Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-14, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-21 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of FOR1 (DE202017000560 U1) in view of Matheis (US 20120211950 A1), Haimer2 (US 20090179368 A1) and Makiuchi (US 20090148082 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-8, 10-17, 20-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (DE202017000560 U1) in view of Matheis (US 20120211950 A1), Haimer2 (US 20090179368 A1) and Makiuchi (US 20090148082 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, FOR 1 teaches A grinding disc receptacle (1), comprising:
a rotationally symmetrical, hollow-cylindrical receptacle main body (1) having a cavity (23) formed therein and a cylinder barrel (2); and
But does not explicitly teach
a counter thread associated with said receptacle main body
A clamping shoulder
a through-pipe disposed in said cavity of said receptacle main body so as to be spaced apart from said cylinder barrel of said receptacle main body, said through-pipe having two ends, one of said ends being formed with a thread and another of said ends being disposed at said clamping shoulder
a complementary clamping shoulder being disposed on said receptacle main body; and
said thread of said through-pipe being screwed into said counter thread, causing said clamping shoulder to be clamped against said complementary clamping shoulder or against said grinding disc bearing for clamping said through-pipe against said receptacle main body.
However, Matheis teaches a similar tool holder utilizing a through-pipe (13) disposed in said cavity (3) of said receptacle main body (1) so as to be spaced apart from said cylinder barrel of said receptacle main body (Spaced apart from cylinder barrel via sleeve 12), said through-pipe braced in relation to said receptacle main body (see Figure 1a of Matheis, pipe 13 is braced inside and in relation to main body 1), the through pipe having a clamping shoulder (21) braced against a complementary clamping shoulder (22).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the bored cavity of FOR1 to for the sleeved through pipe of Matheis as doing so would allow for a tighter connection that can be sealed in order to prevent leakage (See Matheis Para [0049] “Pipe element 13 is mounted in sleeve 12 in a displaceable and rotatable manner. In order to achieve a tight transition between the two elements 12, 13, a lip seal 20 is provided on pipe element 13.”). Further, the through pipe mechanism of Matheis and the cavity of FOR1 are equivalents for the purposes providing cooling or lubricant to a tool, See Matheis Para [0053] “An axial stop for tool 7 can thus be established, wherein a tight, gap-free transition between adjusting screw 14 and base 10 of tool 7 is always guaranteed for a lubricant/coolant flow that is as undisturbed as possible. When there is a rotation of pipe element 13, which brings about screwing-in of adjusting screw 14, pipe element 13 remains fixed, since a displacement in the direction of the tool is prevented by stop collar 21, which abuts against shoulder 22 during the rotation.” and FOR1 Para [0016] “By means of the adjustment device, individual feed channels or The cooling lubricant distribution channels can be separated from the main supply or connected to the main supply. In particular, elements that can be moved along one direction but at the same time maintain the set position are preferably suitable for this purpose. In the simplest case, these can be, for example, threaded pins or screws. However, locking devices can also be provided, e.g.,”
However, FOR1 as currently modified does not disclose said through pipe being formed with a thread on one end, said thread of said through-pipe being screwed into a counter thread causing the clamping shoulder to be clamped against a complementary clamping shoulder.
Haimer2 discloses a similar tool holder with several embodiments, one of which (Fig. 18) includes, an internal counter thread (33), and a complimentary clamping shoulder (See Annotated Fig C) which mates with a corresponding tubular screw (32, analogous to the through pipe) on one end (left end), wherein the tubular screw has a clamping shoulder on the other end (See Annotated Fig. C), such that said thread of said screw (32) being screwed into said counter thread (33), causing said clamping shoulder (Annotated Fig. C, the inclined surface of the tubular screw forms a shoulder) to be clamped against a said complementary clamping shoulder (Annotated Fig. C the inclined surface of the receptacle that contacts the inclined surface of the tubular screw) for clamping said screw (32) against said receptacle main body (See Fig. 18, the contact between the 2 surfaces forms a clamp when coupled with the screw connection between the receptacle main body, further limiting radial movement of the screw and also limiting the depth of the tubular screw in the axial direction)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the through pipe of FOR1 as modified to combine the through pipe (13 of Matheis) and the external screw (14) into a singular piece as disclosed in Haimer2 to include threads and a clamping shoulder, with the tool holder having a corresponding clamping shoulder, in order to properly secure the through pipe in the in the tool holder and prevent accidental dislodging or pull out as suggested in Para [0061].
Annotated Fig. C (Fig. 18 of Haimer)
Finally, Makiuchi discloses a grinding tool spindle for a grinding wheel (34), mounted on a grinding wheel bearing (33), wherein the bearing is connected to a receptacle main body (See Fig. 1 showing bearing 33 on the spindle body 23).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the tool holder (22) of FOR1 to include a grinding disc bearing connected to said receptacle main body, as one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to mount a grinding wheel on a bearing in order to reduce rotational friction and allow for a smooth rotation of the grinding wheel during operation.
Regarding Claim 2 FOR1 teaches all the elements of claim 1 and in addition teaches wherein said through-pipe is disposed in said receptacle main body so as to be coaxial with said receptacle main body (See Figure 1a of Matheis where 13 is coaxial with the main body).
Regarding Claim 4, FOR1 teaches all the elements of claim 1 and in addition teaches further comprising a through-pipe holder (Item 7 of FORI) disposed on said receptacle main body (1) said through-pipe holder formed with said complementary thread (Haimer See Para [0061] “FIG. 18 shows a shrink fit chuck with the locking elements in the form of balls 4 in a purely schematic sectional view. Herein, a pullout prevention of the tool without clearance is performed after shrinking in through the use of a length adjustment screw 32, which is preferably made of a rubber elastic material. Corresponding to the length adjustment screw 32, a corresponding inner thread 33 is formed in the tool holder.”).
Regarding Claim 5, FOR1 teaches all the elements of claim 4 and in addition teaches further comprising:
a coolant supply pipe (13 of Matheis) connected to said through-pipe holder (7 or FOR 1 or 12 of Matheis); and/or
a sleeve disposed between said through-pipe and said through-pipe holder.
Regarding Claim 7, FOR1 teaches all the elements of claim 1 and in addition teaches further comprising said grinding disc bearing (22 as modified by Makiuchi 33) bracing said through-pipe and being supported on said receptacle main body (Mounting grinding disk 3, of FOR1 on a bearing as modified in claim 1, would result in a bearing bracing the through pipe (23 of FOR1) and being supported on the receptacle main body, See 22 in FOR1).
Regarding Claim 8, FOR1 teaches all the elements of claim 1 and further comprising said grinding disc bearing (22 as modified by Makiuchi 33) having at least one filler bore (See Annotated figure A) formed therein and said at least one filler bore opening into said cavity (See Annotated Figure A).
Annotated Figure A (Figure 1 of FOR1)
Regarding Claim 10, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and in addition teaches further comprising a clamping flange (6) screwed to said grinding disc bearing, for a grinding disc (See FOR1 Para [0064] “Here we will show once again in detail how the internal channels 61 of the clamping element 6 can be closed by means of the adjusting device 4, which is protected by the cover 8. Suitable for this purpose are e.g., threaded pins or screws”).
Regarding Claim 11, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and in addition teaches wherein said clamping flange (6) has radial coolant through-bores (61) formed therein and/or a coolant bore formed therein which extends axially through said clamping flange.
Regarding Claim 12, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 10 but does not explicitly teach further comprising a sleeve (12 of Matheis) disposed on an interface between said through-pipe (13 of Matheis) and said clamping flange (4 of Matheis).
However, Matheis teaches a similar holding device for a tool comprising a sleeve (12) disposed on an interface between said through-pipe (13) and said clamping flange (4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify holding device of FOR1 to include a sleeve to ensure that lubricant/coolant flow is consistently delivered to the clamping device and grinding wheel in an undisturbed manner, See Para [0053] of Matheis “Adjusting screw 14 is connected rotationally fixed to pipe element 13. However, the two components can be displaced axially with respect to each other. Adjusting screw 14 is screwed into a thread 25 of chuck base body 1a. As a result of rotating pipe element 13, adjusting screw 14 also rotates automatically, said adjusting screw either moving axially towards tool 7 or away from the latter along thread 25. An axial stop for tool 7 can thus be established, wherein a tight, gap-free transition between adjusting screw 14 and base 10 of tool 7 is always guaranteed for a lubricant/coolant flow that is as undisturbed as possible.”
Regarding Claim 13, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and in addition teaches wherein at least one of said receptacle main body or said grinding disc bearing has an external circumferential face with bores (See Annotated Figure B) but does not explicitly teach these bores formed therein for balancing screws.
However, Matheis does teach a similar device wherein at least one of said receptacle main body (See Figure 5a 61) or said grinding disc bearing has an external circumferential face with bores (66) these bores formed therein for balancing screws (64).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify FOR1 to include bores formed therein for balancing screws to allow for adjustment of the tool holder to accommodate different tools of different sizes or grinding wheels of different sizes, as described in Matheis, See Para [0072] “When the bolt is rotated to the left or to the right, pipe element 63 is correspondingly rotated and with it adjusting screw 14 axially in the direction of clamping section 4 or in the direction of a sleeve 62, according to the previously described interrelationships. For this purpose, adjusting screw 14 and pipe element 63 are in particular connected rotationally fixed with respect to each other and axially displaceable with respect to each other.”
Annotated Figure B (Figure 1 of FOR1)
Regarding Claim 14, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches wherein said through-pipe is a coolant pipe (See FOR1 Para [0055] “In addition to the tool interface section 21 and the tool holder 22, the tool holder body 2 has an internal channel 23 for conducting the cooling lubricant from the tool interface section 21 to the tool holder 22.” And See Para [0053] “As a result of rotating pipe element 13, adjusting screw 14 also rotates automatically, said adjusting screw either moving axially towards tool 7 or away from the latter along thread 25. An axial stop for tool 7 can thus be established, wherein a tight, gap-free transition between adjusting screw 14 and base 10 of tool 7 is always guaranteed for a lubricant/coolant flow that is as undisturbed as possible.”).
Regarding Claim 15, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches further comprising at least one damping body (7) disposed in said cavity (See Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 16, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition teaches wherein said at least one damping body is an annular disc or a sleeve (7 is a sleeve, see figure 1).
Regarding Claim 17, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and in addition teaches wherein said at least one damping body is a damping body which is held so as to be spaced apart from said cylinder barrel (See Figure 1, said damping sleeve 7 is spaced apart into the interior of cylinder barrel 7, similarly to applicants’ disclosure in figure 3 of Applicants disclosure) and/or from said through-pipe.
Regarding Claim 20, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches further comprising a damping material (7) is incorporated in said cavity (See Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 21, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches further comprising an interface for a working spindle (21) disposed on one end of said receptacle main body (See Figure 1) so as to be integrally connected to said receptacle main body or so as to be connected as a separate component (See Para [0050] “The tool holder body 2 has a tool interface section 21 at one end, which establishes the connection between the tool holder 1 and a work spindle of a machine tool. In order to be usable for a wide range of machine tools, standardized connection options are particularly suitable, as are also used for other tools or machines.”).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (DE202017000560 U1) in view of Matheis (US 20120211950 A1), Haimer2 (US 20090179368 A1) and Makiuchi (US 20090148082 A1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Gerber (US 5904451 A).
Regarding Claim 9, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein said clamping shoulder has an external cone.
However, Gerber does teach a similar clamping device wherein the clamping shoulder has an external cone (Col 2 Line 17-22 “The collet chucks or clamping sleeves are conventionally made of hardened spring steel, tool steel or beryllium bronze so that the radial slots give them a degree of flexibility when mechanical or hydraulic pressure is applied. Their shape can be either that of a cylinder or that of a cone, double cone or cone/cylinder combination.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the clamping shoulder of FORI to have an external cone shape as taught by Gerber. Such a modification is viewed as a change in shape which has been held to be routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B.). Conical collets are known in the art to have a tightening aspect as they are tightened into place, allowing the tool to easily be held.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FOR1 (DE202017000560 U1) in view of Matheis (US 20120211950 A1), Haimer2 (US 20090179368 A1) and Makiuchi (US 20090148082 A1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Haimer (US 20150050097 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches a damping body disposed in the cavity (7) but does not teach further comprising a plurality of damping bodies disposed in said cavity.
However, Haimer does teach a similar device with multiple damping rings (39, See Para [0035] “A sealing sleeve 38 is arranged in the passage opening 12 of the receptacle body 3 between the transfer element 13 and the stop part 19. The sealing sleeve 38 is seated inside the passage opening 12 with seal rings 39 for vibration damping”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the damping elements (7) of FOR1 to be a series of rings. As both the damping sleeve (7 of FOR1) and the seal ring mechanisms (39 of Haimer) are for the purpose of damping vibrations and reducing the overall vibrations endured by the respective devices. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 19, FOR1 as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 18 and in addition further comprising sleeves (38 of Haimer), said plurality of damping bodies are annular discs which are held so as to be axially spaced apart by means of said sleeves (See Para [0035] of Haimer cited in rejection of claim 18).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723