DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of forming a package substrate, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 30, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-11 and 19 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hando et al. (US 8,143,534).
In regards to claim 1, Hando et al. teaches a package substrate (see figure 12), comprising: a core (11); a pad (22) over the core (11), wherein the pad has a first width (see the width of the pad in figure 12); a surface finish over the pad (the pad consist of metal plating layers, column 10 lines 4, Ni-P plating layer and Au plating layer), wherein the surface finish has a second width that is substantially equal to the first width (the width of the entire pad (22) in figure 12); and a solder resist (30) over the pad (22), wherein the solder resist (22) comprises an opening (see the opening in layer (30) in figure 12) that exposes a portion of the surface finish (see figure 12), wherein the opening has a third width that is smaller than the second width (see figure 12, the solder resist layer opening is smaller than the width of the pad (22).
In regards to claim 8, Hando et al. teaches the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the pad (22) is a solder resist defined pad (22)( PCB copper pads where the solder mask overlaps the edges, with the mask opening defining the final soldering area).
In regards to claim 9, Hando et al. teaches the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the pad (22) is a metal defined pad (the pad consist of metal plating layers, column 10 lines 4, Ni-P plating layer and Au plating layer).
In regards to claim 10, Hando et al. teaches the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the core (11) comprises a borosilicate glass (glass fiber, column 2, lines 53-65).
In regards to claim 11, Hando et al. teaches The package substrate of claim 1, wherein the surface finish comprises gold (column 10 lines 4, Ni-P plating layer and Au plating layer).
In regards to claim 19, Hando et al. teaches an electronic system, comprising: a board (12); package substrate (substrate (11), figure 12) coupled to the board (12), wherein the package substrate (11) comprises: a core (11); a pad (22) over the core (11); and a surface finish over the pad (the pad consist of metal plating layers, column 10 lines 4, Ni-P plating layer and Au plating layer), wherein the surface finish (the pad consist of metal plating layers, column 10 lines 4, Ni-P plating layer and Au plating layer) is capable of being deposited with an electrolytic process (electrolytic is capable of being used as a process to plate the Ni-P or Au material, the method of making the plating layers is not germane to the product claim); and a die (IC chip (45)) coupled to the package substrate (see figure 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hando et al. (US 8,143,534) in view of Park et al. (US 2014/0182904).
In regards to claim 5, Hando et al. teaches the package substrate of claim 1.
Hando et al. does not teach an adhesion promoting layer over portions of the surface finish.
Park et al. teaches an adhesion (115) promoting layer over portions of the surface finish (an adhesive promoter (115) interposed between an insulating layer (110) and a circuit layer on a substrate in order to improve adhesion between the insulating layer and the circuit layer; paragraph [0034]).
IT would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included in the teaching of Hando et al. the adhesion promoting layer over portions of the surface finish as taught by Park et al. (in order to improve adhesion between the insulating layer and the circuit layer; paragraph [0034]).
In regards to claim 6, Hando et al. in combination with Park et al. teaches the package substrate of claim 5, wherein the adhesion promoting layer (115) is absent from the surface finish under the opening in the solder resist (the second polymer and the organic compound are mixed so as to be adhered to the insulating layer 110 or the solder resist, paragraph [0044]).
In regards to claim 7, Hando et al. in combination with Park et al. teaches the package substrate of claim 5.
Hando et al. in combination with Park et al. does not teach wherein the adhesion promoting layer comprises silicon and nitrogen.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made wherein the adhesion promoting layer comprises silicon and nitrogen, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attachment of the USPTO-892 form.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848