Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,4-5,8,15 and 19-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-5,8,15 and 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 2020/0022061 A1; hereinafter "Jin"), in view of XU et al. (US 2021/0392704 A1; hereinafter “XU”), in view of Wu et al. (US 2021/0274407 A1; hereinafter “Wu”), and further in view of KIMBA DIT ADAMOU (US 2023/0015703 A1; hereinafter “KIMBA”).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a method for network slice handover (HO) ([0006]), performed by a target base station ([0013] performing, by the target RAN node) and comprising:
receiving, by the target base station, an HO request transmitted by a source base station ([0013] receiving, by a target RAN node, a handover request sent by a source RAN node);
determining, by the target base station, to perform slice remapping when a first condition ([0076] based on current resource usage, a QoS requirement) is satisfied ([0076] In Fig. 2, the target RAN node determines that a QoS requirement may be met. In this case, the target RAN node requests that the target RAN node remaps the flow/session/radio bearer), wherein the first condition is determined by the target base station according to first slice information ([0076] network slice indication information and radio bearer context), ([0076] based on the network slice indication information and the radio bearer context received in FIG. 2 step 201),
However, Jin does not teach wherein whether to transmit the HO request to the target base station is determined by the source base station according to an HO request result, and the HO request contains the HO request result, wherein the HO request result is determined by the source base station according to third slice information, and the third slice information comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station: a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity; wherein the first slice information is obtained by the target base station from an access and mobility management function (AMF) and/or a neighbouring base station; and performing slice remapping, comprising: modifying a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs; wherein the first slice information comprises: whether a packet data unit (PDU) session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity; and the first condition comprises: a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity.
In an analogous art, XU teaches wherein the first slice information ([0107] The message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling) is obtained by the target base station from an access and mobility management function (AMF) and/or a neighbouring base station ([0107] In FIG. 3 step 308, the AMF transmits a PDU session setup request message to the NG-RAN node 1. The message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling, [0108] The NG-RAN node 1 knows, according to the received PDU session setup request message, that the PDU session to be set up is used for redundant handling),
wherein the first slice information comprises ([0110] In FIG. 3 step 309a, the message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling): whether a packet data unit (PDU) session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity ([0110] The information on redundant PDU session handling may indicate whether the PDU session is the first PDU session or the second PDU session using the RSN. The information on redundant PDU session handling may also indicate an association relationship between the two PDU sessions for redundant handling, so as to, for example, inform the NG-RAN node 2 of which two PDU sessions are used for redundant handling); and
the first condition comprises ([0112] whether dual connectivity (DC) is supported or not): a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity ([0112] If the NG-RAN node 1 cannot configure dual connectivity (DC) for the UE, for example, according to a measurement report of the UE, the NG-RAN node 1 may not allocate resources to the second PDU session, and in step 311, at the NG-RAN node 1, the PDU session is included in a list of PDU sessions for which resource setup fails. Reasons for the failure are contained in PDU session resource setup failure transfer information, for example, a reason that the second PDU session cannot be set up or the DC configuration is not supported).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session with a handover request and a session modification as taught by XU within the parameters of Jin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a solution of setting up sessions to achieve highly reliable service transmission (XU [0007]).
However, the combination of Jin and XU does not teach wherein whether to transmit the HO request to the target base station is determined by the source base station according to an HO request result, and the HO request contains the HO request result, wherein the HO request result is determined by the source base station according to third slice information, and the third slice information comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station: a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity; performing slice remapping comprises: modifying a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs.
In an analogous art, Wu teaches performing slice remapping comprises: modifying a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs ([0279] the T-RAN device performs admission control which supports the flow/session/radio bearer of the network slice and remapping policy information, [0280] the T-RAN device requests the CN to remap, to the network slice supported by the T-RAN device, the at least one flow/session/radio bearer of the at least one network slice for communication between the terminal and the S-RAN device, [0282] the T-RAN device remaps, based on the network slice remapping policy information received in Fig. 16A step 205, the session/radio bearer to a network slice supported by the T-RAN device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session modification with radio bearer as taught by Wu within a slice remapping of Jin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure reliability of the data packet satisfying the preset condition (Wu [0013]).
However, the combination of Jin, XU and WU does not teach wherein whether to transmit the HO request to the target base station is determined by the source base station according to an HO request result, and the HO request contains the HO request result, wherein the HO request result is determined by the source base station according to third slice information, and the third slice information comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station: a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity;
In an analogous art, KIMBA teaches wherein whether to transmit the HO request to the target base station is determined by the source base station according to an HO request result ([0085] the handover response request message includes agreeing to the handover request or rejecting the handover request, [0086] the first network node determines whether to send a handover command based on the handover response request message), and
the HO request contains the HO request result ([0100] slice information added in the HO request message),
wherein the HO request result is determined by the source base station according to third slice information ([0078] after receiving the measurement report, the first network node sends a handover request message, carrying slice information in the third slice information, [0100] the first network node adds the slice information to the handover request message), and
the third slice information comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station ([0078] the third slice information is slice information associated with a measurement report that is sent by a terminal and received by the first network node, [0094] the measurement report includes a cell and corresponding slice information):
a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session ([0045] during the cell handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted due to the slice) and
whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045] during the handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically Jin teaches wherein the first slice information comprises at least one of: a slice support capability of the target base station ([0076] a capability of the target RAN node for supporting a flow/session/radio bearer corresponding to the network slice);
a slice supported by the target base station ([0076] the network slice supported by the target RAN node);
an indication of whether a default slice corresponding to the target base station is supported ([0111] indication information of a network slice corresponding to the flow/session/radio bearer in the handover request reply from the target RAN);
whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has an indication for HO service continuity ([0019] ensuring session continuity, [0079] the path switch request includes indication information of at least one semi-accepted (semi-accept) flow/session/radio bearer supported by the target RAN node); or
whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch but is not supported by the target is a highest priority service and/or slice ([0019] the target RAN node may further perform network slice remapping on a flow/session/radio bearer not supported by the target RAN node).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically Jin teaches wherein the first condition comprises at least one of:
the target base station has a slice support capability, wherein the slice support capability comprises a remapping capability ([0076] a capability of the target RAN node for supporting a flow/session/radio bearer corresponding to the network slice and remapping policy information);
a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has an indication for HO service continuity ([0019] ensuring session continuity, [0079] the path switch request includes indication information of at least one semi-accepted (semi-accept) flow/session/radio bearer supported by the target RAN node); or
a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch but is not supported by the target is a highest priority service and/or slice ([0019] the target RAN node may further perform network slice remapping on a flow/session/radio bearer not supported by the target RAN node).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically Jin teaches wherein modifying the mapping between original PDU sessions and DRBs into the mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs comprises at least one of:
transmitting, by the target base station, a path switch request to an access and mobility management function (AMF) ([0077] Fig. 2 203 discloses the target RAN node sends a path switch request to a first CN node (AMF)).
Regarding claim 15, Jin teaches a method for network slice handover (HO) (abstract), performed by a source base station (Fig. 2 method 200) and comprising:
transmitting, by the source base station, the HO request to the target base station, the HO request being used for triggering the target base station to determine whether to perform slice remapping ([0013] receiving, by a target RAN node, a handover request sent by a source RAN node, performing, by the target RAN node, admission control, or determine whether to accept remapping of the at least one flow/session/radio bearer onto a network slice supported by the target RAN node, [0076] The target RAN node remaps the bearer onto a supported network slice based in remapping policy), when the HO request is received by the target base station ([0076] In this case, the target RAN node requests, from a CN, that the target RAN node remaps, In Fig. 2, the target RAN node determines, based on the network slice indication information received in step 201, that the target RAN node skips supporting the at least one network slice, but determines that a QoS requirement may be met),
wherein slice remapping is determined to be performed by the target base station when a first condition ([0076] based on current resource usage, a QoS requirement) is satisfied, and the first condition is determined by the target base station according to first slice information ([0076] network slice indication information and radio bearer context), ([0076] determines that QoS may be met. In this case, the target RAN node is considered to have the capability. In this case, the target RAN node may request remaps based on the network slice indication information and the radio bearer context received in FIG. 2 step 201),
However, Jin does not teach determining, by the source base station, an HO request result according to third slice information, wherein the third slice information is used for determining the HO request result and comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station; a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session; and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity; and determining, according to the HO request result, whether to transmit the HO request to a target base station, wherein the HO request contains the HO request result; wherein the first slice information is obtained by the target base station from an access and mobility management function (AMF) and/or a neighbouring base station, wherein the first slice information comprises: whether a packet data unit (PDU) session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity, and the first condition comprises: a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity, wherein to perform slice remapping refers to modify a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs; receiving, by the source base station, an HO request acknowledge (ACK) fed back by the target base station, the HO request ACK containing new PDU session information and/or notifying a data forwarding tunnel for a DRB corresponding to a PDU session to-be-remapped.
In an analogous art, XU teaches wherein the first slice information ([0107] The message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling) is obtained by the target base station from an access and mobility management function (AMF) and/or a neighbouring base station ([0107] In FIG. 3 step 308, the AMF transmits a PDU session setup request message to the NG-RAN node 1. The message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling, [0108] The NG-RAN node 1 knows, according to the received PDU session setup request message, that the PDU session to be set up is used for redundant handling),
wherein the first slice information comprises ([0110] In FIG. 3 step 309a, the message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling): whether a packet data unit (PDU) session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity ([0110] The information on redundant PDU session handling may indicate whether the PDU session is the first PDU session or the second PDU session using the RSN. The information on redundant PDU session handling may also indicate an association relationship between the two PDU sessions for redundant handling, so as to, for example, inform the NG-RAN node 2 of which two PDU sessions are used for redundant handling), and
the first condition comprises ([0112] whether dual connectivity (DC) is supported or not): a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity ([0112] If the NG-RAN node 1 cannot configure dual connectivity (DC) for the UE, for example, according to a measurement report of the UE, the NG-RAN node 1 may not allocate resources to the second PDU session, and in step 311, at the NG-RAN node 1, the PDU session is included in a list of PDU sessions for which resource setup fails. Reasons for the failure are contained in PDU session resource setup failure transfer information, for example, a reason that the second PDU session cannot be set up or the DC configuration is not supported);
receiving, by the source base station, an HO request acknowledge (ACK) fed back by the target base station, the HO request ACK containing new PDU session information ([0189] Fig. 6 step 602, the target base station transmits a handover request acknowledgement message to the source MN and the first PDU session and the second PDU session are included in a list of PDU sessions for which resources are acknowledged) and/or notifying a data forwarding tunnel for a DRB corresponding to a PDU session to-be-remapped ([0203] The message comprises information of a tunnel allocated by the target base station for the PDU session to be set up).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an acknowledgement message with a handover request and a session modification as taught by XU within the parameters of Jin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a solution of setting up sessions to achieve highly reliable service transmission (XU [0007]).
However, the combination of Jin and XU does not teach determining, by the source base station, an HO request result according to third slice information, wherein the third slice information is used for determining the HO request result and comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station; a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session; and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity; and determining, according to the HO request result, whether to transmit the HO request to a target base station, wherein the HO request contains the HO request result; wherein to perform slice remapping refers to modify a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs.
In an analogous art, Wu teaches wherein to perform slice remapping refers to modify a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs ([0279] the T-RAN device performs admission control which supports the flow/session/radio bearer of the network slice and remapping policy information, [0280] the T-RAN device requests the CN to remap, to the network slice supported by the T-RAN device, the at least one flow/session/radio bearer of the at least one network slice for communication between the terminal and the S-RAN device, [0282] the T-RAN device remaps, based on the network slice remapping policy information received in Fig. 16A step 205, the session/radio bearer to a network slice supported by the T-RAN device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session modification with radio bearer as taught by Wu within a slice remapping of Jin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure reliability of the data packet satisfying the preset condition (Wu [0013]).
However, the combination of Jin, XU and WU does not teach determining, by the source base station, an HO request result according to third slice information, wherein the third slice information is used for determining the HO request result and comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station; a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session; and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity; and determining, according to the HO request result, whether to transmit the HO request to a target base station, wherein the HO request contains the HO request result.
In an analogous art, KIMBA teaches determining, by the source base station, an HO request result according to third slice information ([0078] after receiving the measurement report, the first network node sends a handover request message, carrying slice information in the third slice information, [0100] the first network node adds the slice information to the handover request message),
wherein the third slice information is used for determining the HO request result ([0078] after receiving the measurement report, the first network node sends a handover request message, carrying slice information in the third slice information, [0100] the first network node adds the slice information to the handover request message) and comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station ([0078] the third slice information is slice information associated with a measurement report that is sent by a terminal and received by the first network node, [0094] the measurement report includes a cell and corresponding slice information);
a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session ([0045] during the cell handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted due to the slice); and
whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045] during the handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted); and
determining, according to the HO request result, whether to transmit the HO request to a target base station ([0085] the handover response request message includes agreeing to the handover request or rejecting the handover request, [0086] the first network node determines whether to send a handover command based on the handover response request message), wherein the HO request contains the HO request result ([0100] slice information added in the HO request message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 20, Jin teaches a base station (FIG. 6 communications apparatus 600), being a target base station ([0135] the target RAN node) and comprising: a transceiver ([0135] FIG. 6 transceiver 602); a processor ([0135] FIG. 6 processor 601); and
a memory storing programs which, when executed by the processor, are operable with the processor to ([0135] The processor 601 is configured to execute the instruction stored in the memory 603):
cause the transceiver to receive a handover (HO) request transmitted by a source base station ([0013] receiving, by a target RAN node (Fig. 6 602), a handover request sent by a source RAN node); and
determine to perform slice remapping when a first condition ([0076] based on current resource usage, a QoS requirement) is satisfied ([0076] In Fig. 2, the target RAN node determines that a QoS requirement may be met. In this case, the target RAN node requests that the target RAN node remaps the flow/session/radio bearer), wherein the first condition is determined by the processor according to first slice information ([0076] network slice indication information and radio bearer context), ([0076] based on the network slice indication information and the radio bearer context received in FIG. 2 step 201),
However, Jin does not teach wherein whether to transmit the HO request to the target base station is determined by the source base station according to an HO request result, and the HO request contains the HO request result, wherein the HO request result is determined by the source base station according to third slice information, and the third slice information comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station; a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session; and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity; wherein the first slice information is obtained by the target base station from an access and mobility management function (AMF) and/or a neighbouring base station; and perform slice remapping, comprising: modify a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs; wherein the first slice information comprises: whether a packet data unit (PDU) session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity; and the first condition comprises: a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity.
In an analogous art, XU teaches wherein the first slice information ([0107] The message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling) is obtained by the target base station from an access and mobility management function (AMF) and/or a neighbouring base station ([0107] In FIG. 3 step 308, the AMF transmits a PDU session setup request message to the NG-RAN node 1. The message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling, [0108] The NG-RAN node 1 knows, according to the received PDU session setup request message, that the PDU session to be set up is used for redundant handling),
wherein the first slice information comprises ([0110] In FIG. 3 step 309a, the message comprises information on redundant PDU session handling): whether a packet data unit (PDU) session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity ([0110] The information on redundant PDU session handling may indicate whether the PDU session is the first PDU session or the second PDU session using the RSN. The information on redundant PDU session handling may also indicate an association relationship between the two PDU sessions for redundant handling, so as to, for example, inform the NG-RAN node 2 of which two PDU sessions are used for redundant handling); and
the first condition ([0112] whether dual connectivity (DC) is supported or not) comprises: a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement for HO service continuity ([0112] If the NG-RAN node 1 cannot configure dual connectivity (DC) for the UE, for example, according to a measurement report of the UE, the NG-RAN node 1 may not allocate resources to the second PDU session, and in step 311, at the NG-RAN node 1, the PDU session is included in a list of PDU sessions for which resource setup fails. Reasons for the failure are contained in PDU session resource setup failure transfer information, for example, a reason that the second PDU session cannot be set up or the DC configuration is not supported).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session with a handover request and a session modification as taught by XU within the parameters of Jin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a solution of setting up sessions to achieve highly reliable service transmission (XU [0007]).
However, the combination of Jin and XU does not teach wherein whether to transmit the HO request to the target base station is determined by the source base station according to an HO request result, and the HO request contains the HO request result, wherein the HO request result is determined by the source base station according to third slice information, and the third slice information comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station; a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session; and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity; perform slice remapping, comprising: modify a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs.
In an analogous art, Wu teaches perform slice remapping comprises: modifying a mapping between original PDU sessions and data radio bearers (DRB) into a mapping between new PDU sessions and DRBs ([0279] the T-RAN device performs admission control which supports the flow/session/radio bearer of the network slice and remapping policy information, [0280] the T-RAN device requests the CN to remap, to the network slice supported by the T-RAN device, the at least one flow/session/radio bearer of the at least one network slice for communication between the terminal and the S-RAN device, [0282] the T-RAN device remaps, based on the network slice remapping policy information received in Fig. 16A step 205, the session/radio bearer to a network slice supported by the T-RAN device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PDU session modification with radio bearer as taught by Wu within a slice remapping of Jin. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure reliability of the data packet satisfying the preset condition (Wu [0013]).
However, the combination of Jin, XU and WU does not teach wherein whether to transmit the HO request to the target base station is determined by the source base station according to an HO request result, and the HO request contains the HO request result, wherein the HO request result is determined by the source base station according to third slice information, and the third slice information comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station; a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session; and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity.
In an analogous art, KIMBA teaches wherein whether to transmit the HO request to the target base station is determined by the source base station according to an HO request result ([0085] the handover response request message includes agreeing to the handover request or rejecting the handover request, [0086] the first network node determines whether to send a handover command based on the handover response request message), and
the HO request contains the HO request result ([0100] slice information added in the HO request message), wherein the HO request result is determined by the source base station according to third slice information ([0078] after receiving the measurement report, the first network node sends a handover request message, carrying slice information in the third slice information, [0100] the first network node adds the slice information to the handover request message), and
the third slice information comprises: a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by a terminal device at the source base station ([0078] the third slice information is slice information associated with a measurement report that is sent by a terminal and received by the first network node, [0094] the measurement report includes a cell and corresponding slice information);
a service corresponding to a slice corresponding to an original PDU session ([0045] during the cell handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted due to the slice); and whether a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045] during the handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein the HO request result comprises one of: not transmitting the HO request ([0085] the handover response may reject the handover request, [0086] when the request is rejected, the first network node does not proceed with the handover procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein determining, according to the HO request result, to transmit the HO request to the target base station ([0085]) comprises:
when a third condition is satisfied, the HO request result is transmitting the HO request with the slice remapping indication, wherein the third condition is used for the source base station to determine whether to transmit to the target base station the HO request with the slice remapping indication ([0100] the first network node adds slice information to the handover request message, [0083] the target network node may determine a slice to be used based on the slice information);
when the third condition is not satisfied and/or a fourth condition is satisfied, the HO request result is transmitting the HO request without the slice remapping indication or with the no-slice-remapping indication, wherein the no-slice-remapping indication is used for the target base station to determine to perform HO without slice remapping when an HO request without slice remapping is received by the target base station, and the fourth condition is used for the source base station to determine whether to transmit to the target base station the HO request without the slice remapping indication or with the no-slice-remapping indication ([0078] the handover request carries slice information from the source, [0083] the target network node determines a slice to be used based on the slice information);
when the third condition is not satisfied and/or the fourth condition is not satisfied, the HO request result is not transmitting the HO request ([0085] the handover request may reject the handover request, [0086] when the request is rejected, the first network node does not proceed with the handover procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein the third condition comprises at least one of:
a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045] during the handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted due to the slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein the fourth condition comprises at least one of:
the target base station does not support a slice ([0081] the slice information includes slices allowed by the second network node, indicating that unsupported slices may exist, [0085] the handover request may be rejected);
a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has no requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045] during the handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted due to the slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein the PDU session and/or slice that requires switch but is not supported by the target base station is not the highest priority service and/or slice and/or the PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has no requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045]) further comprises:
a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by the terminal device at the source base station is different from a slice supported by the target base station ([0078] the HO request carries slice information from the source, [0081] the target indicates slice information that it allows the terminal to access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein the HO request result comprises one of: not transmitting the HO request ([0085] the handover response may reject the handover request, [0086] when the request is rejected, the first network node does not proceed with the handover procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein determining, according to the HO request result, to transmit the HO request to the target base station ([0085]) comprises:
when a third condition is satisfied, the HO request result is transmitting the HO request with the slice remapping indication, wherein the third condition is used for the source base station to determine whether to transmit to the target base station the HO request with the slice remapping indication ([0100] the first network node adds slice information to the handover request message, [0083] the target network node determines a slice to be used based on the slice information);
when the third condition is not satisfied and/or a fourth condition is satisfied, the HO request result is transmitting the HO request without the slice remapping indication or with the no-slice-remapping indication, wherein the no-slice-remapping indication is used for the target base station to determine to perform HO without slice remapping when an HO request without slice remapping is received by the target base station, and the fourth condition is used for the source base station to determine whether to transmit to the target base station the HO request without the slice remapping indication or with the no-slice-remapping indication ([0078] the handover request carries slice information from the source, [0083] the target network node determines a slice to be used based on the slice information);
when the third condition is not satisfied and/or the fourth condition is not satisfied, the HO request result is not transmitting the HO request ([0085] the handover request may reject the handover request, [0086] when the request is rejected, the first network node does not proceed with the handover procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein the third condition comprises at least one of:
a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has a requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045] during the handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted due to the slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein the fourth condition comprises at least one of:
the target base station does not support a slice ([0081] the slice information includes slices allowed by the second network node, indicating that unsupported slices may exist, [0085] the handover request may be rejected);
a PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has no requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045] during the handover process, the service of the terminal can be prevented from being affected or interrupted due to the slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically KIMBA teaches wherein the PDU session and/or slice that requires switch but is not supported by the target base station is not the highest priority service and/or slice and/or the PDU session and/or slice that requires switch has no requirement and/or indication for HO service continuity ([0045]) further comprises:
a slice corresponding to a PDU session currently established by the terminal device at the source base station is different from a slice supported by the target base station ([0078] the HO request carries slice information from the source, [0081] the target indicates slice information that it allows the terminal to access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handover process as taught by KIMBA within the parameter of Jin, XU and WU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reliability of the service for user experience (KIMBA [0045]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, in view of XU, in view of Wu, in view of KIMBA, and further in view of CHEN (US 2020/0008113 A1).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA, specifically Wu teaches wherein after receiving, by the source base station, the HO request ACK fed back by the target base station (Fig. 16A step 207), the method further comprises: forwarding data corresponding to an original PDU session to the target base station via the data forwarding tunnel ([0140] The source access network device transmits the first data packet to the target access network device through the tunnel, [0169] a data packet on a preset packet data unit (PDU) session);
transmitting an HO command to the terminal device requesting HO ([0294] Fig. 16A step 209 discloses the S-RAN device sends the handover command to the terminal); receiving a release resource transmitted by the target base station ([0310] Fig. 16B step 215: After receiving the path switch request acknowledgment message, the T-RAN device sends a terminal context release (UE context release) message to the S-RAN device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a data packet on PDU session with release message as taught by Wu within the parameter of the combination of Jin and XU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve reliability during handover between access network devices and reduce latency (Wu [0006]).
However, the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA does not teach receiving an end marker transmitted by a user plane function (UPF).
In an analogous art, CHEN teaches receiving an end marker transmitted by a user plane function (UPF) ([0104] Fig. 5 554 discloses the UPF 520 may send one or more “end marker” packets on the old path to the source BS 514).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end-marker PDCP control packet data unit PDU as taught by CHEN within the parameters of the combination of Jin, XU, Wu and KIMBA. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve handover with minimum mobility interruption time to enhance the UE’s performance (CHEN [0118]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0045594 A1 (PENG et al.) discloses a failure processing method, a handover method, a terminal device, and a network device in a wireless communications system.
US 2020/0336957 A1 (Wu et al.) discloses methods for conditional handovers involving multiple candidate cells.
US 2021/0029597 A1 (XU et al.) discloses a method for supporting handover in a mobile communication network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413