DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (KR 20170126081) (Kim).
In reference to claims 1-6, Kim teaches a compound of formula 1 as shown below (Kim [0029] to [0032]).
For example, wherein in the formula 1, X1 is O, R1 and R3 to R10 are each hydrogen, R2 is a group of formula 2, a1 is 1, L1 is a group of formula 3-42 as shown above, Z1 is phenyl and Ar1 is a group 6-1 (Kim [0011] to [0014] [0037] [0045] [0077]).
Kim discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein X1 is O, R1 and R3 to R10 are each hydrogen, R2 is a group of formula 2, a1 is 1, L1 is a group of formula 3-42 as shown above, Z1 is phenyl and Ar1 is a group 6-1. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Kim are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Kim and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on wherein X1 is O, R1 and R3 to R10 are each hydrogen, R2 is a group of formula a, L1 is a bond, Z1 to Z3 are each N, L2 and L3 are each a bond, and Ar1 and Ar2 are each phenyl.
For Claim 2: Reads on formula 1-2.
For Claim 3: Reads on a bond.
For Claim 4: Reads on phenyl.
For Claim 5: Reads on the first group.
For Claim 6: Reads on compound 7.
In reference to claims 11 to 13, Kim teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 and further teaches that it is preferably used in an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer comprising the compound of formula 1 in a concentration larger than that of the dopant (Kim [0119]; claim 20) that is used in a display device (Kim [0025]).
While Kim does not recite that the compound is a “host”, the naming of the material of Kim as a “host” does not change the structure of the device and therefore the device of Kim reads on the instantly claimed device.
While Kim does not exemplify a device with this exact material and configuration, it would have been obvious to have used the material described by Kim in a configuration describe by Kim with the anticipation of providing a device with similar operational characteristics to those exemplified therein.
For Claims 11 to 13: Reads on a device as claimed.
In reference to claims 7-10 and 14-16, Kim teaches the device as described above for claims 11 to 13. Kim further teaches that the emitting layer can include a host compound defined by formula 301 as shown below.
For example, wherein in the formula 301, A301 is naphthalene, A302 is benzene, xb22 and xb23 are each 0, xb1 is 0, R301 is aryl, R312 is hydrogen and R311 is N(Q31)(Q32), Q31 and Q32 are each aryl (Kim [0243] to [0251]; [0024]).
Kim discloses the host compound 301-1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula 301, A301 is naphthalene, A302 is benzene, xb22 and xb23 are each 0, xb1 is 0, R301 is aryl, R312 is hydrogen and R311 is N(Q31)(Q32), Q31 and Q32 are each aryl. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Kim are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 301-1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 301-1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Kim and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While Kim does not exemplify a device with this exact configuration, it would have been obvious to have used the material described by Kim in a configuration describe by Kim with the anticipation of providing a device with similar operational characteristics to those exemplified therein.
For Claim 7: The light emitting layer reads on a composition wherein the compound of formula 1 is the first compound and the host compound of formula 301-1 is the second compound wherein A is the second group, X is NRb, Rb is aryl, R11 to R14 are hydrogen, one of R15 to R 22 is formula b, each L4 to L6 is a bond, Ar3 and Ar4 are aryl.
For Claim 8: Reads on formula 2-IV.
For Claim 9: Reads on formula 2-IVB
Foor Claim 10: Reads on formula 2-IVB-2.
For Claims 14 to 16: Reads on the claimed device.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786