DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1 and 3-11 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadafora et al. (U.S. Pub. 20080014857) in view of Zhao (U.S. Pub. 20050138867), Palmer (U.S. Pat. 5035077), Lestage et al. (U.S. Pub. 20080230206), and Carson (U.S. Pat. 10390496).
In regard to claim 1, Spadafora et al. discloses a greenhouse-linked air conditioning system comprising: a first greenhouse configured to transmit sunlight through the first greenhouse and to grow plants therein (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraph [0030], where there is a greenhouse 15 into which sunlight is transmitted (“during periods of low light or at night” shows that during day time there is sunlight available) to grow plants 23), the first greenhouse being disposed inside a building (Figs. 1-3, where the first greenhouse 15 is at least inside a building (15 is indoors, see Fig. 1)); an indoor space disposed in the building excluding the first greenhouse in the building (Figs. 1-3, where there is an indoor space 1 excluding the first greenhouse 15 in a building); an auxiliary light source to provide light to a greenhouse (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraph [0030], where there is an auxiliary light source 24 to provide light to the greenhouse 15); and an air conditioning unit configured to connect the first greenhouse and the indoor space and selectively exchange air, humidity, and energy between the first greenhouse and the indoor space (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraph [0026-0034], where there is an air conditioning unit 3 configured to connect the first greenhouse 15 and the indoor space 1 and at least selectively exchange air, humidity, and energy (temperature) between the first greenhouse 15 and the indoor space 1); wherein the air conditioner includes: a duct configured to introduce air from an exterior environment of the building to the indoor space, the duct being configured to flow therethrough the air from the indoor space to the first greenhouse or the second greenhouse (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraph [0008], where there are ducts 12/13/14 connected to an outside of the building to introduce air from the outside to the indoor space (“exhaust air is normally discharged into the atmosphere and inlet air to the building HVAC system is normally drawn from the atmosphere”) and where the ducts 12/13/14 are configured to flow therethrough the air from the indoor space to the first greenhouse 15 or the second greenhouse); and a sensor module coupled to the duct to measure a state of the air (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraph [0028], where there is a sensor module 9/10/11 at least coupled to the ducts 12/13/14 to measure a state of the air); a first carbon dioxide (C02) sensor coupled to the duct to measure a C02 concentration of the air flowing into the first greenhouse from the indoor space; a second C02 sensor positioned inside the greenhouse (Spadafora et al., Figs. 1-3, where there is a first carbon dioxide (C02) sensor 11 coupled to the duct to measure a C02 concentration of the air flowing into the first greenhouse from the indoor spaces and where there is a second C02 sensor 11 positioned inside the greenhouse). Spadafora et al. is silent on a first greenhouse and a second greenhouse; an indoor space excluding the first greenhouse and the second greenhouse in the building; a sunlight panel formed on an external surface of the first greenhouse and generating power using the sunlight; an auxiliary light source connected to the sunlight panel to provide light to the second greenhouse; and an air conditioning unit configured to connect the first greenhouse and the second greenhouse and the indoor space and selectively exchange air, humidity, and energy between the first greenhouse and the second greenhouse and the indoor space; wherein the second greenhouse is disposed on a lower level of the building than the first greenhouse. Zhao discloses a first greenhouse and a second greenhouse (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0007] and [0020], where there are multiple greenhouses incorporated into a building); an indoor space excluding the first and second greenhouses in the building (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0007] and [0020], where there is at least an indoor space such as “living room” excluding the multiple greenhouses); a sunlight panel disposed on an external surface of the first greenhouse and configured to generate power using sunlight (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0007] and [0020], where there is a sunlight panel 35 at least on an external surface of the first greenhouse structure and configured to generate power using sunlight); and an air conditioner configured to connect the first and second greenhouses and the indoor space and to selectively exchange air, humidity, and energy between the first and second greenhouses and the indoor space (Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0022], where there is at least an air conditioning unit 176/177 configured to connect the multiple greenhouses and the indoor space and selectively exchange air, humidity, and energy between the multiple greenhouses and the indoor space); wherein the second greenhouse is disposed on a lower level of the building than the first greenhouse (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraph [0008], where the second greenhouse is at least disposed on a lower level of the building than the first greenhouse); and the duct being configured to flow therethrough the air from the indoor space to the first and second greenhouses (Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0022], where there is at least an air conditioning unit 176/177 configured to connect the multiple greenhouses and the indoor space). Spadafora et al. and Zhao are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include greenhouses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Spadafora et al. such that a first greenhouse and a second greenhouse; an indoor space excluding the first greenhouse and the second greenhouse in the building; a sunlight panel formed on an external surface of the first greenhouse and generating power using the sunlight; an auxiliary light source connected to the sunlight panel to provide light to the second greenhouse; and an air conditioning unit configured to connect the first greenhouse and the second greenhouse and the indoor space and selectively exchange air, humidity, and energy between the first greenhouse and the second greenhouse and the indoor space; wherein the second greenhouse is disposed on a lower level of the building than the first greenhouse in view of Zhao. The motivation would have been to have multiple greenhouses connected to the building to increase efficacy of the system and to allow for separated grow areas containing different plants which require different growth conditions. Additionally, adding duplicate structures (greenhouses) to a system is old and well known.
Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao is silent on a second greenhouse configured to grow plants therein, the second greenhouse being disposed in a basement of the building, such that no sunlight is transmitted thereto; an auxiliary light source to provide light to the second greenhouse. Palmer discloses a greenhouse through which sunlight is not transmitted and in which plants are grown (Fig. 2, where there is a greenhouse through which sunlight is not transmitted (underground)); an auxiliary light source connected to the sunlight panel to provide light to the greenhouse (Fig. 2, where an auxiliary light source 20 connected to the sunlight panel 28 to provide light to the greenhouse); wherein the greenhouse is disposed in a basement of the building (Fig. 2, where there is a greenhouse located at least in a basement). Spadafora et al. and Palmer are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include greenhouses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao such that a second greenhouse configured to grow plants therein, the second greenhouse being disposed in a basement of the building, such that no sunlight is transmitted thereto; an auxiliary light source to provide light to the second greenhouse in view of Palmer, since the second greenhouse of Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao could be placed in the basement shown in Palmer. The motivation would have been to provide a greenhouse which is well insulated from the outside environment. Additionally, specific intensities and duration of light can be provided to the plants which are grown underground, not in direct sunlight.
Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao and Palmer is silent on the sensor module includes a plurality of air quality sensors; wherein the duct includes: an inlet configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment of the building to introduce the air from the exterior environment to the duct; an outlet configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment of the building to exhaust the air from the first greenhouse, the second greenhouse, or the indoor space to the exterior environment; and a branch portion dividing the duct into the outlet and a branch duct, the branch duct being in fluid communication with the indoor space, wherein the plurality of air quality sensors includes: a first air quality sensor coupled to the inlet and configured to be disposed at a position adjacent to the exterior environment of the building; and a second air quality sensor coupled adjacent to the branch portion. Lestage et al. discloses a duct configured to introduce air from an exterior environment of the building to the indoor space (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0055-0059], where there is a duct 10 configured to introduce air from an exterior environment 32 of the building to the indoor space); wherein the duct includes: an inlet configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment of the building to introduce the air from the exterior environment to the duct; an outlet configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment of the building to exhaust the air from the first greenhouse, the second greenhouse, or the indoor space to the exterior environment (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0055-0059], where the duct 10 includes an inlet 20 configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment 32 of the building to introduce the air from the exterior environment 32 to the duct 10 and where an outlet 18 is configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment 32 of the building to exhaust the air from the indoor space to the exterior environment 32); and a branch portion dividing the duct into the outlet and a branch duct, the branch duct being in fluid communication with the indoor space (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0055-0059], where there is a branch portion of 10 dividing the duct into the outlet 18 and a branch duct 14/16 and where the branch duct 14/16 is in fluid communication with the indoor space); a plurality of air quality sensors, wherein the plurality of air quality sensors includes: a first air quality sensor coupled to the inlet and configured to be disposed at a position adjacent to the exterior environment of the building; and a second air quality sensor coupled adjacent to the branch portion (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0055-0059], where there is a plurality of air quality sensors 42/43/44 which includes a first air quality sensor 42 coupled to the inlet 20 and configured to be disposed at a position adjacent to the exterior environment 32 of the building and a second air quality sensor 43/44 coupled adjacent to the branch portion of 10 near duct branches 14/16). Spadafora et al. and Lestage et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include air circulation devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao and Palmer such that a plurality of air quality sensors; wherein the duct includes: an inlet configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment of the building to introduce the air from the exterior environment to the duct; an outlet configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment of the building to exhaust the air from the first greenhouse, the second greenhouse, or the indoor space to the exterior environment; and a branch portion dividing the duct into the outlet and a branch duct, the branch duct being in fluid communication with the indoor space, wherein the plurality of air quality sensors includes: a first air quality sensor coupled to the inlet and configured to be disposed at a position adjacent to the exterior environment of the building; and a second air quality sensor coupled adjacent to the branch portion in view of Lestage et al., since the air quality sensors and duct configurations of Lestage et al. could be used with the device of Spadafora et al. The motivation would have been to measure temperature or humidity of the external air coming into the system and flowing into specific indoor spaces.
Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, and Lestage et al. is silent on a first carbon dioxide (C02) sensor coupled to the duct at a position adjacent to where the air flows into the first greenhouse or the second greenhouse to measure a C02 concentration of the air flowing into the first greenhouse or the second greenhouse; and a second C02 sensor to determine whether the air inside the second greenhouse has a predetermined C02 concentration. Carson discloses a first carbon dioxide (C02) sensor coupled to the duct at a position adjacent to where the air flows into the first greenhouse or the second greenhouse to measure a C02 concentration of the air flowing into the first greenhouse or the second greenhouse (Fig. 1, where there is a first carbon dioxide sensor AET-001 coupled to the duct at a position adjacent to where the air flows into the first greenhouse to measure a C02 concentration of the air flowing into the first greenhouse); and a second C02 sensor to determine whether the air inside the second greenhouse has a predetermined C02 concentration (Fig. 1, where there is a second C02 sensor (“a second carbon dioxide sensor configured to sense the concentration of carbon dioxide in gas leaving the ECE”) to determine whether the air inside the second greenhouse has a predetermined C02 concentration (since “the programmable logic controller may be configured to compare the concentration of carbon dioxide in gas in the conditioned gases entering the ECE with the concentration of carbon dioxide in the exhaust gases leaving the ECE, to determine and record the uptake of carbon dioxide by plants in the ECE. With such data in hand, the carbon dioxide concentration in gases leaving the ECE may be adjusted to a carbon dioxide setpoint”)). Spadafora et al. and Carson are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include air circulation devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, and Lestage et al. such that a first carbon dioxide (C02) sensor coupled to the duct at a position adjacent to where the air flows into the first greenhouse or the second greenhouse to measure a C02 concentration of the air flowing into the first greenhouse or the second greenhouse; and a second C02 sensor to determine whether the air inside the second greenhouse has a predetermined C02 concentration in view of Carson, since the C02 sensors of Carson could be used with the second greenhouse of Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, and Lestage et al. The motivation would have been to regulate the amount of carbon dioxide in the greenhouse, in order to maintain a desired setpoint carbon dioxide level.
In regard to claim 3, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson discloses the greenhouse-linked air conditioning system of claim 1, wherein the air conditioner further includes: a damper coupled to the duct to control opening or closing of the duct (Spadafora et al., Figs. 1-3, where there are dampers 8/17/18/20/21/22 coupled to the duct to control opening or closing of the duct), an air supply fan coupled to the duct to allow air to flow through the duct (Spadafora et al., Figs. 1-3, where there is an air supply fan 7 coupled to the duct to allow air to flow through the duct), and an integrated controller connected to the sensor module, the damper, and the air supply fan to control driving of the damper and the air supply fan, wherein the damper is configured to be are operated in conjunction with another damper to facilitate a flow of the air (Spadafora et al., Figs. 1-3 and Abstract, where there is an integrated control unit 4 which controls operation of the air circulation system).
In regard to claim 4, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson discloses the greenhouse-linked air conditioning system of claim 3, wherein the air conditioner further includes a filter coupled to the duct to filter out contaminants before the air is introduced into the first and second greenhouses and the indoor space (Spadafora et al., Claim 1, where there are at least filters coupled to the duct to filter out contaminants; Zhao, Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0022], where there is at least an air conditioning unit 176/177 configured to connect the multiple greenhouses and the indoor space).
In regard to claim 5, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson discloses the greenhouse-linked air conditioning system of claim 4, wherein the sensor module further includes: at least one temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the air, and at least one humidity sensor configured to measure a humidity of the air (Spadafora et al., Figs. 1-3, where there is a temperature sensor 9 configured to measure a temperature of the air and a humidity sensor 10 configured to measure a humidity of the air).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadafora et al. (U.S. Pub. 20080014857) in view of Zhao (U.S. Pub. 20050138867), Palmer (U.S. Pat. 5035077), Lestage et al. (U.S. Pub. 20080230206), and Carson (U.S. Pat. 10390496) as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Shelor (U.S. Pub. 20150282440).
In regard to claim 6, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson discloses the greenhouse-linked air conditioning system of claim 5. Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson is silent on the air conditioner further includes: a dehumidifier coupled to the duct to reduce the humidity before the air is introduced into the indoor space, and a cooling coil and a heater coil configured to control a temperature before the air is introduced into the indoor space. Shelor discloses the air conditioner further includes a dehumidifier coupled to the duct to reduce the humidity before the air is introduced into the indoor space, and a cooling coil and a heater coil configured to control a temperature before the air is introduced into the indoor space (Fig. 10 and Paragraphs [0079], where the air conditioning unit further includes a dehumidifying, cooling, and heating coils at least coupled to the air passageway to reduce the humidity and control a temperature of the air). Spadafora et al. and Shelor are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include air circulation devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson such that the air conditioner further includes a dehumidifier coupled to the duct to reduce the humidity before the air is introduced into the indoor space, and a cooling coil and a heater coil configured to control a temperature before the air is introduced into the indoor space in view of Shelor. The motivation would have been to enable the system to effect quick and precise changes in air humidity and temperature as required by the controller and ambient conditions.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadafora et al. (U.S. Pub. 20080014857) in view of Zhao (U.S. Pub. 20050138867), Palmer (U.S. Pat. 5035077), Lestage et al. (U.S. Pub. 20080230206), and Carson (U.S. Pat. 10390496) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Shelor (U.S. Pub. 20150282440).
In regard to claim 7, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson discloses the air conditioning method using the greenhouse-linked air conditioning system according to claim 1. Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson is silent on the air conditioning method comprising: introducing outside air after measuring a condition of the outside air; mixing the outside air with air that has passed through at least one of the first and second greenhouses; controlling and purifying temperature and humidity of the mixed air; and providing the mixed air to the indoor space. Shelor discloses the air conditioning method comprising: introducing outside air after measuring a condition of the air; mixing the outside air with air that has passed through at least one of the first and second greenhouses (Paragraphs [0008], [0015], and [0033] and Fig. 1, where there is outside air (the temperature of the outside air is at least considered) mixed in air mixer 110 with air from the greenhouse 125/115); controlling and purifying temperature and humidity of the mixed air; and providing the mixed air to the indoor space (Paragraphs [0008], [0015], and [0033-0034] and Fig. 1, where the temperature and humidity of the mixed air is at least controlled and subsequently provided to the indoor space). Spadafora et al. and Shelor are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include air circulation devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., and Carson such that the air conditioning method comprising: introducing outside air after measuring a condition of the air; mixing the outside air with air that has passed through at least one of the first and second greenhouses; controlling and purifying temperature and humidity of the mixed air; and providing the mixed air to the indoor space in view of Shelor. The motivation would have been to enable the system to effect quick and precise changes in air humidity and temperature as required by the conditions, by utilizing a free and constant source of outside air to mix with the recycled air from the greenhouse.
In regard to claim 8, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., Carson and Shelor discloses the air conditioning method of claim 7, further comprising, after the providing of the mixed air to the indoor space, determining a path of the air passing through the indoor space by controlling a damper according to whether the first and second greenhouses are used (Spadafora et al., Figs. 1-3, where the dampers 8 are at least used to determine a path of the air passing through the indoor space according to the ambient conditions; Zhao, Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0022], where there is at least an air conditioning unit 176/177 configured to connect the multiple greenhouses and the indoor space).
In regard to claim 9, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., Carson and Shelor discloses the air conditioning method of claim 8, further comprising, after the determining of the path of the air passing through the indoor space by controlling the damper (Spadafora et al., Figs. 1-3, where the dampers 8 are at least used to determine a path of the air passing through the indoor space according to the ambient conditions), additionally supplying CO2 from a generator only when a CO2 concentration of the air passing through the indoor space is smaller than an appropriate CO2 concentration of the first and second greenhouses in a case where the first and second greenhouses are used (Shelor, Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0031-0037], where there is additional CO2 supplied from a generator 100 to enrich the air when CO2 concentration is lower than required; Zhao, Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0022], where there is at least an air conditioning unit 176/177 configured to connect the multiple greenhouses and the indoor space). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., Carson and Shelor such that additionally supplying CO2 through combustion of a boiler, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the generator of Shelor. The motivation would have been to utilize a by-product of CO2 to enrich greenhouse air to encourage photosynthesis in the greenhouse (Shelor, Abstract).
In regard to claim 10, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., Carson and Shelor discloses the air conditioning method of claim 9, further comprising, after the determining of the path of the air passing through the indoor space by controlling the damper, controlling ventilation and humidity of the first and second greenhouses according to a measurement value of a sensor module in a case where the first and second greenhouses are used (Shelor, Figs. 1-3, Paragraphs [0027-0031], and Claims 8-9, where the exhaust fans 19 and air flow fan 7 are utilized to ventilate and control humidity of the greenhouse 15 based on sensor module 9/10/11 readings; Zhao, Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0022], where the multiple greenhouses and the indoor space are at least configured to connect to each other via units 176/177).
In regard to claim 11, Spadafora et al. as modified by Zhao, Palmer, Lestage et al., Carson and Shelor discloses the air conditioning method of claim 10, further comprising, after the controlling of the ventilation and humidity of the first and second greenhouses according to the measurement value of the sensor module, determining the path of the air passing through the first and second greenhouses according to the measurement value of the sensor module (Shelor, Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0027-0031], where a path of the air passing through the greenhouse 15 (or sent to the ambient air 16) is at least based on the measurement value of the sensor module 9/10/11; Zhao, Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0022], where the multiple greenhouses and the indoor space are at least configured to connect to each other via units 176/177).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (filed 02/23/2026) with respect to the rejection of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Spadafora et al. (U.S. Pub. 20080014857) in view of Zhao (U.S. Pub. 20050138867), Palmer (U.S. Pat. 5035077), Lestage et al. (U.S. Pub. 20080230206), and Carson (U.S. Pat. 10390496) disclose the applicant’s claim 1, as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above.
Specifically, Lestage et al. has now been brought into the rejection to teach a first air quality sensor coupled to the inlet and configured to be disposed at a position adjacent to the exterior environment of the building; and a second air quality sensor coupled adjacent to the branch portion in Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0055-0059], where there is a plurality of air quality sensors 42/43/44 which includes a first air quality sensor 42 coupled to the inlet 20 and configured to be disposed at a position adjacent to the exterior environment 32 of the building and a second air quality sensor 43/44 coupled adjacent to the branch portion of 10 near duct branches 14/16.
Lestage et al. also teaches wherein the duct includes: an inlet configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment of the building to introduce the air from the exterior environment to the duct; an outlet configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment of the building to exhaust the air from the first greenhouse, the second greenhouse, or the indoor space to the exterior environment in Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0055-0059], where the duct 10 includes an inlet 20 configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment 32 of the building to introduce the air from the exterior environment 32 to the duct 10 and where an outlet 18 is configured to be disposed adjacent to and connected to the exterior environment 32 of the building to exhaust the air from the indoor space to the exterior environment 32. Lestage et al. further teaches a branch portion dividing the duct into the outlet and a branch duct, the branch duct being in fluid communication with the indoor space in Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0055-0059], where there is a branch portion of 10 dividing the duct into the outlet 18 and a branch duct 14/16 and where the branch duct 14/16 is in fluid communication with the indoor space.
As previously stated, Palmer is maintained as teaching the greenhouse is disposed in a basement of the building in Fig. 2, where there is a greenhouse located at least in a basement. Zhao is also maintained as teaching a first greenhouse and a second greenhouse in Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0007] and [0020], where there are multiple greenhouses incorporated into a building. The combination of these references with Spadafora et al. does not destroy the function of the primary reference, and the combination is only relying upon the features of the secondary references which are explicitly noted in the rejections. The association of Palmer with a more closed off system does not prevent it from being used to modify Spadafora et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of air circulation devices.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647