DETAILED ACTION
This Action is Final and is in response to the claims filed 07/29/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending, of which claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered.
Drawings: Applicant’s arguments regarding the drawing objection have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 10 of 17 that drawings that drawings show the features first disclosed in claim 4. Applicant specifically argues:
Accordingly, Figure 9 shows two separate memory components, memory 920 and data storage 930, that may separately include the variables 110 and matrices 125. Such features are further shown and described throughout the specification and drawings, for example, in Figures 2, 3 and 5, which show different aspects of the variables, matrices, and separate memory.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 9 shows a memory and a data storage, which could be interpreted as the first and second memories of claim 4. However, neither of the drawings show the memory and the storage each storing variables and weight matrices, respectively. Drawings must show every claimed feature. See 37 C.F.R. 1.83.
Applicant further discloses drawings are amended to include the variables 305 described in the specification. Hence, objection to the drawings regarding the variables 305 has been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 101: Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in pages 11-12 of 17 that the improvement does not need to be claimed, and that the improvement is disclosed in the specification. Applicant specifically argues:
Here, the specification describes a concrete technical improvement: the semi-sequential group processing approach improves computer functionality by reducing computational load and enabling scaling of optimization problems. As described in the specification, the present disclosure relates to "operations that allow for the scaling up of optimization problems while reducing the amount of computing resources that may be used as compared to traditional approaches." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0020]. The specification further explains that embodiments "may improve the functionality of a computer system by arranging computational processes, data storage, and/or data retrieval in a way such that operations of the computer system are performed more efficiently, such as with respect to solving optimization problems." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0020]. These are not conclusory assertions of improvement because the specification describes in detail how dividing variables into groups based on computing cores, processing groups sequentially with matrix updates between groups, and organizing data storage across local and off-chip memory provides the disclosed improvement.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Even if not claimed, the alleged improvement, as argued by applicant in the remarks, is caused by the abstract idea (i.e., dividing variables into a plurality of groups and processing these groups). An improvement in the abstract idea is not an improvement in technology. See MPEP 2106.05(a)(II). Additionally, paragraph 20 of the specification discloses “One or more embodiments of the multi-core computer processor architecture described in the present disclosure may improve the functionality of a computer system by arranging computational processes, data storage, and/or data retrieval in a way such that operations of the computer system are performed more efficiently, such as with respect to solving optimization problems (e.g., QUBO problems)”. As explained in the non-final rejection on 04/21/2026, this multi-core architecture is well understood routine and conventional. See 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection below.
35 U.S.C. 103: Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in pages 13-16 that Matsubara in view of Kanda do not teach amended claim 1.
Applicant argues in Page 13 that Matsubara does not teach “dividing the variables into a plurality of groups”, because Matsubara describes a parallel trial approach to process trials. Applicant explains:
As recited by claim 1, the claimed method requires "dividing the variables into a plurality of groups in which each respective group includes a sub-set of variables of the plurality of variables." The claim language explicitly requires that each group contains only a "sub-set" of the variables, not all variables. Matsubara's parallel evaluation of all bits simultaneously does not constitute dividing variables into groups where each group includes only a sub-set of the variables.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner does not point to the parallel execution of trials for the limitation “dividing the variables into a plurality of groups”. Instead, Examiner points to Fig. 2 showing data coming into trials being divided, and further points to the second paragraph of page 434 stating energy increments shown in each trial have corresponding bits (variables). Further, there in no limitation in claim 1 that states the amount of data these sub-sets of variables contain.
Applicant argues in Pages 14-15 of 17 that Matsubara does not teach a semi-sequential trial process with respect to groups. Applicant specifically argues:
In Matsubara, all bits are evaluated in parallel during each trial phase, a single bit is selected and flipped, and then local fields are updated. See Matsubara, Page 434, Section 3 ("when the variable xj is flipped to 1-xj, each local field is updated by adding its increment Shi to the current value stored in a register"). Matsubara does not process a first group of variables, update all group local field matrices, and then process a second group of variables. Rather, Matsubara processes all variables simultaneously in parallel and updates local fields after each single-bit flip.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Matsubara does perform parallel operations on trials, Matsubara shows the feedback of data after the updating stage. Fig. 2 shows current state X being output from update phase. Hence, all trials are sequentially processed after each update iteration, and amended claim 1 states “wherein the plurality of groups are processed sequentially such that each group is processed after updating all of the group local field matrices based on results of processing a preceding group”. There is no limitation that requires each individual group to be processed sequentially. See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Applicant further argues in page 15 of 17 that Matsubara does not teach Group Local Field Matrices. Applicant explains:
Matsubara maintains a single set of local fields for all variables globally, not separate matrices for each group. See Matsubara, Page 434, Section 3 (describing local fields hi for all bits, updated globally when any variable is flipped). Because Matsubara does not divide variables into groups, Matsubara necessarily cannot teach obtaining a respective group local field matrix for each respective group.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Section 3 of Matsubara explains “the local field is directly calculated from (2).” Page 434 shows equation 2, which shows the local field hi corresponding to each ΔE at i. Hence, each trial of ΔEi corresponds to a local field hi. See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Applicant further argues in page 15 of 17 that Kanda’s groups serve a fundamentally different purpose. Applicant explains:
The Examiner relies on Kanda to supplement Matsubara's teachings. However, Kanda's "groups" are directed to an entirely different purpose than the claimed invention. Kanda's groups are specifically designed to enforce a "one-hot constraint" where "the number of bits each having a value of 1 is only one in each of a plurality of groups." See Kanda, paragraph [0032]. Kanda's groups are a constraint satisfaction mechanism to ensure that exactly one bit per group has a value of 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner does not rely on Kanda’s groups. Instead, Examiner uses the combination of Matsubara in view of Kanda to teach the “one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media configured to store instructions that, in response to being executed by the local memory” limitation. See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Applicant further argues in page 16 of 17 that Examiner does not provide motivation to combine Matsubara and Kanda. Applicant argues:
Even assuming, arguendo, that the references could be combined, the Examiner has not articulated a proper motivation to modify Matsubara's fully parallel approach to use Kanda's one- hot constraint groups for semi-sequential processing as claimed. Matsubara's entire architecture is designed around parallel evaluation of all bits simultaneously. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the cited references to fundamentally restructure Matsubara's parallel approach into a semi-sequential group-based processing approach where groups are processed sequentially with matrix updates between groups.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner provides motivation for each combination at the end of the combination paragraph (i.e. “Kanda enhances the model of Matsubara by allowing for program instructions to be stored in memory for execution on hardware”). See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “variables are stored on a first memory and referencing the weight matrix includes accessing a second memory on which the weight matrix is stored, the second memory being separate from the first memory” first disclosed in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Apparatus claims 8-14 and 20 will be addressed before corresponding method claims 1-7, and corresponding media claims 15-19.
Regarding Claim 8, at Step 1 the claim is directed to a system, which is a statutory category of invention.
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that claims are directed to mathematical concepts:
A system, comprising:
one or more processors, each of the processors including a plurality of computing cores;
a local memory;
an off-chip memory; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media configured to store instructions that, in response to being executed by the local memory, cause the system to perform operations (mathematical calculations), the operations comprising:
obtaining a plurality of variables that each represent a characteristic related to an optimization problem;
obtaining weights that correspond to the variables, each respective weight relating to one or more relationships between a respective variable and one or more other variables related to the optimization problem (mathematical calculations);
dividing the variables into a plurality of groups in which each respective group includes a sub-set of variables of the plurality of variables (mathematical relationships);
obtaining a respective group local field matrix for each respective group of variables, each respective local field matrix including local field values that each indicate interactions between a respective variable and the other variables of the plurality of variables, as influenced by the respective weights of the respective variables (mathematical relationships);
performing a semi-sequential trial process with respect to the plurality of groups, wherein the plurality of groups are processed sequentially such that each group is processed after updating all of the group local field matrices based on results of processing a preceding group (mathematical relationships/calculations), the semi-sequential trial process including:
performing, based on first weights and first local field values that correspond to a first group of first variables of the plurality of groups, a first stochastic process with respect to the first group, the first stochastic process being with respect to changing a respective state of one or more of the first variables of the first group, the first stochastic process including performing first trials with respect to one or more of the first variables in which a respective first trial determines whether to change a respective state of a respective first variable (mathematical relationships/calculations);
updating all of the group local field matrices based on results of the first stochastic process (mathematical relationships/calculations);
performing, based on second weights and second local field values that correspond to a second group of second variables of the plurality of groups, a second stochastic process with respect to the second group, the second stochastic process being with respect to changing a respective state of one or more of the second variables of the second group, the second stochastic process including performing second trials with respect to one or more of the second variables in which a respective second trial determines whether to change a respective state of a respective second variable (mathematical relationships/calculations); and
updating all of the group local field matrices based on results of the second stochastic process (mathematical relationships/calculations); and
determining a solution to the optimization problem based on the semi-sequential trial process (mathematical calculations).
At Step 2A Prong 2, the additional element is bolded above. These additional elements are merely an “apply it” scenario using generically recited computer components. See MPEP 2106.05 (f).
The “A system, comprising: one or more processors, each of the processors including a plurality of computing cores; a local memory; an off-chip memory; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media configured to store instructions that, in response to being executed by the local memory, cause the system to perform” limitation simply uses generic computer components to perform the mathematical relationships/calculations (operations). Alternatively, even if not considered as merely an ”apply it” scenario, this type of architecture of a system using a multi-core processor is well understood routine and conventional. See Step 2B analysis below
Additionally, the italicized limitations above are describing insignificant extra-solution activity
used for the processing of the mathematical concepts.
At Step 2B, there are no additional elements claimed that amount to significantly more than the
recited judicial exception.
Regarding the architecture of the system, this is a well understood routine and conventional architecture known to be used in generic computers. As per the book Computer Organization and Design : The Hardware/Software Interface, Chapter 1: Computer Abstractions and Technology, “Many embedded processors are designed using processor cores” (Page 6: Last paragraph), “The five classic components of a computer are input, output, memory, datapath, and control, with the last two sometimes combined and called the processor.” (Page 15: The BIG Picture), and “Descending into the depths of any component of the hardware reveals insights into the machine. The memory in Figure 1.10 is built from DRAM chips. DRAM stands for dynamic random access memory. Several DRAMs are used together to contain the instructions and data of a program.” (Page 20: Last paragraph). These limitations therefore are considered well understood routine and conventional even upon consideration. Thus, these limitations do not amount to significantly more.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in the Italicized limitations, the “store instructions that, in response to being executed” limitation describe mere data storing and execution recited at a high level of generality. Per the book Computer Organization and Design : The Hardware/Software Interface, Chapter 1: Computer Abstractions and Technology “Several DRAMs are used together to contain the instructions and data of a program.” (Page 20: Last paragraph), and “the software systems used to create and translate the program into machine instructions, and the effectiveness of the computer in executing those instructions” (Page 10: Understanding Program Performance). The “obtaining” limitations describe mere data transmitting recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362. Therefore, data transmitting is considered as a computer function that is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when claimed in a merely generic manner. These limitations therefore remain insignificant extra-solution activity even upon consideration. Thus, these limitations do not amount to significantly more.
Claim 9 is directed to the mathematical concept of weight data corresponding to variables (mathematical relationships). Under Steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 10 is directed to the mathematical concept of weight data corresponding to variables (mathematical relationships). Under Steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 11 is directed to the mathematical concept of weights and variables (mathematical relationships). Moreover, none of the additional elements regarding generic computer components (i.e., first memory, second memory) are more than high level generic computer components that simply provide data to be used for the mathematical calculations. Additionally, as explained in the Step 2B analysis of claim 8, mere data storing and transferring is an insignificant extra-solution activity even upon consideration.
Claim 12 is directed to the mathematical concept of updating temperatures based on a stochastic process (mathematical relationships/calculations). Under Steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 13 is directed to the mathematical concept of dividing variables (mathematical relationships). Moreover, none of the additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e., computing cores of a computer system) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Even if not considered an apply it scenario, as explained in the Step 2B analysis of claim 8, multi-core processors are considered well understood routine and conventional. Thus, these limitations do not amount to significantly more.
Claim 14 is directed to the mathematical concept of the optimization problem being an unconstrained binary optimization problem (mathematical calculations). Under Steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 20, limitations are similar to the claimed limitations of claim 13. Claim is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13.
Claim 1 is a method version of the method of claim 8 and is rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Herein, Claim 1 is directed towards the statutory category of a method, thus also satisfying Step 1. Under Steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claims 2-7, they are method claims practiced by the apparatus of claims 9-14. They are rejected for the same reasons as claims 9-14.
Claim 15 is a media version of the method of claim 8 and is rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Herein, Claim 15 is directed towards the statutory category of machine or manufacture, thus also satisfying Step 1. Moreover, none of the additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e., one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media, computer system) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Regarding Claims 16-19, they are media claims practiced by the apparatus of claims 9-12. They are rejected for the same reasons as claims 9-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Apparatus claims 8-14 and 20 will be addressed before corresponding method claims 1-7, and corresponding media claims 15-19.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi Matsubara in NPL: “Ising-Model Optimizer with Parallel-Trial Bit-Sieve Engine” (https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-61566-0_39), hereinafter “Matsubara”, in view of Kanda et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 20200326673 A1) (cited in IDS on 08/27/2024), hereinafter “Kanda”.
Regarding Claim 8, Matsubara teaches:
A system, comprising:
one or more processors, each of the processors including a plurality of computing cores (Fig. 1, e.g., shows Ising-model optimizing system including FPGAs (processors), each including Engine (computing cores));
a local memory (Fig. 1, e.g., shows DDR inside FPGA);
an off-chip memory (Fig. 1, e.g., shows server; Page 433, Section 2 Operating Principle, e.g., server provides weights and bias terms); and
… cause the system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining a plurality of variables that each represent a characteristic related to an optimization problem (Page 433, Section 2, e.g., weights correspond to the connection between bits in state variables);
obtaining weights that correspond to the variables, each respective weight relating to one or more relationships between a respective variable and one or more other variables related to the optimization problem (Abstract, e.g., hardware architecture solves combinatorial optimization problem; Page 433, Section 2, e.g., weights correspond to the connection between bits in state variables);
dividing the variables into a plurality of groups in which each respective group includes a sub-set of variables of the plurality of variables (Fig. 2, e.g., shows divided trails (plurality of groups); Page 434, Second paragraph, e.g., energy increment (in each trial) have corresponding bits);
obtaining a respective group local field matrix for each respective group of variables, each respective local field matrix including local field values that each indicate interactions between a respective variable and the other variables of the plurality of variables, as influenced by the respective weights of the respective variables (Page 433, Section 2, e.g., weights correspond to the connection between bits in state variables; Page 434, Section 3 Engine Implementation, e.g., local fields are updated when a variable x is flipped);
performing a semi-sequential trial process with respect to the plurality of groups (Page 435, e.g., multiple trial/update cycles are performed), wherein the plurality of groups are processed sequentially such that each group is processed after updating all of the group local field matrices based on results of processing a preceding group (Fig. 2, e.g., shows current state X being output from update phase; Page 435, e.g., multiple trial/update cycles are performed, hence all trials are sequentially processed after each update iteration), the semi-sequential trial process including:
performing, based on first weights and first local field values that correspond to a first group of first variables of the plurality of groups, a first stochastic process with respect to the first group (Page 433, Section 2 Operating principle, e.g., Stochastic search is based on values of weights; Page 433 Last paragraph - Page 434 First paragraph, e.g., search in engine is done stochastically based on the increment in energy calculated from local field hi),
the first stochastic process being with respect to changing a respective state of one or more of the first variables of the first group (Page 433 Last paragraph - Page 434 First paragraph, e.g., search is done stochastically and moves state to a neighboring state, which is generated by flipping value of xi),
the first stochastic process including performing first trials with respect to one or more of the first variables in which a respective first trial determines whether to change a respective state of a respective first variable (Page 433 Last paragraph - Page 434 First paragraph, e.g., search is done stochastically and moves state to a neighboring state, which is generated by flipping value of xi);
updating all of the group local field matrices based on results of the first stochastic process (Page 434, Section 3 Engine Implementation, e.g., local fields are updated when a variable x is flipped);
performing, based on second weights and second local field values that correspond to a second group of second variables of the plurality of groups, a second stochastic process with respect to the second group (Page 433, Section 2 Operating principle, e.g., Stochastic search is based on values of weights; Page 433 Last paragraph - Page 434 First paragraph, e.g., search in engine is done stochastically based on the increment in energy calculated from local field hi; Page 435, e.g., multiple trial/update cycles are performed, hence a second stochastic process is performed),
the second stochastic process being with respect to changing a respective state of one or more of the second variables of the second group (Page 433 Last paragraph - Page 434 First paragraph, e.g., search is done stochastically and moves state to a neighboring state, which is generated by flipping value of xi),
the second stochastic process including performing second trials with respect to one or more of the second variables in which a respective second trial determines whether to change a respective state of a respective second variable (Page 433 Last paragraph - Page 434 First paragraph, e.g., search is done stochastically and moves state to a neighboring state, which is generated by flipping value of xi); and
updating all of the group local field matrices based on results of the second stochastic process (Page 434, Section 3 Engine Implementation, e.g., local fields are updated when a variable x is flipped); and
determining a solution to the optimization problem based on the semi-sequential trial process (Page 434, Second paragraph, e.g., faster convergence to an optimum solution is achieved).
Matsubara does not teach:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media configured to store instructions that, in response to being executed by the local memory
However, Kanda teaches:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media configured to store instructions that, in response to being executed by the [processor] (¶0116, e.g., processor performs processing by executing a program (instructions) stored in a memory)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the memory to store a program to be executed by a processor as taught by Kanda with the FPGA (including DDR) as taught by Matsubara. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose solving optimization problems in hardware, and Kanda enhances the model of Matsubara by allowing for program instructions to be stored in memory for execution on hardware.
Regarding Claim 9, Matsubara in view of Kanda teach:
The system of claim 8, wherein obtaining the weights that correspond to the variables includes referencing a weight matrix that includes a weight of each variable with respect to each other variable included in the optimization problem (Matsubara: Page 433, equation 1, e.g., Weight elements from weight matrix are used for each bit).
Regarding Claim 11, Matsubara in view of Kanda teach:
The system of claim 9, wherein the variables are stored on a first memory and referencing the weight matrix includes accessing a second memory on which the weight matrix is stored, the second memory being separate from the first memory (Kanda: Fig. 1, e.g., shows storage units 11 and 12 for storing weight and bit values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the first and second memories to store weight and bit values as taught by Kanda with the server providing weight and bias values as taught by Matsubara. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose solving optimization problems in hardware, and Kanda enhances the model of Matsubara because “the memory access time can be shortened and a decrease in throughput can be suppressed.” (Kanda: ¶0106)
Regarding Claim 12, Matsubara in view of Kanda teach:
The system of claim 8, wherein a number of the first trials being performed for the first stochastic process is determined based on a respective temperature associated with each respective first variable, wherein: the temperature begins at a first temperature (Matsubara: Page 435, First paragraph, e.g., temperature is used in the trial phase); and
the temperature updates to a second temperature after updating all of the group local field matrices based on the results of the first stochastic process, the second temperature being lower than the first temperature (Matsubara: Page 435, e.g., multiple trial/update cycles are performed, hence local fields are updated every cycle; Kanda: ¶0190, e.g., temperature is updated and is lowered from previous temperature).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the updating of temperature as taught by Kanda with the update phase as taught by Matsubara. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose solving optimization problems in hardware, and Kanda enhances the model of Matsubara because " when the temperature is gradually lowered from a high temperature, an occupation probability of a low energy state increases, so that the low energy state is desirably obtained when the temperature is sufficiently lowered.” (Kanda: ¶0190)
Regarding Claim 13, Matsubara in view of Kanda teach:
The system of claim 8, wherein dividing the variables into the plurality of groups is based on a number of computing cores of a computer system configured to perform the semi- sequential trial process and a processing capability of each of the computing cores (Matsubara: Page 433, Section 2 Operating Principle, First paragraph, e.g., proposed hardware consists of multiple engines (computing cores) to perform a MCMC stochastic search to minimize the Ising energy).
Regarding Claim 20, Matsubara in view of Kanda teach:
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 8, wherein dividing the variables into the plurality of groups is based on a number of computing cores of the computer system configured to perform the semi-sequential trial process and a processing capability of each of the computing cores (Matsubara: Page 433, Section 2 Operating Principle, First paragraph, e.g., proposed hardware consists of multiple engines (computing cores) to perform a MCMC stochastic search to minimize the Ising energy).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 4-6, they are method claims practiced by the apparatus of claims 8, 9, and 11-13. They are rejected for the same reasons as claims 8, 9, and 11-13.
Regarding Claims 15, 16, 18, and 19, they are media claims practiced by the apparatus of claims 8, 9, 11, and 12. They are rejected for the same reasons as claims 8, 9, 11, and 12.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsubara in view of Kanda, further in view of J.-L. Bouquard in NPL: “Application of an optimization problem in Max-Plus algebra to scheduling problems” (https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0166218X06000485?ref=pdf_download&fr=RR-2&rr=9ecba09a1e8cf094), hereinafter “Bouquard”.
Regarding Claim 10, Matsubara in view of Kanda teach:
The system of claim 9, wherein the weight matrix … includes the weight of each respective variable with respect to each other variable included in the optimization problem (Matsubara: Abstract, e.g., hardware architecture solves combinatorial optimization problem; Page 433, Section 2, e.g., weights correspond to the connection between bits in state variables) …
Matsubara in view of Kanda do not teach:
… wherein the weight matrix is a half-weight matrix … but not a bidirectional weight between each other variable and the each respective variable.
However, Bouquard teaches using triangular matrices for solving optimization problems. Bouquard explains in Page 2065, First paragraph “In Section 3 we present a general optimization problem in Max-Plus algebra, that involves 2 × 2 matrices”, and in Section 3 Optimization problem in T2×2(Rmax) “Let us consider a set of n 2 × 2 triangular matrices in Max-Plus algebra”. As shown in Section 3, triangular matrix M(i) contains upper elements of the matrix, hence elements are not bidirectional.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine using triangular matrices for solving optimization problems as taught by Bouquard with the weight data used for solving the optimization problem as taught by Matsubara in view of Kanda. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose solving optimization problems, and Bouquard enhances the model of Matsubara in view of Kanda because “Max-Plus algebra is more adapted for solving sequencing problems than the classical (R,+,×) algebra.” (Bouquard: First page, Introduction)
Regarding Claim 3, it is a method claim practiced by the apparatus of claim 10. It is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
Regarding Claim 17, it is a media claim practiced by the apparatus of claim 10. It is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsubara in view of Kanda, further in view of Oshima (U.S. Patent Application No.: US 20210065087 A1), hereinafter “Oshima”
Regarding Claim 14, Matsubara in view of Kanda teach the system of claim 8. Matsubara in view of Kanda do not teach:
wherein the optimization problem is a quadratic unconstrained binary optimization (QUBO) problem.
However, Oshima teaches:
wherein the optimization problem is a quadratic unconstrained binary optimization (QUBO) problem (¶0044, e.g., energy function of the optimization problem is formulated to QUBO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine formulating the optimization problem into QUBO as taught by Oshima with the optimization problem as taught by Matsubara in view of Kanda. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose solving optimization problems, and Oshima enhances the model of Matsubara in view of Kanda because formulating optimization problems to QUBO maps complex combinatorial problems into a simple representation.
Regarding Claim 7, it is a method claim practiced by the apparatus of claim 10. It is rejected for the same reasons as claim 14.
Prior Art Made of Record
US 12626785 B2 – teaches methods for analogue quantum simulator that uses local field bias, target temperature. See Column 18 Lines 53-67 and Column 30 Lines 33-55. Which is pertinent to the local field matrices and updating of temperature disclosed in the instant application on specification on paragraphs 0029 and 0040.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.H.D./
Carlos H. De La GarzaExaminer, Art Unit 2182 (571)272-0474
/ANDREW CALDWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2182