DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: there are several chemical structure entries throughout the specification that are difficult to discern due to low image quality. Specifically, the structures H-1 through H-15 (pg. 14), H-61 through H-65 (pg. 17), H-116 through H-128 (pgs. 20-21), C-66 through C-70 (pg. 28), C-86 through C-90 (pg. 29), and C-196 through C-200 (pg. 35).
3. Structures H-1 through H-5 (pg. 14) and C-196 through C-200 (pg. 35) are reproduced below as representative examples.
4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 3 and 5-6 objected to because of the following informalities: there are chemical structure entries in these claims that are difficult to discern due to low image quality.
6. Regarding claim 3, several of the structures depicting Formulae 2-1 through 2-12 are of different sizes and aspect ratios.
7. Regarding claim 5, the structures H-1 through H-15, H-61 through H-65, and H-116 through H-128 are difficult to discern.
8. Regarding claim 6, the structures C-66 through C-70, C-86 through C-90, and C-196 through C-200 are difficult to discern.
9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2020/0308201 A1).
15. Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a composition including a first compound, a second compound, and a third compound (Abstract) wherein the second and third compounds may serve as a plurality of host materials in an organic light-emitting device (¶ [0284]).16. Lee teaches compounds H1-20 (pg. 71) and H2-17 (pg. 82) as the second and third compounds, respectively, and the structures of both are reproduced below.
17. Compound H1-20 reads on Formula 1 wherein:
represents Formula 1-1;
X1-X12 of Formula 1-1 represent C atoms with H atom substituents;
L represents a single bond and;
Ar represents a substituted C6 arylene.
18. Compound H2-17 reads on Formula 2 wherein:
Y1 represents an O atom;
R1, R2, and R3 all represent H atoms;
a is equal to 3, b is equal to 2, c is equal to 4;
L4 represents a single bond and;
Ar4 represents a substituted N atom-containing heteroaryl substituent.
19. Lee does not disclose a particular embodiment that combines compounds H1-20 and H2-17, specifically, as a plurality of host materials. It would have been obvious, however, to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine compounds H1-20 and H2-17, because it would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of compounds useful as host materials in the light-emitting layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Lee and possessing the benefits taught by Lee (ex. low driving voltage, high external quantum efficiency, and long lifespan; see ¶ [0283]).
20. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising compounds H1-20 and H2-17 as a plurality of host materials having the benefits taught by Lee in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success, absent any indication of unexpected results. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
21. Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches that compounds H1-20 and H2-17 (vide supra) may serve as a plurality of host materials in an organic light-emitting device (¶ [0284]) and both of which satisfy all of the limitations outlined in claim 2.
22. Regarding claims 3-4, Lee teaches that compound H2-17 (vide supra) may serve as a component of a plurality of host materials in an organic light-emitting device (¶ [0284]).
23. Compound H2-17 reads on Formula 2-4 (as per claim 3) wherein:
Y1 represents an O atom;
R1, R2, and R3 all represent H atoms;
a is equal to 3, b is equal to 2, c is equal to 4;
L4 represents a single bond and;
Ar4 represents a substituted N atom-containing heteroaryl substituent.
24. Compound H2-17 reads on Formula 2’-1 (as per claim 4) wherein:
T1, T2, and T3 all represent N atoms and;
R4 and R5 represent C6-aryl substituents.
25. Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches compounds H1-20 (vide supra) may serve as a component of a plurality of host materials in an organic light-emitting device (¶ [0284]). Compound H1-20 reads on compound H-66 of claim 5, the structure of which is reproduced below.
26. Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches compounds H2-17 (vide supra) may serve as a component of a plurality of host materials in an organic light-emitting device (¶ [0284]). Compound H2-17 reads on compound C-1 of claim 6, the structure of which is reproduced below.
27. Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches an organic light-emitting device including a first electrode, a second electrode, and an emission layer disposed between the first and second electrodes (¶ [0038]). Furthermore, Lee teaches that the composition including the second and third compounds may be present in the emission layer (¶ [0039]).
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/B.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1786