DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the remarks filed on 12/15/2025.
Claims 1, 5 and 16 have been amended.
Claim 4 is cancelled.
Claims 1-3, and 5-16 are currently pending.
*Examiner’s note: the amendments were submitted with color tracked changes which resulted in numerous errors to our system. These errors involved several support groups to correct over the course of several weeks. Please be advised that colored ink will not be considered responsive moving forward. See MPEP 608.01
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 regarding the rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(2) of claim 1 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1 and 16 have overcome the previous rejection of record however the new grounds of rejection have been given in light of the amendment. The new grounds of rejection now address the amended claims that now claim a hemming portion. The rejections of the claims are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230170551 A1, SIVANESASELVAM et al.
Regarding claim 1. SIVANESASELVAM discloses a battery pack referred to as a battery module in the annotated drawings below comprising:
Annotated figure 2 shows a housing called a casing (101) having a receiving space formed therein;
a plurality of battery cells (202) accommodated in the receiving space and supported by the housing (101); and a cooling block called a cell holder assembly (204) accommodated in the receiving space,
annotated figure 5 including the zoomed in section of the hemming structure shows the cooling block includes cell insertion parts, each cell insertion part including a top opening and a bottom opening, such that the battery cells are inserted into the cell insertion parts and a cooling chamber in which cooling water flows, wherein the
cooling block further includes:
an upper plate called a cell locking member 501coupled to upper end portions of the cell insertion parts;
a lower plate called a cell locking member 503 coupled to lower end portions of the cell insertion parts; and
a pair of side plates of the place holder assembly 303 configured to connect the upper plate and the lower plate, and wherein the upper plate and the lower plate each include first curved portions formed at portions connected with the cell insertion parts, and each cell insertion part includes, at upper and lower end portions thereof, first hemming portions bent toward the upper plate and the lower plate and formed to surround the first curved portions, the first hemming portions overlapping the first curved portions and being sealed or bonded thereto to define a hemming structure that couples the cell insertion parts to the upper and lower plates.
Regarding claim 2. The battery pack of claim 1, wherein the upper plate and the lower plate are formed to surround ends of the side plates in areas in which the upper plate and the lower plate meet the side plates as shown in the annotated figure by SIVANESASELVAM below.
Regarding claim 3. SIVANESASELVAM teaches in the annotated figure 2 below the battery pack of claim 1, wherein
a direction from upper end portions of the battery cells toward lower end portions thereof is referred to as a first direction, wherein
the side plates extend in a second direction, wherein
the second direction is a direction in which the cooling block extends that is perpendicular to the first direction, and are spaced apart from each other in a third direction, wherein
the third direction is a direction that is perpendicular to the first direction and to the second direction.
Regarding claim 5. In the annotated figures below SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the side plates include
second curved portions formed at portions connected with the upper plate and the lower plate and having a curved shape,
and wherein the upper plate and the lower plate include, at end portions facing toward the side plates,
second hemming portions bent to surround the second curved portions.
Regarding claim 8. SIVANESASELVAM discloses in the annotated figure blow the battery pack of claim 3, wherein
the housing includes:
an upper cover configured to cover the upper end portions of the battery cells; and
a lower cover configured to form the receiving space together with the upper cover and cover the lower end portions of the battery cells, and wherein
the upper cover and the lower cover are coupled to the cooling block by a snap-fit connection.
Regarding claim 14. SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 8 in the annotated figure below, wherein
the lower cover includes a lower horizontal plate provided to be horizontal and a lower vertical plate formed perpendicular to the lower horizontal plate and assembled to the cooling block, and wherein the lower horizontal plate includes a support guide configured to protrude from an inside surface of the lower horizontal plate facing toward the receiving space, to guide arrangement of the battery cells, and to support the lower end portions of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 15. SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 14 in the annotated figure depicted below, wherein
the support guide is formed along edges of end portions of the plurality of battery cells facing the first direction, and wherein
the support guide includes support portions brought into close contact with side surfaces of the battery cells to support the battery cells and protrusions configured to extend from the support portions so as to be bent,
the protrusions being provided to correspond to positions between the plurality of battery cells.
Regarding 16. SIVANESASELVAM discloses a battery pack in the annotated figure 2 depicted below comprising:
a housing having a receiving space formed therein;
a plurality of battery cells accommodated in the receiving space and supported by the housing; and
a cooling block accommodated in the receiving space, the cooling block comprising:
a plurality of cell insertion parts, each cell insertion part having a top opening and a bottom opening, and being configured to receive a corresponding battery cell;
a cooling chamber in fluid communication with the cell insertion parts and configured to allow cooling water to flow around the received battery cells;
an upper plate coupled to upper end portions of the cell insertion parts;
a lower plate coupled to lower end portions of the cell insertion parts; and
the annotated figure 5 depicted below discloses a pair of side plates connecting the upper plate and the lower plate, wherein the upper plate and the lower plate each include first curved portions formed at portions connected with the cell insertion parts, and each cell insertion part includes, at upper and lower end portions thereof, first hemming portions bent toward the upper plate and the lower plate and formed to surround the first curved portions, the first hemming portions overlapping the first curved portions and being sealed or bonded thereto to define a hemming structure that couples the cell insertion parts to the upper and lower plates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230170551 A1, SIVANESASELVAM et al.
Regarding claim 6. SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 3, wherein in the annotated figure below the cooling block includes:
an inlet part formed at one end of the side plates in the second direction, the inlet part having an inlet formed therein through which the cooling water flows into the cooling chamber; and
an outlet part formed at an opposite end of the side plates in the second direction, the outlet part having an outlet formed therein through which the cooling water flows out of the cooling chamber.
The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have moved one of the ports on the cooling block in order to suit whatever cooling system arrangement is available.
Regarding claim 7. SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 6, wherein
the inlet part includes:
an inlet plate provided at one end of the inlet part in the third direction, the inlet plate having the inlet formed therein; and
an inclined inlet plate configured to extend from the inlet plate and inclined toward the outlet part with an approach to an opposite end of the inlet part in the third direction, and wherein
the outlet part includes:
an outlet plate provided at an opposite end of the outlet part in the third direction, the outlet plate having the outlet formed therein; and
an inclined outlet plate configured to extend from the outlet plate and inclined toward the inlet part with an approach to one end of the outlet part in the third direction.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230170551 A1, SIVANESASELVAM et al. in view of US 20200006827 A1, FILTER et al.
Regarding claim 9. SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 8.
SIVANESASELVAM does not disclose the cooling block includes
upper assembly protrusions and
lower assembly protrusions configured to protrude from the side plates and extend in the second direction and spaced apart from each other in the first direction, wherein
the upper cover includes, on inside surfaces thereof,
upper insertion grooves into which the upper assembly protrusions are inserted, and wherein
the lower cover includes, on inside surfaces thereof,
lower insertion grooves into which the lower assembly protrusions are inserted.
FILTER discloses in the annotated drawings depicted below, that the cooling block includes upper assembly protrusions and lower assembly protrusions configured to protrude from the side plates and extend in the second direction and spaced apart from each other in the first direction,
wherein the upper cover includes, on inside surfaces thereof, upper insertion grooves into which the upper assembly protrusions are inserted, and
wherein the lower cover includes, on inside surfaces thereof, lower insertion grooves into which the lower assembly protrusions are inserted.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230170551 A1, SIVANESASELVAM et al. in view of US 20210265681 A1, MIYOSHI et al.
Regarding claim 10. SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 8.
SIVANESASELVAM does not disclose wherein the upper cover, the lower cover, and the side plates are bonded by thermal fusion or welding.
MIYOSHI [title] discloses a BATTERY DEVICE wherein the upper cover, the lower cover, and the side plates are bonded by thermal fusion or welding as depicted in the annotated figure below.
MIYOSHI [0100] also teaches “the coupling method between the battery cell mounting is not limited to a method adopting coupling bolts, and may adopt welding or another appropriate known connecting method.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have welded the plates instead of bolting them, as welding is a common practice for joining parts in the art.
Regarding claim 11. SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 8.
SIVANESASELVAM does not disclose the cooling block includes
an inlet formed at one end of the cooling block in the second direction and
an outlet formed at an opposite end of the cooling block in the second direction, and wherein
the upper cover includes
an inlet recess that is formed in one end portion of the upper cover in the second direction and through which the inlet passes, and
an outlet recess that is formed in an opposite end portion of the upper cover in the second direction and through which the outlet passes.
MIYOSHI discloses in the annotated figure above the cooling block includes
an inlet formed at one end of the cooling block in the second direction and
an outlet formed at an opposite end of the cooling block in the second direction, and wherein
the upper cover includes
an inlet recess that is formed in one end portion of the upper cover in the second direction and through which the inlet passes, and
an outlet recess that is formed in an opposite end portion of the upper cover in the second direction and through which the outlet passes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the coolant, which MIYOSHI refers to as the temperature-adjusting medium go through the inlets and outlets on opposite sides of the block.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230170551 A1, SIVANESASELVAM et al. in view of US 20110206948 A1, ASAI et al.
Regarding claim 12. SIVANESASELVAM discloses the battery pack of claim 8.
SIVANESASELVAM does not disclose:
a sensing assembly configured to monitor voltages of the battery cells, wherein
the upper cover includes
an upper horizontal plate provided to be horizontal and
an upper vertical plate formed perpendicular to the upper horizontal plate and assembled to the cooling block, and wherein
the upper horizontal plate includes
at least one fixing protrusion that is formed on an inside surface facing toward the receiving space and to which the sensing assembly is fixed.
ASAI [title] discloses “A POWER SOURCE APPARATUS WITH ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS DISPOSED IN THE BATTERY BLOCKS” in the annotated figures below where:
a sensing assembly (which ASAI refers to as flexible printed circuits) are configured to monitor voltages of the battery cells, wherein
the upper cover includes
an upper horizontal plate provided to be horizontal and
an upper vertical plate formed perpendicular to the upper horizontal plate and assembled to the cooling block, and wherein
the upper horizontal plate includes
at least one fixing protrusion that is formed on an inside surface facing toward the receiving space and to which the sensing assembly is fixed.
ASAI [0012] also discloses that “flexible printed circuits can be used as the voltage detection lines for electrical connection between the voltage detection circuit and the electrode terminals of each battery cell. As a result, the labor-intensive wiring operation to connect voltage detection lines such as lead-wires to the battery stack can be eliminated.”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used a sensing assemble in the upper housing to monitor the voltage of the battery in the battery cells taught by ASAI in the battery assembly disclosed by SIVANESASELVAM in order to monitor the voltage of the battery system and eliminating labor intensive wiring.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230170551 A1, SIVANESASELVAM et al. in view of US 20110206948 A1, ASAI et al. as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 20180254536 A1, CHIDESTER et al.
Regarding claim 13. SIVANESASELVAM modified by ASAI discloses the battery pack of claim 12 in the annotated figure depicted above.
wherein the at least one fixing protrusion includes
a plurality of fixing protrusions spaced apart from each other along a periphery of a circuit board included in the sensing assembly, and
Modified SIVANESASELVAM does not disclose the plurality of fixing protrusions are coupled to edges of the circuit board by a snap-fit connection.
CHIDESTER discloses VEHICLE ENERGY-STORAGE SYSTEMS where “The electrochemical cells may be disposed within various cell holder structures, and may be electrically connected by flexible circuitry. Coupling of various components within the battery pack, strings, and/or modules may be accomplished by pressure fitting, snap fitting, welding such as laser welding, application of adhesive chemicals, or other coupling methods. In some embodiments, battery packs, strings, and/or modules may be liquid cooled.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used snap fittings in order to secure wiring or a components in a battery module or pack. It is common in the art as of the filing date to use snaps fitting, pressure fitting or some other friction device to fasten components in a casing.
Conclusion
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727