DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 5, 7, 10-11, 16-17, 21, 27, 30, 35, 37-38, 43, 45-47, 52, 56, 62-63, 68-129 cancelled.
Priority
The instant application filed on 9/26/2022 is a CON of U.S. Application No. 16/307,406 filed on 12/5/2018 which is a 371 national stage entry of PCT/US2017/036020 filed on 6/5/2017, and claims the benefit of priority to Provisional Application No. 62/345,858 filed on 6/5/2016. Parent application 16/307,406 was abandoned on 10/5/2022, after the instant application was filed. Thus, the effective filing date of the claims is 6/5/2016.
The applicant is reminded that amendments to the claims and specification must comply with 35 U.S.C. § 120 and 37 C.F.R. § 1.121 to maintain priority to an earlier-filed application. Claim amendments may impact the effective filing date if new subject matter is introduced that lacks support in the originally filed disclosure. If an amendment adds limitations that were not adequately described in the parent application, the claim may no longer be entitled to the priority date of the earlier filing.
Drawings
The 9/26/2022 drawings are objected to for lack of quality and/or readability in some figures (e.g. Fig. 10, etc.). Labels and pertinent features of figures must be legible. The drawings are of insufficient quality to permit examination. MPEP 608.02(b).I and generally 608 pertain. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled "Replacement Sheet" in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If filing electronically, then possibly higher resolution drawings should be filed as "Supplemental Content." If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The abstract word limit is 150 words, the instant abstract contains 154 words, which is over that limit.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 18, and 67 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 lines 15-16, "identifying one or more first commonalities among first plurality of causal relationship networks" should read "identifying one or more first commonalities among the first plurality of causal relationship networks".
Claim 18 lines 8-9, "identifying one or more variables differentially expressed between first selected data set and the second selected data set at a statistically significant level" should read "identifying one or more variables differentially expressed between the first selected data set and the second selected data set at a statistically significant level".
Claim 67 line 4; "the processor comprising::" should read "the processor comprising:".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 22-23, 26, 32-34, 39, 53, 59, 65, and 67 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 39, and 59 recite "the subject" in their limitations. It is not clear what subject is being referenced because claim 1 recites multiple subjects.
Claim 22 recites "the machine learning penalizes possible biomarkers that are strongly correlated with other possible biomarkers". The term "strongly correlated" is a relative term not defined by the instant specification. It is not clear how high a correlation is required to be considered "strong". Dependent claim 23 is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 26 recites "generating an in silico computational diagnostic patient map for determination of a subject response from analysis of topological features of the generated Bayesian causal relationship networks". There is a lack of antecedent basis for "the generated Bayesian causal relationship networks". To further prosecution the limitation is interpreted as "generating an in silico computational diagnostic patient map for determination of a subject response from analysis of topological features of the generated causal relationship networks".
Claim 32 recites "wherein the one or more potential biomarkers are employed for patient stratification to determine whether or not to treat a patient using the agent". The limiting effect of the wherein clause is not clear because it's not clear if the patient stratification is an intended result of determining the one or more potential biomarkers, or if the intention is for the claim to further comprise a step of stratifying.
Claim 33 recites "the administration of an agent to the plurality of subjects occurs during a clinical trial for the agent". The term "the administration" is indefinite because claim 1 recites “administration of an agent” in the first limitation and also “administration of the agent” in the second limitation and last limitation, and does not require these to be the same administration. Therefore, it is not clear which administration is being referenced in claim 33.
Claim 34 recites "wherein the one or more potential biomarkers are used for patient stratification to determine which patients are enrolled in the subsequent clinical trial or to determine the patients that receive the agent in the subsequent clinical trial". The limiting effect of the wherein clause is not clear because it's not clear if the patient stratification for enrollment in clinical trials or determining patients that receive an agent is an intended result of determining the one or more potential biomarkers, or if the intention is for the claim to further comprise a step of stratifying for enrollment in clinical trials or determining patients that receive an agent.
Claim 53 recites "filtering the molecular profile data to remove infrequently measured variables". The term "infrequently measured" is a relative term not defined by the instant specification. It is not clear how infrequent a variable is required to be considered "infrequent".
Claim 65 recites "for each patient, obtaining the plurality of samples for molecular profile data". There is a lack of antecedent basis for "each patient". To further prosecution the limitation is interpreted as "for each subject, obtaining the plurality of samples for molecular profile data".
Claim 67 recites "A system comprising: a database; a memory; and a processor in communication with the memory, the processor comprising: [processing integration, selection, and analysis modules]". A processor is not enabled to hold entire modules (or programs) presumably containing instructions for carrying out the claimed processes, etc. Additionally, it is not clear that the programs are run from a non-transitory medium as they may only exist in volatile memory on the computer system while being executed on the processor, and therefore equate to signals per se. Therefore, to further prosecution, the limitation is interpreted as "A system comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: process…; process…; integrate…; select…; and analyze…" (as described in para.0044 of the instant specification).
Claim 66 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 66 rejected as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. The claim only further limits the one or more potential biomarkers to be biomarkers for the clinical outcome related to administration of the agent, but claim 1 already requires this in the last limitation.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental process, a mathematical concept, organizing human activity, or a law of nature or natural phenomenon without significantly more. In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
Claims 1 and 67: “processing molecular profile data for each subject in a plurality of subjects, the molecular profile data for each subject comprising one or more of proteomics, metabolomics, lipidomics, genomics, transcriptomics, microarray and sequencing data generated from analysis of a plurality of samples obtained from the subject; the plurality of samples for each subject including samples obtained before and during, or during and after, or before, during, and after administration of an agent to the subject; processing clinical records data for each of the plurality of subjects, the clinical records data for each subject including data based on one or both of samples obtained from the subject and measurements made of the subject before, during, and/or after administration of the agent, the clinical records data comprising clinical outcome data; integrating the processed molecular profile data and the processed clinical records data for the plurality of subjects” provides for organizing information (processing and integrating data) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
“selecting two or more subsets of the merged data using one or more criteria based on the clinical records data to generate two or more selected data sets” provides an evaluation (selecting based on a criteria) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
“analyzing one or more of the selected data sets to identify one or more potential biomarkers for a clinical outcome related to administration of the agent” provides an evaluation (analyzing the selected data to identify biomarkers) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 4: “the clinical records data further comprises one or more of pharmacokinetics data, medical history data, laboratory test data, data from a mobile wearable device, and demographic information regarding the subject” further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claim 6: “the one or more selected data sets are analyzed using one or more of statistical methods, machine learning methods, and artificial intelligence methods to identify the one or more potential biomarkers for the clinical outcome related to administration of the agent” provides a mathematical calculation (analyzing using one or more statistical models) that is considered a mathematical concept, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 8: “generating one or more causal relationship networks based on one or more of the selected data sets; and analyzing the generated one or more causal relationship networks to identify nodes corresponding to one or more outcome drivers” provides for organizing information (structuring data into a network) and evaluating said information that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 9: “analyzing the generated causal relationship networks to identify nodes corresponding to the one or more outcome drivers includes identifying as outcome drivers variables corresponding to nodes connected to the clinical outcome in one or more of the generated causal relationship networks by relationships having a degree of connection equal to or less than n, wherein n is 10 or 9 or 8 or 7 or 6 or 5 or 4 or 3 or 2 or 1” provides an evaluation (analyzing relationships and comparing node connection values) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 12: “analyzing the generated causal relationship networks to identify nodes corresponding to the one or more outcome drivers includes analysis of network topology features of the one or more generated causal relationship networks” provides an evaluation (analyzing topology features) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 13: “the generated two or more selected data sets comprise a first plurality of selected data sets each corresponding to a subject that exhibited the clinical outcome and a second plurality of selected data sets each corresponding to a subject that did not exhibit the clinical outcome” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data) of claim 1.
“generating the one or more causal relationship networks based on one or more of the selected data sets includes: generating a first plurality of causal relationship networks each based on one of the first plurality of selected data sets corresponding to subjects that exhibited the clinical outcome, and generating a second plurality of causal relationship networks each based on one of the second plurality of selected data sets corresponding to subjects that did not exhibit the clinical outcome” provides for organizing information (structuring data into a network) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
“analyzing the generated causal relationship networks to identify nodes corresponding to one or more outcome drivers includes: identifying one or more first commonalities among first plurality of causal relationship networks, identifying one or more second commonalities among the second plurality of causal relationship networks, and comparing the first commonalities and the second commonalities to identify the one or more outcome drivers” provides an evaluation (analyzing relationships and identifying and comparing commonalities to identify outcome drivers) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 14: “the generated two or more selected data sets comprise a first selected data set including data corresponding to one or more subjects that exhibited the clinical outcome and a second selected data set including data corresponding to one or more subjects that did not exhibit the clinical outcome” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data) of claim 1.
“generating the one or more causal relationship networks based on at least some of the selected data sets includes: generating a first causal relationship network based on the first selected data set corresponding to one or more subjects that exhibited the clinical outcome, and generating a second causal relationship network based on the second selected data set corresponding to one or more subjects that did not exhibit the clinical outcome” provides for organizing information (structuring data into a network) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
“the one or more outcome drivers are identified based on a comparison of the first causal relationship network to the second causal relationship network” provides an evaluation (comparing networks) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 15: “generation of a differential causal relationship from the first causal relationship network and the second causal relationship network, and wherein the one or more outcome drivers are identified from the generated differential causal relationship network” provides a comparison (comparing the first and second networks) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 18: “the generated two or more selected data sets includes a first selected data set comprising data corresponding to one or more subjects that exhibited the clinical outcome and a second selected data set including data corresponding to one or more subjects that did not exhibit the clinical outcome” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data) of claim 1.
“identifying one or more variables differentially expressed between [the] first selected data set and the second selected data set at a statistically significant level” provides an evaluation (identifying differentially expressed variables at a statistically significant level) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 19: “the first selected data set and the second selected data set correspond to the same time point or the same range of time points relative to a time of administration of an agent” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data) of claim 1.
Claim 20: “identifying the one or more variables differentially expressed between first selected data set and the second selected data set at a statistically significant level employs a two-sample t-test, or limma methodology, or performing a regression analysis” provides a mathematical calculation (two-sample t-test, regression etc.) that is considered a mathematical concept, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 22: “employing machine learning to analyze the identified outcome drivers and the one or more differentially expressed variables as possible biomarkers and, based on the analysis, selecting a subset of the possible biomarkers as the one or more potential biomarkers, wherein the machine learning penalizes possible biomarkers that are strongly correlated with other possible biomarkers and rewards possible biomarkers based on a level of correlation with the clinical outcome, thereby identifying one or more potential biomarkers for the clinical outcome” provides a mathematical calculation (penalizing/rewarding biomarkers with particular correlations) that is considered a mathematical concept, which is an abstract idea. The limitation also provides an evaluation (further selecting data) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 23: “the machine learning employed to analyze the possible biomarkers applies logistic regression with the elastic net penalty” provides a mathematical calculation (logistic regression) that is considered a mathematical concept, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 25: “linear interpolation is used to determine interpolated values of at least some clinical records data at times corresponding to those associated with molecular profile samples” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (integrating data) of claim 1.
Claim 26: “generating an… computational diagnostic patient map for determination of a subject response from analysis of topological features of the generated causal relationship networks” (as interpreted above) provides an evaluation (analyzing topology features) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea. The limitation also provides a mathematical calculation (generating causal relationship networks) that is considered a mathematical concept, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 28: “the one or more potential biomarkers are potential biomarkers for agent efficacy or for an adverse event” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (identifying potential biomarkers) of claim 1.
Claim 29: “the method is a method for identifying one or more potential biomarkers for efficacy of the agent in treatment of a disease or a disorder or for the occurrence of an adverse event related to administration of the agent” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (identifying potential biomarkers) of claim 1.
Claim 31: “the method is a method for patient stratification; and wherein the method further comprises employing the one or more potential biomarkers for patient stratification” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (identifying potential biomarkers) of claim 1.
Claim 32: “the one or more potential biomarkers are employed for patient stratification to determine whether or not to treat a patient using the agent” provides an evaluation (making a determination) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 33: “the method is a method for patient stratification; wherein the administration of an agent to the plurality of subjects occurs during a clinical trial for the agent; and wherein the method further comprises employing the identified one or more potential biomarkers for patient stratification during a subsequent clinical trial of the agent or during a subsequent stage of the same clinical trial of the agent” provides an evaluation (stratifying patients, and further limiting the data being processed) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 34: “the one or more potential biomarkers are used for patient stratification to determine which patients are enrolled in the subsequent clinical trial or to determine the patients that receive the agent in the subsequent clinical trial” provides an evaluation (grouping patients) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 36: “the one or more criteria for selecting two or more subsets of the merged data includes a phenotypic classification or includes clinical outcome data or includes data regarding whether a subject experienced an adverse event during or after administration of the agent” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data) of claim 1.
Claim 39: “wherein the agent is intended for treatment of a disease or disorder and wherein the one or more criteria for selecting two or more subsets of the merged data includes data regarding responsiveness of the subject to the treatment” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data) of claim 1.
Claim 40: “the selected two or more subsets of the merged data include a selected data set for each individual subject” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data) of claim 1.
Claim 41: “the two or more selected data sets comprise a selected data set including the merged data from all of the plurality of subjects” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data) of claim 1.
Claim 42: “the one or more samples for each subject comprise one or more of blood, tissue, and urine samples” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (selecting data from a sample) of claim 1.
Claim 44: “the molecular profile data for each subject comprises two or more of proteomics, metabolomics, lipidomics, genomics, transcriptomics, microarray and sequencing data” further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claim 48: “the clinical outcome data comprises data regarding a state or status of a disease or a disorder” further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claims 49 and 54: “the agent is an agent for treatment of a disease or disorder and wherein the clinical outcome data comprises data indicating whether a subject was responsive or refractory in response to treatment with the agent” (claim 49) and “the agent is intended for treatment of cancer” (claim 54) further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claim 50: “the clinical outcome data comprises data regarding an adverse event occurring during or after administration of the agent” further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claim 51: “processing the merged data by reconciling duplicated clinical records data and resolving discrepancies; or filtering the merged data to remove molecular data for which corresponding clinical records data is missing” provides an evaluation (identifying and removing duplicates or missing data) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 53: “merging the molecular profile data collected at different time points over the course of the treatment for the plurality of subjects; filtering the molecular profile data to remove infrequently measured variables; normalizing the molecular profile data; and imputing any variable not measured for a particular subject of the plurality of subjects” provides for organizing information (merging, filtering, normalizing, and imputing data) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 55: “the clinical outcome data includes tumor size measurements or comprises data from functional imaging of a tumor” further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claim 57: “generating a Bayesian causal relationship network for each of the one or more selected data sets” provides for organizing information (structuring data into a network) and evaluating said information that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
“comparing the generated Bayesian causal relationship networks from selected data sets from subjects with a Bayesian causal relationship network generated based on data obtained from an in vitro model of cancer” provides an evaluation (comparing networks) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 58: “generating a subject-specific profile, the subject-specific profile comprising: a graphical representation of demographic information for the subject; and a graphical representation of outcome information for the subject” provides an evaluation (analyzing data and drawing graphical representations) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 59: “the graphical representation of outcome information for the subject comprises: a graphical representation of adverse event information for the subject; and a graphical representation of information regarding responsivity to the agent” provides an evaluation (analyzing data and drawing graphical representations) that may be performed in the human mind and is therefore considered a mental process, which is an abstract idea.
Claim 60: “some or all of the subjects in the plurality of subjects are afflicted with a disorder” further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claim 61: “the disorder is selected from the group consisting of cancer, diabetes and cardiovascular disease” further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claim 64: “the clinical records data includes pharmacokinetic data from samples obtained at the same time points as samples for molecular profile data were obtained” further limits the abstract idea of organizing information (processing data) of claim 1.
Claim 66: “the method is a method of identifying one or more biomarkers for the clinical outcome related to administration of the agent, and wherein the identified one or more potential biomarkers are one or more biomarkers for the clinical outcome related to administration of the agent” further limits the abstract idea of an evaluation (identifying potential biomarkers) of claim 1.
These recitations are similar to the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations in Digitech Image Techs., LLC v Electronics for Imaging, Inc. (758 F.3d 1344, 111 U.S.P.Q.2d 1717 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and comparing information regarding a sample or test to a control or target data in Univ. of Utah Research Found. v. Ambry Genetics Corp. (774 F.3d 755, 113 U.S.P.Q.2d 1241 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and Association for Molecular Pathology v. USPTO (689 F.3d 1303, 103 U.S.P.Q.2d 1681 (Fed. Cir. 2012)) that the courts have identified as concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind or are mathematical relationships. Therefore, these limitations fall under the “Mental process” and “Mathematical concepts” groupings of abstract ideas. Additionally, while claim 67 recites performing some aspects of the analysis on “A system comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions” (as interpreted above), there are no additional limitations that indicate that this requires anything other than carrying out the recited mental processes or mathematical concepts in a generic computer environment. Merely reciting that a mental process is being performed in a generic computer environment does not preclude the steps from being performed practically in the human mind or with pen and paper as claimed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). The judicial exceptions listed above are not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional element or elements that reflects an improvement to technology. Specifically, the claims recite the following additional elements:
Claims 1 and 67: “storing in a database as merged data” provides insignificant extra-solution activities (storing data in a database is a pre- and post-solution activity involving data gathering and manipulation steps) that do not serve to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claim 2: “administering the agent to the plurality of subjects” restricts use to a particular environment.
Claim 3: “analyzing the plurality of samples obtained from the subject to obtain the molecular profile data” (interpreted as on para.0166 and 0251-264) provides insignificant extra-solution activities (analyzing samples is a pre-solution activity involving sample manipulation steps) that do not serve to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claim 24: “storing the merged data in a master file that includes a subject identification and a time associated with each sample” provides insignificant extra-solution activities (storing data in a database is a pre- and post-solution activity involving data gathering and manipulation steps) that do not serve to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claim 26: “in silico” provides mere instructions to apply the exception on a computer.
Claim 65: “obtaining the plurality of samples for molecular profile data at a plurality of time points and obtaining samples for pharmacokinetic data at the same plurality of time points” provides insignificant extra-solution activities (collecting samples is a pre-solution activity involving sample gathering steps) that do not serve to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claim 67: “a database; a memory; and a processor” is merely reciting that a mental process is being performed in a generic computer environment.
The steps for storing data (claim 1, 24, and 67) and analyzing physical samples (claims 3and 65) are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not serve to integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application because they are pre- and post-solution activities involving data and sample gathering and manipulation steps (see MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)).
Additionally, the steps for providing therapy (patient stratification and agent administration of claim 2 restricts use to a particular environment or application without adding significant innovation that does not serve to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because they are pre- and post-solution activities involving a mere field of use (see MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) - Integration of a Judicial Exception Into A Practical Application; MPEP 2106.05(g) - Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity; and MPEP 2106.05(h) - Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Furthermore, the limitations regarding implementing program instructions do not indicate that they require anything other than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a generic way or in a generic computing environment. As such, this limitation equates to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer that the courts have stated does not render an abstract idea eligible in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. Therefore, claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). No inventive concept is claimed by these limitations as they are well-understood, routine, and conventional:
Regarding the above cited limitations in claims 1, 24, and 67 of storing data: Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
Regarding the above cited limitation in claim 2 of administering an agent: The courts have recognized that these limitations equate to laboratory techniques that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g. at a nigh level of generality) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Immunizing a patient against a disease, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1063, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1497 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Regarding the above cited limitations in claims 3 and 65 of analyzing physical samples: The courts have recognized that these limitations equate to laboratory techniques that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means is a WURC limitation in Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968 and Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not serve to integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application or equate to mere instructions to apply the recited exception in a generic way or in a generic computing environment.
As discussed above, there are no additional elements to indicate that the claimed “A system comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions” (as interpreted above) requires anything other than generic computer components in order to carry out the recited abstract idea in the claims. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. MPEP 2106.05(f) discloses that mere instructions to apply the judicial exception cannot provide an inventive concept to the claims.
The additional elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). As such, claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US-20040193019) in view of Hautaniemi et al. (WO-2016066800).
Regarding claims 1-4, 40, and 67, Wei teaches processing molecular profile data for each subject in a plurality of subjects, the molecular profile data for each subject comprising one or more of proteomics, metabolomics, lipidomics, genomics, transcriptomics, microarray and sequencing data generated from analysis of a plurality of samples obtained from the subject; the plurality of samples for each subject including samples obtained before and during, or during and after, or before, during, and after administration of an agent to the subject (claim 1-3 and 67) (Para.0022 "biological profile information is received from patients who were diagnosed with a medical condition and who received a treatment", para.0032 "The present invention is directed to a process which combines microarray chip analysis of a patient's tissue with discriminant analysis for predicting the efficacy of the patient's proposed treatment plan. The process analyzes and correlates biological profiles (e.g., genomic profiles, DNA profiles, RNA profiles, protein profiles) from many patients with various medical conditions (e.g., human conditions such as diseases or infertility) to the clinical outcome of their respective treatment", and para.0037-39 suggest that the plurality of samples for each subject may include samples obtained before, during, and/or after administration of an agent to the subject)
Wei also teaches processing clinical records data for each of the plurality of subjects, the clinical records data for each subject including data based on one or both of samples obtained from the subject and measurements made of the subject before, during, and/or after administration of the agent, the clinical records data comprising clinical outcome data (claims 1, 4, and 67) (Para.0033 "The present invention correlates clinical patient tissue and clinical treatment response", as the process analyzes and correlates biological profiles from many patients with various medical conditions to the clinical outcome of their respective treatment).
Wei does not explicitly teach integrating the processed molecular profile data and the processed clinical records data for the plurality of subjects and storing in a database as merged data; and selecting two or more subsets of the merged data using one or more criteria based on the clinical records data to generate two or more selected data sets; nor analyzing one or more of the selected data sets to identify one or more potential biomarkers for a clinical outcome related to administration of the agent.
However, Hautaniemi teaches combining molecular profile and clinical data by forming “cliques” of associated features and selecting subsets of these cliques for further analysis (claims 1, 40, and 67) (Abstract "A computerized multi-phase process utilizes molecular data and clinical data [. . .] forming cliques from the associated features such that all features within a clique are correlated; accepting only cliques separating samples into groups, which are associated with clinical data [and] selecting clique pairs as candidates for merging; merging a pair if its features meet a second correlation criterion and the merged clique meets an association criterion").
Hautaniemi also teaches finding prognostic biomarkers that facilitate a treatment choice (Title "Finding Prognostic Biomarker", para.0005 "Thus, establishing effective diagnosis, prognosis and treatment options requires coordinated efforts to gather large numbers of clinical samples with a wide range of molecular and clinical data", para.0020 "the invention will be described in connection with techniques for identifying subgroups of patients with characteristic prognostic properties. [. . .] Identification of prognostic subgroups, ie, subgroups of patients with similar prognoses, is one exemplary use case of the present invention" and para.0022 "the markers identified during the iterations are returned as prognostic markers").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disease biomarker discovery teaching of Wei using the related teaching of Hautaniemi in order to achieve classification of patients into subgroups for targeted therapy (Hautaniemi para.0001 "enable classification of cancer patients into subgroups for targeted therapy" and para.0008 "to enable classification of cancer patients into prognosis-associated subgroups for targeted therapy, wherein the clique-forming technique disclosed herein provides cliques with enhanced accuracy of classification into the prognostic subgroups"). One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because both methods are concerned with identifying treatment outcomes for patient groups.
Furthermore, regarding claim 67, in In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958), the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplish the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art (see also Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, U.S. Trademark and Patent Office, section 2144.04, III). In the instant case, the claimed invention merely makes the process of Wei and Hautaniemi et al. as computer-implemented or automatic and indeed accomplishes the same result. It is thus not sufficient to distinguish over Wei and Hautaniemi et al. Therefore, the claimed invention (as interpreted above), i.e. “A system comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions” (claim 67) would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made over the process disclosed by Wei and Hautaniemi et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because the court held regarding software that “writing code for such software is within the skill of the art, not requiring undue experimentation, once its functions have been disclosed.” Fonar Corp., 107 F.3d at 1549, 41 USPQ2d at 1805.
Regarding claim 6, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claims 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches the one or more selected data sets are analyzed using one or more of statistical methods, machine learning methods, and artificial intelligence methods to identify the one or more potential biomarkers for the clinical outcome related to administration of the agent (Para.0048 "PSFinder identifies individual features whose discretized expression values (high/low) are associated with statistically significant survival effect (Kaplan-Meier with log-rank test p < 0.05)").
Regarding claims 8-9, 12, 14-15 and 26, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Claims 8-9, 12, 14-15 and 26 recite using a causal relationship network to identify an outcome driver and reads on the "neural network" of Hautaniemi para.0100. Also, Wei para.0053-55 teaches "Biochemical pathways are then explored to understand the system of biological networks" and "There can be a large number of branches and feedback loops in the pathway network". Wei also teaches in the Abstract "A discriminant analysis-based pattern recognition process is then performed on the biological profile information and the treatment outcome information, thereby generating a model that correlates between the biological profile information and the treatment outcome information", and Wei para.0137 and Table 4 "Genes differentially expressed between patients who responded sensitive) or failed to respond (Resistant) to radiotherapy"
Regarding claim 13, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 8 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches identifying one or more first commonalities among first plurality of causal relationship networks, identifying one or more second commonalities among the second plurality of causal relationship networks, and comparing the first commonalities and the second commonalities to identify the one or more outcome drivers (Para.0126 "Comparisons between FLDA and KNN show that FLDA is generally better at finding the overall-differences between group 1 and group 2, while KNN generally better estimates local probability density. The results from these two methods provide a baseline performance of current invention").
Regarding claim 18, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 8 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches analyzing one or more of the selected data sets to identify one or more potential biomarkers for a clinical outcome related to administration of the agent further comprises identifying one or more variables differentially expressed between the first selected data set and the second selected data set at a statistically significant level (Para.0048 "PSFinder identifies individual features whose discretized expression values (high/low) are associated with statistically significant survival effect (Kaplan-Meier with log-rank test p < 0.05)").
Regarding claim 19, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 18 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the first selected data set and the second selected data set correspond to the same time point or the same range of time points relative to a time of administration of an agent (Para.0071 "Prediction of Long-Term Post-Treatment Results" and para.0134 and table 3 "Patients' time of survival at the time of analysis" suggests time data as a critical input to the models).
Regarding claim 20, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 18 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches identifying the one or more variables differentially expressed between first selected data set and the second selected data set at a statistically significant level employs a two-sample t-test, or limma methodology, or performing a regression analysis (Table 3 describes a "two-sided t-test" being performed).
Regarding claim 22, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 18 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. A combination of Wei and Hautaniemi teach employing machine learning to analyze the identified outcome drivers and the one or more differentially expressed variables as possible biomarkers and, based on the analysis, selecting a subset of the possible biomarkers as the one or more potential biomarkers, wherein the machine learning penalizes possible biomarkers that are strongly correlated with other possible biomarkers and rewards possible biomarkers based on a level of correlation with the clinical outcome, thereby identifying one or more potential biomarkers for the clinical outcome (Wei para.0137 and Table 4 "Genes differentially expressed between patients who responded sensitive) or failed to respond (Resistant) to radiotherapy" and Hautaniemi para.0100 "Four methods have been tested (random forest, univariate heuristics, elastic net and neural network) on random sets of genes (N=5) from 32 gene marker panel" because elastic nets contain a tuning parameter for penalties that may be optimized through routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 23, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 22 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches the machine learning employed to analyze the possible biomarkers applies logistic regression with the elastic net penalty (Para.0015 "In some embodiments, the set of predetermined association criteria in the first phase comprises using a proportional hazards regression model on the expression or a derivative function of the expression" and para.0100 "Four methods have been tested (random forest, univariate heuristics, elastic net and neural network) on random sets of genes (N=5) from 32 gene marker panel").
Regarding claim 24, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches integrating the processed molecular profile data and the processed clinical records data for the plurality of subjects and storing in the database as merged data comprises storing the merged data in a master file that includes a subject identification and a time associated with each sample (Para.0134 and table 3 "Patients' time of survival at the time of analysis").
Regarding claim 25, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches linear interpolation is used to determine interpolated values of at least some clinical records data at times corresponding to those associated with molecular profile samples (Para.0076 "Examples of discriminant analysis methods are the Linear Discriminant Method").
Regarding claims 28-29, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the one or more potential biomarkers are potential biomarkers for agent efficacy or for an adverse event; and the method is a method for identifying one or more potential biomarkers for efficacy of the agent in treatment of a disease or a disorder or for the occurrence of an adverse event related to administration of the agent (Para.0005 "These trials are designed to determine drug efficacy across a patient population").
Regarding claims 31-32, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches the method is a method for patient stratification; and wherein the method further comprises employing the one or more potential biomarkers for patient stratification; and the one or more potential biomarkers are employed for patient stratification to determine whether or not to treat a patient using the agent (Para.0003 "Choosing an effective treatment for a cancer patient is one of the most important and difficult decisions in the clinic" and para.0004 "Thus, biomarkers for alternative treatments that would allow designing of personalized combinatorial therapy for platinum and taxane resistant cancer patients are urgently needed").
Regarding claims 33-34, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches a method for patient stratification; wherein the administration of an agent to the plurality of subjects occurs during a clinical trial for the agent; and wherein the method further comprises employing the identified one or more potential biomarkers for patient stratification during a subsequent clinical trial of the agent or during a subsequent stage of the same clinical trial of the agent; and the one or more potential biomarkers are used for patient stratification to determine which patients are enrolled in the subsequent clinical trial or to determine the patients that receive the agent in the subsequent clinical trial (Para.0024 "In the trial process that yielded the results to be described later, 25% of the cliques having the highest correlation scores were outputted to phase 3" suggest patient stratification between trial phases using biomarkers identified by the methods above).
Regarding claim 36, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches the one or more criteria for selecting two or more subsets of the merged data includes a phenotypic classification or includes clinical outcome data or includes data regarding whether a subject experienced an adverse event during or after administration of the agent (Para.0020 "embodiments and specific implementations of the invention will be described in connection with techniques for identifying subgroups of patients with characteristic prognostic properties" reads on phenotypic selection criteria).
Regarding claim 39, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches the agent is intended for treatment of a disease or disorder and wherein the one or more criteria for selecting two or more subsets of the merged data includes data regarding responsiveness of the subject to the treatment (Para.0014 "the clinical data comprises one or more of: patients' personalized data, genetic data, survival data, treatment data and responsiveness to treatment").
Regarding claim 41, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches the two or more selected data sets comprise a selected data set including the merged data from all of the plurality of subjects (Para.0010 "forming cliques from the features meeting the set of predetermined association criteria in such a manner that all features within a clique meet the set of predetermined correlation criteria" suggests that all available data is used).
Regarding claim 42, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the one or more samples for each subject comprise one or more of blood, tissue, and urine samples (Figure 1 and para.0039 "In step 110, tissue samples 132 are collected from the patients").
Regarding claim 44, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the molecular profile data for each subject comprises two or more of proteomics, metabolomics, lipidomics, genomics, transcriptomics, microarray and sequencing data (para.0032 "The present invention is directed to a process which combines microarray chip analysis of a patient's tissue with discriminant analysis for predicting the efficacy of the patient's proposed treatment plan. The process analyzes and correlates biological profiles (e.g., genomic profiles, DNA profiles, RNA profiles, protein profiles) from many patients with various medical conditions (e.g., human conditions such as diseases or infertility) to the clinical outcome of their respective treatment").
Regarding claim 48, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the clinical outcome data comprises data regarding a state or status of a disease or a disorder (Abstract suggests clinical outcome data and para.0141 "Immediately after treatment, some patients were in a state of "no disease detectable").
Regarding claim 49, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the agent is an agent for treatment of a disease or disorder and wherein the clinical outcome data comprises data indicating whether a subject was responsive or refractory in response to treatment with the agent (Abstract "treatment outcome" reads on these limitations).
Regarding claim 50, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the clinical outcome data comprises data regarding an adverse event occurring during or after administration of the agent (Para.0014 "This technique also provides a basis for studying therapeutic treatments, environmental agents, and can ultimately help in distinguishing between responders and non-responders to a given drug, as well as predicting toxicity and other adverse effects on the basis of altered patterns in expression profiles").
Regarding claim 51, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches processing the merged data by reconciling duplicated clinical records data and resolving discrepancies; or filtering the merged data to remove molecular data for which corresponding clinical records data is missing (Para.0087 "variant analysis workflow, which starts from data preprocessing (read mapping, mark duplicates, sorting, indel realignment, base recalibration) to variant calling, variant recalibration and variant database annotation").
Regarding claim 53, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches processing molecular profile data for each subject further comprises: merging the molecular profile data collected at different time points over the course of the treatment for the plurality of subjects; filtering the molecular profile data to remove infrequently measured variables; normalizing the molecular profile data; and imputing any variable not measured for a particular subject of the plurality of subjects (merging data as identified in claim 1, para.0080 "Data were normalized with fRMA described in the gene expression meta analysis study of ovarian cancer", and the steps of filtering, normalizing, and imputing data are obvious data processing steps as evidence by Myers (Drug Information Journal: DIJ/Drug Information Association 34.2 (2000): 525-533) page 527 col 2 "General strategies for statistical analysis [. . .] 3. Imputation method" and Beretta et al. (BMC medical informatics and decision making 16.Suppl 3 (2016): 74) page 197 col 1 paragraph 2 "The replacement of missing values with plausible values derived from the observation of a dataset via imputation procedures is, in most cases, a far better and valuable solution")
Regarding claims 54, 61, and 66, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the agent is intended for treatment of cancer; the disorder is selected from the group consisting of cancer, diabetes and cardiovascular disease; and the method is a method of identifying one or more biomarkers for the clinical outcome related to administration of the agent, and wherein the identified one or more potential biomarkers are one or more biomarkers for the clinical outcome related to administration of the agent (Para.0004 "As most cancer patients will receive chemotherapy during the course of their disease, many will suffer from the treatment's ineffectiveness and experience possible side effects to their already fragile health").
Regarding claim 55, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 54 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Hautaniemi also teaches the clinical outcome data includes tumor size measurements or comprises data from functional imaging of a tumor (Para.0082 "The treatment modality for each patient was determined based on preoperative imaging studies and diagnostic laparoscopy" and Table 2 "Clinical features of the cohorts used in this study").
Regarding claim 57, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 54 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. A combination of Wei and Hautaniemi teach analyzing one or more of the selected data sets to identify one or more potential biomarkers for a clinical outcome related to administration of the agent comprises generating a Bayesian causal relationship network for each of the one or more selected data sets; and wherein the method further comprises comparing the generated Bayesian causal relationship networks from selected data sets from subjects with a Bayesian causal relationship network generated based on data obtained from an in vitro model of cancer (Hautaniemi Para.0076 "To predict which prognostic group (Poor I, Poor II and Good) a new sample in a validation set with expression data belongs to, we adopted a Bayesian predictor method", and Wei also suggests "Naïve Baeyes" in para.0098).
Regarding claim 58, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches generating a subject-specific profile, the subject-specific profile comprising: a graphical representation of demographic information for the subject; and a graphical representation of outcome information for the subject (Claim 3 "the model outputs the predicted treatment outcome as a positive or negative indication" and claim 4 "the model outputs the predicted treatment outcome on a scale").
Regarding claim 59, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 58 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the graphical representation of outcome information for the subject comprises: a graphical representation of adverse event information for the subject; and a graphical representation of information regarding responsivity to the agent (Para.0014 "This technique also provides a basis for studying therapeutic treatments, environmental agents, and can ultimately help in distinguishing between responders and non-responders to a given drug, as well as predicting toxicity and other adverse effects on the basis of altered patterns in expression profiles" combined with the output of claims 3-4).
Regarding claim 60, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches some or all of the subjects in the plurality of subjects are afflicted with a disorder (Para.0150 "In this study, these artificially created groups had a roughly equal number of true positive and negative samples in each group").
Regarding claim 64, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches the clinical records data includes pharmacokinetic data from samples obtained at the same time points as samples for molecular profile data were obtained (Para.0034 "The present invention is premised, at least in part, on the concept that inter-individual variability in drug response is due to biological (e.g., genetic) differences. This is referred to herein as pharmacogenetics. This is particularly significant for some drugs, such as chemotherapy used in the treatment of cancer. Such genetic differences may affect the drug's pharmacokinetics (e.g., metabolism or transport) or pharmacodynamics (e.g., target or modulating enzymes)" and para.0080 "Drug efficacy depends upon many factors, such as the pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics of the drugs used in therapy").
Regarding claim 65, Wei in view of Hautaniemi teach the methods of Claim 1 on which this claim depends/these claims depend, respectively. Wei also teaches for each subject, obtaining the plurality of samples for molecular profile data at a plurality of time points and obtaining samples for pharmacokinetic data at the same plurality of time points (Para.0134 and table 3 referring to analysis times).
Double Patenting
Instant claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 are rejected on the grounds of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting over all claims in the conflicting application(s) and/or patent(s) listed below. The instant and conflicting claims generally are directed to identifying a potential biomarker or predictor of a medical condition. Although the conflicting claims are not identical to the instant claims, they also are not patentably distinct from the instant claims either because the instant claims recite obviously equivalent or broader limitations in comparison to the conflicting claims or because the instant claims recite limitations which are obvious over Wei (US-20040193019) in view of Hautaniemi et al. (WO-2016066800). At this point in examination, it is not clear that the instant claims recite limitations which are (a) narrower than limitations in the conflicting claims and (b) not taught in a combinable way by the above art. To the extent that the conflicting claims are narrower than the instant claims, such limitations do not prevent double patenting.
In a broadest reasonable interpretation, instant claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 read on embodiments within the scope of conflicting claims 1-54 and/or are obvious over the conflicting claims in view of U.S. Patent 10482385.
In a broadest reasonable interpretation, instant claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 18-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31-34, 36, 39-42, 44, 48-51, 53-55, 57-61, and 64-67 read on embodiments within the scope of conflicting claims 1-4, 6-11, 13, 15-17, 19-20, 30, 32-35, 37-38, 41-44, 46, 48-50, 56-58 and 63 and/or are obvious over the conflicting claims in view of U.S. Patent Application 16/592,069.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/R.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1686
/KAITLYN L MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685