DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 09/28/2025.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-12 and 14-20 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 3 have been canceled.
Claims 21 and 22 were added.
Claims 1 and 4-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to “has planar sidewalls”
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the face" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to ament to - - a face - - or define a face earlier in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the fastener body" in line 3. Is not clear if is the male fastener body or the female fastener body.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the top surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to ament to - - a top surface - - or define a top surface earlier in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the face" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to ament to - - a face - - or define a face earlier in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the fastener body" in line 5. Is not clear if is the male fastener body or the female fastener body.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the floor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to ament to - - a floor - - or define a floor earlier in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the face" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to ament to - - a face - - or define a face earlier in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the face" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to ament to - - a face - - or define a face earlier in the claim.
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 21 depends from claim 21. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azar (US Patent No. 7,654,110).
Regarding claim 1, Azar discloses a magnetic latch comprising:
a male fastener (see annotated Fig. 7B), the male fastener comprising:
a male fastener body having at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) and a first lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7B), and
at least two magnets held within the at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) of the male fastener body, a first one of the at least two magnets of the male fastener on a first side of the first lateral motion restrictor and a second one of the at least two magnets of the male fastener on a second side of the first lateral motion restrictor, the at least two magnets having first poles exposed in a latching direction and second poles facing away from the latching direction (see annotated Fig. 7B), and
a female fastener (see annotated Fig. 7A), the female fastener comprising:
a female fastener body having at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) and a second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A); and
at least two magnets held within the at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) of the female fastener body, a first one of the at least two magnets of the female fastener on a first side of the second lateral motion restrictor and a second one of the at least two magnets of the female fastener on a second side of the second lateral motion restrictor, the at least two magnets having second poles exposed in a latching direction and first poles facing away from the latching direction (see annotated Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 4, Azar discloses, wherein the second lateral motion restrictor is an elongated trench that extends through an entire length of the female fastener (see annotated Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 5, Azar discloses, wherein when the male fastener and the female fastener are in engagement with each other, the male fastener and the female fastener cannot move relative to each other in a direction of an X axis, and the male fastener and the female fastener can move relative to each other in a direction of a Y axis and a Z axis (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 6, Azar discloses, wherein when the male fastener and the female fastener are in engagement with each other, the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor are in engagement with each other (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 7, Azar discloses, wherein when the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor are in engagement with each other, the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor restrict movement of the male fastener and the female fastener relative to each other in a direction of a X axis, and wherein when the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor are in engagement with each other, the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor do not restrict a movement of the male fastener and the female fastener relative to each other in a direction of a Y axis and a Z axis (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 8, Azar discloses a method of using a magnetic latch comprising:
placing a male fastener close to a female fastener, wherein the male fastener has a male fastener body having at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) and a first lateral motion restrictor, and at least two magnets held within the at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) of the male fastener body, a first one of the at least two magnets of the male fastener on a first side of the first lateral motion restrictor and a second one of the at least two magnets of the male fastener on a second side of the first lateral motion restrictor, the at least two magnets having first poles exposed in a latching direction and second poles facing away from the latching direction, the first lateral motion restrictor having a lengthwise axis, and wherein the female fastener has a female fastener body having at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) and a second lateral motion restrictor, and at least two magnets held within the at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) of the female fastener body, a first one of the at least two magnets of the female fastener on a first side of the second lateral motion restrictor and a second one of the at least two magnets of the female fastener on a second side of the second lateral motion restrictor, the at least two magnets having second poles exposed in the latching direction and first poles facing away from the latching direction, the second lateral motion restrictor having a lengthwise axis (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C); and
bringing the male fastener and the female fastener closer together until they are in engagement (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 9, Azar further discloses, comprising aligning the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor so that they are approximately in same plane before bringing the male fastener and the female fastener closer together until they are in alignment, and wherein bringing the male fastener and the female fastener closer together until they are in engagement further comprises bringing the male fastener and the female fastener closer together along the plane of the male fastener and the female fastener (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 10, Azar further discloses, comprising separating the male fastener and the female fastener by sliding them in a parallel unfastening direction that is parallel to, and in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor slides along the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 11, Azar further discloses, comprising separating the male fastener and the female fastener by pulling them in a perpendicular unfastening direction that is in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, and perpendicular to the lengthwise axis of the first lateral motion restrictor and the lengthwise axis of the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor is pulled away from the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 12, Azar further discloses, comprising separating the male and female fasteners, wherein separating the male and female fasteners includes choosing between two different ways to pull the male and female fasteners apart;
wherein a first way includes sliding the male and female fasteners in a parallel unfastening direction that is parallel to, and in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor slides along the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C); and
wherein a second way includes pulling the male and female fasteners in a perpendicular unfastening direction that is in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, and perpendicular to the lengthwise axis of the first lateral motion restrictor and the lengthwise axis of the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor is pulled away from the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in
restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 13, Azar further discloses, comprising applying a lateral load to the magnetic latch after the male and female fasteners are in engagement,
wherein the lateral load provides a force in a restricted direction that is perpendicular to a plane that includes the lengthwise axis of the first lateral motion restrictor and the lengthwise axis of the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C), and
wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor restrict movement along the restricted direction, thereby supporting the lateral load (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 14, Azar further discloses, comprising separating the male fastener and the female fastener so that the male fastener and the female fastener can move in the restricted direction relative to each other (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 15, Azar further discloses, wherein separating the male and female fasteners includes using at least one of two different ways to pull the male and female fasteners apart,
wherein a first way includes sliding the male and female fasteners in a parallel unfastening direction that is parallel to, and in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor slides along the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in the restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C), and
wherein a second way includes pulling the male and female fasteners in a perpendicular unfastening direction that is in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, and perpendicular to the lengthwise axis of the first lateral motion restrictor and the lengthwise axis of the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor is pulled away from the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in the restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 16, Azar discloses a method of separating a magnetic latch, the method comprising separating a female fastener and a male fastener, wherein the male fastener has a male fastener body having at least two magnet wells and a first lateral motion restrictor, and at least two magnets held within the at least two magnet wells of the male fastener body, a first one of the at least two magnets of the male fastener on a first side of the first lateral motion restrictor and a second one of the at least two magnets of the male fastener on a second side of the first lateral motion restrictor, the at least two magnets having first poles exposed in a latching direction and second poles facing away from the latching direction, the first lateral motion restrictor having a lengthwise axis, and wherein the female fastener has a female fastener body having at least two magnet wells and a second lateral motion restrictor, and at least two magnets held within the at least two magnet wells of the female fastener body, a first one of the at least two magnets of the female fastener on a first side of the second lateral motion restrictor and a second one of the at least two magnets of the female fastener on a second side of the second lateral motion restrictor, the at least two magnets having second poles exposed in the latching direction and first poles facing away from the latching direction, the second lateral motion restrictor having a lengthwise axis, wherein separating the magnetic latch includes separating the at least two magnets of the male fastener and the at least two magnets of the female fastener (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 17, Azar discloses, wherein separating the male and female fasteners includes choosing at least one out of two different ways to pull the male and female fasteners apart;
wherein a first way includes sliding the male and female fasteners in a parallel unfastening direction that is parallel to, and in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor slides along the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C); and
wherein a second way includes pulling the male and female fasteners in a perpendicular unfastening direction that is in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, and perpendicular to the lengthwise axis of the first lateral motion restrictor and the lengthwise axis of the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor is pulled away from the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 18, Azar discloses, wherein separating the male fastener and the female fastener includes pulling them in a perpendicular unfastening direction that is in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, and perpendicular to the lengthwise axis of the first lateral motion restrictor and the lengthwise axis of the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor is pulled away from the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 19, Azar discloses, wherein separating the male fastener and the female fastener includes sliding them in a parallel unfastening direction that is parallel to, and in same plane as the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor, so that the first lateral motion restrictor slides along the second lateral motion restrictor, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor prevent the male fastener and the female fastener from sliding in restricted direction that is perpendicular to the plane of the first lateral motion restrictor and the second lateral motion restrictor (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B, and Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 20, Azar discloses, wherein the first lateral motion restrictor is an elongated ridge that rises upwards relative to the at least two magnets of the male fastener and extends parallel to the at least two magnets of the male fastener, and wherein the second lateral motion restrictor is an elongated trench that is sunken downwards relative to the at least two magnets of the female fastener and extends parallel to the at least two magnets of the female fastener (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azar (US Patent No. 7,654,110), in view of Li Qiuzong (CN 11,4027,593A).
Regarding claim 22, Azar discloses two magnets mounted within the male fastener body and the face of the male fastener body, and two magnets mounted within the female fastener body and the face of the female fastener body (see annotated Fig. 7A and 7B). Azar does not disclose the male fastener body further comprises bezels, and the female fastener body further comprises bezels.
However, Li Qiuzong teaches a bezel holding a magnet (21) (see Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the bezel (as shown in Li Qiuzong) with the magnets (as shown in Azar) in order to hold the magnets within the respective fastener body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-17, filed 09/28/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 8 and 16 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Azar (US Patent No. 7,654,110). Azar broadly discloses a male fastener body having at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) and a first lateral motion restrictor, and at least two magnets held within the at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) of the male fastener body (see annotated Fig. 7B), and a female fastener body having at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) and a second lateral motion restrictor; and at least two magnets held within the at least two magnet wells (occupied by the magnet) of the female fastener body (see annotated Fig. 7A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677