DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 04/10/2026, has been entered. Claims 1-9 stand as originally or previously presented; and claims 10-18 are canceled. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.103 rejection set forth in Office Action mailed 12/10/2025 has been maintained (and altered as required by amendment), as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 20080254359 A1, hereinafter Byun), in view of AnalogDevices AD9988 (https://www.analog.com/en/products/ad9988.html, hereinafter AnalogDevices).
Regarding Claim 1, Byun discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract) comprising: at least one battery cell (Byun, rechargeable battery is provided including a bare cell, Abstract);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (Byun, a circuit is electrically coupled to the cell, Abstract).
a first RF port (Byun, antenna connection leads 45a of the connection terminal 45, [0034], Figure 1), and
a second RF port (Byun, antenna connection lead 45b of the connection terminal 45, [0034], Figure 1);
a first excitor connecting the PCB to the battery contact via the first RF port (Byun, first connection lead 47 for electrically coupling the charge/discharge circuit to the bare cell 40, and antenna leads 51a for connecting the antenna circuit 44 to the antenna assembly 50 through antenna connection leads 45a of connection terminal 45, [0034]); and
a second excitor connecting the PCB to the battery contact via the second RF port (Byun, second connection lead 49 for electrically coupling the charge/discharge circuit to the bare cell 40, and antenna leads 51b for connecting the antenna circuit 44 to the antenna assembly 50 through antenna connection leads 45b of connection terminal 45, [0034]); wherein:
While Byun discloses that the circuit receives a signal from the antenna assembly and relays the signal to an external device (Byun, [0033]), Byun is silent regarding a radio frequency (RF) chip.
AnalogDevices discloses an AD9988 Direct RF Receiver and Transmitter device that includes an RF chip. AnalogDevices teaches that the AD9988 features digital signal processing capabilities target at multiband direct to RF radio applications (AnalogDevices, AD9988).
Byun and AnalogDevices are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards RF signal and devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the AD9988 of AnalogDevices to be used as the external device of Byun, in order to process digital signals targeted at multiband direct to RF radio applications.
Modified Byun discloses the RF chip processes a signal (AnalogDevices, AD9988 features RF DAC/RF ADC RF frequency range up to 7.5 GHz and digital signal processing, AD9988) for transmission at one of a first frequency and a second frequency (Byun, two line antennas 455a, 455b are formed on a substrate, and there may be at least two frequency bands of the RF signal, [0054], Figure 4c),
when the signal is transmitted at the first frequency, the first RF port receives the signal from the RF chip and sends the signal to the battery contact via the first excitor, the first excitor resonates at the first frequency and energizes the at least one battery cell and the battery contact at the first frequency (Byun, the circuit 41 controls charge/discharge of the bare cell 40 and simultaneously provides a charge/discharge path. In addition, the circuit 41 receives a signal from the antenna assembly 50 and relays the signal to an external device. The circuit 41 includes a charge/discharge circuit 42 for controlling charge/discharge of the bare cell 40 and an antenna circuit 44 for relaying signal from the antenna assembly 50. The antenna circuit 44 may include a basic filter circuit like a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, but is not limited thereto, [0033], Figure 1), and
when the signal is transmitted at the second frequency, the second RF port receives the signal from the RF chip and sends the signal to the battery contact via the second excitor, the second excitor resonates at the second frequency and energizes the at least one battery cell and the battery contact at the second frequency (Byun, the circuit 41 controls charge/discharge of the bare cell 40 and simultaneously provides a charge/discharge path. In addition, the circuit 41 receives a signal from the antenna assembly 50 and relays the signal to an external device. The circuit 41 includes a charge/discharge circuit 42 for controlling charge/discharge of the bare cell 40 and an antenna circuit 44 for relaying signal from the antenna assembly 50. The antenna circuit 44 may include a basic filter circuit like a surface acoustic wave (SAW) filter, but is not limited thereto, [0033], Figure 1).
Byun further discloses that two kinds of line antennas 455 may be formed by dividing the substrate 454 into two regions and forming the line antenna 455a for receiving a first signal on one region and forming the line antenna 455b for receiving a second signal on the other region without an additional substrate. In this case, the line patterns of each line antenna are spaced apart from each other by a sufficient distance to prevent signal interruption, and separate antenna leads may be used for each line antenna 455a, 455b (Byun, [0054-0055]).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Byun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Byun discloses a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract).
With respect to the limitations the at least one battery cell resonates at a same frequency as the battery contact, it is submitted that such limitations are simply measurements of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the recited battery of modified Byun.
Applicant discloses by exciting the battery contacts to a transmission frequency, the battery contacts may resonate the battery cells at the same frequency, allowing the battery cells to aid in transmitting a signal (see Instant Specification [0014]).
Accordingly, it is reasonably interpreted that the battery contacts resonating at a desired frequency is critical to the recited battery cell resonance such that it would fulfil the recited measurements and necessarily possess the inherent properties.
Modified Byun discloses the antenna assembly 50 is attached to the surface of the bare cell 40 (Byun, [0040], Figure 1; the Examiner notes that the antenna resonates when receiving/transmitting a signal, so since the antenna is attached to the surface of the cell, the cell is expected to resonate as well).
It is submitted that battery contact resonance causes the battery cell to resonate such that the battery of modified Byun would reasonably possess the same properties and exhibit the same results.
Therefore, based upon such substantial similarities, it appears reasonable that the battery of modified Byun would inherently possess physical properties, e.g. resonance, such that the battery of modified Byun would necessarily fulfill the recited limitations, i.e. at least one battery cell resonates at a same frequency as the battery contact.
Assuming, arguendo, that such properties are not inherent, it is submitted that before the effective filing date of the current invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would find such properties obvious over the instantly claimed battery. The skilled artisan would reasonably find that the disclosed battery of modified Byun is so similar to the instant battery that the prior art battery of modified Byun would also exhibit at least one battery cell resonates at a same frequency as the battery contact.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Byun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Byun discloses a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract), wherein: the first excitor has a first length; the second excitor has a second length; and the second length is different than the first length (Byun, a length of each of the two space antenna patterns are different from each other, and the rechargeable battery can receive RF signals in different frequency bands by forming two antenna patterns on a substrate so as to realize multi-function, [0022, 0077]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Byun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Byun discloses a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract), wherein the first length corresponds to a first signal wavelength associated with the first frequency and the second length corresponds to a second signal wavelength associated with the second frequency (Byun, a length of each of the two space antenna patterns are different from each other, and the rechargeable battery can receive RF signals in different frequency bands by forming two antenna patterns on a substrate so as to realize multi-function, [0022, 0077]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Byun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Byun discloses a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract), wherein the battery contact contacts a negative end of the battery cell (Byun, the antenna assembly 50 is attached to the surface of the bare cell 40, and the can is used as the negative electrode and used as a ground of the antenna assembly, [0032, 0040], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Byun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Byun discloses a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract), wherein the RF chip determines whether the signal is one of the first frequency and the second frequency based on bandwidth of traffic (AnalogDevices, the AD9988 has transmitter/receiver channel bandwidth up to 1.2 GHz (4T4R), and RF DAC/RF ADC RF frequency range up to 7.5 GHz, AD9988).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Byun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Byun discloses a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract), wherein the RF chip selects the first frequency and the second frequency in sequence to transmit the signal (AnalogDevices, the AD9988 has transmitter/receiver channel bandwidth up to 1.2 GHz (4T4R), and RF DAC/RF ADC RF frequency range up to 7.5 GHz, AD9988).
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 20080254359 A1, hereinafter Byun), in view of AnalogDevices AD9988 (https://www.analog.com/en/products/ad9988.html, hereinafter AnalogDevices), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Dabak et al. (US 20040071118 A1, hereinafter Dabak)
Regarding Claim 6, modified Byun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Byun discloses a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract). Modified Byun is silent regarding the signal being an ultra-wide band signal.
However, Dabak discloses that ultra-wide band communications systems can operate within a frequency range of 3.1 GHz to 10.6 GHz (Dabak, [0048]).
Dabak teaches that a reason to use only a portion of the available frequency range would be to specifically avoid known interferers. Dabak further teaches that a UWB communication system may transmit in multiple frequency ranges inside the permitted frequency range, so that a receiver may be able to select each of the frequency ranges and operate on each of the frequency ranges separately rather than process the entire frequency range as a single entity (Dabak, [0048]).
Modified Byun and Dabak are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a radio frequency system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the battery of modified Byun to operate at a frequency range within 3.1 GHz to 10.6 GHz and to operate in smaller ranges within the permitted range, in order to avoid known interferers and to prevent the receiver from processing the entire frequency range.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Byun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Byun discloses a battery pack (Byun, rechargeable battery, Abstract).
With respect to the limitations of the first frequency is 7.5 GHz and the second frequency is 5.5 GHz, modified Byun discloses that ultra-wide band communications systems can operate within a frequency range of 3.1 GHz to 10.6 GHz, and use of only a portion of the available frequency range would be to specifically avoid known interferers, (Dabak, [0048]; the disclosed range of 3.1 GHz to 10.6 GHz overlaps the claimed first and second frequency of 7.5 GHz and 5.5 GHz, respectfully).
It is further disclosed that a length of each of the two space antenna patterns are different from each other, and the rechargeable battery can receive RF signals in different frequency bands by forming two antenna patterns on a substrate so as to realize multi-function (Byun, [0022, 0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to routinely modify the frequency bands of Byun by using a known technique of adjusting the antenna pattern length to change the frequency to a first frequency of 7.5 GHz and a second frequency of 5.5 GHz, as claimed, to achieve a predictable result of obtaining a clearer signal by avoiding known interferers.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (filed 04/10/2026) with respect to Claim(s) 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Byun nor AnalogDevices, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the claimed excitors that connect the PCB to the battery contact and cause the battery contact and battery cells to resonate at transmission frequencies.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Byun's first connection lead 47 and second connection lead 49, along with antenna leads 51a and 51b, correspond to the claimed first and second excitors as they are able to transmit signal from the external device of AnalogDevices to the antenna leads, which connect to the antenna, corresponding to the battery contact, which resonates the battery at the required transmission frequency, since the antenna is on the surface of the battery.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752