DETAILED ACTION
Final
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 1, 3-14 are pending. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 13 and 14 are newly added. It appears that no new matter has been entered.
Applicant remarks are persuasive regarding Baker as primary reference and in consideration of the amended claims. Accordingly, further search and consideration has been provided and newly cited primary reference Leary as discussed below is combined with Baker. The remarks are considered moot and this action must be made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leary (US 9520604) and further in view of Baker (US 3580267);
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leary in view of Baker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Butz (US 6044829);
Leary discloses in claim 1: (see at least annotated figure 2 below)
An electromagnetic valve (100 figure 2) to be connected to an anode supply of a fuel cell system (the phrase considered a statement of intended use as it adds no meaningful limitation to the body of the claimed apparatus under MPEP 2114, nonetheless, 100 is connected to the anode supply outlet of a fuel cell system Col 4 ln 46-55), the electromagnetic valve configured as a purge or drain valve (only open when purging/draining/allowing hydrogen to exit), comprising: an actuator (solenoid) including a first magnet coil (the solenoid coil of 150) configured to electromagnetically actuate an armature (140), and a valve plunger (125) operatively connected with the armature (where the plunger opens and closes the valve 115/120); a connection spout (of 101 at 110) to be connected to the anode supply (as discussed above), the connection spout provided in one, materially integral piece (as shown) containing a valve seat (120), an inlet (at 110) and an outlet (at 130), wherein the valve seat is openable and closable as a function of an actuation of the valve plunger (as shown, spring biased closed, and opens via electro magnet armature opening the valve) so that a media connection between the inlet and the outlet is controlled through a valve chamber (via at 3002), wherein the connection spout (as shown) is connected with the actuator (at the junction between 101 and solenoid), and wherein the valve chamber (2002) is formed (arranged axially) between the connection spout (101/110) and the valve plunger (at 120); Leary does not disclose, although Baker teaches:
an additional magnet coil (at 48 is a coil heater that will also generate a measure of magnetic flux there about when the current runs resistively there through for the thermal resistance heat control, where 48 indicates a coil winding see MPEP 608.02 IX) is provided as a heating coil (Col 4 ln 58-60, where the coil includes a circumscribing heating wire about the seat 38) wherein the additional magnet coil (48) is separate from the first magnet coil (100, axially as well as radially, and arranged interposed between the connection spout and the solenoid, for the purpose of providing electrical heat to circumscribe about the valve seat and valve chamber, to reduce freezing of fluid material and promote adequate fluid flow characterization);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide in Leary as taught in Baker, an additional magnet coil as taught in Baker with a coil heater that also generates a measure of magnetic flux there about when the current runs resistively there through for the thermal resistance heat control, as taught in Baker and where such a heating coil can be circumscribed as a heating wire about the seat of Leary as taught in Baker, and wherein such an additional magnet coil is axially and radially circumscribed within and from the first magnet coil as taught in Baker, and can be arranged and/or interposed between the connection spout and the solenoid, all for the purpose of providing electrical heat to circumscribe about the valve seat and valve chamber, to reduce freezing of fluid material and promote adequate fluid flow characterization;
Comment: Leary discusses providing a slip stream improvement to the prior art in the embodiment of figure 3, but it is noted that the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from the above alternative because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed. See In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004); MPEP 2143.01 I.
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 3: The electromagnetic valve according to claim 1, wherein the heating coil (48) is arranged between the actuator and the connection spout (axially) and wherein the heating coil radially envelops (120.Leary/38.Baker) the valve seat (as modified for the reasons discussed above.)
Leary discloses(as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 4: The electromagnetic valve according to claim 1, wherein the connection spout is [a] part and the heating coil is integral in the connection spout proximal to the valve seat (as modified for the reasons discussed above as shown); but Leary/Baker does not explicitly disclose… although Butz teaches: an injection molded parts (synthetic resin body figure 4 with heater 20) into the connection spout (10 outlet passage) proximal to the valve seat (of 18, all for the purpose of providing the heater close to the valve itself and to provide a final form plastic part for ease of assembly of the valve);
accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide and arrange Leary/Baker heating coil as taught by the Butz arrangement in an injection molded assembly of parts, via an encasement of synthetic resin body as taught in Butz where the connection spout is proximal to the valve seat as taught in Butz, all for the purpose of providing for example, the heater close to the valve itself and to provide a final form plastic part for ease of assembly of the valve.
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 5: The electromagnetic valve according to claim 3, wherein the heating coil is attached at the actuator by the connection spout (via 106.Baker, for the purpose of providing electrical current)
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 6: The electromagnetic valve according to claim 4, wherein the heating coil includes an additional electrical contact (Baker, the coil/ring has two contacts as shown at 50 and as discussed to provide for current flow through the ring/coil.)
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 7: the valve according to claim 1: arranging a discharge valve (115/1120 figure 2) in a fuel cell system (as discussed above), comprising: at least one fuel cell stack (Col 4 ln 46-55); a cathode supply (from the anode to the cathode via 130); an anode supply (from 110); and the valve arranged in the anode supply (from 110 which is arranged in the hydrogen gas line to the exhaust outlet.)
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in Claim 8: The electromagnetic valve according to claim 1, wherein the first magnet coil and the additional magnet coil are arranged coaxially (about the center line of the plunger as modified for the reasons discussed above) and separated from each other by an axial gap (distance at 2002 as applied to Leary) arranged between the first magnet coil and the additional magnet coil (as shown.)
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in Claim 9: the electromagnetic valve according to claim 1, wherein the outer diameter (at 2004) of the additional magnet coil is smaller than an outer diameter (at 2006) of the first magnet coil (as discussed above.)
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in Claim 10: the electromagnetic valve according to claim 9, wherein and entirety of the additional magnet coil (the coil 48 is fully circumscribed where 2004 is within 2006 circumscribed diameter as shown) is arranged inside an inner diameter first magnet coil.
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in Claim 11: the electromagnetic valve according to claim 1, wherein an entirety of the additional magnet coil is axially offset from the armature (the magnetic armature is fully below the diaphragm and the additional magnet coil.)
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in Claim 12: The electromagnetic valve according to claim 1, wherein the valve chamber (3002) is formed (interposed) between the connection spout (110) and the valve plunger (125.)
Leary discloses in claim 13: An electromagnetic valve (100 figure 2) to be connected to an anode supply of a fuel cell system (the phrase considered a statement of intended use as it adds no meaningful limitation to the body of the claimed apparatus under MPEP 2114, nonetheless, 100 is connected to the anode supply outlet of a fuel cell system Col 4 ln 46-65), the electromagnetic valve configured as a purge or drain valve (only open when purging/draining/allowing hydrogen to exit), comprising: an actuator (solenoid) including a first magnet coil (at 150) configured to electromagnetically actuate an armature (140), and a valve plunger (125) operatively connected with the armature and a compression spring (at 3004); a connection spout (at 101/110) to be connected to the anode supply (as discussed above), the connection spout provided in one, materially integral piece (as shown) containing a valve seat (120), an inlet and an outlet (110/130), wherein the valve seat is openable and closable as a function of an actuation of the valve plunger so that a media connection (hydrogen fluid connection) between the inlet and the outlet is controlled through a valve chamber (at 3002), wherein the connection spout is connected with the actuator (at junction between 101 and solenoid), wherein the compression spring is located outside the connection spout (and inside the solenoid stator core, and provided to bias close the solenoid as a normally biased closed solenoid valve, that provides for closure without the need of electrical current); Leary does not disclose, although Baker teaches: an additional magnet coil (at 48) is provided as a heating coil (Col 4 ln 58-60, where the coil includes a circumscribing heating wire about the seat 38), wherein the additional magnet coil (48) is separate from the first magnet coil (100);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide in Leary as taught in Baker, an additional magnet coil as taught in Baker with a coil heater that also generates a measure of magnetic flux there about when the current runs resistively there through for the thermal resistance heat control, as taught in Baker and where such a heating coil can be circumscribed as a heating wire about the seat of Leary as taught in Baker, and wherein such an additional magnet coil is axially and radially circumscribed within and from the first magnet coil as taught in Baker, and can be arranged and/or interposed between the connection spout and the solenoid, all for the purpose of providing electrical heat to circumscribe about the valve seat and valve chamber, to reduce freezing of fluid material and promote adequate fluid flow characterization;
Leary discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 14: The electromagnetic valve according to claim 13, wherein the compression spring is configured to push the valve plunger toward the connection spout (as shown and discussed above.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753