DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on October 22, 2021.
3. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
4. Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on September 26, 2022 and September 17, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Specification
6. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the following chemical structures are blurry and difficult to read, see
compounds H-1 to H-305 on pgs. 19-33; and
compounds C-1 to C-205 on pgs. 33-43.
7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
8. Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the chemical structures for compounds H-6 to H-10 and H16 to H-20 are blurry and difficult to read.
9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
11. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
12. Claim 1 recites the limitation "in formula 2', Y1, R'1 to R’3, L4, Ar4, and a to d are as defined in claim 2" in the last line of the claim. It would appear that claim 1 is thus dependent on claim 2, yet claim 2 is further dependent upon claim 1. It is unclear how claim 1 can be dependent upon a claim (claim 2) which itself depends upon claim 1. For the purposes of examination, Y1, R'1 to R’3, L4, Ar4, and a to d will be interpreted as described previously in claim 1. Claims 2-8 are also rejected for their dependency upon indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al. (WO 2020/130394 A1, English machine translation obtained from WIPO; hereinafter “Lee”).
18. Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-8, Lee teaches an organic electric element with improved driving voltage and light emitting efficiency (¶ [0008]). Lee also teaches the combination of host materials in the light emitting layer of the organic electric element comprising a first compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 and a second compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 (¶ [0009]-[0011]).
19. Per claim 1, Lee teaches compound 1-75 (representing Chemical Formula 1, ¶ [0098]) and compound 2-7 (representing Chemical Formula 2, ¶ [0129]).
20. Compound 2-7 reads on all of the limitations of Formula 1 of claim 1 wherein:
ring A is a fused benzo-moiety
; and
R1 to R3 and R5, R6, and R9 are hydrogen atoms; and
c’ is an integer equal to 5; and
R4 is L1-N(Ar1)(Ar2) where L1 is a single bond, and Ar1 is an unsubstituted C12 aryl group and Ar2 is an unsubstituted C10 aryl group..
21. Compound 1-75 reads on all of the limitations of Formula 2 of claim 1 wherein:
Y1 is a sulfur atom; and
R’1 to R’3 are all hydrogen atoms; and
a is an integer equal to 3, b is an integer equal to 2, c is an integer equal to 4; and
L4 is an unsubstituted 13-membered heteroaryl (dibenzofuranyl); and
d is an integer equal to 1; and
Ar4 is an unsubstituted 18-membered heteroaryl containing nitrogen atoms. .
22. While Lee does generally teach the use of compounds represented by Chemical Formulae 1 and 2 as a plurality of host materials in the light emitting layer of an organic electroluminescent device (see Table 7, ¶ [0315]-[0318]), Lee fails to disclose a particular embodiment that combines compounds 1-75 and 2-7, specifically, as a plurality of host materials. It would have been obvious, however, to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine compounds 1-75 and 2-7, because it would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of compounds useful as host materials in the light-emitting layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Lee and possessing the
benefits taught by Lee (ex. improved driving voltage and light emitting efficiency, ¶ [0008]).
23. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce
additional devices comprising compounds 1-75 and 2-7 as a plurality of host
materials having the benefits taught by Lee in order to pursue the known options
within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success,
absent any indication of unexpected results. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
24. Per claim 2, the plurality of host materials of Lee comprising compounds 1-75 and 2-7 reads on all of the limitations in that the substituents are not required as per claim 1.
25. Per claim 3, the plurality of host materials of Lee comprising compounds 1-75 and 2-7 reads on the limitation wherein:
compound 2-7 is represented by Formula 1-1; and’
R21 to R24 are hydrogen atoms; and
R1 to R6 are the same as previously defined.
26. Per claim 4, the plurality of host materials of Lee comprising compounds 1-75 and 2-7 reads on the limitation wherein:
Compound 1-75 is represented by Formula 2-4; and
Y1, R’1 to R’3, L4, and Ar4 are the same as previously defined.
27. Per claim 5, the plurality of host materials of Lee comprising compounds 1-75 and 2-7 reads on the limitation wherein:
Ar4 of compound 1-75 is represented by Formula 2’-1; and
T1 to T3 are nitrogen atoms; and
Ar5 and Ar6 are phenyl groups.
28. Per claim 7, the plurality of host materials of Lee comprising compounds 1-75 and 2-7 reads on the limitation wherein compound 1-75 is identical to compound C-87.
29. Per claim 8, Lee teaches an organic electroluminescent device (¶ [0302]-[0307]) comprising:
an anode (ITO, ¶ [0304]); and
a cathode (aluminum, Al, ¶ [0307]); and
at least one light-emitting layer between the anode and cathode, wherein at least one of the light-emitting layers comprises the plurality of host materials of Chemical Formulae 1 and 2 (¶ [0305]).
30. Regarding claim 6, the plurality of host materials of Lee comprising compounds 1-75 and 2-7 fails to read on the limitation wherein the compound represented by claimed formula 1 (compound 2-7 of Lee) is selected from the list of compounds H-1 to H-105.
31. Lee does teach, however, that the groups of Ar4 to Ar6 of the compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 (¶ [0102]-[0109]) may be selected as C6 to C18 aryl groups, including biphenyl and naphthyl (¶ [0106]).
32. Lee also discloses compound 2-1 (¶ [0129]), wherein Ar4 to Ar6 are all biphenyl groups.
33. Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the naphthyl group of compound 2-7 of Lee with a biphenyl group, because Lee teaches Ar4 to Ar6 may suitably be selected as biphenyl. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as a host material in the light emitting layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Lee and possess the benefits taught by Lee. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
34. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the naphthyl group of compound 2-7 of Lee with biphenyl, because it would have been choosing from a list of groups identified by Lee as suitable for Ar4 to Ar6, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as a host material in the light emitting layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Lee and possessing the benefits taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Chemical Formula 2 of Lee having the benefits taught by Lee in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
35. The modified compound 2-7 of Lee is shown below, with the naphthyl group substituted for a biphenyl group.
36. Per claim 6, the plurality of host materials of Lee comprising compound 1-75 and modified compound 2-7 reads on the limitation wherein modified compound 2-7 is identical to compound H-1.
Conclusion
/B.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786