DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/25/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 5-6, filed on 03/25/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 6-8, and 21 under 35 USC §102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference that rejects the amendments made when combined with prior art, Lane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lane et al. (WO 2022192285 A1, herein, Lane) in view of Cartledge et al. (US Pub No. 20080015507 A1, herein, Cartledge). For ease of discussion, the examiner will be referencing the foreign reference document (Lane), submitted by the applicant on 08/28/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Lane discloses an intravenous (IV) infusion set (2100 – Fig.24), comprising:
at least one infusion component (2120 – Fig.24);
a first IV tube coupled to the at least one infusion component (2133A – Fig.24);
a second IV tube (2133B – Fig.24); and
a pump head (2130 – Fig.24) that is disposable, the pump head comprising: an inlet port (“one-way check valves” – [00127]) coupled to the first IV tube (“via the fluid line” – Para [00127], Fig.24); an outlet port (“third check valve” – Para [00127]) coupled to the second IV tube (“between the first reservoir and the fluid line” – Para [00127]); and a drive interface (2160 – Fig. 24, “The pinion gear can define a drive shaft interface” – Para [00129]) configured to be coupled to a first end of a drive shaft (“a drive shaft of the drive transfer mechanism projects from a surface of the drive assembly and is configured to be engaged with a pinion of the drive mechanism” – Para [00132]),
wherein the drive interface is configured to be rotated by rotation of the drive shaft having a second end coupled to a driver (2148, 2142 – Fig.24) (“such that rotation of the drive shaft causes rotation of the pinion gear” – Para [00129]) to increase a fluid flow rate through the IV infusion set (“control fluid delivery of the fluid delivery assembly” – Para [00132]),
wherein the drive shaft (“a drive shaft of the drive transfer mechanism” – Para [00132]) is provided as a removable component separated from both the pump head (2147, 2137 – Fig.24, “prevent accidental decoupling” - Para [00133]) and the driver (“the drive mechanism can include… one or more driveshafts” – Para [00129], the drive shaft is reasonably interpreted as a removeable component of the driver, since the pump head can include a drive shaft that would be a removable component of the driver).
However, Lane does not explicitly disclose the drive shaft as a removeable component separated from the driver.
Cartledge teaches a drive shaft (305 – Fig.17) as a removeable component (“the roller head drive shaft can be designed so that it is removable” – Para [0086]) separated from a driver (300 – Fig.17).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the drive shaft of Lane, to be a removeable component separated from the driver as taught by Cartledge since Cartledge teaches that the drive shaft is designed to be removeable for replacement or service (Para [0086]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane in view of Cartledge as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Causey, III et al. (US Pub No. 20100160861 A1, herein, Causey).
Regarding claim 6, Lane discloses the intravenous (IV) infusion set, as modified above, wherein the drive interface has a complementary shape (Para [00147]) but Lane does not expressly disclose wherein the drive interface is configured to receive the drive shaft comprising a hex shaped drive shaft.
Causey teaches wherein a drive interface (52- Fig.5) is configured to receive the drive shaft comprising a hex shaped drive shaft (50 – Fig.5) (“other shaped holes are used such as hexagonal… along with a drive shaft and a lead screw with mating ends that fit into the holes.” – Para [0069]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the drive interface disclosed by Lane to be configured to receive the drive shaft comprising hex shaped drive shaft as taught by Causey since Causey teaches that it is well known that the hole of the drive interface, through which the drive shaft is attached, can be any shape, such as hex shaped, as so it can receive a hex shaped drive shaft (Para [0069]).
Regarding claim 7, Lane discloses the intravenous (IV) infusion set, as modified above, wherein the drive interface has a complementary shape (Para [00147]) but Lane does not expressly disclose wherein the drive interface is configured to receive the drive shaft comprising a star shaped drive shaft.
Causey teaches wherein a drive interface (52- Fig.5) is configured to receive the drive shaft comprising a star shaped drive shaft (“other shaped holes are used such as… star… along with a drive shaft and a lead screw with mating ends that fit into the holes.” – Para [0069]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the drive interface disclosed by Lane to be configured to receive the drive shaft comprising a star shaped drive shaft as taught by Causey since Causey teaches that it is well known that the hole of the drive interface, through which the drive shaft is attached, can be any shape, such as star shaped, as so it can receive a star shaped drive shaft (Para [0069]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lane in view of Cartledge as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Spohn et al. (US Pub No. 20140350521 A1, herein, Spohn).
Regarding claim 8, Lane discloses the intravenous (IV) infusion set, as modified above, wherein a luer lock connector is configured to be coupled to a catheter inserted into a patient (“The fluid line can be fluidically coupled to a patient (e.g., a patient’s vasculature) via, for example, a luer lock connector” – para [00136]).
However, Lane does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one infusion component comprises: a fluid connector configured to be coupled to a fluid container.
Spohn teaches wherein at least one infusion component comprises: a fluid connector (976a – Fig.7G) configured to be coupled to a fluid container (890 – Fig.7G) (“spikes… are used to connect… saline source” – Para [0143]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the infusion component as disclosed by Lane to comprise a fluid connector configured to be coupled to a fluid container as taught by Spohn for purposes of connecting a catheter to a saline source (Spohn, Para [0143]).
Conclusion
/MARISSA TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783