DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the application filed 05/20/2025. Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17 are canceled. Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 15 and 18-19 are amended. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-20 are pending.
Acknowledgement is made to the Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 8, and 15 regarding the “channel unoccupied time” to obviate the previous objection to the claim. The previous objection to claims 1, 8 and 15, and dependent claims are hereby withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2022, 07/13/2023 and 01/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/20/2025 with respect to one or more of the pending claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim(s) 1, 8 and 15, the Applicant, in pages 9-11 of the remarks, argues that the cited references fails to teach the newly amend limitation:
“at least one beam identity and channel occupancy information corresponding to the at least one beam identity…” as generally recited in claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As for the limitation “at least one beam identity and channel occupancy information corresponding to the at least one beam identity”, Li 4474 ( EP 3454474) in view of Xia (US 2019/0075599) is cited in the 35 USC 103 rejection of this limitation. Li4474 teaches Control signals [0240-0241] within a channel occupancy, may indicate the number of consecutive TTIs (transmission time intervals) and TTI format [0240]; which one scheduling time unit or TTI in which the content of the control signal is applied [0221]; a time duration by indicating a starting scheduling time or TTI of time duration and length of time duration [0224]; direction for transmission (i.e. uplink or downlink) [0217-0218, 0241-0243] Step 2305 (See Fig. 23); Also include “No UL and No DL” [0218, 243] meaning the occupancy time indicates for the UE NOT to perform UL data transmission or Dl data transmission for a reference signals. These singly or in combination equate to channel occupancy information and/or associate to channel occupancy information.
Furthermore, Xia (US 2019/0075599) teaches [0143-0146] (see Fig. 12) Operation 1200, the UE receives signaling indicator that includes a beam index, to use in measurement and reporting said measurement as quality information. This beam index equates to beam identity.
It is obvious for Li to adapt the additional beam information provided by Xie in order to clearly identify the transmission time interval to be monitored for signal energy (LBT), thus identifying select devices that can perform the signal measurement, in order to be attached (or not attached) to the network node.
Regarding claim(s) 1, Applicant, in pages 9-11 of the remarks, argues that the cited references fails to teach the newly amend limitation:
“…performing, by the terminal device, downlink measurement on a first beam and/or receiving downlink data from the first beam within the channel occupancy time of the first beam,…” as recited in claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As this limitation is written as comprised of Option A and/or Option B, rejection of either Option A or Option B would comply for a 103 rejection.
As for the limitation “performing, by the terminal device, downlink measurement on a first beam…), Xia teaches [0073-0075]: See Fig 5, Step 505. UE 505 receives Dl reference signals 515/517 and measures the channel/beams 519 [0074]. This measurement made by the UE may include SINR, SNR, RSRP or RSRQ of reference signals, of the beam.
Furthermore, as for the optional limitation “and/or receiving downlink data from the first beam within the channel occupancy time of the first beam”, Li4474 teaches [0243], Step 2320 (Fig. 23): the UE performs downlink data reception or uplink data transmission until the end of the TTI.
Thus, the combination of Li4474 in view of Xie teaches both Option A and Option B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 8, “…channel unoccupied time is a backoff time of the network device…” is recited where “backoff time’ is recited to be equivalent to “channel unoccupied time” without association or definition of a what “backoff” or “backoff time” refers to, nor in any association with “channel unoccupied time”, or any association with UE performing (or not performing) any activity. The specification [0041] merely repeats the limitation mentioning “backoff time” without clarifying what backoff refers to, failing to provide clarification to this indefiniteness.
Claims 8 and 15 are written similarly, and is rejected for the same reason. All claims 1, 8 and 15 dependent claims are also rejected for dependency on independent claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively.
The Applicant should correct.
Examiner’s Note: The lexicon definition provided by Applicant for “channel occupancy time” is interpreted to refer to the transmission time interval, or TTI, when the channel can be used, or “occupied”, by the UE for receiving downlink data and/or downlink reference signal for channel measurement.
Conversely, “channel unoccupied time” is interpreted to indicate the transmission time interval, or TTI, when the channel cannot be used nor occupied (that is, “unoccupied” is the opposite of “occupied”), by the UE, for receiving downlink data and/or downlink reference signal for channel measurement. The term “unoccupied” is used by the Applicant in a manner not commonly known in the art. The term “backoff time” cited in the amended claim language does not further clarify the meaning of “unoccupied”, even beyond the interpretation indicated above. For examination purposes, “channel unoccupied time” is interpreted to broadly indicate the TTI, i.e. a time period, when the channel simply cannot be used nor occupied, by the UE, for downloading data and/or reference signals for channel measurement. Backoff time is interpreted to be a synonym of “unoccupied time”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US EP 3454474), hereinafter “Li4474”, in view of Xia et al. (US 2019/0075599), hereinafter “Xia”, in further view of Li et al. (US 2020/0037354), hereinafter “Li7354”.
Regarding claim 1, 8 and 15, Li4474 teaches:
A communication method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device (Fig. 1, 6, 9 and 10: UE receives configuration or control information, from network device), first indication information from a network device (Fig. 23, flow chart 2300 [0240-0243]: Step 2305, UE receives control signal (equates to first indication information) within a channel occupancy, that indicates a number of consecutive TTIs (transmission time intervals), TTI formats(s) , indication of downlink, uplink, “No UL and No DL”, “empty” or “reserved” [0240-0241].) , wherein the first indication information indicates channel occupancy information of the network device, … and the channel occupancy information comprises a channel occupancy time or a channel unoccupied time ([0240-0241]: Control signal indicates a number of consecutive TTIs (equates to occupancy information). [0221]: Control signal explicitly or implicitly could indicate which one scheduling time unit of TTI in which the content of the control signal is applied.[0022]: Control signal could indicate a subframe or slot; [0224]: Control signal could indicate a time duration, by indicating a starting scheduling time or TTI of time duration and length of time duration. [0217-0218, 0241-0243]: Step 2305 (See Fig. 23) - the control signal contains direction for transmission, i.e. uplink or downlink (indicating that the occupancy time is configured for transmitting uplink or receiving downlink data). Also [0218, 0243]: Control signal also can include “No UL and No DL”, meaning the occupancy time indicates for the UE NOT to perform UL data transmission or DL data reception for a reference signal or a channel in symbols, indicated by “empty” or reserved” as well.),
wherein the channel unoccupied time is a backoff time of the network device on at least one beam of a channel ((Channel unoccupied time is equated to the TTI where NO uplink or downlink data or signals can occupy the TTI. “Backoff time” broadly interpreted to equate to “channel unoccupied time” in the absence of any clarification or meaning of “backoff”. [0218, 0243]: Control signal to the UE can include “No UL and No DL”, meaning the UE does NOT perform UL data transmission or DL data reception for a reference signal or a channel in symbols, indicated by “empty” or reserved” as well.);
wherein the first indication information comprises Control signals [0240-0241] within a channel occupancy …“No UL and No DL” [0218, 243] meaning the occupancy time indicates for the UE NOT to perform UL data transmission or Dl data transmission for a reference signals.)
when the first indication information indicates the channel occupancy time of the network device, performing, by the terminal device, … receiving downlink data within the channel occupancy time ([0217-0218, 0241-0243]: Step 2305 (See Fig. 23) - the control signal contains direction for transmission, i.e. uplink or downlink (indicating that the occupancy time is configured for transmitting uplink or receiving downlink data), and [0243]: Step 2320, the UE performs downlink data reception or uplink data transmission until the ending of the TTI.); and
when the first indication information indicates the channel unoccupied time of the network device, within the channel unoccupied time, … by the terminal device…, skipping receiving the downlink data, … ([0218, 0243]: Control signal also can include “No UL and No DL”, meaning the UE does NOT perform UL data transmission or DL data reception for a reference signal or a channel in symbols, indicated by “empty” or reserved” as well.).
Li4474 does not teach:
wherein the first indication information comprises at least one beam identity and … …
when the first indication information indicates …, performing, by the terminal device, downlink measurement, on a first beam …
wherein the at least one beam identity comprises a beam identity of the first beam;
However, Xia in a similar endeavor discloses channel measurement of reference signal in a beam or TRP, and reporting such measurement to the network node, teaches:
wherein the first indication information comprises at least one beam identity and ([0143-0146]: Fig 12, Operation 1200, UE receives signaling indicator that may include a beam index, to use in measurement and reporting said measurement as beam quality information (equates to beam identity included in the first indication information).
when the first indication information indicates …, performing, by the terminal device, downlink measurement on a first beam (Xia [0073-0075]: Fig. 5. UE 505 receives DL reference signals 515/517 and measures the channels/identify beams 519 [0074]. Measurements made by the UE may include SINR, SNR, RSRP or RSRQ of reference signals in a first beam; additionally the UE identifies the beam associated with the reference signals.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Xia into the method of Li4474 in order to adapt simple measurement steps for device attachment process to authenticate the UL and DL process taught by Li, to improve efficiency in selecting UE devices that can newly attach properly to new cells or TRPs. The motivation is that applying a well know standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Furthermore, Li7354, in a similar endeavor discloses receiving cell identity for (re)attachment process, teaches:
the first indication information comprises a cell identity ([0124]: Fig. 8, the UE initial access procedure includes cell ID (equates to cell identity) acquisition from the DL synchronization signals 811 (equates to first indication information) as well as retrieval of broadcast information (along with system information required by the UE to establish DL and UL connections) followed by UL synchronization (equates to receiving cell identity, used for UL and DL channel occupancy procedure). Additionally, the UE may further pursue (stage 821) periodically attempt to acquire a “beam” ID or RR ID from a “beam” or RR acquisition signal (such as a measurement reference signal) [0124].)
and the channel occupancy information (Li 4474: Control signals [0240-0241] within a channel occupancy …“No UL and No DL” [0218, 243] meaning the occupancy time indicates for the UE NOT to perform UL data transmission or Dl data transmission for a reference signals.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Li7354 into the method of Li4474 and Xia in order to adapt cell identity as well beam identity to clearly start the access procedure identifying the radio resource level first, then drilling down within the cell level ([0120], Li7354) for proper identification of the beam and cell for attachment and replacement.
Regarding claim 4, 11 and 18, Li4474 teaches:
wherein the first indication information further comprises an identifier of a transmission reception point (TRP) to which each beam identified by the at least one beam identity belongs (Li4474. [0214]: Control signal (equates to indication information) may be a common control signal for a group or set of beams to the gNB or TRP cell)
Li 4474 does not teach:
and/or an identifier of a serving cell covered by the beam.
However, Xia teaches:
and/or an identifier of a serving cell covered by the beam. (Xia [0143-0146]: Fig 12, Operation 1200, UE receives signaling indicator that may include a beam index, to use in measurement and reporting said measurement as beam quality information (equates to beam identity included in the first indication information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Xia into the method of Li4474 in order to adapt simple measurement steps for device attachment process to authenticate the UL and DL process taught by Li, to improve efficiency in selecting UE devices that can newly attach properly to new cells or TRPs.
Regarding claim 5, 12 and 19, Li4474 teaches:
wherein the first indication information comprises [0217-0218, 0241-0243]: Step 2305 (See Fig. 23) - the control signal contains direction for transmission, i.e. uplink or downlink (indicating that the occupancy time is configured for transmitting uplink or receiving downlink data), and [0243]: Step 2320, the UE performs downlink data reception or uplink data transmission until the ending of the TTI.); and performing, by the terminal device, …([0243]: Step 2320, the UE performs downlink data reception or uplink data transmission until the ending of the TTI.), further comprises:
within the channel occupancy time, receiving, by the terminal device, the downlink data ([0243]: Step 2320, the UE performs downlink data reception or uplink data transmission until the ending of the TTI) …identified by the cell identity.
Li4474 does not teach:
performing, by the terminal device, the downlink measurement on the serving cell
..cell identity… from a serving cell identified by the cell identity
However, Xia teaches:
performing, by the terminal device, the downlink measurement on the serving cell(Xia [0073-0075]: Fig. 5. UE 505 receives DL reference signals 515/517 and measures the channels/identify beams 519 [0074]. Measurements made by the UE may include SINR, SNR, RSRP or RSRQ of reference signals; additionally the UE identifies the beam associated with the reference signals.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Xia into the method of Li4474 in order to adapt simple measurement steps for device attachment process to authenticate the UL and DL process taught by Li, to improve efficiency in selecting UE devices that can newly attach properly to new cells or TRPs.
However, Li7354 teaches:
…cell identity… from a serving cell identified by the cell identity ([0124]: Fig. 8, the UE initial access procedure includes cell ID acquisition from the DL synchronization signals 811 (equates to first indication information) as well as retrieval of broadcast information (along with system information required by the UE to establish DL and UL connections) followed by UL synchronization (equates to receiving cell identity, used for UL and DL channel occupancy procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Li7354 into the method of Li4474 and Xia in order to adapt cell identity as well beam identity to clearly start the access procedure identifying the radio resource level first, then drilling down within the cell level ([0120], Li7354) for proper identification of the beam and cell for attachment and replacement.
Regarding claim 6, 13 and 20, Li4474 teaches:
wherein the first indication information is carried on a group common physical downlink control channel GC-PDCCH. ([0215, 0240]: Control signal can be a group control signal, or a group or set of beams to the gNB or TRP cell, may include slot format related information (SFI). [0163-0164]: NR supports ‘a group common PDCCH’ carrying information , e.g. slot structure; the term ‘group common PDCCH refers to a channel that carries information intended for the group of UEs.)
Regarding claim 7 and 14, Li4474 does not teach:
wherein downlink measurement comprises downlink signal measurement and/or downlink channel measurement, and downlink signal measurement comprises one or more of the following: channel state information CSI measurement, beam reference signal received power RSRP measurement, or beam failure detection; and
downlink channel measurement comprises physical downlink control channel PDCCH detection.
However, Xia teaches:
downlink signal measurement comprises beam reference signal received power RSRP measurement (Xia [0073-0075]: Fig. 5. UE 505 receives DL reference signals 515/517 and measures the channels/identify beams 519 [0074]. Measurements made by the UE may include SINR, SNR, RSRP or RSRQ of reference signals; additionally the UE identifies the beam associated with the reference signals.)
downlink channel measurement comprises physical downlink control channel PDCCH detection ([0050-0051]: The UE detects a beam failure with all or parts of a channel (such as a PDCCH) fails (equates to PDCCH detection, of failure), where the channel fails when a quality indicator (RSRP) does not meet a specified threshold. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Xia into the method of Li4474 in order to adapt simple measurement steps for device attachment process to authenticate the UL and DL process taught by Li, to improve efficiency in selecting UE devices that can newly attach properly to new cells or TRPs. The motivation is that applying a well know standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2461 /HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461