessory in translation along the first path portion comprise at least one rail on one of the accessory and base that cooperates with at least one slot on the other of the accessory and base (fig. 6-8 and fig. 13 and their corresponding paragraphs).
With respect to claim 6:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the accessory is at least one of: a) a finger loop; b) a case; c) a wallet; d) a mounting base; e) a kickstand; and f) a car mount (fig. 6 which represents a mounting base for a docking station).
With respect to claim 7:
Porzio discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the base is attached to a substantially flat surface on the portable electronic device residing in a first plane and the at least one rail and at least one slot are configured so that the accessory is blocked in movement relative to the base orthogonally to the first plane and away from the substantially flat surface on the portable electronic device (fig. 1 discloses the device that is hooked into the accessory 20).
With respect to claim 8:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 4 wherein the base is attached to a substantially flat surface on the portable electronic device and the tab is repositioned by drawing a part of the tab away from the substantially flat surface on the portable electronic device (fig. 2 and 6).
With respect to claim 9:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the accessory is moved in translation against and relative to the base in the first direction from the starting position into the one fully connected relationship (fig. 6 discloses the accessory 112 moved in transition against the base of electronic device 102 in a connected relationship).
With respect to claim 10:
TSAI in view of Porzio discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the at least one connector part on the base and at least one connector part on the accessory are configured to cooperate such that: a) the accessory is movable from a starting position, fully spaced from the base, to against the base and guidingly against and relative to the base in translation in a second direction along a second path towards another connected relationship with the base; (TSAI discloses in fig. 6 with device 102 in fully connection with accessory 112), and b) with the accessory in the another fully connected relationship with the base the accessory is blocked from being separated from the base (fig. 1 of Porzio in a docked position without moving).
With respect to claim 11:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the at least one connector part on one of the base and accessory comprises a discrete projection that is movable guidingly in a channel defining the at least one connector part on the other of the base and accessory as the accessory is moved in translation in the first path (fig. 1-6 shows connector between the accessory 112 and electronic device 102).
With respect to claim 12:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the base is attached to a substantially flat surface on the portable electronic device and residing in a first plane and the at least one rail and one slot are configured to define a captive rail arrangement that blocks the accessory from being drawn away from the substantially flat surface on the portable electronic device orthogonally to the first plane (fig. 6).
With respect to claim 13:
TSAI in view of Porzio discloses the combination according to claim 3 wherein the accessory is moved in translation against and relative to the base in the first direction from the starting position into the one fully connected relationship and with the holding surfaces on the base (TSAI discloses in fig. 6 with device 102 in fully connection with accessory 112) and accessory in confronting relationship the accessory is blocked from moving in translation against and relative to the base oppositely to the first direction (fig. 1 of Porzio in a docked position without moving).
With respect to claim 14:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the at least one connector part on one of the base and accessory comprises a projection and the at least one connector on the other of the base and accessory comprises a seat for the projection, the seat having oppositely facing holding surfaces that abut the projection to block movement of the accessory in translation relative to the base in the first direction and oppositely to the first direction (fig. 3 is the accessory with connector 114 that engage electronic device base as in fig. 6).
With respect to claim 15:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the at least one connector on the base comprises first and second spaced base holding surfaces and the at least one connector on the accessory comprises first and second spaced accessory holding surfaces, the first and second spaced base holding surfaces respectively in confronting relationship with the first and second spaced accessory holding surfaces to block the accessory from being moved out of the one fully connected relationship (fig. 6).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI (Pub. No.: US 2015/0098184A1), Porzio (Patent No.: US 9710016B1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Daoura (Pub. No.: US 2017/0062974A1).
With respect to claim 16:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; TSAI, Porzio do not explicitly disclose wherein the base has at least one magnet that overlies an area of a surface on the portable electronic device.
Daoura discloses a device having a base with one magnet that overlies an area of the surface of portable electronic device (fig. 9A as in parag. 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Daoura into the teaching of TSAI in view of Porzio in order to facilitate charging of a device such as a phone, tablet, camera, recorder, player, or other mobile electronics and sharing of data.
With respect to claim 17:
Daoura discloses the combination according to claim 16 wherein the portable electronic device includes at least one magnet, the base further including a gripping layer, the gripping layer positioned between the magnet on the base and the magnet on the portable electronic device (fig. 9A as in parag. 0028).
With respect to claim 18:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 5 wherein the at least one connector part on the base comprises a U-shaped edge with spaced substantially parallel lengths and an end portion connecting the spaced substantially parallel lengths to define a "U" shape and the at least one connector part on the accessory comprises a U-shaped slot that receives at least a part of each of the spaced substantially parallel lengths and the end portion of the U-shaped edge with the accessory in the one fully connected relationship with the base (fig. 13A and 13B shows the docking station u shaped plate that the electronic device dock inside. The electronic device has a u shape as well as shown in fig.2).
With respect to claim 19:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the base includes a pattern with discrete elements to engage a complementary pattern on the portable electronic device (fig. 2, 6 and 7).
With respect to claim 20:
TSAI discloses the combination according to claim 1 wherein the base includes a second connector part, the second connector part positioned at an angle to the first connector part, the second connector part providing a second path portion for a second connected relationship between the base and the accessory (fig. 1, 6, 7 and 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649