Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is filed in response to Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment filed 10/28/2025.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 13, & 19-20 are amended.
Claim 12 is cancelled.
The U.S.C. 101 rejections are respectfully withdrawn.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1, Applicant argues in Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment filed 10/28/2025, pg. 14-17, that prior art fails to teach the primary claim limitations, “wherein the scenario settings are applicable to multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario; presenting a list of the multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario; receiving a selection, from the list of the multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario, of a first model; receiving model settings for the first model, wherein the model settings for the first model include at least one modification to a corresponding scenario setting for the predictive scenario;… be able to implement the predictive scenario, of a second model for comparison to the first model, wherein the second model is: trained using model settings for the second model that are different from the model settings of the first model; and used to generate another prediction for the predictive scenario that is different from predictions received from the first model”
Response to Argument 1, applicants arguments have been considered, however in light of the amendments a newly found combination of prior art (U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz”, in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”) is applied to updated rejections.
The examiner notes that the claim language “wherein the scenario settings are applicable to multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenarios”, does not require multiple models to implement the scenario, but rather that the scenario may be applicable to multiple models. Sarferaz teaches that a predictive data for a sales scenario may be applicable to one of the multiple models available in the algorithm library of Sarferaz, wherein the library include prediction like regression, clustering, classification, or time series analysis. This is supported by Sarferaz, para. [0014], use cases such as forecasting, key influencers, and trending can be solved with classic machine learning algorithms like regression, clustering, classification, or time series analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11, 14, 17, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz” in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”.
Claim 1:
Sarferaz teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving scenario settings for a predictive scenario for a target field of a dataset (i.e. para. [0060], “A user (e.g., a data scientist) associated with the entity can determine which fields (e.g., of sales information data) are relevant for such a use case”, wherein the BRI for scenario settings encompasses data associated with application functionality), wherein the scenario settings are applicable to multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario (i.e. para. [0014], “use cases such as forecasting, key influencers, and trending can be solved with classic machine learning algorithms like regression, clustering, classification, or time series analysis”, wherein a sales data scenario is applicable to multiple predictive models, such as regression, clustering, classification, or time series analysis);
Presenting a list of the multiple artificial intelligence models (i.e. para. [0041], “The intention is to harmonize the management of ML models 312 and to provide a simple common interface to allow applications to interact with different types of supported ML libraries without the requirement for applications to develop ML-engine-specific code”, wherein the BRI for a list of models encompasses a display of a library repository of relevant algorithms) that are able to implement the predictive scenario (i.e. para. [0015], “the client device 110 may comprise a display module (not shown) to display information (e.g., in the form of user interfaces)”, wherein it is noted that the algorithms may be Predictive Analytics);
Receiving a selection, from the list of the multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario, of a first model (i.e. para. [0044], The ML model 312 can then be consumed via the CDS view for ML 318 which accesses the ML model 312 via an API (e.g., the PAI: repository, engine adapter, and API 326). The API inputs data required for the ML model 312, receives the output of the ML model 312, and returns the output to the CDS view for ML 318) ; receiving model settings for the first model, wherein the model settings for the first model include at least one modification to a corresponding scenario setting for the predictive scenario (i.e. para. [0044], “a CDS view 316 is defined to identify or describe which attributes or application information columns are to be used to train a machine learning model (e.g., for a sales order, forecast, or inquiry about a customer)”, wherein the BRI for a model setting encompasses an attribute used to train the selected model);
combining the scenario settings and model settings for the first model to generate first model parameters for the first model (i.e. para. [0061], the computing system generates a view comprising the specified fields. In one example embodiment, the computing system generates a CDS view 318 comprising the specified fields. This CDS view 318 is then used for training the corresponding machine learning model), wherein the combining includes including the at least one modification to the corresponding scenario setting for the predictive scenario in the first model parameters (i.e. para. [0074], “the computing system determines that the first attribute corresponds to data to be generated by a first machine learning model (e.g., that has been previously trained using the method 1000 described above with respect to FIG. 10)”, wherein the specified predictive model algorithm is updated to use the functional data, such as sales data, in combination with a desired attribute of data to be generated, such as a forecast); processing a copy of the dataset based on the first model parameters to generate a prepared dataset (i.e. para. [0061], ”the computing system accesses application data to generate data corresponding to the specified fields to train the first machine learning model using the specified machine learning algorithm. For example, the computing system accesses application data or tables 324 and puts this data to the machine learning algorithm to train the first machine learning model”, wherein the BRI for a copy encompasses accessing data from a specified dataset and inputting a copy of the data into a machine learning algorithm); providing the prepared dataset and the first model parameters to a predictive analytical library that is configured to build, train, and test artificial intelligence models (i.e. para. [0066] “the SQL script procedure 402 and corresponding CDS table function 404 and ABAP class 406 can be generated and used for breakout scenarios such as machine learning models based on machine learning algorithms in the PAL library”, wherein library of machine learning algorithms use application data as input for machine learning model building, training, and optimization); receiving, from the predictive analytics library, a reference to a first trained artificial intelligence model trained by the predictive analytical library based on the prepared dataset and the first model parameters (i.e. para. [0058], As the PAI training app 904 is based on predictive scenario 902, it triggers the training method of the AMDP class 906 and saves the trained model 312. ML applications 910 can consume the trained model 312 via the AMDP class 906 or via API of the predictive scenario 902) q (i.e. para. [0075], “the computing system executes the CDS view for ML 318 to generate data for input to the first machine learning mode”, wherein a trained first machine learning model may be called on and executed for its intended predictive analysis scenario); receiving a request to generate a prediction for the predictive scenario for the target field for at least one record of the dataset (i.e. para. [0075], the CDS view for ML 318 defines what data is needed to input to the first machine learning model, and accesses one or more data stores (e.g., application data 210, application data or tables 324) to generate the data. The computing system inputs the generated data into the first machine learning model); providing the at least one record of the dataset to the first trained artificial intelligence model (i.e. para. [0075], accesses one or more data stores (e.g., application data 210, application data or tables 324)); receiving, from the first trained artificial intelligence model, a prediction for the target field for each record of the at least one record of the dataset (i.e. para. [0075], an API (e.g., PAI: repository, engine adapter, and API 326) and receives the output (e.g., prediction) from the first machine learning model); and providing at least one prediction for presentation in a user interface that displays information from the dataset (i.e. para. [0044], The API inputs data required for the ML model 312, receives the output of the ML model 312, and returns the output to the CDS view for ML 318. The output can be made available via an application or user interface 302).
While Sarferaz teaches using a predictive analytics library to store trained models based on a user prepared dataset that has first model parameters, Sarferaz may not explicitly teach
first model evaluation data that reflects model performance of the first model for predicting the target field of the dataset;
Receiving a selection, from the list of the multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario, of a second model for comparison to the first model, wherein the second model is:
trained using model settings for the second model that are different from the model settings of the first model; and
used to generate another prediction for the predictive scenario that is different from predictions received from the first model.
However, Schmidt teaches
first model evaluation data that reflects model performance of the first model for predicting the target field of the dataset (i.e. para. [0035], “At some point, the threshold value suggested by the predictive model may be more accurate than the value supplied by the heuristic. Accordingly, when a user determines that the predictive model has been trained to an appropriate degree, the user can change decision 154 to operate using rules based on predictive analysis”, wherein the BRI for evaluation data encompasses a predictive accuracy metric that reflects the degree to which a model performs in predicting the database field associated with the predictive model).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add first model evaluation data that reflects model performance of the first model for predicting the target field of the dataset, to Sarferaz’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with how a predictive model also has an accuracy evaluation metric that reflects the accuracy performance of a predictive model, as taught by Schmidt. One would have been motivated to combine Schmidt with Sarferaz, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as the combination provides a user with more information regarding evaluations that need to be taken in order to advance the process.
While Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab teach a library of models for user selection and modification and implies that the PAI repository library includes support for model comparison to allow assessing metrics, Sarferaz-Schmidt may not explicitly teach
Receiving a selection, from the list of the multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario, of a second model for comparison to the first model, wherein the second model is:
trained using model settings for the second model that are different from the model settings of the first model; and
used to generate another prediction for the predictive scenario that is different from predictions received from the first model.
However, Matlab teaches
Receiving a selection, from the list of the multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario, of a second model for comparison to the first model (i.e. Wherein it is noted in Figs. 1-5, that multiple models may be used to implement the predictive scenario and may be compared against each other in the history window of the data browser), wherein the second model is:
trained using model settings for the second model that are different from the model settings of the first model (i.e. Wherein it is noted in Figs. 6-7, that a user may change the data set prediction variables before selecting a different algorithm model); and
used to generate another prediction for the predictive scenario that is different from predictions received from the first model (i.e. Wherein it is noted in Figs. 1-7 that a different accuracy prediction level for the data is generated that may be different from a first model due to a separate algorithmic model being used on the same data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Receiving a selection, from the list of the multiple artificial intelligence models that are able to implement the predictive scenario, of a second model for comparison to the first model, wherein the second model is: trained using model settings for the second model that are different from the model settings of the first model; and used to generate another prediction for the predictive scenario that is different from predictions received from the first model, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with the user interface for editing and comparing constructed machine learning models, as taught by Matlab. One would have been motivated to combine Matlab with Sarferaz-Schmid, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as the combination results in a user being able to better calculate optimal computational efficiency and best fit for specific business requirements.
Claim 2:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first trained artificial intelligence model is a trained machine learning model (i.e. para. [0036], a modelling and administration interface 310 can be used to access the third-party server system 130 via SAP S/4HANA to train machine learning models and generate trained machine learning models (e.g., ML model 312)).
Claim 3:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz further teaches wherein the scenario settings include a specification of the dataset and the target field (i.e. para. [0060], user (e.g., a data scientist) associated with the entity can determine which fields (e.g., of sales information data) are relevant for such a use case).
Claim 4:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz further teaches wherein the scenario settings include at least one filter condition for the target field (i.e. para. [0060], “an entity may wish to provide functionality to its users to forecast revenue for a specified product, as one example use case. In order to provide this functionality, the entity can use a machine learning model to learn from existing sales order data and predict future revenue for a specified product”, wherein the BRI for a filter condition encompasses filtering out data not related to a targeted and specific product field).
Claim 5:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz further teaches wherein the scenario settings include indications of fields of the dataset to include in training of artificial intelligence models of the predictive scenario (i.e. para. [0060], “The user enters this information (e.g., via an application or user interface 202, 302, 304 or modelling and administration 310 interface) and the computing system receives the information”, wherein the BRI for indications encompasses displayed user selected information on an API).
Claim 11:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Matlab further teaches wherein each model of the at multiple intelligence model is trained to predict values of the target field (i.e. wherein it is noted in Fig. 7 that each model of the multiple selected models are trained to predict an accuracy value).
Claim 14:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz further teaches wherein a first model-specific setting for the first model is different from a second model-specific setting for a second model of the predictive scenario (i.e. para. [0038], “a virtual data model (VDM) is implemented using CDS views 316. One purpose of these VDM views is to hide the cryptic database model and to provide a reusable semantic layer which can be consumed in different scenarios, e.g. analytics, planning, search, or transactions”, wherein it is noted that different settings may be used for different scenarios).
Claim 17:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Schmidt further teaches wherein each prediction of the target field includes a predicted outcome of the target field and a prediction probability for the predicted outcome (i.e. para. [0039], FIG. 1 can illustrate multiple execution steps suggested by the predictive model, optionally with an indication of the relative confidence or probability of the potential steps).
Claim 19:
Claim 19 is the system claim reciting similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Sarferaz further teaches
one or more computers (i.e. para. [0015], Fig. 1, he client device 110 may comprise, but is not limited to, a mobile phone, desktop computer); and
a computer-readable medium coupled to the one or more computers having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations (i.e. para. [0099], the machine-readable medium 1338 is non-transitory (in other words, not having any transitory signals) in that it does not embody a propagating signal).
Claim 20:
Claim 20 is the product claim reciting similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz” in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20160267396 “Gray”.
Claim 6:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab may not explicitly teach
wherein the scenario settings include default data pre-processing settings for pre-processing the dataset before artificial intelligence models of the predictive scenario are trained.
However, Gray teaches
wherein the scenario settings include default data pre-processing settings for pre-processing the dataset before artificial intelligence models of the predictive scenario are trained (i.e. para. [0035]. “the workflow auditing system 136 includes one or more data sources associated with a complex processing workflow that allow input of different types of data or information (automated and non-automated) related to a complex processing task to be provided or input to the training server 102 and/or the prediction/scoring server 108”, wherein the BRI for settings encompasses the automated pre-processing of data before it is provided to a prediction server). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the scenario settings include default data pre-processing settings for pre-processing the dataset before artificial intelligence models of the predictive scenario are trained, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with how the default setting for pre-processing data is to automatically perform some sort of processing on data before it is provided to a server, as taught by Gray. One would have been motivated to combine Gray with Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as the combination saves a user time and helps create a more accurate model.
Claim 7:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, Matlab, and Gray teach the computer-implemented method of claim 6.
Gray further teaches wherein the default data pre-processing settings includes settings for removal of outlier values and null values from the dataset (i.e. para. [0068], data preprocessing may include data cleaning, removal of outliers, identifying and treating missing values, and transformation of values, etc).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz” in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20150227520 “Clark”.
Claim 8:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab may not explicitly teach
wherein the scenario settings include default training settings for artificial intelligence models of the predictive scenario.
However, Clark teaches
wherein the scenario settings include default training settings for artificial intelligence models of the predictive scenario (i.e. para. [0024], The predictive algorithms stored in the predictive algorithms 110 may be generated by the QA application 112, or by a different source (such as specialized industry-standard prediction models).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the scenario settings include default training settings for artificial intelligence models of the scenario, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with how default training for a field is consistent with specialized industry standard for prediction models being applied to a certain type of predictive problem scenario, as taught by Clark. One would have been motivated to combine Gray with Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as the combination saves a user time and assists in further improving the accuracy of any predictive models used to generate the candidate answers.
Claim 9:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, Matlab, and Clark teach the computer-implemented method of claim 8.
Clark further teaches
wherein the default training settings specify an artificial intelligence algorithm type and a specific artificial intelligence algorithm of the artificial intelligence algorithm type and wherein the default training settings specify default parameters for the specific artificial intelligence algorithm (i.e. para. [0024], “a predictive algorithm in the predictive algorithms 110 may be an industry-standard model that predicts consumer spending or the United States gross domestic product”, wherein the BRI for default encompasses the industry standard algorithms used in predictive models for predicting consumer spending).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz”, in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20150227520 “Clark”, as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210241177 “Wang”.
Claim 10:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, Matlab, and Clark teach the computer-implemented method of claim 8.
Sarferaz, Schmidt, Matlab, and Clark may not explicitly teach
wherein the default training settings include a data split configuration that indicates a split between a training portion of the dataset and a test portion of the dataset.
However, Wang teaches
wherein the default training settings include a data split configuration that indicates a split between a training portion of the dataset and a test portion of the dataset (i.e. para. [0046-0047], “the automatic machine learning technology may relate to at least one of: an automatic data splitting for splitting the historical data into training data and verification data… Specifically, the historical data may be automatically split into the training data and the verification data according to a preset splitting rule”, wherein the BRI for default training settings include a data split configuration encompasses how, by default, data of a dataset is automatically split into at least a training a verification portion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the scenario settings include default training settings for artificial intelligence models of the scenario, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab-Clark’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with wherein the default training settings include a data split configuration that indicates a split between a training portion of the dataset and a test portion of the dataset, as taught by Wang. One would have been motivated to combine Wang with Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab-Clark, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as the combination saves a user time by having a pre-selected data split appropriate for a certain model.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz”, in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210241177 “Wang”.
Claim 13:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach may not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one modification to a corresponding scenario setting includes a model-specific setting for nulls removal, a model-specific setting for outlier removal, a model-specific algorithm parameter, a model-specific data split configuration
However, Wang teaches wherein the at least one modification to a corresponding scenario setting includes a model-specific setting for nulls removal, a model-specific setting for outlier removal, a model-specific algorithm parameter, a model-specific data split configuration (i.e. para. [0119], “the configuration of automatic data splitting (training/validation) is also provided, the user may select “splitting by proportion”, “splitting by rule” and “sorting firstly and then splitting data”, and the proportion of the training set is further provided, the user may set the proportion to “0.8” and so on”, wherein a user may in real time update the specific model with a different ratio), or a model-specific filter condition that is to be added to a filter condition of the predictive scenario.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the at least one modification to a corresponding scenario setting includes a model-specific setting for nulls removal, a model-specific setting for outlier removal, a model-specific algorithm parameter, a model-specific data split configuration, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with a user may modify a model in real time by changing the automatic data splitting ratios, as taught by Wang. One would have been motivated to combine Wang with Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as the combination provides a user with more granularity in achieving a desirable outcome.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz” in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”, as applied to Claim 1 above, in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20160267396 “Gray” and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210241177 “Wang”.
Claim 15:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab may not explicitly teach
wherein generating the prepared dataset comprises pre-processing the dataset based on data pre-processing settings in the first model, filtering the dataset based on filter conditions in the first model parameters, and splitting the copy of the dataset into a training portion and a test portion based on a data split configuration in the first model parameters.
However, Gray teaches
wherein generating the prepared dataset comprises pre-processing the dataset based on data pre-processing settings in the first model , filtering the dataset based on filter conditions in the first model parameters (i.e. para. [0068], “data preprocessing may include data cleaning, removal of outliers, identifying and treating missing values, and transformation of values, etc”, wherein the BRI for filter conditions encompasses removing outliers in a selected dataset),
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein generating the prepared dataset comprises pre-processing the dataset based on data pre-processing settings in the first model , filtering the dataset based on filter conditions in the first model parameters, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with wherein generating the prepared dataset comprises pre-processing the dataset based on data pre-processing settings in the first model , filtering the dataset based on filter conditions in the first model parameters, as taught by Gray. One would have been motivated to combine Gray with Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as the combination saves a user time and helps create a more accurate model.
While Sarferaz, Schmidt, Matlab, and Gray teach preprocessing data based on settings in a first selected model’s dataset, Sarferaz, Schmidt, Matlab, and Gray may not explicitly teach
splitting the copy of the dataset into a training portion and a test portion based on a data split configuration in the first model parameters.
However, Wang teaches
splitting the copy of the dataset into a training portion and a test portion based on a data split configuration in the first model parameters (i.e. para. [0046-0047], “the automatic machine learning technology may relate to at least one of: an automatic data splitting for splitting the historical data into training data and verification data… Specifically, the historical data may be automatically split into the training data and the verification data according to a preset splitting rule”, wherein dataset’s data is into at least a training a verification portion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add splitting the copy of the dataset into a training portion and a test portion based on a data split configuration in the first model parameters, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab-Gray’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with splitting the copy of the dataset into a training portion and a test portion based on a data split configuration in the first model parameters, as taught by Wang. One would have been motivated to combine Wang with Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab-Gray, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as the combination saves a user time by having a pre-selected data split appropriate for a certain model.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz”, in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210241177 “Turco”.
Claim 16:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab may not explicitly teach
wherein the request to activate the first model is based on a comparison of the first model evaluation data to model evaluation data of at least one other model of the predictive scenario
However, Turco teaches,
wherein the request to activate the first model is based on a comparison of the first model evaluation data to model evaluation data of at least one other model of the predictive scenario (i.e. para. [0093], “For example, the plurality of models can be created by training a machine learning logic on training data comprising examples of good and bad machine translations from a source language (e.g. English) into one target language (e.g. French). … The best-model is the one of the plurality of models which (according to some KPI or evaluation metric) provides the most accurate assessment of the quality of a machine translation by predicting the correct effort”, wherein a model is chosen based on a comparison to find a best model).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the request to activate the first model is based on a comparison of the first model evaluation data to model evaluation data of at least one other model of the predictive scenario, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with wherein the request to activate the first model is based on a comparison of the first model evaluation data to model evaluation data of at least one other model of the predictive scenario, as taught by Turco. One would have been motivated to combine Turco with Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as it saves a user time by increasing the likelihood of finding the best model for the circumstance.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20210209501 “Sarferaz”, in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20180114135 “Schmidt-Karaca”, hereinafter “Schmidt”, and further in light of MATLAB. (2019, October 4). Choosing a Machine Learning Algorithm- MATLAB Live! YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgyYWv908Y4, hereinafter “Matlab”, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20230306288 “Van Der Stockt”.
Claim 18:
Sarferaz, Schmidt, and Matlab teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Sarferaz and Schmidt teach may not explicitly teach further comprising
receiving, from the predictive analytics library for a first prediction, field contribution data that indicates which fields of the dataset most contributed to the first prediction.
However, Van Der Stockt teaches
receiving, from the predictive analytics library for a first prediction, field contribution data that indicates which fields of the dataset most contributed to the first prediction (i.e. para. [0098], Model 620 is a machine learning model producing predictions 630 from transactions 610. Module 410 uses feature importance data produced by the explainability analysis to construct a superset of the most important features, within the input data of a transaction, in explaining predictions 610).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add receiving, from the predictive analytics library for a first prediction, field contribution data that indicates which fields of the dataset most contributed to the first prediction, to Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab’s user construction and training of specified predictive models, with receiving, from the predictive analytics library for a first prediction, field contribution data that indicates which fields of the dataset most contributed to the first prediction, as taught by Van Der Stockt. One would have been motivated to combine Van Der Stockt with Sarferaz-Schmidt-Matlab, and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as the combination provides model explainability which is important in promoting user trust in the model's results, and helps those affected by a decision to challenge or change that outcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20150356085 “Panda”, teaches in para. [0027], In some examples where more than one algorithm is recommended, algorithm selection engine 140 can rank the algorithms based on which is a better match for the data types within dataset 160.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2145
/CESAR B PAULA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145