DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 11/20/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 11-13 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 set forth that the optically anisotropic layer is a layer formed by fixing a liquid crystal compound aligned homogeneously, which fails to further limit its base claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Takahashi et al (WO 2021/033631, of record, English equivalent US US20220171109, of record, ‘109 hereafter is cited in this office action).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5 and 11-13, ‘109 discloses an optical film reading upon transfer film (Fig. 11, [0049]), comprising a substrate preferably being a cellulose acylate film or PET film ([0158]-[0165]) having an in-plane retardation at a wavelength of 550 nm being 0 to 10 nm ([0162]), which may function as a temporary support (the substrate can be peeled in case to obtain an optically anisotropic layer); and an optically anisotropic layer disposed on the temporary support (Fig. 11, [0049]), wherein the optically anisotropic layer is a layer formed of a liquid crystal compound and a chiral agent which is fixed by photopolymerization into a twisted aligned along helical axis extended in the thickness direction with a twisted angle in a preferred range of 70 to 110° ([0181]-[0194], [0203]-[0211], [0252], Examples 4 and 5). ‘109 also discloses that the temporary support further comprises an alignment film( Example 5). ‘109 does not expressly set forth that the optical film has a dimension change rate satisfying Expression (1) as recited in the present claim 1. However, as set forth above, ‘109 discloses an optical film comprising an optically anisotropic layer formed from a liquid crystal compound and a chiral agent, which is substantially identical to the optically anisotropic layer as claimed in present application (See examples of present application), thus it is reasonable to expect that the optically anisotropic layer of ‘109 would have the same properties including the dimension change rate as recited in the present claim 1, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. "Case law holds that a product and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).( See MPEP 2112.01).
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Takeda et al (US 2016/0342003, ‘003 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5 and 11-13, ‘003 discloses an optical film reading upon transfer film (Fig. 11, [0049]), comprising a temporary substrate preferably being a unstretched cellulose acylate film or PET film ([0144], [0187], [0202], [0344], [0368]) inherently having an in-plane retardation at a wavelength of 550 nm close to 0; and an optically anisotropic layer disposed on the temporary support; wherein the optically anisotropic layer is a layer formed of a liquid crystal compound and a chiral agent which is fixed by photopolymerization into a twisted aligned along helical axis extended in the thickness direction ([0024], [0142]-[0148], [0151]-[0154], [0370], [0390]). ‘003 also discloses that the temporary support further comprises an alignment film( [0175]-[0185], [0192], [0202], [0346]-[0348]). ‘003 does not expressly set forth that the optical film has a dimension change rate satisfying Expression (1) as recited in the present claim 1 and a twisted angle as recited in the claims 4-5 and 12-13. However, as set forth above, ‘003 discloses an optical film comprising an optically anisotropic layer formed from a liquid crystal compound and a chiral agent, which is substantially identical to the optically anisotropic layer as claimed in present application (See examples of present application); thus it is reasonable to expect that the optically anisotropic layer of ‘003 would have the same properties including the dimension change rate and twisted angle as recited in the present claims 1, 4-5 and 12-13, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. "Case law holds that a product and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).( See MPEP 2112.01).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/20/2025 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art Takahashi ‘109 teaches a two layer optically anisotropic layer instead of one layer optically anisotropic layer. However, ‘103 expressly set forth that the optically anisotropic layer is a layer having a plurality regions where the alignment states of a liquid crystal compound are different from one another, which does not have discrete layers ([0008], also see Examples, the optically anisotropic layer is formed from one LC composition).
Regarding prior art Takeda’003, applicant states that ‘003 discloses the cholesteric liquid crystal layer whose twisted angle is more than 360°. However, nowhere in ‘003 set forth a cholesteric liquid crystal layer having twisted angle is more than 360°. In addition, twisted angle being 0 to 360° includes all the twisted angles of a liquid crystal compound can be reached in a cholesteric liquid crystal layer, thus there is no way to render a twisted angle of a liquid crystal compound being more than 360° as argued.
For the reasons set forth above and of record, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782