DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 10/22/2025 for
response of the office action mailed on 8/15/2025. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 14, 16, and 18 have been amended. Claims 5 and 15 have been canceled. Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 10-12), filed on 10/22/2025, with respect to claim 1 have been
fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 11 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Hwang fails to teach or disclose interleaving the modulated first information based on the quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits comprised in the first information. Mere mention of a MAC layer in Hwang as part of background recitations is not sufficient to teach a person skilled in the art that a MAC layer should be used as a basis of interleaving, let alone a particular quantity of layers, MAC, transport, or otherwise.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. HWANG et al. (US 2022/0158760 Al) discloses (“the number of the plurality of first bits may be determined based on at least one of a number of layers for a transport block related to the first encoded code block, a number of bits per a modulation symbol, a number of code blocks included in the transport block, or a total number of coded bits available for the transport block, Hwang: [0219]”, “UE performs interleaving for some bits of an encoded code block., Hwang: Fig. 13, Fig. 17, [0165]-[0168]”, “MAC layer provides a function of mapping multiple logical channels to multiple transport channels, Hwang: [0071]”, and “Referring to FIG. 26, a signal processing circuit 1000 may include scramblers 1010, modulators 1020, a layer mapper 1030, a precoder 1040, resource mappers 1050, and signal generators 1060. Complex modulation symbol sequences may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper 1030. Modulation symbols of each transport layer may be mapped (precoded) to corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder 1040, Hwang: Fig. 16, [0266]-[0268]”).
The newly added limitations in the amendment and the new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (ZHANG et al.) is applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHA
et al. (US 2023/0047906 Al, hereinafter “Cha”) in view of HWANG et al. (US 2022/0158760 Al, hereinafter “Hwang”).
Regarding claim 1, Cha discloses:
A communication method, comprising:
processing first information, wherein a processing process comprises modulation based on π/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK), layer mapping, discrete Fourier transform (DFT) precoding, precoding, and orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform generation (A codeword may be transformed into a radio signal via the signal processing circuit of FIG. 23. Here, the codeword is an encoded bit sequence of an information block. The information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. A modulation scheme may include pi/2-BPSK. a complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding). the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding. the resource mapper may map the modulated symbols of each antenna port to a time-frequency resource. the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbol, Cha: Fig.23, [0476]-[0479]); and
sending the processed first information to a network device (the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols and the generated radio signal may be transmitted to another device through each antenna, Cha: [0479]),
wherein processing the first information comprises modulating the first information using both a quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK (π/2 BPSK modulation is followed, and then DFT is followed as a DMRS sequence for π/2 BPSK modulation with respect to both the PUSCH and the PUCCH. the information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). the bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: [0369], [0477]-[0478]),
wherein the quantity of transport layers is greater than or equal to 1 (A complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding). Output of the precoder may be obtained by multiplying output of the layer mapper by precoding matrix W of N*M. Here, N represents the number of antenna ports and M represents the number of transport layers, Cha: [0478]), and
Cha does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processing process comprises interleaving the modulated first information based on the quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits comprised in the first information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches:
wherein the processing process comprises interleaving the modulated first information based on the quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits comprised in the first information (UE performs interleaving for some bits of an encoded code block. MAC layer provides a function of mapping multiple logical channels to multiple transport channels. Referring to FIG. 26, a signal processing circuit 1000 may include scramblers 1010, modulators 1020, a layer mapper 1030, a precoder 1040, resource mappers 1050, and signal generators 1060. Complex modulation symbol sequences may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper 1030. Modulation symbols of each transport layer may be mapped (precoded) to corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder 1040, Hwang: Fig. 13, Fig. 16-17, [0071], [0165]-[0168], [0266]-[0268]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cha in view of Hwang in order to further modify the processing process that comprises interleaving the modulated first information based on the quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits comprised in the first information from the teachings of Hwang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there is an advantage in that decoding performance is improved (Hwang: [0153]).
Regarding claim 2, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Cha further discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein;
processing the first information comprises (codeword may be transformed into a radio signal via the signal processing circuit and the codeword is an encoded bit sequence of an information block. The information block may include transport blocks, Cha: [0477]):
performing layer mapping on the modulated first information (a complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper, Cha: [0478]);
performing DFT precoding on the first information obtained through layer mapping (Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding), Cha: [0478]);
precoding the first information obtained through DFT precoding (the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding, Cha: [0478]); and
performing OFDM waveform generation on the precoded first information to obtain the first information in a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM] waveform (the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbols. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: [0479]); and
sending the processed first information to the network device comprises (the generated radio signal may be transmitted to another device through each antenna, Cha: [0479]):
sending the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform to the network device (the sequences may be used for Discrete Fourier Transform Spread Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM), Cha: Fig. 13, [0305]).
Regarding claim 3, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Cha further discloses:
The method according to claim 2, wherein modulated symbols corresponding to adjacent bits in the first information are layer mapped to different transport layers (modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper, Cha: [0478]).
Regarding claim 4, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Cha further discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein;
processing the first information comprises:
performing OFDM waveform generation on the precoded first information to obtain the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform (the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbols. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: [0479]); and
sending the processed first information to the network device comprises:
sending the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform to the network device (the sequences may be used for Discrete Fourier Transform Spread Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM), Cha: Fig. 13, [0305]).
Cha does not explicitly disclose:
modulating the first information using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK is performed prior to layer mapping:
performing layer mapping on the interleaved first information;
performing DFT precoding on the first information obtained through layer mapping;
precoding the first information obtained through DFT precoding; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches:
modulating the first information using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK is performed prior to layer mapping (Complex modulation symbol sequences may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. A modulation scheme may include pi/2-Binary Phase Shift Keying (pi/2-BPSK). Modulation symbols of each transport layer may be mapped (precoded) to corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder, Hwang: Fig. 26, [0267]-[0268]):
performing layer mapping on the interleaved first information (MAC layer provides a function of mapping multiple logical channels to multiple transport channels, Hwang: [0071]);
performing DFT precoding on the first information obtained through layer mapping (precoder may perform precoding after performing transform precoding (e.g., DFT) for complex modulation symbols, Hwang: [0268]);
precoding the first information obtained through DFT precoding (precoder may perform precoding after performing transform precoding (e.g., DFT) for complex modulation symbols, Hwang: [0268]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cha in view of Hwang in order to further modify modulating the first information by using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK, and interleaving the modulated first information, performing layer mapping and performing layer mapping from the teachings of Hwang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there is an advantage in that decoding performance is improved (Hwang: [0153]).
Regarding claim 6, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Cha further discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein;
processing the first information comprises:
performing layer mapping on the first information (a complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper, Cha: [0478]);
performing DFT precoding on the modulated first information (the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding, Cha: [0478]);
precoding the first information obtained through DFT precoding (the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding, Cha: [0478]); and
performing OFDM waveform generation on the precoded first information to obtain the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform (the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbols. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: [0479]); and
the sending the processed first information to a network device comprises:
sending the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform to the network device (the sequences may be used for Discrete Fourier Transform Spread Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM), Cha: Fig. 13, [0305]).
Cha does not explicitly disclose:
modulating the first information using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK is performed on the first information following layer mapping; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches:
modulating the first information using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK is performed on the first information following layer mapping (Complex modulation symbol sequences may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. A modulation scheme may include pi/2-Binary Phase Shift Keying (pi/2-BPSK). Modulation symbols of each transport layer may be mapped (precoded) to corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder, Hwang: Fig. 26, [0267]-[0268]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cha in view of Hwang in order to further modify modulating the first information by using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK, and interleaving the modulated first information, performing layer mapping and performing layer mapping from the teachings of Hwang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there is an advantage in that decoding performance is improved (Hwang: [0153]).
Regarding claim 7, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Cha further discloses:
The method according to claim 2, further comprising:
receiving, from the network device, first indication information indicating that a modulation scheme includes π/2 BPSK and transmission of more than one layer is allowed (signal processing process for a receive signal in the wireless device may be configured in the reverse of the signal processing process of FIG. 23. the wireless device may receive the radio signal from the outside through the antenna port/transceiver. The received radio signal may be transformed into a baseband signal through a signal re-constructer. modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: Fig. 23, [0477]-[0478], [0480]); and
determining, based on the first indication information, that the modulation scheme is π/2 BPSK (modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: [0477]).
Regarding claim 11, Cha discloses:
A communication apparatus, comprising (an apparatus comprising one or more memories and one or more processors, Cha: [0016]);
one or more processors (one or more processors control the apparatus to receive. the terminal comprising a transceiver configured to transmit and receive radio signals. a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver, Cha: [0015]-[0016]); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the one or more processors, the program including instructions to (one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (CRM) storing one or more instructions, wherein the one or more instructions executable by the one or more processors allow a terminal to receive a radio resource control (RRC) signaling including control information, Cha: [0017]):
process first information, wherein a processing process comprises modulation based on π/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK], layer mapping, discrete Fourier transform (DFT] precoding, precoding, and orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM] waveform generation (A codeword may be transformed into a radio signal via the signal processing circuit of FIG. 23. Here, the codeword is an encoded bit sequence of an information block. The information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. A modulation scheme may include π /2-BPSK. a complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding). the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding. the resource mapper may map the modulated symbols of each antenna port to a time-frequency resource. the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbol. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: Fig.23, [0476]-[0479]); and
send the processed first information to a network device (the generated radio signal may be transmitted to another device through each antenna, Cha: [0479]),
wherein the instructions to process the first information comprise instructions to modulate the first information using both a quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK (π/2 BPSK modulation is followed, and then DFT is followed as a DMRS sequence for π/2 BPSK modulation with respect to both the PUSCH and the PUCCH. the information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). the bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: [0369], [0477]-[0478]),
wherein the quantity of transport layers is greater than or equal to 1 (A complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding). Output of the precoder may be obtained by multiplying output of the layer mapper by precoding matrix W of N*M. Here, N represents the number of antenna ports and M represents the number of transport layers, Cha: [0478]), and
Cha does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processing process comprises instructions to interleave the modulated first information based on the quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits comprised in the first information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches:
wherein the processing process comprises instructions to interleave the modulated first information based on the quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits comprised in the first information (UE performs interleaving for some bits of an encoded code block. MAC layer provides a function of mapping multiple logical channels to multiple transport channels. Referring to FIG. 26, a signal processing circuit 1000 may include scramblers 1010, modulators 1020, a layer mapper 1030, a precoder 1040, resource mappers 1050, and signal generators 1060. Complex modulation symbol sequences may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper 1030. Modulation symbols of each transport layer may be mapped (precoded) to corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder 1040, Hwang: Fig. 13, Fig. 16-17, [0071], [0165]-[0168], [0266]-[0268]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cha in view of Hwang in order to further modify the processing process that comprises interleaving the modulated first information based on the quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits comprised in the first information from the teachings of Hwang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there is an advantage in that decoding performance is improved (Hwang: [0153]).
Regarding claim 12, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Cha further discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein;
the instruction to process first information comprise instructions to:
perform layer mapping on the modulated first information (Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding), Cha: [0478]);
perform DFT precoding on the first information obtained through layer mapping (the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding, Cha: [0478]);
precode the first information obtained through DFT precoding (the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbols. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: [0479]); and
perform OFDM waveform generation on the precoded first information, to obtain the first information in a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform (the generated radio signal may be transmitted to another device through each antenna, Cha: [0479]); and
the instructions to send the processed first information to the network device comprise instructions to send the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform to the network device (the sequences may be used for Discrete Fourier Transform Spread Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM), Cha: Fig. 13, [0305]).
Regarding claim 13, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Cha further discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein modulated symbols corresponding to adjacent bits in the first information are layer mapped to different transport layers (modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper, Cha: [0478]).
Regarding claim 14, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Cha further discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein;
the instructions to process the first information comprise instructions to:
perform OFDM waveform generation on the precoded first information, to obtain the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform (the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbols. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: [0479]); and
the instructions to send the processed first information to the network device comprise instructions to send the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform to the network device (the sequences may be used for Discrete Fourier Transform Spread Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM), Cha: Fig. 13, [0305]).
Cha does not explicitly disclose:
the instructions to modulate the first information using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK are performed prior to layer mapping:
perform layer mapping on the interleaved first information;
perform DFT precoding on the first information obtained through layer mapping;
precode the first information obtained through DFT precoding; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches:
the instructions to modulate the first information using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK are performed prior to layer mapping (Complex modulation symbol sequences may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. A modulation scheme may include pi/2-Binary Phase Shift Keying (pi/2-BPSK). Modulation symbols of each transport layer may be mapped (precoded) to corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder, Hwang: Fig. 26, [0267]-[0268]):
perform layer mapping on the interleaved first information (MAC layer provides a function of mapping multiple logical channels to multiple transport channels, Hwang: [0071]);
perform DFT precoding on the first information obtained through layer mapping (precoder may perform precoding after performing transform precoding ( e.g., DFT) for complex modulation symbols);
precode the first information obtained through DFT precoding (precoder may perform precoding after performing transform precoding (e.g., DFT) for complex modulation symbols, Hwang: [0268]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cha in view of Hwang in order to further modify modulating the first information by using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK, and interleaving the modulated first information, performing layer mapping and performing layer mapping from the teachings of Hwang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there is an advantage in that decoding performance is improved (Hwang: [0153]).
Regarding claim 16, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Cha further discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein;
the instructions to process first information comprise instructions to:
perform layer mapping on the first information (a complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper, Cha: [0478]);
perform DFT precoding on the modulated first information mapping (the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding, Cha: [0478]);
precode the first information obtained through DFT precoding (the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding, Cha: [0478]); and
perform OFDM waveform generation on the precoded first information to obtain the first information in a (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform (the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbols. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: [0479]); and
the instructions to send the processed first information to the network device comprise instructions to send the first information in a DFT-s-OFDM waveform to the network device (the sequences may be used for Discrete Fourier Transform Spread Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM), Cha: Fig. 13, [0305]).
Cha does not explicitly disclose:
the instructions to modulate the first information using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK are performed on the first information following layer mapping: and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches:
the instructions to modulate the first information using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK are performed on the first information following layer mapping (Complex modulation symbol sequences may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. A modulation scheme may include pi/2-Binary Phase Shift Keying (pi/2-BPSK). Modulation symbols of each transport layer may be mapped (precoded) to corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder, Hwang: Fig. 26, [0267]-[0268]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cha in view of Hwang in order to further modify modulating the first information by using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK, and interleaving the modulated first information, performing layer mapping and performing layer mapping from the teachings of Hwang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because there is an advantage in that decoding performance is improved (Hwang: [0153]).
Regarding claim 17, Cha in view of Hwang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Cha further discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the instructions further cause the communications apparatus to (the terminal comprising a transceiver configured to transmit and receive radio signals. a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver, Cha: [0015]):
receive, from the network device, first indication information indicating that a modulation scheme is π/2 BPSK and transmission of more than one layer is allowed (signal processing process for a receive signal in the wireless device may be configured in the reverse of the signal processing process of FIG. 23. the wireless device may receive the radio signal from the outside through the antenna port/transceiver. The received radio signal may be transformed into a baseband signal through a signal reconstructer. modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: Fig. 23, [0477], [0480]); and
determine, based on the first indication information, that the modulation scheme is π/2 BPSK (modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: [0477]).
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha in view of
ZHANG et al. (US 2021/0297300 Al, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 8, Cha discloses:
A communication method, comprising:
receiving second information from a terminal device (the received radio signal may be transformed into a baseband signal through a signal reconstructor, Cha: [0480]); and
processing the second information, to obtain first information, wherein the first information is information sent by the terminal device, and a processing process comprises modulation based on de-π/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK), de-layer mapping, de-discrete Fourier transform (DFT) precoding, and de-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform (A codeword may be transformed into a radio signal via the signal processing circuit of FIG. 23. Here, the codeword is an encoded bit sequence of an information block. The information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. A modulation scheme may include pi/2-BPSK. a complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding). the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding. the resource mapper may map the modulated symbols of each antenna port to a time-frequency resource. the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbol, Cha: Fig.23, [0476]-[0479]).
wherein processing the second information, to obtain first information, comprises (π/2 BPSK modulation is followed, and then DFT is followed as a DMRS sequence for π/2 BPSK modulation with respect to both the PUSCH and the PUCCH. the information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). the bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: [0369], [0477]-[0478]):
demodulating, using both the quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK (π/2 BPSK modulation is followed, and then DFT is followed as a DMRS sequence for π/2 BPSK modulation with respect to both the PUSCH and the PUCCH. the information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). the bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: [0369],[0477]-[0478]),
the second information obtained through de-layer mapping to obtain the first information, wherein the quantity of transport layers is greater than or equal to 1 (A complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding). Output of the precoder may be obtained by multiplying output of the layer mapper by precoding matrix W of N*M. Here, N represents the number of antenna ports and M represents the number of transport layers, Cha: [0478]).
Cha does not explicitly disclose:
de-interleaving, based on a quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits included in the first information, the second information, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches:
de-interleaving, based on a quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits included in the first information, the second information (FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram of a zero-de-padding, de-interleaving and grid de-mapping. the receiver performs, according to a different combination of interleaving/scrambling pattern information and multidimensional constellation information, multidimensional constellation demodulation and de-interleaving/de-scrambling on the demapped data, Zhang: Fig. 8, [0150], [0277]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cha in view of Zhang in order to further modify de-interleaving, based on a quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits included in the first information, the second information from the teachings of Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the receiver de-interleaves, according to different interleaving pattern information, the de-mapped and multidimensional constellation demodulated data (Zhang: [0274]).
Regarding claim 9, Cha in view of Zhang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Cha further discloses:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the processing the second information, to obtain first information further comprises (a complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper, Cha: [0478]):
performing de-OFDM waveform on the second information comprises (Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding), Cha: [0478]);
performing de-DFT precoding on the second information obtained through de-OFDM waveform (the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding, Cha: [0478]); and
performing de-layer mapping on the second information obtained through de-DFT precoding (the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbols. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: [0479]).
Regarding claim 10, Cha in view of Zhang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Cha further discloses:
The method according to claim 9, further comprising:
performing, to obtain adjacent bits in the first information, de-layer mapping and demodulation on symbols that are from different transport layers and that are in the second information obtained through de-DFT precoding (baseband signal may be reconstructed into the codeword through a resource demapper process, a postcoding process, a demodulation process, and a de-scrambling process. The codeword may be reconstructed into an original information block via decoding. Accordingly, a signal processing circuit for the receive signal may include a signal reconstructor, a resource demapper, a postcoder, a demodulator, a descrambler, and a decoder, Cha: [0480]).
Regarding claim 18, Cha discloses:
A communication apparatus, comprising (an apparatus comprising one or more memories and one or more processors, Cha: [0016]);
one or more processors (one or more processors control the apparatus to receive. the control unit may be constituted by one or more processor sets, Cha: [0015]-[0016], [0485]), and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the one or more processors, the program including instructions to (one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (CRM) storing one or more instructions, wherein the one or more instructions executable by the one or more processors allow a terminal to receive a radio resource control (RRC) signaling including control information, Cha: [0017]):
receive second information from a terminal device (the received radio signal may be transformed into a baseband signal through a signal reconstructor, Cha: [0480]); and
process the second information, to obtain first information, wherein the first information is information sent by the terminal device, and a processing process comprises modulation based on de-π/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK) modulation, de-layer mapping, de-discrete Fourier transform (DFT) precoding, and de-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform (A codeword may be transformed into a radio signal via the signal processing circuit of FIG. 23. Here, the codeword is an encoded bit sequence of an information block. The information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. A modulation scheme may include pi/2-BPSK. a complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding). the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding. the resource mapper may map the modulated symbols of each antenna port to a time-frequency resource. the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbol, Cha: Fig.23, [0476]-[0479]),
wherein the instructions to process the second information, to obtain first information, comprise instructions to demodulate, based on a quantity of transport layers and π/2 BPSK, the second information obtained through de-layer mapping to obtain the first information (π/2 BPSK modulation is followed, and then DFT is followed as a DMRS sequence for π/2 BPSK modulation with respect to both the PUSCH and the PUCCH. the information block may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block and a DL-SCH transport block). the bit sequence may be modulated into a modulated symbol sequence by the modulator. modulation scheme may include π/2-BPSK, Cha: [0369], [0477]-[0478]),
wherein the quantity of transport layers is greater than or equal to 1 (A complex modulated symbol sequence may be mapped to one or more transport layers by the layer mapper. Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding). Output of the precoder may be obtained by multiplying output of the layer mapper by precoding matrix W of N*M. Here, N represents the number of antenna ports and M represents the number of transport layers, Cha: [0478]).
Cha does not explicitly disclose:
de-interleave, based on a quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits included in the first information, the second information, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches:
de-interleave, based on a quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits included in the first information, the second information (FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram of a zero-de-padding, de-interleaving and grid de-mapping. the receiver performs, according to a different combination of interleaving/ scrambling pattern information and multidimensional constellation information, multidimensional constellation demodulation and de-interleaving/de-scrambling on the demapped data, Zhang: Fig. 8, [0150], [0277]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cha in view of Zhang in order to further modify de-interleaving, based on a quantity of transport layers and a quantity of bits included in the first information, the second information from the teachings of Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the receiver de-interleaves, according to different interleaving pattern information, the de-mapped and multidimensional constellation demodulated data (Zhang: [0274]).
Regarding claim 19, Cha in view of Zhang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 18 above.
Cha further discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the instructions to process the second information, to obtain the first information, comprise instructions to:
perform de-OFDM waveform on the second information (Modulated symbols of each transport layer may be mapped to a corresponding antenna port(s) by the precoder (precoding), Cha: [0478]);
perform de-DFT precoding on the second information obtained through de-OFDM waveform (the precoder may perform precoding after performing DFT transform precoding, Cha: [0478]); and
perform de-layer mapping on the second information obtained through de-DFT precoding (the time-frequency resource may include a plurality of DFT-s-OFDMA symbols. the signal generator may generate the radio signal from the mapped modulated symbols, Cha: [0479]).
Regarding claim 20, Cha in view of Zhang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Cha further discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to (the one or more instructions executable by the one or more processors, Cha: [0017]):
perform, to obtain adjacent bits in the first information, de-layer mapping and demodulation on symbols that are from different transport layers and that are in the second information obtained through de-DFT precoding (baseband signal may be reconstructed into the codeword through a resource demapper process, a postcoding process, a demodulation process, and a de-scrambling process. The codeword may be reconstructed into an original information block via decoding. Accordingly, a signal processing circuit for the receive signal may include a signal reconstructor, a resource demapper, a postcoder, a demodulator, a descrambler, and a decoder, Cha: [0480]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
be directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM EST.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467