DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The response and amendments, filed 4/13/2026, has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-18 are pending and claims 15-18 are withdrawn upon entry of this Amendment. Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections of claims have been fully considered :
On page 7 Applicant is arguing Van der Jagt does not teach standoff distance between two different elements that changes, where in operation one moves closer to the other) and across which an interrogation signal is sent. Rather, the whole system is brought to the item (1000) to be interrogated. Sullivan does not teach collection unit and no need for sending signal across a distance across standoff distance. Both teach analyzing cloud in real time not multiple collection devices without getting too close to the controller.
Response:
Based on MPEP 2111, during patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In this case, Firstly: prior art is compared with the claim limitations NOT with the disclosed limitations in the specification, as best understood, Applicant is arguing limitation :” wherein, in operation, the one or more detection units from the aerosol cloud towards the detection unit until it reaches a standoff distance from the detection unit; wherein the standoff distance is sufficient such that exposure of the detection unit to the aerosol cloud is minimized;” Van der Jagt broadly teaches wherein, in operation, the one or more detection units 10 from the aerosol cloud 2 towards the detection unit (20 ,detection unit can be on 20: ¶0028) until it reaches a standoff distance from the detection unit ( distance 22 between detection unit 20 and collection unit 10 has a predetermined length which broadly reads on standoff distance).
Secondly : Van der Jagt broadly teaches wherein the standoff distance 22 is sufficient (being sufficient is too broad that is met because otherwise the system is not able to function properly, furthermore, :as disclosed in e.g., ¶0030-0032 the collection unit 10 requires pressure gradient generated using means 21 to collect flow F to medium 11 via conduits 30: meaning there should be a distance between detection unit and collection unit so that means 21 can function properly to create pressure gradient of necessary, i.e., standoff distance is broadly the distance between collection unit and detection unit and as the distance should be limited so the system can function) such that exposure of the detection unit to the aerosol cloud is minimized ( this function is rejected based on obviousness). (Please note that Sullivan is only relied upon to teach wherein the detection unit includes an optical detection module having a radiation source configured to transmit an interrogation beam to the sample, and a radiation receiver configured to receive a return signal from the sample).
Finally : there is no limitation for limiting detection unit and collection unit moving to change the distance. Therefore, the limitation is met by Van der Jagt, as broadly as can reasonable be interpreted, and at least at a minimum based on obviousness as, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a standoff distance between Van der Jagt ‘s detection unit and collection units to the system to function properly and optimize this distance wherein, in operation, the one or more detection units from the modified Van der Jagt‘s aerosol cloud towards the detection unit until it reaches a standoff distance from the detection unit; wherein the standoff distance is sufficient.
Although Van der Jagt does not explicitly teach such that exposure of the detection unit to the aerosol cloud is minimized. Van der Jagt teaches reduced exposure of the detection unit to the aerosol (at least by collection unit 10, exposure of the detection unit 20 to cloud of 2 is reduced), Van der Jagt does not explicitly state wherein the exposure of the detection unit to the aerosol cloud is minimized. However, It had been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B) and In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the present case it is the Examiner's position that commonsensically it should protect from contamination., It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the distance and minimize the distance, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a minimum standoff distance for prevent contamination by aerosol cloud. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to optimization and minimizing risk of contamination by the sample1.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim objections
Claim 1 is objected. Limitation “wherein, in operation, the one or more detection units from the aerosol cloud towards the detection unit” should be corrected to read for example as “wherein, in operation, the one or more collection units from the aerosol cloud towards the detection unit”.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein, in operation, the one or more detection units from the aerosol cloud towards the detection unit until it reaches a standoff distance from the detection unit”[emphasis added].
the Examiner objects to the use of the pronoun “it” in the claim, noting in particular that while the antecedent basis of the pronoun is present, the use of a pronoun is ambiguous as to which element the pronoun is being substituted for. In this case, “it” is presumed to be substituted for the immediately preceding noun in the limitation. The Examiner suggests explicit recitations.
MPEP § 2173.02(I) states in part: “if the language of a claim, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is such that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would read it with more than one reasonable interpretation, then a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph is appropriate”.
Furthermore, the claim language has ambiguity as there is not any verb in this limitation makes the claim language not clear. For examination it is interpreted a distance between detection unit and collection units is standoff distance.
Remaining claims are rejected due to their dependencies to a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Jagt, US 20240409246 A1 in view of Sullivan, US 20060262318 A1.
Claim 1
Van der Jagt in figs. 1-6 teaches
A system (50), comprising:
one or more collection units 10 configured to collect a sample from an aerosol cloud (e.g., aerosol 2 from 1000,¶0024¶0027) ;
wherein the one or more collection units 10 includes a collection medium 11 configured to collect aerosol particles from the aerosol cloud and condense the aerosol particles on or in the collection medium (e.g., ¶0033¶0034 collection medium is a filter or suitable for accumulating analytes from the fluid medium, note that instant application does not disclose any type of condenser only a filter for trap or condensing aerosol particles which filter broadly reads on claimed condense same as disclosure);
and
a detection unit (¶0028: a detector, can be provided to the mobile delivery platform 20 and/or the fluid sampler 10) configured to analyze a composition the sample from the aerosol cloud (function met by system in fig.1 as cited in ¶0028¶0027), wherein, in operation, the one or more detection units (20¶0028) from the aerosol cloud 2 towards the detection unit until 10 it reaches a standoff distance (distance 22 between detection unit 20 and collection unit 10 has a predetermined length which broadly reads on standoff distance) from the detection unit 20; wherein the standoff distance is sufficient such that exposure of the detection unit 20 to the aerosol cloud 2 is minimized (this is met by the detection unit and collection unit of Van der Jagt also It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use standoff distance for Van der Jagt’s collection unit and detection unit to optimize the standoff distance and minimize the exposure , such that exposure of the detection unit 20 to the aerosol cloud 2 is minimized. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to for example prevent contamination).
Van der Jagt does not explicitly state wherein the exposure of the detection unit to the aerosol cloud is minimized. However, It had been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B) and In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the distance and minimize the distance, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a minimum standoff distance for prevent contamination by aerosol cloud. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to optimization and minimizing risk of contamination by the sample2.
Van der Jagt does not specifically teach wherein the detection unit includes an optical detection module having a radiation source configured to transmit an interrogation beam to the one or more collection units across the standoff distance to interrogate the collection medium, and a radiation receiver configured to receive a return signal from the collection medium of the one or more collection units.
In the similar field of endeavor, Sullivan in figs.1-2 teaches: wherein the detection unit includes an optical detection module 9 having a radiation source (source laser 7) configured to transmit an interrogation beam (laser 7, see step 17) to the one or more sample aerosol (17, 5) of ligands (13) in suspect region (17) to interrogate the sample aerosol (17, 5) of ligands (13), and a radiation receiver (9, step 25) configured to receive a return signal 7 from the sample aerosol (17, 5) of ligands (13) in suspect region (see step 25).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Sullivan‘s optical detection module for Van der Jagt’s detection unit and collection unit wherein the modified Van der Jagt’s detection unit includes a radiation source configured to transmit an interrogation beam to the modified Van der Jagt’s one or more collection units to interrogate the modified Van der Jagt’s collection medium, and a radiation receiver configured to receive a return signal from the modified Van der Jagt’s collection medium of the modified Van der Jagt’s one or more collection units across the standoff distance to interrogate the modified Van der Jagt’s collection medium, and a radiation receiver configured to receive a return signal from the modified Van der Jagt’s collection medium of the modified Van der Jagt’s one or more collection units. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to detecting dispersed airborne biological agents in sufficient time to avoid contamination and give an effective warning to the intended target (e.g., Sullivan ¶0001). Furthermore, based on MPEP 2143 (B), courts have ruled that Simple substitution of one known element (Sullivan’s optical detection module having a radiation source configured to transmit an interrogation beam and to interrogate the collection sample, and a radiation receiver configured to receive a return signal from the collection sample) for another (Van der Jagt’s detection unit in mobile platform) to obtain predictable results (detecting toxics collected by Van der Jagt’s collection mediums of collection units), is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 2
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan teaches the system of claim 1, Van der Jagt teaches wherein the one or more collection units 10 includes a plurality of collection units 10-1 to 10-4.
Claim 8
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan teaches the system of claim 1, Van der Jagt teaches to determine a chemical composition of the particles in the collection medium (e.g., Van der Jagt ¶0024) Sullivan teaches wherein the optical detection module further includes a composition determination module 9 configured to receive data from the radiation receiver to determine a specific component(e.g., ¶0027) therefore the combination teaches the limitation, i.e., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Sullivans’s composition determination module for the modified Van der Jagt‘s detection unit. wherein the modified Van der Jagt’s optical detection module configured to receive data from the radiation receiver to determine a chemical composition of the particles in the modified Van der Jagt’s collection medium. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to remotely and directly detecting the presence of aerosolized biological agents and to provide warning of a toxin laden cloud (Sullivan ¶0005¶0008).
Claim 10
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan teaches the system of claim 1, Van der Jagt further teaches wherein one or more of the detection unit (¶0027) and/or the one or more collection units 10 are configured to couple to a moving platform 20.
Claim 11
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the wherein the detection unit (20 in case it is on UAV comprises detection unit as cited in e.g., ¶0027) and the one or more collection units 10 each further includes a respective communications module configured to communicate with a controller to guide the detection unit and the one or more collection units to one or more respective positions in space relative to the aerosol cloud (it is an known and inherent component of drones 20 to remotely be controlled and conducted to the right spot otherwise, the system is not able to perform the collection of aerosol). Additionally/alternatively this limitation is obvious in view of Sullivan (¶0018 and controller in 11 and communication modules for communication between 11 and 1).
Claim 13
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the respective communications module of the detection unit 20 is further configured to communicate the composition of the aerosol cloud to the controller 29 and/or a user (this is inherently met by any UAV and controller). Additionally/alternatively this limitation is obvious in view of Sullivan (¶0018 and controller in 11 and communication modules for communication between 11 and 1).
Claims 4-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Jagt, US 20240409246 A1 in view of Sullivan, US 20060262318 A1 and further in view of Kulkarni, US 20250130140 A1.
Claim 4
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan teaches the system of claim 1, Kulkarni further teaches wherein the collection unit 204 further includes a pump (264:¶0080 )configured to draw aerosol particles from the aerosol cloud onto the collection medium (¶0080: function met by the combination of Van der Jagt and Kulkami for the same reason and motivation cited in claim 3).
In the similar field of endeavor, Kulkarni teaches collection unit 204 includes a collection medium (e.g., ¶0055: porous filter paper liner) configured to collect and condense aerosol particles from the aerosol cloud the aerosol particles on or in the collection medium (¶0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kulkarni‘s filter to condense Van der Jagt’s aerosol cloud. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to remove excess vapor outside system (e.g., ¶0055), furthermore, based on MPEP 2143 (B), courts have ruled that Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 5
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan and in view of Kulkarni teaches the system of claim 4, Kulkarni further teaches wherein the collection medium includes a filter medium (262 ¶0055¶0080) for the same reason and motivation cited in claims 3 and 4.
In the similar field of endeavor, Kulkarni teaches collection unit 204 includes a collection medium (e.g., ¶0055: porous filter paper liner) configured to collect and condense aerosol particles from the aerosol cloud the aerosol particles on or in the collection medium (¶0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kulkarni‘s filter to condense Van der Jagt’s aerosol cloud. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to remove excess vapor outside system (e.g., ¶0055), furthermore, based on MPEP 2143 (B), courts have ruled that Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Van der Jagt, US 20240409246 A1 in view of Sullivan, US 20060262318 A1 and further in view of Kulkarni, US 20250130140 A1and TIAN, CN114344542A.
Claim 6
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan and in view of Kulkarni teaches the system of claim 4, the combination does not specifically teach wherein the collection unit further includes a sensor configured to detect hazardous particles in the collection medium and to provide a warning to the detection unit that a respective collection unit has entered a hazardous aerosol cloud.
In the similar field of endeavor TIAN teaches the collection unit 100/200 further includes a sensor 200 configured to detect hazardous particles in the collection medium and to provide a warning to the detection unit that a respective collection unit has entered a hazardous aerosol cloud (e.g., Abstract/underlined portions on translation provided by the office).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use TIAN‘s detection unit for the modified Van der Jagt‘s collection unit and to provide a warning to the detection unit that a respective collection unit has entered a hazardous aerosol cloud. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to performing prompt alarm (Abstract).
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Jagt, US 20240409246 A1 in view of Sullivan, US 20060262318 A1 and Pariseau, US 20200378940 A1.
Claim 12
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan teaches the system of claim 10, but the modified Van der Jagt does not specifically teach wherein the respective communications modules are configured to communicate a respective position of the detection unit to the one or more collection units to maintain the standoff distance.
In the similar field of endeavor, Pariseau in fig.3 teaches communications modules (353 ¶0075¶0076) are configured to communicate a respective position via 356 of the detection unit 302 to the one or more units (other 302) to maintain the standoff distance (functional language met by 356,353,302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Pariseau‘s communications modules for the modified Van der Jagt‘s detection unit and collection units wherein the modified Van der Jagt’s respective communications modules are configured to communicate a respective position of the modified Van der Jagt’s detection unit to the one or more the modified Van der Jagt’s collection units to maintain the standoff distance . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide information about air quality for the given geographical area to a user (¶0012 of Pariseau).
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Jagt, US 20240409246 A1 in view of Sullivan, US 20060262318 A1 and Pariseau, US 20200378940 A1.
Claim 14
Van der Jagt in view of Sullivan teaches the system of claim 1, Van der Jagt teaches wherein the detection unit and the one or more collection units 10 each further include a respective navigation module configured to guide the detection unit 10 and the one or more collection units 20 to one or more positions in space relative to the aerosol cloud (20 and 10 are connected therefore this limitation that is inherently met for UAV 20 is also met for collection unit 10, but does not specifically teach without communication from a remote or on-ground controller.
Pariseau in fig.3 teaches the detection unit 311 and the one or more units 303 each further include a respective navigation module (353 ¶0076) configured to guide the detection unit 311 and the one or more units 302 to one or more positions (via 356) in space relative to the cloud (outdoor 121) without communication from a remote or on-ground controller (e.g., claim 1: geographic coordinates are detected and updated dynamically without user assistance to automatically generate a periodically updated air quality map based on the date and time stamped data records. ¶0031¶0071¶0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ‘s for ‘s. One of ordinary skill in the art knows automation systems without interfering users and would have been motivated to make this modification in order to benefits of automation such as eliminating human errors. Furthermore, the courts have held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 III (“Automating A Manual Activity”). Besides, based on MPEP 2114.IV, broadly claiming an automated means to replace a manual function to accomplish the same result does not distinguish over the prior art. See Leapfrog Enters., Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 1161, 82 USPQ2d 1687, 1691 (Fed. Cir. 2007). In this case, combination of Nankana and Park as cited in the previous office action and cited here, at least teaches the limitation without using artificial intelligence reads on the limitation.
Conclusion
/FATEMEH ESFANDIARI NIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 It is well known the importance of standoff distance between contaminated samples and detectors, for example see cited Prior art in previous action Podmore, US 20200249092 A1.
2 It is well known the importance of standoff distance between contaminated samples and detectors, for example see cited Prior art in previous action Podmore, US 20200249092 A1.