DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 4/16/2026. Claims 2, 4-5, 10, 14, 16, and 19 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11-13, 15, 17-18, and 20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claim 1 and similar limitations in amended claim 13, Applicant argues that the prior art documents LG and Jung et al. do not disclose, teach or suggest at least the following distinguishing technical features of amended claim 1 of the present application, as labeled below: feature (a): wherein the first correspondence satisfies the following: the leftmost bit of a bitmap of the PSFCH resource configuration information refers to the resource block (RB) with the lowest index in the resource pool; feature (b): wherein the determining PSFCH resources in a target object based on obtained PSFCH resource configuration information comprises: in a case that a first bit in the PSFCH resource configuration information takes a first value, determining that a second frequency domain resource corresponding to the first bit in the resource pool is a PSFCH resource; and in a case that the first bit in the PSFCH resource configuration information takes a second value, determining that the second frequency domain resource is not a PSFCH resource. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, it is noted that Applicant’s arguments treat the prior art documents LG and Jung et al. separately, while the rejections are based on an obvious combination of the teachings of the prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103. For a claim to be properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, the individual disclosures of each prior art alone does not need to teach the claimed limitations. Instead, the rejection is based on what the combined teachings as a whole would have rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As noted in the previous rejections and as discussed in the Applicant’s arguments, previously cited LG teaches using a bitmap to indicate RBs in a resource pool to be used for actual PSFCH transmission (See proposal 6 in section 2.2.1 of LG). However, LG does not specifically disclose how the bits of its bitmap are used to indicate the resources in the resource pool. The use of bitmaps to indicate allocated resources is old and well known in the art of communications. Prior art Jung et al. is cited as evidence of such a bitmap map used to indicate RBs within a resource, wherein the most significant bit (MSB), i.e. the leftmost bit, indicates the subband with the lowest RB index (See paragraph 118 of Jung et al.). Jung et al. also teaches that a bit set to ‘0’ within the bitmap may indicate that the communication is not performed in the corresponding subband and a bit set to ‘1’ may indicated that communication is performed in the corresponding subband (See paragraph 119 of Jung et al.). Thus, Jung et al. generally teaches how a bitmap may be used to indicate which specific resources within a group of resources are allocated for transmission.
Applicant argues that the bitmap of Jung et al. is used to indicate RB index of a LBT subchannel, which is different than the claimed bitmap indicating how to determine PSFCH resources in the resource pool. However, this argument does not take into consideration that the LG prior art already discloses using a bitmap to indicate RBs in a resource pool to be used for actual PSFCH transmission. While LG does not disclose how the bits of its bitmap are specifically used to indicate the RBs, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look elsewhere to determine how the bits of such a bitmap could be used to indicate the RBs used for PSFCH transmission. Jung et al. uses a bitmap for a similar purpose, i.e. to indicate which resources within a group of resources are allocated for transmission. As discussed above, Jung et al. also discloses embodiments wherein the most significant bit (MSB), i.e. the leftmost bit, indicates the subband with the lowest RB index and wherein a bit set to ‘0’ within the bitmap may indicate that the communication is not performed in the corresponding subband and a bit set to ‘1’ may indicated that communication is performed in the corresponding subband. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, based on these teachings of Jung et al., that the bits of the bitmap taught by LG may also have similar meaning using similar bit mappings as the bit of the bitmap taught by Jung et al. Specifically, one of ordinary skill in the art applying the teachings of Jung et al. to the system and method of LG would recognize that the most significant bit (MSB), i.e. the leftmost bit, of the bitmap of LG may be used to indicate the lowest RB index and that a bit set to ‘0’ within the bitmap may indicate that the communication is not performed in the corresponding resource and a bit set to ‘1’ may indicated that communication is performed in the corresponding resource. Therefore, it is believed that the combined teachings of LG and Jung et al. do render obvious the argued claim limitations, and rejections based on these teachings are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1913237 by LG Electronics titled “Discussion on physical layer procedures for NR sidelink” (as cited by the Applicant’s IDS filed 10/23/2023; hereafter referred to as LG) in view of Jung et al. (U.S. Publication US 2022/0061094 A1).
With respect to claim 1, LG discloses a method for determining physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resources, applied to a first communications device (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to a method of identifying PSFCH resources to be used by a NR sidelink communications device, which is a first communications device). LG also discloses determining PSFCH resources in a target object based on obtained PSFCH resource configuration information, wherein the target object comprises a resource pool, and the PSFCH resources comprise PSFCH transmission resources, or PSFCH reception resources, or both PSFCH transmission resources and PSFCH reception resources (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to determining RBs, which are PSFCH resources, in a resource pool, which is a target object, wherein the PSFCH resource is used to transmit/receive feedback in NR sidelink communications). LG further discloses wherein in a case that the PSFCH resources are configured through bits of the PSFCH resource configuration information, there is a first correspondence between the bits of the PSFCH resource configuration information and frequency domain resources in the resource pool (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to the PSFCH RBs being configured though a bitmap that indicates RBs in a resource pool, wherein such a bitmap provides a correspondence between bits of the bitmap and RBs in the resource pool). LG further discloses wherein the first correspondence satisfies the following: the bits of a bitmap of the PSFCH resource configuration information refers to the resource blocks (RB) in the resource pool (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference using a bitmap to indicate sidelink HARQ-ACK feedback resources from among RBs in a resource pool). Although LG does disclose the use of a bitmap to indicate resources in a resource pool (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG), LG does not disclose the specifically claimed manner in which the bits of the bitmap are used to indicate the claimed resources. Specifically, LG does not disclose the leftmost bit of a bitmap of the PSFCH resource configuration information refers to the resource block (RB) with the lowest index in the resource pool, and in a case that a first bit in the PSFCH resource configuration information takes a first value, determining that a second frequency domain resource corresponding to the first bit in the resource pool is a PSFCH resource; and in a case that the first bit in the PSFCH resource configuration information takes a second value, determining that the second frequency domain resource is not a PSFCH resource. However, Jung et al., in the field of communications, discloses using a bitmap to indicate resources wherein the most significant bit (MSB) may be used to indicate a subband with the lowest RB index and the remaining bits of the bitmap may indicate subbands in ascending order of RB indexes (See paragraphs 117-118 of Jung et al.). It is known in the art of communications that the most significant bit of a bitmap is the leftmost bit of the bitmap. Jung et al. further discloses that a bit set to ‘0’ within the bitmap may indicate that communication is not performed in the corresponding subband and a bit set to ‘1’ may indicate that communication is performed in the corresponding subband (See paragraph 119 of Jung et al.). This bitmap formatting provides the advantage of indicating a specific manner in which each bit of the bitmap may be used to determine whether or not to perform communications on each corresponding resource. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Jung et al., to combine using the bitmap formatting and resource block index correspondence taught by Jung et al. within the system and method of LG, with the motivation being to indicate indicating a specific manner in which each bit of the bitmap taught by LG may be used to determine whether or not to perform communications on each corresponding resource.
With respect to claim 13, LG discloses a method for configuring PSFCH resources, applied to a second communications device (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to a method of identifying PSFCH resources to be used by a NR sidelink communications device, which is a second communications device). LG also discloses transmitting PSFCH resource configuration information to a first communications device, wherein the PSFCH resource configuration information is used for determining and configuring PSFCH resources in a target object; the target object comprises a resource pool; and the PSFCH resources comprise PSFCH transmission resources, or PSFCH reception resources, or both PSFCH transmission resources and PSFCH reception resources (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to transmitting signaling used to determine a RB set used for actual PSFCH transmission including identifying RBs, which are PSFCH resources, in a resource pool, which is a target object, wherein the PSFCH resource is used to transmit/receive feedback in NR sidelink communications). LG also discloses wherein in a case that the PSFCH resources are configured through bits of the PSFCH resource configuration information, there is a first correspondence between the bits of the PSFCH resource configuration information and frequency domain resources in the resource pool (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to the PSFCH RBs being configured though a bitmap that indicates RBs in a resource pool, wherein such a bitmap provides a correspondence between bits of the bitmap and RBs in the resource pool). wherein the first correspondence satisfies the following the bits of a bitmap of the PSFCH resource configuration information refers to the resource blocks (RB) in the resource pool (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference using a bitmap to indicate sidelink HARQ-ACK feedback resources from among RBs in a resource pool). Although LG does disclose the use of a bitmap to indicate resources in a resource pool (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG), LG does not disclose the specifically claimed manner in which the bits of the bitmap are used to indicate the claimed resources. Specifically, LG does not disclose the leftmost bit of a bitmap of the PSFCH resource configuration information refers to the resource block (RB) with the lowest index in the resource pool. However, Jung et al., in the field of communications, discloses using a bitmap to indicate resources wherein the most significant bit (MSB) of the bitmap may be used to indicate a subband with the lowest RB index and the remaining bits of the bitmap may indicate subbands in ascending order of RB indexes (See paragraphs 117-118 of Jung et al.). It is known in the art of communications that the most significant bit of a bitmap is the leftmost bit of the bitmap. Jung et al. further discloses that a bit set to ‘0’ within the bitmap may indicate that communication is not performed in the corresponding subband and a bit set to ‘1’ may indicate that communication is performed in the corresponding subband (See paragraph 119 of Jung et al.). This bitmap formatting provides the advantage of indicating a specific manner in which each bit of the bitmap may be used to determine whether or not to perform communications on each corresponding resource. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Jung et al., to combine using the bitmap formatting and resource block index correspondence taught by Jung et al. within the system and method of LG, with the motivation being to indicate indicating a specific manner in which each bit of the bitmap taught by LG may be used to determine whether or not to perform communications on each corresponding resource.
With respect to claims 3 and 15, LG discloses wherein the PSFCH resource configuration information comprises L bits, and L satisfies any one of the following: a value of L is equal to a first number, wherein the first number is the number of actual frequency domain resources in the target resource or the maximum possible number of frequency domain resources in the target resource; or L is a positive integer (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to a number of bits used to signal the RB set used for actual PSFCH transmission being based on the number of RB group the PSFCH resource set M, wherein the number of bits is a positive integer).
With respect to claims 8 and 17, LG discloses wherein in a case that a value of L is equal to a first number and the first number is the number of actual frequency domain resources in the resource pool, before the determining PSFCH resources in a target object based on obtained PSFCH resource configuration information, the method further comprises: receiving first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate the number of actual frequency domain resources in the resource pool; or the first information is used to indicate a first parameter which is used for calculating the number of actual frequency domain resources in the resource pool; and the determining PSFCH resources in a target object based on obtained PSFCH resource configuration information comprises: determining the PSFCH resources in the resource pool based on the obtained PSFCH resource configuration information and the first information (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to using a bitmap to indicate the RB set used for actual PSFCH transmission, wherein such a bitmap includes a number of bits, i.e. L bits, indicating whether each RB is to be used or not, and for reference to the frequency resources indicated by the bitmap being (pre-)configured such that the information regarding the number of actual frequency domain resources in the resource pool for PSFCH transmission is signaled before the bitmap is signaled).
With respect to claims 9 and 18, LG discloses wherein in a case that a value of L is equal to a first number and the first number is the number of actual frequency domain resources in the resource pool, the PSFCH resource configuration information comprises any one of the following: a first bitmap or first bit string with L bits; or N1 second bitmaps or second bit strings, wherein each of the second bitmaps or each of the second bit strings comprises N2 bits, and L=N1 xN2, wherein the target resource comprises N1 first resources, and the number of actual frequency domain resources in each of the first resources is equal to N2 (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to using a bitmap to indicate the RB set used for actual PSFCH transmission, wherein such a bitmap includes a number of bits, i.e. L bits, indicating whether each RB is to be used or not).
With respect to claims 11 and 20, LG discloses wherein the PSFCH resource configuration information is used to indicate at least one of the following: a start resource of PSFCH resources in the resource pool; a resource number K of PSFCH resources in the resource pool; a reference resource of PSFCH resources in the target object; the resource pool; a start subchannel of PSFCH resources in the resource pool; and the number of subchannels comprised in PSFCH resources in the resource pool (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to indicating a starting RB index for the PSFCH resource).
With respect to claim 12, LG discloses wherein the determining PSFCH resources in a target object based on obtained PSFCH resource configuration information comprises: determining K contiguous frequency domain resources starting from a fifth frequency domain resource of the frequency domain resources in the resource pool as PSFCH resources, wherein the fifth frequency domain resource is any one of the following: the 1-st frequency domain resource or the last frequency domain resource of the frequency domain resources in the resource pool that are arranged in descending order of numbers; the reference resource indicated in the PSFCH resource configuration information; or the start resource indicated in the PSFCH resource configuration information (See section 2.2.1 pages 4-5 of LG for reference to indicating a set of consecutive sub-channels, which are frequency domain resources, wherein a starting resource is indicated in the configuration).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461