DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of claim 8 showing vacuum; claim 13 (e.g. current limit sensor, motor), claim 15 (spring loaded cam on a front face) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged; however, certain claims are drawn to non-elected species and therefore withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 4 drawn to non-elected species figure 3 regarding planetary motion, claim 5 drawn to fig. 55 regarding offset mixing chamber, claims 9, 10, 11 drawn to non-elected species figures 16-24, claims 12, 16-19 are drawn to non-elected species figures 48, 25, 18, 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The handpiece” should be corrected with “the handpiece.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, it is not clear what is meant by the handpiece includes a vacuum. Is it refereeing to void of air, or some suction device. The claim is treated as the handpiece having capability to provide vacuum to remove air as best understood.
Regarding claim 13, it is not clear how a current limit sensor reduces the motor speed without claiming working parts. “The motor” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. The claim is treated as the handpieces having a current limit sensor as a structure, not tied to any functioning mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
…continue next page
Claim(s) 1, 20, 2, 3, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheetham (2012/0295221).
Regarding claim 1, Cheetham discloses a handpiece (e.g. dispensing device [0026], figures 1-3), comprising: a chamber (shown above) having a powder and liquid, the handpiece capable of (functional/intended use limitation) activating the chamber such that the powder and the liquid are mixed into a paste, the handpiece further being capable of dispensing the paste (e.g. mixture of liquid and powder; [0017]) from the chamber.
With regard the statement of intended use and other functional statements, they do not impose any structural limitations on the claims distinguishable over the prior art which is capable of being used as claimed if one so desires to do so. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 20, Cheetham discloses a dental material applicator system ([0026], figures 1-3, comprising: a segmented capsule (shown above) having a powder and a liquid, a handpiece (e.g. dispensing device [0026])), wherein the handpiece is capable of (function/intended use limitation) being triggered in order for the capsule to be activated such that the powder and the liquid are mixed into a paste, and wherein the mixed paste is extruded from the handpiece (e.g. mixture of liquid and powder; [0017]).
With regard the statement of intended use and other functional statements, they do not impose any structural limitations on the claims distinguishable over the prior art which is capable of being used as claimed if one so desires to do so. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 2, the chamber is a capsule as shown above.
Regarding claim 3, the handpiece/chamber is capable of mixing through ultrasonic vibrations.
Regarding 14, the handpiece is capable of (intended use/functional limitation) automatically retracting plungers and unlocking the chamber after all of the paste has been dispensed so that the chamber can be unloaded upon installing appropriate functioning mechanisms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheetham as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pond (6,319,002).
Cheetham discloses the invention substantially as claimed but silent about battery powered handpiece as claimed; however, Pond teaches battery powered handpiece as claimed (fig. 4 shows battery 76).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the handpiece of Cheetham by providing battery powered handpiece as taught by Pond in order to easily dispense material without manual efforts and dispensing in a controlled manner.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheetham as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bergheim et al. (2015/0010882).
Cheetham discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the chamber further comprising a radio frequency identification such that the chamber is read by the handpiece and the handpiece imparts the proper mixing sequence for that a product; however, Bergheim discloses a dental handpiece having an RFID emitter for sending desired information for the handpiece ([0014], [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber by providing RFID identifier as claimed as taught by Bergheim in order to provide information about the handpiece functions.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheetham as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mukasa et al. (2003/0103409).
Cheetham discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for vacuum as claimed; however, Mukasa teaches a handpiece device having a capsule with vacuum device 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify handpiece of Cheetham by providing vacuum as taught by Mukasa in order to remove air from the mixture.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheetham as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of cattani (7,326,282).
Cheetham discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for a current limit sensor as claimed; however, cattani teaches a current sensor in a dental device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Cheetham by providing a current sensor as taught by cattani in order to reduce overheating of the motor and to reduce dispensing of materials as desired.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheetham as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koering (5,451,105).
Cheetham discloses the invention substantially as claimed except a spring loaded cam on a front face supporting the chamber so that the when the chamber is rotated the spring loaded cam imparts a rapid back and forth vibration to the chamber such that mixing of the powder and liquid into the paste occurs as claimed; however,
Koering discloses a device (figures 1-3) including a spring loaded cam on a front face supporting the chamber so that the when the chamber is rotated the spring loaded cam imparts a rapid back and forth vibration to the chamber as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the handpiece by providing the spring loaded cam as claimed as taught by Koering in order to agitate the mixture thus allowing proper mixing of powder and liquid.
Conclusion
/YOGESH P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772