DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, claims 7-18, 24-34, and 41-42, in the reply filed on 9/4/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 recited “has” and it should be “having.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-18, 24-34, and 41-42 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it is not clear if applicant is intending for the claimed structure to be in a lithiated state and thus ready for use as an anode or if the structure is not lithiated and is being claimed in a “to be lithiated” state which is considered intended use and also would fail to further limit the element of claim 1. It is also not clear how the structure is adapted for use as an anode when it has a cathode, electrolyte, and separator included or is the structure intended to form a cell structure rather than an anode. Further, the claim includes the element as defined in claim 1 which already requires the element to be used as an anode to be electrochemically lithiated so again, it is not clear at what stage this structure is being claimed. The Li metal positive electrode is claimed as being intermediately above a separator soaked with a liquid electrolyte and this is not clear as being intermediately above something implies that it is also below something in order to be an intermediate layer. For the purpose of examination, the Li metal positive electrode being immediately above the separator soaked with a liquid electrolyte will be considered to meet the claimed configuration. Line 7 refers to a p or n-doped single crystal Si cathode which is considered to be incorrect and should actually refer to a p or n-doped single crystal Si anode as the positive electrode layer is required in the claim already and the inventive concept is directed towards an p or n-doped single crystal Si anode. Regarding the instantly claimed current connector, it will be interpreted as a current collector and an amendment to reflect the proper name is recommended. It is noted that the structure is referred to as a current collector throughout the specification. Additionally, the term “soaked” is not clear and a separator adjacent or in contact with a liquid electrolyte will be considered to meet the limitation requiring the separator with a liquid electrolyte layer. Finally, it is not clear if the p or n-doped single crystal Si cathode (interpreted as anode) is the same element as that of claim 1, intended to be the element of claim 1 after electrochemical lithiation, or a different element. For the purpose of examination, the p or n-doped single crystal Si anode is considered to be the same material as the element of claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said separator-electrolyte layer" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said p or n-doped single crystal Si cathode" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped single virgin Si" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped single virgin Si" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, the term “leaky SiO2” is not clear and unknown to examiner. Further clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said uneven layer of native SiO2" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said single crystal p or n-doped structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said single crystal p or n-doped element" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said leaky layer" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said upper surface of the single crystal p doped element" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said porous layer" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the term “a “leaky” layer of SiO2” is not clear and unknown to examiner. Further clarification is required. Consistency throughout the claims when referring to this layer is recommended.
Regarding claim 11, the claim requires a formed anode structure that results from the electrochemical lithiation process applied in claim 7, however, an electrochemical lithiation process is not required in claim 7 as it is a product claim and not a process claim, and the independent claim 1 requires the element to have already been electrochemically lithiated. It is not clear in what state this anode is being claimed.
Regarding claim 12, the claim depends from claim 11 which is a formed anode structure so the preamble of instant claim 12 should be dependent from that.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the single crystal p or n-doped Si" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si of thickness <200µm" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “upon exposure to air under ambient conditions” is unclear insofar as examiner is sure what occurs upon said exposure- whether the thickness is obtained via the exposure or if the positioning atop the seed layer occurs via the exposure.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si of thickness <200µm" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “upon exposure to air under ambient conditions” is unclear insofar as examiner is sure what occurs upon said exposure- whether the thickness is obtained via the exposure or if the positioning atop the seed layer occurs via the exposure.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 15, it is not clear what a “leaky coating” is intended to require.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "said leaky SiO2 layer " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "said upper surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the claim refers to the electrochemical lithiation process applied in claim 7, however, an electrochemical lithiation process is not required in claim 7 as it is a product claim and not a process claim, and the independent claim 1 requires the element to have already been electrochemically lithiated. It is not clear in what state this anode is being claimed.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said lithiated anode structure" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said p or n-Si" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 24, line 4 refers to a thin single crystal p or n-doped cathode which is considered to be incorrect and should actually refer to a p or n-doped single crystal Si anode as the claim requires is to act as the negative electrode.
Regarding claim 24, the term “thin” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what applicant intends to mean as thin and therefore any thickness less than 1000µm will be considered “thin” for the purposes of examination.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "said single crystal p or n-doped structure" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "said layer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "said layer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "said leaky SiO2 layer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 28, it is not clear what a “leaky coating” is intended to require.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "said electrochemically lithiated p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "said Li-containing electrode layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 30, the term “thin” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what applicant intends to mean as thin and therefore any thickness less than 1000µm will be considered “thin” for the purposes of examination.
Regarding claim 31, the term “thin” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what applicant intends to mean as thin and therefore any thickness less than 1000µm will be considered “thin” for the purposes of examination.
Regarding claim 31, line 4 requires “a thin single crystal p or n-doped,” which is incomplete as it is obviously in reference to a thin single crystal p or n-doped Si and should be amended.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "said Lithium containing layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "said electrolytes" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "said electrolyte" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 34, as written it depends from itself which is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, it will be considered to depend from claim 33. An amendment or cancellation is required.
Regarding claim 41, the verb is required in the preamble to satisfy the indefiniteness of “The method of thin film single crystal Si” as in line 1. Additionally, the claim is independent as it does not depend from a previous claim so it should be amended to reflect “A method” in line 1. This is considered indefinite insofar as it lacks antecedent basis as written. The preamble should be amended to read “A method of forming a thin single crystal Si suitable for a Si-anode for a lithium-ion battery, the method comprising:” wherein the terms “forming” and “comprising” are suggested language but not required.
Regarding claim 41, the term “thin” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what applicant intends to mean as thin and therefore any thickness less than 1000µm will be considered “thin” for the purposes of examination.
Claim 41 recites the limitation "said thinned Si" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 41 recites the limitation "the Si" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 41, it is not clear to examiner what is encompassed by a “standard sputtering method” and any sputtering method will be considered to meet this limitation for the purpose of examination.
Claim 41 recites the limitation "said Cu" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 41, it is not clear what the method is intended to include the step of performing electrochemical lithiation as described in claim 40 as the step is its own sentence. Examiner assumes this step is intended to be positively recited. Examiner recommends amending the previous step’s punctuation to reflect “5 µm[[.]]; and” and also to positively include the limitations of claim 40 as this claim is independent and it would be more proper.
Regarding claim 42, it is not clear if claim 42 is intended to depend from claim 41 as the preamble recites “a method” and not “the method” and also the method of claim 42 is making a structure suitable for use in a Li-ion battery which is not, as claimed, the method as defined in claim 41. For the purpose of examination, examiner considers claim 42 to be independent and not depend in any way from claim 41. An amendment to the preamble is required. Further, it is not clear to examiner what is encompassed by a “standard sputtering method” and any sputtering method will be considered to meet this limitation for the purpose of examination. Examiner recommends amending line 9 to reflect “COOH; and” in order to clearly required the oxidizing as the last step.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "said virgin crystal n or p-Si" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "said Si" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 requires the element defined in claim 1 which requires the p or n-doped virgin single crystal Si having a layer with an upper surface devoid of an oxide (see instant claim 1). Claim 7 further requires the p or n-doped single crystal Si cathode (previously interpreted as an anode) with an upper surface devoid of or optionally containing SiO2 which fails to further limit the element of claim 1 which is required only to be devoid of an oxide. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Regarding claim 9, the instant claim requires the element of claim 1 having a Si oxide which is prohibited by claim 1 which requires it to be devoid of an oxide.
Regarding claim 10, the instant claim requires the element of claim 1 having a Si oxide which is prohibited by claim 1 which requires it to be devoid of an oxide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10-12, 16, 18, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadana et al (US 2022/0223848).
Regarding claim 7, Sadana teaches a structure for use as crystalline porous Si anode in a lithium-ion battery (0020). The structure is subjected to electrochemical lithiation (02221). The battery structure is shown in figure 5 to include anode contacts 115, an anode 175, an electrolyte/separator 525, and the cathode 550 (figure 5 and 0152-0157). The Li cathode is taught to be greater than 100µm (0007). The electrolyte/separator is an electrolyte and separator (0221). The electrolyte can be liquid (0158). The electrolyte/separator permits ionic flow and prevents the anode from shorting the cathode during cycling (0158). The anode contact 115 is considered to be the instantly claimed current connector as it is taught to be a current collector (0111). The current collector is taught to have a thickness of greater than 1µm (claim 7 and 0101). The anode is a thin p-doped crystalline porous-Si structure (0018-0020) which is doped with a p-type dopant such as boron to create a concentration of less than or equal to 1019cm-3 (0176) and a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176). The anode has a thickness of less than 25µm (0068). There is no teaching in Sadana of a surface having an oxide so it is considered to teach the surface being devoid of an oxide.
Sadana does not explicitly teach the thickness of the electrolyte/separator, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize any thickness, such as the claimed thickness, which is capable of permitting ionic flow and short circuit prevention, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Sadana teaches the anode is a thin p-doped crystalline porous-Si structure (0018-0020) which is doped with a p-type dopant such as boron to create a concentration of less than or equal to 1019cm-3 (0176) and a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176). The anode has a thickness of less than 25µm (0068). The crystalline porous-Si anode structure is subjected to treatment wherein a conductive Ti seed layer (0253) which can be Ti/Cu (0263) having a thickness of 2-200nm (0257). The current collector is taught to have a thickness of greater than 1µm (claim 7 and 0101).
Regarding claim 10, Sadana teaches the porosity of the anode to be 30-60% (0240) and the thickness is less than 25µm (0068).
Regarding claim 11, Sadana teaches a structure for use as crystalline porous Si anode in a lithium-ion battery (0020). The structure is subjected to electrochemical lithiation (02221). The battery structure is shown in figure 5 to include anode contacts 115, an anode 175, an electrolyte/separator 525, and the cathode 550 (figure 5 and 0152-0157). The Li cathode is taught to be greater than 100µm (0007). The electrolyte/separator is an electrolyte and separator (0221). The electrolyte can be liquid (0158). The electrolyte/separator permits ionic flow and prevents the anode from shorting the cathode during cycling (0158). The anode contact 115 is considered to be the instantly claimed current connector as it is taught to be a current collector (0111). The current collector is taught to have a thickness of greater than 1µm (claim 7 and 0101). The anode is a thin p-doped crystalline porous-Si structure (0018-0020) which is doped with a p-type dopant such as boron to create a concentration of less than or equal to 1019cm-3 (0176) and a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176). The anode has a thickness of less than 25µm (0068). There is no teaching in Sadana of a surface having an oxide so it is considered to teach the surface being devoid of an oxide.
Sadana does not explicitly teach the thickness of the electrolyte/separator, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize any thickness, such as the claimed thickness, which is capable of permitting ionic flow and short circuit prevention, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, Sadana teaches the anode to have a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176).
Regarding claim 16, Sadana teaches the porosity of the anode to be 30-60% (0240) and the thickness is less than 25µm (0068).
Regarding claim 18, Sadana teaches the anode is a thin p-doped crystalline porous-Si structure (0018-0020) which is doped with a p-type dopant such as boron to create a concentration of less than or equal to 1019cm-3 (0176) and a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176). The anode has a thickness of less than 25µm (0068). There is no teaching in Sadana of a surface having an oxide so it is considered to teach the surface being devoid of an oxide. The crystalline porous-Si anode structure is subjected to treatment wherein a conductive Ti seed layer (0253) which can be Ti/Cu (0263) having a thickness of 2-200nm (0257). The current collector is taught to have a thickness of greater than 1µm (claim 7 and 0101). The current collector is taught to be copper or nickel (0104).
Regarding claim 30, Sadana teaches a structure for use as crystalline porous Si anode in a lithium-ion battery (0020). The structure is subjected to electrochemical lithiation (02221). The battery structure is shown in figure 5 to include anode contacts 115, an anode 175, an electrolyte/separator 525, and the cathode 550 (figure 5 and 0152-0157). The Li cathode is taught to be greater than 100µm (0007). The electrolyte/separator is an electrolyte and separator (0221). The electrolyte can be liquid (0158). The electrolyte/separator permits ionic flow and prevents the anode from shorting the cathode during cycling (0158). The anode contact 115 is considered to be the instantly claimed current connector as it is taught to be a current collector (0111). The current collector is taught to have a thickness of greater than 1µm (claim 7 and 0101). The anode is a thin p-doped crystalline porous-Si structure (0018-0020) which is doped with a p-type dopant such as boron to create a concentration of less than or equal to 1019cm-3 (0176) and a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176). The anode has a thickness of less than 25µm (0068). There is no teaching in Sadana of a surface having an oxide so it is considered to teach the surface being devoid of an oxide.
Sadana does not explicitly teach the thickness of the electrolyte/separator, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to utilize any thickness, such as the claimed thickness, which is capable of permitting ionic flow and short circuit prevention, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Sadana teaches the anode is a thin p-doped crystalline porous-Si structure (0018-0020) which is doped with a p-type dopant such as boron to create a concentration of less than or equal to 1019cm-3 (0176) and a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176). The anode has a thickness of less than 25µm (0068). The crystalline porous-Si anode structure is subjected to treatment wherein a conductive Ti seed layer (0253) which can be Ti/Cu or Cr/Cu (0263) having a thickness of 2-200nm (0257). The current collector is taught to have a thickness of greater than 1µm (claim 7 and 0101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sadana et al (US 2022/0223848).
Regarding claim 24, Sadana teaches a structure for use as crystalline porous Si anode in a lithium-ion battery (0020). The structure is subjected to electrochemical lithiation (02221). The battery structure is shown in figure 5 to include anode contacts 115, an anode 175, an electrolyte/separator 525, and the cathode 550 (figure 5 and 0152-0157). The Li cathode is taught to be greater than 100µm (0007). The electrolyte/separator is an electrolyte and separator (0221). The electrolyte can be liquid (0158). The electrolyte/separator permits ionic flow and prevents the anode from shorting the cathode during cycling (0158). The anode contact 115 is considered to be the instantly claimed current connector as it is taught to be a current collector (0111). The current collector is taught to have a thickness of greater than 1µm (claim 7 and 0101). The anode is a thin p-doped crystalline porous-Si structure (0018-0020) which is doped with a p-type dopant such as boron to create a concentration of less than or equal to 1019cm-3 (0176) and a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176). The anode has a thickness of less than 25µm (0068). There is no teaching in Sadana of a surface having an oxide so it is considered to teach the surface being devoid of an oxide. Sadana teaches the anode is a thin p-doped crystalline porous-Si structure (0018-0020) which is doped with a p-type dopant such as boron to create a concentration of less than or equal to 1019cm-3 (0176) and a resistivity of less than 0.1 ohm-cm (0176). The anode has a thickness of less than 25µm (0068). The crystalline porous-Si anode structure is subjected to treatment wherein a conductive Ti seed layer (0253) which can be Ti/Cu or Cr/Cu (0263) having a thickness of 2-200nm (0257). The current collector is taught to have a thickness of greater than 1µm (claim 7 and 0101). The current collector is taught to be copper or nickel (0104).
Regarding claim 25, there is no teaching in Sadana of a surface having an oxide so it is considered to teach the surface being devoid of an oxide.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 13, 14, 15, 17, and 26-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Sadana et al (US 2022/0223848) does not explicitly teach the Si oxide as claimed (claims 9, 13, 14, 15, 26-29) or the configuration of instant claim 17.
Claims 31-34 would be allowed if amended to overcome the indefiniteness rejections and objection above. Sadana does not explicitly teach the instantly claimed lithiated Si anode structure containing the layered structure and conditions.
Claims 41 and 42 would be allowed if amended to overcome the indefiniteness rejections above. Sadana does not explicitly teach the instantly claimed method.
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 November 25, 2025